Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15th March To 3rd November 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Russco81 7 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site if you want to go away and switch off ( as we needed to do! ) Stayed here for a weekend in May, on arrival wardens very friendly and helpful. Given a map on the site and directed to our pitch.

When we went around 10 caravans on site but it was extremely peaceful, could hardly hear the road that is mentioned in previous reviews. Toilets were spotlessly clean and full recycling to.

Asbourne is a lovely town to visit 5 miles away.

We would definitely use this site again as we and our 3 year old loved it

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PMBJW 7 reviews from this member

We visited over Easter Bank Holiday and it rained and rained was wet a boggy but the owners were tireless in the endeavours to make life as easy as possible for all the guests.

Set in a quiet location with a bike track for the kids and secured dog run the site is well maintained and clean.

The toilets washing facilities showers etc were of very high standard and despite the campsite been nearly full there was never much of a queue and they were always clean and warm.

Despite the weather very much enjoyed as a quiet retreat

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sumps53 37 reviews from this member

Just back from an Easter weekend stay at this pleasant and easy to find site. We received a very friendly, speedy and helpful welcome. Set among trees (as the name suggests) the pitches are spacious, level and close to hook-up points.

No feeling of being crowded although it was quite a busy weekend. The showers are clean (push type) and with plentiful hot water. The dog walking area is small but functional, and being a fenced in section of the site, dogs are allowed off-lead here.

There is a handy M&S food a couple of miles down the road towards Ashbourne, which is itself well-served with supermarkets (Co-op, Waitrose and Sainsburys that we saw) plus some proper butchers and some very nice independent shops(loved Sticky Fingers). Good base for the Peaks.

A few hours at Carsington Water, a fantastic resource, popular with dog-owners, where you can hire a bike is recommended. If you aren't so fit, go for the electric bike. It's fantastic. A 2 hour rental of one plus a conventional bike cost 24 which we thought was reasonable. Can get round the whole lake in this time.

A visit to the Heights of Abraham is also worthwhile - if only for the cable car. Dogs allowed in too!

Back to the site - the road noise was not a problem and is quiet at night. A very nice site to which we would return with no hesitation.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindadf 8 reviews from this member

When visiting a site for the first time one really does not know what to expect. Previous reviews I would say had been mixed, but as we specifically wanted this area of Derbyshire we decided to 'go for it'.

We found the site easy enough, Carol the warden was in reception, welcome very warm and friendly, checking in procedure very straight forward. Map with pitch marked and also water points etc. A good touch. After a little disagreement with the gatepost we found our lovely pitch to be ample in size for van, awning and car.

There is an amazing feeling of calm on the site, lovely and quiet - excluding the acorns bombing the van on a frequent basis. So while the rest of the country were holed up riding out the last of Hurricane Katya, we were enjoying the delights of the Peak district.

Showers and toilets were immaculate, push button showers were hot and not too annoying. Loved the fact that walks on site were 'dog friendly' and the dog run.

Added to this compared with most sites much less expensive

Definitely one for us to go to again

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Insurancegeezer 4 reviews from this member

Well we booked this site due to proximity to Alton Towers as it is 15 min drive, we could drop off teenage daughter and friend and come back and relax.

We booked in and told to drive around and pick an empty pitch, we picked number 1, went back to office and told we could have that pitch, so levelled van and got awning up. Then over walks warden to say sire already booked and we had to move, after a long drive we had set up and already thinking of the wine cooling!

So our first 20 mins were not great, my wife was very angry, however, after that have to say the site is quiet, very very clean, staff very helpful, showers great (wish they lasted more than half a minute).

The site is close to alton towers, about 15 mins if you use country lanes, however a tip for you. The cheapest tickets for alton towers are from ashbourne tourist information, pay for the at TIC office, 2 for 1 and single tickets costs 30, also you can get second day at alton towers for only 10. So 50 to keep 2 teenagers happy for 2 days and give you some peace and quiet. What more could you ask!

All pitches are stony hard standing, which makes it a bit hard under foot and for sleeping in awning. Nightmare to get tent pegs in. But we really liked the site and would recommend it!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: White Rose 22 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a rainy weekend in July - and I suspect we would have got more out of its woodland setting had the weather been better. As it was, we didn't really spend any time walking round the local area but went everywhere by car.

The site is small, quiet and compact with clearly defined pitches. The staff were helpful and friendly and the 6pm departure time was an unexpected luxury .

The facilities were clean, despite the wet weather, and we didn't have to queue. There was no extra charge for EHU or showering - though the showers drove me potty as each button press resulted in not much more than 10-15 seconds of water at a time (it took a fair while to get both me and my four year old clean at the same time!).

However, the water was hot and the instructions about mopping out the showers seemed to be well observed.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mallard 3 reviews from this member

Just back from 2 weeks at Woodland Caravan Park. 1st week very quiet, 2nd week (start of school holidays) a bit noisier!

This was probably the cheapest campsite we have stayed at, and the wardens are extremely friendly and welcoming. The site has a foreign look about it with pitches nestled in the trees - pitches are big with space in between.

The facilities are fairly basic and probably let the site down slightly. Push button showers and taps get a bit frustrating after two weeks, especially showers that cut out after 20 seconds! And a shelf/tray would be handy, rather than putting your stuff on the floor.

The lights are also on a timer and always went out before I finished a shower, leaving you in darkness!

Showers aside there is a small fenced-off dog walk (although on the 2nd week a group of campers were letting their dogs run 'free' in this and not clearing up their mess), and there is a walk from the site.

There is no specific play area, therefore kids end up playing in the woods amongst the pitches. The sheltered nature of the site also means that even when the sun is out there is limited direct sunlight.

The site is on a B road but the busy A515 runs past one end of the site (you can see a roadside snack van from the site), there was certainly road noise at night which would probably be worse the further up the site you are. A neighbours dog barking through the night didn't help! And the nearby race track and airport ensures that there is plenty of noise at weekends, though not overly intrusive.

The site is very close (approx 10 mins) to Alton Towers and 5 mins from Ashbourne, though a little far away from the Peak District delights (30 mins to Buxton).

In summary this would be a nice site to use as a stopover or couple of nights but perhaps avoid longer stays (and school holidays!) due to the limited facilities. This site is relaxed and there is none of the 'regimented' feel often associated with CC sites, though there is a transient feel about the residents.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Westy2011 3 reviews from this member

What a great site set in the woods, the younger members of our party loved playing making dens and tree climbing, good enclosed dog walk where you can let your dog run loose

On arriving at the site friday evening we were met by a very warm welcome and didn't even need to ask our normal question can we stay later on sunday pm as leaving early always seems pointless on a weekend break, as we were informed we could stay till 6pm on our departure day.

Toilets modern & clean as were the showers, lots of water points round the site, will definitely use this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Finnies 4 reviews from this member

We loved, loved, loved this site. Very easy to find, quiet when not too many children are on the site, but set in the most beautiful surroundings. It was just so nice to be 'in the woods'.

Toilet and shower block were clean and tidy and plenty of hot water. Washing up facilities and laundry facilities were good and there was also a microwave available to use which was a super thought.

The owners were really helpful and very pleasant and we will definitely be returning.

Dog walking was excellent and the local village very picturesque and quaint.

No play area for children but that wasn't a priority for us.

Do not hesitate to book this site

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MoSue 1 review from this member

Very first outing in our newly acquired, very old motorhome to test it out, so only 40 minutes from home.

If this is the standard of caravan sites, we shall be well pleased.

Lovely wooded surroundings made pitch feel really private - lying on settee I could see nothing but surrounding trees!

Good, clean facilities, helpful wardens and 6pm leaving made it first class, together with reasonable fees, compared to many sites I have looked at since.

Only negative might be lack of shop for basics.

Good for dogs with fields for walks.

Clifton is nearest village - good 1 hour walk across fields, but lovely village with pub, local shop.

Ashbourne is great for shopping. Lots of nice charity shops and places to eat.

Will definitely visit again.

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2560 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019