Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 4th November 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 61 to 66                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Boo b 3 reviews from this member

Great little site, clean and tidy facilities, the wardens tony and carol couldn't be more helpful the enclosed dog walking area is a brilliant idea could not keep our dog out, plenty of places and things today within a short distance, ramblers retreat near alton well worth a visit, don't get why anyone can call the wifi expensive its the cheapest we have come across. Just had four nights there but that wasn't long enough will be back for sure. All in all you can't fault this site what could be better than waking up to the birds singing and the sun light coming through the trees if this is your thing you won't go far wrong with this site,

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DazSalSut 3 reviews from this member

What a lovely site.

We booked late and had no problem getting a pitch. We booked to stay for 3 nights on our way back from Yorkshire.

Received a phone call the day before we were arriving to say the wardens may not be there when we arrived so gate key and instructions would left for us in a safe location and they would see us when they came back. Great service.

The dog exersize area is superb.

The site is kept beautifully clean, the toilet/shower block is one of the best we have used.

The site is working very hard being as green as they can be, with various recycling options available and clearly labled.

They admit they have a bit of work to do between the pitches to make them green and grassy and have a programme in place after this season has closed down.

Due to family issues back home we had to leave a day early and they went beyond their means to ensure everything was ok for us before we left.

Wonderful site, lovely people. Give them a try.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bestieboy 25 reviews from this member

This was the first site we have re-visited since getting our first caravan early last year. We enjoyed our previous visit earlier this year and the main reason for returning was that we had an opportunity to get away for the weekend without the sprogs and this site allows you to stay on your final day until 18. 00hrs. This is at no extra charge and not subject to how busy the site is, it enabled us to make full use of a two night stay in the beautiful Peak District. On the final day we packed up in the morning, then disappeared for the day before returning, hooking up and driving the three or so hours back to Suffolk.

Whilst the site is not central for the Peaks it is very convenient to access from the South and is close to the very pretty Dove and Manifold valleys where we enjoy walking the dogs.

My previous review mentioned that the foliage made the site appear scruffy, now in full greenery it was much more pleasant offering a number of private pitches and screening the site from the road.

The dog walk is excellent, the facilities are very good and the wardens very friendly and helpful.

Would happily stay for a week, but with the kids(ages 10 & 12) would only recommend a short stay as there is no play area (other then the woods); if they were unable to find other children of similar ages to befriend I could see them getting a bit bored.

Very quiet, only a third full during the school holidays so if your looking for a late booking we would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: El-shifter 3 reviews from this member

Well where do I begin about commenting on this hidden gem. Well laid out forest park, all pitches well spaced and not overlooked by vegetation screening etc. Nothing is military style laid out. All little alcoves, cubby holes etc, under a canopy of tall pine trees.

Our hard standing pitch was very large with water point and hook up, enough room for our 8 mt van, awning and 4x4. Small reception area, with gates in and out. Locked out of hours but you are provided with a key. We can honestly say they have the best kept toilets shower facilities we have ever come across, and a credit to the most friendly help full staff. Immaculate area for washing any pans etc. Nice laundry room with commercial sized drier ( 1-00 for 30 mins) and top loader w/mc and microwave. When this site was laid out, it must have a been a caravanner who helped design it. Slept in every morning as so quiet ! We loved it and will be back for sure. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ferbietool 2 reviews from this member

What an excellent site for chilling! We stayed here for three nights, as this was our second time towing our caravan we wanted somewhere local to try out. On arrival we were greeted by the warden, who was very welcoming, he supplied us with a gate key and then showed us to our pitch. The pitch was loose stone, so if your not to steady on your feet could cause a problem and was rough underfoot. The pitch was spacious and a good distance from others allowing a lot of privacy. After setting up we had a walk to the facilities, which were excellent, very clean. The showers are push button, the water was lovely and warm all the time. At the back of the toilets was a pot wash area, we did not use this but it was lovely and clean all the time, and at the back of that was the rubbish which was very good for recycling. An overall view of this caravan site I would give it a 9. I think it could be improved by having a small shop selling a few basic groceries. Saying that Ashbourne was only 5 mins down the road. We will be going back and we highly recommend this site if you want a chilled break.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Justkats 1 review from this member

This was our third stay at this site this year.

A very pretty site especially at this time of year. Large, spacious pitches with good seclusion

From neighbouring pitches. The site was virtually full during our stay but we never had to queue for toilets or showers and the site was amazingly quiet at night in view of the number of people on site. Toilets and showers spotless, the best wifi we have experienced on any site and not expensive.

The owners were very friendly and attentive and happy to give advise on local places to visit.

Cannot praise this site too highly.

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 66      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth 560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1934 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.0898