Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Woodland Caravan Park Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15th March To 3rd November 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shirl and Rob 1 review from this member

This was our first visit to the site and we stayed for 9 days, we live locally but needed a nice relaxing break and that was exactly what we got. Itís a lovely site in a woodland but with plenty of light and sunshine getting through the tree canopy. The facilities were clean and well maintained, the site owners are so friendly and helpful and made you feel really relaxed. Plenty of water taps around the whole site but there is only 1 chemical and 1 grey waste point which is near the entrance so it was a bit of a trek as we werenít that close. The motorcycles were racing across the road during the weekend which we didnít mind at all; there is quite a lot of noise from the main road but again it wasnít a problem for us and the birds know how to deal with that Ė they sang even louder! The enclosed dog walk was a real treat for our mad Springer Spaniel, he loved it and of course trips to the local pubs! The Cock Inn at Clifton serves good homemade food, and you can take dogs in there as well as many of the other local pubs. For people new to the area, only a couple of miles away in Ashbourne there are more supermarkets than you could possibly need. Thank you Carol and Tony for a wonderful stay and although we are only 30 minutes way, we will most definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Radar1 4 reviews from this member

This site is located in a mature wooded area. It has good access and is secured at night. The pitches are of good size and flat. All pitches are hard standing. The toilet block is behind reception and is very clean and well kept. On arrival we were met by Carol and it was simple to book in. Their policy is arrive early and leave late. Ideal if you like to take your time to pack away. Electric hook-up on all pitches and plenty of water points around the site. All in all a good site. The only minus was the TV reception which gets poor if it rains and there is little hope of getting a satellite signal.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cavalier3 1 review from this member

We spent a lovely relaxing Easter bank holiday weekend at Woodland Caravan Park. This was our first outing in our new caravan having upgraded from a tent. The owners offered to help us if we weren't sure of anything but we managed & they checked in on us the following day to make sure we'd survived the first night which I thought was a lovely touch. The pitches are large and well spaced out so we weren't overlooked by anyone and its loving being in amongst the tall trees. The park is well maintained and the toilets/showers/washing up area were spotless. Free wi-fi is available which worked fine or for a small charge you can get a faster connection. There is also a large dog walking enclosure which I thought was excellent as we have three dogs so we could let them off the lead knowing that they'd be safe. The site also has an area full of tourist information to help you plan days out etc but the owners are always close by if you have any questions or queries and within a five minute drive you have access to high street shops, supermarket, pubs & restaurants.

All in all I thought this was a great site and we'll definitely be returning in the near future.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dave2300 5 reviews from this member

After buying our new motorhome in the morning we were desperate to try it out and found this site 15 miles from home. We were met with a smile and with the payment out of the way we were told to park where we would like as it was a quiet weekend. We parked close to the enclosed dog run so we could get her our dog out for a run without any troubles. The site was quite busy and the site was clean, tidy and the toilets and shower was very clean. The dog run was ideal first thing in the morning and the shower was lovely and hot. Its a pity its so close to home otherwise we would use it again but if we get good weather forecasted over the winter weekends then yes I would go back just to get away from reality and have another relaxed and chilled weekend in our motorhome.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jemimac 8 reviews from this member

Just had a long weekend on this site. How nice it was. The pitch was right by the dog pen which was brill for me with 2 dogs, put them in there while setting up, they had a great time. Was dreading having a shower this time of year being cold, need not have worried, the shower and toilet block was heated. Hot water. Brill. The only down side I can say is having to pay for internet, most sites I have been on gives it free. I will be back on this site next time we visit the area.

Thanks for a nice stay

Carol, John and the 2 dogs Stella and Sid xx

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 82 reviews from this member

Camping amongst the trees certainly describes this site, very different. Lovely wardens who are so friendly and helpful;facilities spotlessly clean and lashings of hot water in the showers with good cubicles which actually keep your clothes and shoes dry; peaceful as long as you don't mind the odd shotgun in the distance; beautiful peaceful trees overhead.

BUT if it rains you must be prepared as the detritus of the forest floor on which you are pitched covers all the aquaroll & wastehog not to mention the awning and you will come home with wet and mucky equipment. The caravan of course will be covered too. As another poster said wellies are much needed.

My husband said ' if you like camping in the trees and are happy to put up with the downsides then this is the place for you. '

There is lots to see in the area, Matlock with its collectors/junk shops is fun to walk around, Ashbourne is sweet. We can highly recommend The Shire Horse just down the road (see the booklet in the reception) for Sunday lunch there was so much to eat at a reasonable price too.

One tip, check the local racetracks calendar as the site is opposite. They had a track day on the day we left, it was loud but didn't bother me as I am a motorbike & car racing fan.

So would we go again? Definitely in a heatwave of guaranteed no rain but a big maybe because next time we'll be prepared.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Winstonsax 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely weekend break before the bank holiday, had a great time on the spacious site all the pitches are spaced for the feel of privacy, there were lights on but not obtrusive ideal for wandering over to the shower/toilet block which were very well kept clean and tidy with a hairdryer on the wall in the ladies, lots of water taps dotted around the site the usual chemical toilet disposal facility. Ideally located for walkers, cyclists, hikers and everyone in between as Ashbourne is only something like 10 or 12 miles and there are the usual 'town' shops, on the way a couple of pubs doing food. Being in the Peak District you can visit Dovedale, Carsington Water, The Roaches, Ilam Hall to name but a few. If using sat-nav the postcode will not get you there and advised to use co-ordinates

52. 98117(North) 1. 75294(West)

Or just type in Snelston that's what we did and that got us there.

Hope this is helpful, the only problem we found was that it became very messy/slimy after it had been raining overnight as the paths/handstanding contained a lot of limestone so you will need to take rock pegs for awnings/sun canopies etc. For which there is no charge and dogs are just £1 per night with a dedicated and safe dog run. Another very big plus is the fact that you can leave anytime upto 6:00pm on the day of departure. Will definitely be going back. You will need to do some research though to make sure you don't choose to go on a 'Race' weekend as it is fairly close and will spoil it for you, if you are not interested in it, you can hear some normal road noise anyway although not too bad. Overall the site is very well kept and run well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M70ssy 3 reviews from this member

First visit to this site, the site is very nice, clean showers and toilets, the area for the dogs is great as you can let them of without them getting free.

Very quiet as it is an adult only site, we will definitely return.

The owners are very friendly, was told where to park our caravan the space was very big so we could park our car next to the caravan, met some very nice people on the site as well.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iamzod 1 review from this member

Really nice quiet site in a small wooded area, no pitch seems far from a water point, as other reviews have said you will need some sturdy tent pegs.

Don't bother with the wi-fi, it is terrible. I am getting a 22mb connection through my phone however we have a laptop we wanted to use without having to use up our data allowances. However the connection speed varies between 0. 2 - 0. 4mb so is fairly useless for anything with modern sites & services needing more than a connection that dates back about 15 years.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LouLiz 15 reviews from this member

We chose this site as it was adults only and weren't disappointed. It was so relaxing and peaceful. We felt we were just sitting out in the middle of a wood.

Very friendly and helpful warden. Toilet block clean.

Loads of leaflets to help us decide what to do - handy for cycle trails.

Would definitely go back again.

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4187 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019