Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Woodland Caravan Park Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15th March To 3rd November 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Zx10r beeeast 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site before, cannot fault it, Janice and Mark who run the site are lovely people. The toilet and shower blocks are amazing, the best we've come across, the disabled facility is really good. The setting is lovely, really peaceful. Read some reviews about road noise, never heard any when we have visited. Excellent you two, keep it up. We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 22 reviews from this member

Lovely site, we'd had a long drive so the peace and quiet was wonderful, brilliantly sited and cared for with a high degree of privacy. All we could hear was birdsong, didn't notice road noise or anything else. A warm and friendly welcome, loos and showers clean, well appointed and some of the best we have come across. We wished we'd booked for longer, but will be back, great value for money, keep up the good work!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue King 1 review from this member

Having read previous reviews I was a little worried about road noise but honestly didn't notice any, finding it peaceful and relaxing. Pitches are roomy, set in clearings amongst the trees giving a degree of privacy. Amenities are all very clean, the showers have plenty of hot water and there's a free hairdryer available in the ladies. Staff are friendly and helpful and there's a reception giving plenty of local information/maps and the opportunity to buy free range eggs. There's so much to do in the area, we'll definitely return to this beautiful site. On the downside, there's no shop within walking distance, but there are a couple of supermarkets about 5 minutes car ride away and the wifi was very patchy, especially over the weekend when the site was busier. This didn't really bother me but some may find it annoying. Overall, a great site.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Georgie10 5 reviews from this member

Beautiful campsite.

Hard standing pitches in amongst the trees.

We were made very welcome and could easily

Get any information we wanted for the area.

Ashbourne is a short drive away.

Ideal location for exploring the Peak District. 4 nights here finished our holiday off nicely. Thank you :)

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zodd 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here a couple of years ago and had the opportunity to stay again. Booked and paid online very easy was met by the warden at the gate and he showed me where everything was situated. The pitches are large hard standing and surrounded by trees. The facilities very clean. My dogs enjoyed a run in the dog area which is fenced off. The only downside, traffic noise not loud and depending on which pitch you have maybe quieter, it didn't bother us. Ashbourne close by not walkable, Carsington Water well worth a visit, as is Bakewell. Would I stay here again Yes

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Acornis 22 reviews from this member

Having read the reviews I have to say I wasn't disappointed. A very well kept site, simplistic in its layout with generous size pitches amongst the woodland. This gave a very relaxing feel to the site. The wardens were very helpful but not overbearing. The facilities were immaculate.

Ashbourne is a short distance away with Chatsworth and Buxton a bit further afield.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Zx10r beeeast 3 reviews from this member

Have visited this site numerous times in the past couple of years but this was the first time with new owners Janice and Mark in charge. What a wonderful job they have done with it, without a doubt the best and cleanest facilities block I have ever seen and that includes numerous 5 star sites!

They are a lovely, friendly couple, really helpful. This is the perfect place to relax.

Read some reviews about road noise in the distance?! All we heard all weekend was the wonderful bird song and wildlife! This is heaven.

Janice and Mark, you are doing it right, brilliant, we'll be back, Steve and Jayne, silver motorhome pitch 8.

P. S. Had to put N/A on child friendly section as it is adult only. Hope this is ok.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bretbywidow 1 review from this member

Lovely and quiet, large pitches, some of the caravans looked seasonal. The toilets and showers were spotless, with nice touches, with hand lotion and tissues and the site it self was litter free and both of the owners were very pleasant and helpful.

The site is off the main road and fortunately itís only a few yards down the narrow lane.

Not sure of the noise if the motor bike racing is on opposite side of the main road as there was a bit of road noise, not to loud, where our pitch was (No 26).

Ashbourne is only a couple of miles away with numerous shops and super markets, also plenty of walks in the area.

All in all we were very happy to be there

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Nekite 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site! Beautiful wooded campsite which is wonderful when the weather is hot - the campsite itself has a little micro-climate which means it is always pleasant. Facilities are both good and spotless - a credit to the very pleasant couple who run the site. Much as I hate to say it(only because I don't want it to become too popular!), I would wholeheartedly recommend this site as it is an absolute gem. I've been camping for the last 35 years or so and I haven't come across a site as good as this before. One slight downside is that it is close to a busy A road, but this quietens in the evening. Otherwise, pure bliss!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Malcolmwardlaw 2 reviews from this member

A nicely located site with good facilities. In addition there is free WiFi available, something that could be learned by other sites. Situated in quiet woodland it is an adult only site and very dog friendly

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4149 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019