Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15th March To 3rd November 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mdrinky 15 reviews from this member

Well what can we say. 100% as usual. A warm welcome to new wardens Carole and Tony who are doing a grand job at keeping the site clean, fresh and spotless.

Read the reviews below and go and see for yourselves. The site is very rustic, set in the woods, very well lit at night with an immaculate toilet and shower block, laundry room re-cycling bins, enclosed dog walking area, EHU, plentiful water points, CDP

Just a five minute drive from Ashbourne town ( M&S simply food / Sainsbury's) and 15 minutes from Carsington water/ Tissington trail. And just perfect if you want to get away from it all. Our boys love it there with their bikes

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Greg4julie 1 review from this member

What a cracking site! If you want peace and quiet and you have dogs, this site is great. Lots of nice walks around here, even secure dog run on site, what luxury is that.

The shower block is first class.

No extra charge for water,awning or dogs.

The Warden was really friendly and very helpful.

Plenty of Pubs and shops in the area, lots to see and do round about.

Could do with a little play area for the kids. But apart from that will certainly be going back

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mdrinky 15 reviews from this member

Once again a delightful visit. The customer service by Charles, Linda-Jane, Glyn & Gary is 1000% from them all- well done and thank you for making a truly memorable visit once again

Spotless showers and toilets complete with hairdryer (unless you are unfortunate to follow the dirty people who can't be bothered to clean up after themselves and leave dirt everywhere for others to clean up for them, no excuses as there is a mop and clothes for you to clean as you go) Showers have external changing rooms as an annex to the shower itself so you don't get your clothes wet. Separate utility room with Microwave if you need it.

All hard standing, so don't forget your rock pegs for the awning! night courtesy lights above the ehu unit. Water and fire points in the curves of the turning circle.

A very sheltered site. Children were playing in the woods and making 'dens' and bow n arrows and riding their bikes.

We WILL be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Katianne 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week long stay at Woodland Caravan Park.It was so good we've booked for the next two weekends!

The site wardens are extremely friendly and helpful, full of useful information about the area, what to do and where to go. The pitches themselves are a good size - ours was big enough for our caravan, porch awning and 4x4. There are bigger pitches available though - you just need to state the size of your caravan, awning etc when booking to ensure that you're allocated the right size pitch.

The facilities are modern, clean and to a high standard. The shower water was the perfect temperature - not too hot for my OH and the children, but hot enough for me who likes the steam out the bathroom!

Great for dogs - the enclosure is good for a 5 minute run around and toilet break, but the field it right next to the camp site, with a public footpath going on for miles if you want a decent walk on your doorstep.

We took our niece and nephew (7 and 9) who loved the camp site. Great for tree climbing (obv!), building dens and hide and seek! We visited Dovedale (kids recommended the icecream and the stepping stones), Ilam Country Park (again icecream comes recommended!) and the 'Heights of Abraham' (which the kids rated 10 out of 10). We are big fans of the Peak District so found the site an excellent base for exploring the beautiful countryside that this area boosts. See you next weekend!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: INUIT 2 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site, the individual plots are perfect for a bit of privacy, nice is you are not into communal chatting and getting involved in everything, very relaxing. Though the site was nice to walk around and have a chat with people if you wanted. It is a bit shaded, but I love caravanning or camping in woodlands so it was heaven.

The dog area was great, not massive, but having a dog that would normally disappear, it was nice to let him roam in the enclosure, even though it was small, plenty of stick and ball throwing took place, the dog loved it.

The facilities where very nice and the warden was very helpful and pleasant, especially when I backed into a tree, this was my bad driving not an problem of the site.

The racing was on the weekend we went, but to be honest it was not as bad as we thought and where out most of the day anyway. Though if you where on the site all day it may get a little annoying. When we booked, the warden made it clear the racing was on.

Ashbourne is not far away and has some great shops. Plenty of walks and cycle rides around the peak district area.

We do not have kids and prefer adult only sites, but this was a happy medium, the kids that where there where off playing in the woods, they seemed really happy and it was great there was no screaming and ball throwing in the close vicinity of our pitch.

I loved the site, but can see it might not be everyones cup of tea as in is very shaded and maybe not super kid friendly.

We will certainly go back.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freedom4us 41 reviews from this member

Went for a long weekend. Wardens very helpful and friendly. Agree with last review about it being bit dark because of the trees but to be fair the clue is in the name of the site! Anyway we didn't get any sun in or out of the site.

Toilets and showers were spotless. All in all a nice site, although we won't be going back because he who drives bumped his landrover on one of those trees and blames the tree! Lovely site. Ashbourne is a short drive away and has good pubs and shops.

There's an m&s on route were you can buy the eat in for 10 deal for your saturday night. Surrounding area is great for walking but the dog area on site is really a toilet break as it is only little and with the trees ball throwing is not an option

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Monkey42 1 review from this member

What a lovely site.

We only stayed the one night, but will return when in the area.

I have to disagree with people who say there is nowhere to for children to play. There were a few families with children and they were having great fun building dens and hiding in the trees.

There is also a large field where people can walk there dogs, play football, etc, when we walked through there were people playing frizbee.

The field is well away from the road so children are safe, perhaps the people who did the last review did not step out of their caravan to look at the surrounding area!

When you arrive the owners are very welcoming and give you a map of the area which has a circular walk, which takes you through the field and down to where the monkey puzzle trees are and there are no roads except for the last little bit which is a very quiet road with hardly any traffic.

The pitches are a very good size and private.

The toilets and showers are very clean.

The owners were very approachable and were always, cleaning and tiding the site.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NICDOB175 2 reviews from this member

My husband and I chose this site because the reviews were excellent and we certainly were not disappointed. From the minute we arrived we were made so welcome by the site wardens, Garrie and Glyn, who could not have been more helpful. These guys are a credit to the site ! We had an excellent pitch which was more than large enough for our twin axle van with full size awning. We even had enough space to park the car alongside. The electric hook-up was very close and well lit. The natural woodland offers a nice amount of privacy without being totally cut off from those around you. The shower block was very modern and clean. There were 3 showers and 4 toilets in each block, each shower with a separate changing area for your clothes. The changing area had a large shelf and hook so plenty of useful space for your belongings without them getting wet. The showers were lovely and warm and we never had to wait even though the site was almost fully occupied on the weekend we visited. There must have been around 40 pitches and I can't say that any of them would have been undesirable. Each pitch was clearly marked and easy to find. The nearby village of Clifton has a nice pub, the Cock Inn, with beer garden and children are welcome. We got a lovely lunch and it only took 45 minutes to walk down with the dogs (if you're into walking) but would only take two minutes by car. Ashbourne is really close by too with loads of shops, pubs, restaurants etc. And a market on Saturday. There's a large Sainsbury's and a Waitrose in Ashbourne. The site has a special dog exercise pen where the dogs can run free off the lead and you can pick up a guided walk leaflet from the office. The children on site seemed to really enjoy the woodland and from what we could see it looked like a real adventure for them. We found the pricing of the site very reasonable. We couldn't complain about anything. We loved this site and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. I'm sure we'll be back again soon.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: StewnJo 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend from this small very welcoming 52 pitch site. The current wardens were friendly & very helpful. The site is located amongst trees, each pitch having its own area of hard standing & electric hook-up.

You will definitely need heavy duty pegs for awning on the hard standing. The toilet block is small but very well maintained & plenty of hot water.

There is a local motor cycle circuit close to the site so it is recommended to check via the web link on the caravan park website if any motorcycling event is on. Would we visit again, most definitely.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rambling sid 2 reviews from this member

Not for me I'm afraid.

Being almost totally shaded by trees and without a grassed area for public use it felt like we couldn't enjoy being there. Mixing with other people was more difficult, didn't see kiddies out playing, it was more like being 'confined to barracks'.

Even though it was one of the hottest weekends to date, we were in permanent shade, yet could see through a gap in the perimeter hedge sunlight!

Oh, and Ashbourne is a little too far to walk, and so it's everywhere by car.

Even though the staff were helpful and the amenities block were first class, I have no desire to return or recommend this site.

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2277 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019