Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Woodland Caravan Park Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15th March To 3rd November 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sylvia hinks 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at this caravan site for 4 months last year, cannot fault any part of this beautiful site, showers, and disabled shower, washing, laundry blocks spotless, site itself was woodland but no paper's or rubbish about, it is picked up daily by the husband and wife team who do a great job of managing the site, nothing is to much trouble for them, very friendly and hospitable, I would not hesitate to recommend this site to anyone, Hope to return again this year.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vera Hall 1 review from this member

We had just picked up our new motorhome and decided to try it at a local site near our house.

We were attracted to this site due to it being in a wooded area.

We arrived early evening, we were greeted by a really friendly person, who explained everything to me and who are on site all the time.

The spaces are of an excellent size and are hard standing, I fitted in nicely at 24ft and the width of our space was really good with more than enough room for a second vehicle (my wife's car this time).

The facilities are really good, the toilet and showers were clean and nice and warm plus the added bonus of the showers being free :)

All the usual facilities (elsen disposal, grey waste, water, recycling bins) for the dog owners there is even a fenced of exercise area in the woods :)

We did not notice the road noise as the A515 is about 1/4 mile away from the closest point on the site but it is a personal thing, it did not bother us.

The price is very good, no extra cost for the second vehicle, Electric hookup included, free showers and even better you can stay until 6pm!

Even though it is less than 5 miles from our house, we will use again when my wife is working and I want a night out in the motorhome with the Kids.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparkyfly 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for a long weekend in our camper. The dog walk area is great and the spaces between pitches are good.

Lots of lights were out around the site perimeter and on our pitch but we were very early season I suppose.

As many others have said the ground is compacted hardcore/stones and I struggled with my rock pegs to be honest.

Not much near by, we did walk into Ashbourne on one occasion but you will end up in a taxi home - unless you obviously walk a lot.

Very nice people run the site and are happy to help.

Mark

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: V70tom 3 reviews from this member

We been there couple of times,

A very nice, quiet, location between trees and woodlands.

Friendly wardens, clean place, heated clean modern shower and toilet facilities.

Chemical disposal point, water supply, security lights all around the park at night,

Kids and dogs welcome.

Kids play between the trees and woodland, dogs have there own fenced up dog walking area,

Now they have WIFI access which is at a good reception,

Mobile network and mobile phone network is decent available depending on supplier ( 3 in my case and O2 )

Nearby village is worth a walk down the road, around 1, 8 miles.

It can be loud at times as there is the old airfield next door over the road, means on race days or concerts you can hear the noise, so check with the place about events.

BBQ allowed.

No extra charge for awnings.

Dogs 1 each.

Disabled Facilities, all on level Ground and Hardstanding

The pitches a very spicy and big enough for a twin axle with awning and car,

Also privacy between the pitches as every pitch has natural borders between through grass, trees or bushes.

Electric hook up available on every pitch.

We been there on different times a year for the 4th year,

Even with kids playing or loads of dogs we never been disturbed or had trouble.

Allways nice and pleasant to come back.

In bad weather and rain, the positive factor is that the trees holding the rain up which is nice

As you. Still can rush to the showers without getting soaked. Lol

On sunny days you may experience a lack of pure sunshine but still warm and pleasant.

Very recommendable for families, adults only, dog owners and people who like it quiet and going for long walks.

( people down the village recommendet a Dogwalk area along the river which is great but around 2. 3 miles from the side )

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JimSteel 1 review from this member

We pulled up later than expected, 7'ish, and were met by the lady in reception, nice lady btw, who booked us in and gave us the low down on the site. Plenty of pitch choice as its early in the season and the site was only half full. Pleasant enough stay as are the facilities, clean and tidy, with a potential down side being some noise from the main road nearby (A515) if that type of thing offends you. Ashbourne is 5 minutes drive away, Derby, Uttoxeter, Buxton a little further if you're feeling adventurous. Across the road from the site is Darley Moor race circuit which provides entertainment, over some weekends, if motor sport does it for you, information when race meetings take place can be found on the Woodlands website or ask when booking. All in all a pleasant stay and I guess we'll be going back.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bestieboy 25 reviews from this member

Visited at the beginning of November just before the site shut for the winter. We tend to like to use the caravan to visit new areas but we get drawn back to this caravan site and the Peak District, which we love. We have been three times this year to Woodland and its just perfect for our requirements for a site for the weekend near the Peaks.

Please see earlier reviews for more detail but suffice to say we would thoroughly recommend the site.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carlsberg 4 reviews from this member

A lovely site set among a small wood, all pitches are randomly arranged so you get a sense of privacy and space.

The facilities are superb, clean, modern and heated, although I suspect in summer could become a little congested.

A real bonus is being able to stay until 6 pm on your day of departure which makes a big difference to a weekend away.

The site is well located for all the peak district.

Very pleasant and helpful owners.

We were there for 4 days in appalling weather, but still enjoyed it.

You must be prepared for it to get quite muddy in wet weather as the roads are loose surface ( which adds to its natural appeal )

Highly recommended and will definitely be returning

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MrMrsMagill 5 reviews from this member

Excellent site, with fab facilities and great staff/owners. We would strongly recommend this site. You can park up amongst the trees which makes a great setting for a camping trip! Would be great for kiddies wanting a (safe) adventure in the woods! The facilities are excellent, nice and clean, heated and behind double doors to keep the bugs out! Good laundry and disabled bathroom facilities also. Great friendly owners, who welcomed us with a smile and went out of their way help us enjoy our stay. It's is a green site, so you are encouraged to recycle and the electricity hookup is only 10amp. Not an issue for us! Nice walk across the fields or down the road to the local village. Not close to any amenities however and we were disappointed when we didn't find a pub in the village! A great stay and we would definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Clairneville 7 reviews from this member

This is a stunning, small woodland site. The pitches are separated by natural boundaries of ferns and shrubs which effectively angle the units so you don't get that nasty uniform feel that many large sites struggle to avoid.

We dropped our teenagers off at Alton Towers for a day then ventured in to Ashbourne. Perfect get away.

There is no shop/bar/birdie dance disco or purpose built children's play area. The younger children we saw had great fun playing hide and seek and den building in between the trees. Proper fun!

The facilities (loos, showers, washing up) were spotless and owners really friendly without being intrusive.

A pleasure to see recycling done as well as this too.

Only negative: uniform campsites now look very uninviting and boring! Not enough of these kind of more natural sites. Loved it here :)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobsa 2 reviews from this member

This is an awesome site for a family with kids. We had booked here in order to visit Alton Towers which is around 20 minutes away by car.

The caravan site is located in a wooded area, each pitch looks like it has been carved out of the surrounding forestry. There are areas behind (or in front) of the pitches which my kids played in constantly, there was ample room for them to cycle around the site, and they played with other kids until we had to bring them in at 9pm, 2 hours past their normal bedtime.

To be honest, I think the kids would have forgone the trip to Alton Towers in order to play more on the site.

The facilities are spotless clean and the huge load washer and dryer (10. 1 Kg) meant that we went home with no washing or drying to be done after a full week away.

A fantastic, well priced site that I would heartily recommend.

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2075 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019