Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15th March To 3rd November 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clairechitt@hot 2 reviews from this member

Lovely little site set in some woods.

Managers are excellent, keep it well run & clean.

Kids love to play in the woods. The enclosed dog run sets a standard few other sites even contemplate offering.

The facilities were immaculately clean, but got push button showers.

There is a huge garden centre 2 mins drive towards Ashbourne with a good cafe for meals. A bit further just outside Ashbourne is an M&S food, Homebase, Halfords & Majestic amongst others to cover most eventualities.

The area has a wealth of chocolate box villages, such as Osmaston with smashing pubs serving real beer and decent food.

The only downside is the noise from Darley Moor circuit, so if you really don't appreciate motorsport noises, check with the circuit to see if there's anything scheduled. Although you could always go & watch!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickanlynne 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here for our first time, lovely site,

We stayed for a weekend, had some rain but that was no problem as all pitches are hard standing, only problem was rain dripping off trees, bit noisy

The toilets was very clean and nice hot showers, good size pitches with water taps not too far away,

There is an enclosed dog walking area and some great walks for dogs nearby.

Great site will go there again. Only criticism is having to pay for dogs, but most sites are cashing in on this now.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AliHo 15 reviews from this member

What a great site, despite our lovely August weather! The facilities were always spotless which was amazing considering the amount of rain we had.

The owners on this site are fantastic, really helpful and always around, what more could you ask for. They have a small information area packed with local places to go and leaflets about the same.

Our children aged 10&7 loved it, the wooded area and rope swing proving to be very popular.

The site is ideally located if you have bikes with you, and is near to Ashbourne, which has lovely shops (the old sweet shop proving very popular).

Would definitely go back again, hopefully next time we'd have some summer weather!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Merlin32 1 review from this member

This was our first time camping in our new Trailer Tent and loved it. We only went for one night to try it out but had a great time.

We have two children aged 9 and 7 who thought the area was wonderful especially as there was a rope swing and they could build a den. The lady arranged for a plot near the dog walking area as we have a puppy.

The dog walking area is a really good idea. It is fully enclosed and we could let our dog off the lead without worry.

The toilets were clean and tidy. We had a couple of trips into Ashbourne and were lucky enough to find a free car park near the cricket club.

The only problem for us was that we couldn't fully peg our trailer tent out but we were made aware of the fact that the ground was hard but not being seasoned campers thought the medal pegs we had would be fine.

We will definitely be back for more visits!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Beards 2 reviews from this member

Our first caravan holiday and what a nice place to try out. Very clean toilets and showers, no playground but the boys loved the woodland we were in. Seemed to be a lot of dog owners who use the site, watch where you step!

Not close to shops or pubs etc but this helped to let you feel away from it all. Had a walk into Snelston which is a lovely model village, will be back again for a short break one day.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Redorion 14 reviews from this member

Excellent little site near, surprise, surprise Snelston and about 15 minutes from ashbourne.

Two ends of the site the one end is a bit more crowded then the other. The quite end is towards the Wood and dog walking area.

However pitches are large and under trees so the rest of the world can be ignored. If you get up early you can watch the birds such as the tree creepers. Be warned that as they are under trees you should take bug spray to deter the biters!

Facilities are good and clean. The only down side was the smell from the Cesspit that welcomed us each day.

Dog walking area is fenced off so the kids don't go running in and the dogs don't come running at them. However this does then reduce the amount of wood available to explore.

The wood is not suitable, in my opinion, for younger <10 yrs to be let off on their own as the undergrowth is extensive and hides the ditches and tree stumps etc.

There is very little open space so don't go expecting the kids to be entertained playing football!.

Overall nice site with some good pitches.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kirstsw 32 reviews from this member

A really lovely woodland site with large sheltered pitches. The site managers are very friendly and helpful. The toilets and showers are very clean with free hot showers.

There is a washing machine, tumble dryer and a microwave in the pot washing room. Some nice walks in the area. The village of Snelston is worth a walk to.

Also the unique clapper stile in the woods on the way to Clifton.

At 17. 00 a night including EHU it's very good value. Dogs are welcome and there is a large fenced dog run on the site

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TinTenter24 6 reviews from this member

Only had 2 nights here while visiting family, but the site was lovely, with individual pitches set among the trees. Great facilities, and friendly warden.

We were there at a particularly wet time, and the noise on the roof was made worse by the trees emptying their rain storage every time the wind blew, but that is not the fault of the site, just something you have to accept if you stay on a beautiful woodland site during bad weather!

If I could criticise anything, it would simply be that it is not very well drained, and after rain, the roads and pitches were holding a lot of water, an inch or more on pitches (glad we didn't use our awning) and deeper floods on roads. They really should have added drainage when they dug the water and electric services around the site.

Otherwise, and in dry weather the site is lovely, and would definitely use again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Capitalbarbie 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 2 night break and what a lovely place. Very chilled out, no play area but our children loved tree climbing and den making.

Toilet block very clean, 4 loos and 3 showers although the pushbutton showers are a little infuriating.

M&S and Majestic Wine Warehouse are just up the road as is Ashbourne town centre and the 6pm departure is welcomed.

The only thing I missed was a pub within walking distance, so stock up before you go. Overall, this was a well kept, value for money site.

We have already booked to go back.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grubbychubby 6 reviews from this member

Very affordable site for staying in Derbyshire

If you are prepared to drive to the main attractions.

The site was ok, pitch was a bit on the tight side to fit caravan, awning and car.

The Woodland setting was nice but could be a bit to shaded at time with the smell of rotting vegetation due to recent wet period.

The facilities are kept very clean, the showers are a bit annoying with constantly having to press the button after a few seconds.

A walk down into the village is a very worth while experience can be a bit of a slog coming back up the hill.

Location near the main road can be slightly noisy on occasions

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2557 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019