Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodland Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Woodland Caravan Park Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           15/03/2022 to 03/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 152 Reviews
                9/10 from 152 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  152 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Robin4 1 review from this member

 One of my favourite sites. Large pitches set into the trees and well separated from your neighbours.

An on site dog exercise area, above average in size. Modern clean facilities.

Even managed to get a reasonable TV reception despite the trees. Internet access was poor though.

Very good value overall. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elaine 1 review from this member

 Very well organised site

Very clean,

Good woodland run for dogs

Everything pretty central

Chip shop

Convenient stores, marks and spencers, homebase, mountain warehouse

Lovely independent shops in ashbourne 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tomwhi 1 review from this member

 Had an extremely pleasant and relaxing stay.

Excellent facilities and spotlessly clean.

Mark and Janice were very helpful and informative as well as very welcoming and friendly.

Would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LesleyDuffy 2 reviews from this member

 This is site is a real gem - secluded position amongst a wooded area on the doorstep of the Peak District. The site is professionally run and spotlessly clean.

The pitches are large and all the facilities well maintained - the shower block is a joy to use as it's kept so clean.

Mark and Janice, the owners are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They gave us lots of information on the surrounding area, including lots of walks direct from the site. They are caravaners themselves so understand what is needed to make a site an enjoyable experience.

The town of Ashbourne is 10 mins away and has all you need, the Peak District and all its glory within easy reach.

Will definitely return and can definitely recommend this site and its location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vanessa45 14 reviews from this member

 Not for us.

On arrival met by Mark no hello just have you got a mask, then signed in given the usual paperwork and was told make sure your husband reads it as men don't usually then they go to Mark asking questions (I thought they were supposed to be helpful) obviously he didn't want to be disturbed.

Given our pitch number and shown on a map where to go, but me being me went the wrong way, Mark was not pleased about this as he had to open the gates again and said to my husband I told your wife where to go. Then said my husband had driven like a bat out of hell around the site, which is ridiculous we have a old skoda pulling a folding camper my husband is 60 years old knows how to drive around a campsite.

Once at our pitch, which ever way we faced we felt like we were in a fish bowl, caravans and cars really close some were less than 8ft away, yet there were plenty of empty large pitches.

The site is very peaceful at the weekend but then Monday comes and so does the traffic noise at 3. 20am, waking us up, it is quieter at home.

On the plus side the toilet facilities are immaculate.

On leaving after just 2 days Mark asked us why we were leaving we told him about the pitch problem, he said we could have gone and spoke to him, but when you find his whole demeanour somewhat unapproachable it isn't something you want to do.

Some people might rate it but not us. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paula Lockwood 1 review from this member

 This was our first trip in our new motorhome.

The site owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Couldn't ask for more at our first site.

The site was quiet, shady and very clean.

Couldn't really walk into town from here but could walk cross country to a neighbouring village pub. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sarahj 1 review from this member

 Well what can I say. What a wonderful campsite.

Friendly staff who look after the campsite.

Very clean, stunning surroundings. Pitches great size. Plenty of walks around the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Julie Gibbons 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site, spotlessly clean and tidy.

The pitches are well marked and sit between tall trees.

The facilities are well maintained and covid safe.

The owners are extremely helpful and friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

There is a bit of road noise from the nearby extremely busy A515 but it wasn't intrusive at all.

There are plenty of public footpaths to explore the surrounding area and local pubs.

We'll definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: RodMS 2 reviews from this member

 Our first night of caravanning and what a lovely welcome. I confessed to the owner (Mark) that I was a newbie and he and his wife were super helpful from helping me in reversing, to explaining some of the basics.

The site was very quiet with it being an adult-only site. Lots of couples with dogs but all under control and very little noise from them (the dogs that is).

There was even a fenced-off area for letting the dogs off within the wood. Ashbourne town nearby for most facilities and access to the site was easy, with a clear signpost off the main road. Advice from Mark on the area including walks etc. Pulling out onto the main road was a little busy but nothing to worry about really. Just be patient. There is no rush.

Toilets were immaculate and not a scrap of rubbish anywhere on the site. Free wifi worked well (no teenagers streaming Netflix) and TV signal decent with the aerial. Great spot for exploring te Peak District.

Recommendation for fish & chips btw is Queens Fish & Chips. Medium chips and fish plus curry sauce 7. 50 - massive portions and gorgeous.

In summary, great site, location, price, hook up and I would thoroughly recommend 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Grayli 1 review from this member

 The site is great we really enjoyed staying amongst the trees it felt very natural.

The manager was very friendly and helpful and actually called on our mobile us to let us kn0w we'd left the step down

The toilets were very clean

It was a very relaxed site and we'd love to go again 
via mobile


Previous     152 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodland Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodland Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Woodland Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5962 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement