Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Woodland Caravan Park Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15th March To 3rd November 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Williams Family 7 reviews from this member

This site has its positives and constructives just like most sites around.

Positives:

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The site was clean.

The dog run was good.

The location is not too far from Ashbourne.

The facilities were very clean and looked after.

Nice and compact.

Constructives:

The site is very muddy due to recent rain and I feel this could have been combatted by better surfaces such as limestone or hardcore where the paths and roads were.

The free WIFI, by admission of the staff, was painfully slow and there was no payable upgrade to a better connection.

We went on a non motorcycle event day and there was still a lot of noise from the A52 as well as other vehicles.

Overall, a nice stay, but I feel that the owners need to invest in a decent WIFI service / provider, after all we live in a forever advancing technological society.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Masonian62 1 review from this member

Cracking Site. We spent 6 nights here over Easter and was a really clean and welcoming place. Janice and Mark are the perfect hosts, really friendly, we felt like we had known them for years when we left. They are doing everything right.

The pitches are spacious and reasonably private, but it was still early spring so the trees and bushes were still bare from the winter.

The toilets and showers are modern and kept immaculate.

This is another campsite we will be adding to our list to stay on a regular basis.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Joeandhelen 5 reviews from this member

Unfortunately we had to leave this site early due to very poor weather and my ol' bad back. This is no reflection on this stunning site and indeed following two days and nights of rain the ground was still dry. The facilities are immaculate and we were made very welcome. This is a unique little quiet forest site. We loved it and so did our two wee dogs. So much to do near by too. A beautiful site in a beautiful area. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karl b 1 review from this member

Stayed on this site the weekend and it was excellent Mark and Janice were really helpful and welcoming the site has every think you need and is very clean and tidy. Good location for nice peaceful weekend. Cant wait to go again

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cheshiresheil 7 reviews from this member

Spent two nights recently at Woodland. We have been several times before liking the facilities, walks and peacefulness The site has undergone a change of ownership, our visit co-coinciding with their opening day. The new owners are just as pleasant, welcoming and helpful as the previous ones, providing cake and drink to celebrate! The excellent showers and toilets have had a refit and it remains, for us a lovely, tidy familiar base for a short break.

Even though the weather was below freezing and snowing (!) we once again enjoyed our stay. It may be worth noting in reference to previous posts that the option to stay later has changed slightly in that one is asked to contribute 5 to the Greyhound charity if a later stay is desired.

Do try the Sunday lunch at the Shoulder of Mutton in Osmaston. Unpretentious. Friendly staff and a very pleasant lunch.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackwinguk 9 reviews from this member

Sitting in this lovely site as. I write this. Sun is shining and all is quiet. It's such a lovely site for a relaxing break. Facilities are good too. Ashbourne is within 5 or so minutes. Will be returning. Being able to stay until 6pm, for no extra cost, is a bonus.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaynemum 1 review from this member

Was a bit concerned when we pulled on because there were loads of flies that come around the car but they soon disappeared. Had a wonderful three night stay. Very peaceful and relaxing. Met with friends. Nothing to be disappointed about other than wish we were nearer the disabled toilets as I am disabled and struggled to walk, my hubby had to drive me there.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Acting_strange 6 reviews from this member

A lovely site, very easy to find, nice and quiet, with extremely friendly staff. The Showering and toilet facilities were immaculate and ample pot washing area. An ideal spot if all you want is peace and tranquillity.

The hook ups were easily accessible and well lit, all hard standing which does mean the use of rock pegs if you have an awning etc. Being camped among the trees meant that when the wind picked up we didn't have to wind in our side awning as we usual would do to the protection provided.

We were a little disappointed with some of the dog owners, just opening their doors and letting the dogs out in the morning, but that is always down to the individual.

Late in the evening there can be some noise from the local main road but that soon dies down.

As a motorhome owner it would be nice if at some point they might add a small shop selling essentials to the site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Meoldcocker 6 reviews from this member

We visited Woodland Caravan Park for 4 nights at the end of August 2016. This adult only site is very peaceful except for some road noise which we only noticed at night. Pitches are large and hard standing with hook up. Plenty of water taps around and one area near the entrance gate for grey water and cassette emptying. There is subdued lighting around the site. Toilets and showers are very good - always clean. Two loos and 3 showers for the men plus two urinals. More than adequate. There is a good dog run where your pets can be let off the lead ( previously a pheasant pen). We had two hot dry days and 2 wet days during our stay. Very noisy at night with the rain coming off the trees but so what? It is a woodland site!Can recommend Denstone Farm shop/restaurant for good food. This is about 20 mins drive away. There is a good M&S Food store in Ashbourne - less than 10 mins away by car. Loads of interesting places to visit eg Hartington, Tissington and Dovedale. We can recommend Woodlands for a peaceful break especially when it's dry. The owners run a very good site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Themgs 10 reviews from this member

We found this to be an average site. We had a warm welcome on arrival, and told to pick any available pitch (this does mean you must leave something on pitch if leaving during the day). The pitches are very hard and definitely need rock pegs but are large in size, and fairly private. There is an airfield nearby from which fly vintage aircraft and are noisy when flying overhead (not often), and road noise could be a problem (evenings and early mornings). The grey water waste is for cassettes only and not for motor homes who want drive over facilities. The toilet block was always clean and tidy when we visited. The electric point at our site was disguised well with tall ferns. The site was very quiet for an August week with such fine weather.

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4317 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019