Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15th March To 3rd November 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (18)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Yvonneandco 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a couple of nights over a weekend. We had a very warm welcome from one of the wardens. We loved the fully enclosed dog walking area and the fact it was full of trees made ball games lots of fun as the balls ricocheted of the trees.

There was a bit of road noise and the wifi was 3 per day. The facilities were ok, clean, but a dust around for dead insects wouldn't go amiss.

Not far (by vehicle) to Ashbourne and supermarkets.

We liked it here and would happily come back. A very relaxing weekend.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JEN2008 3 reviews from this member

What a gorgeous site! One of the biggest pluses, as far as I am concerned, was the adults only ruling. So restful to wake up there with no screaming children playing ball around the caravans, instead just trees, birds and blissful peace and quiet!

The shower block was spotless, toilets immaculate. And I absolutely loved the fact that there was a little bench inside the shower cubicle with a plastic curtain to keep the water out, so no more hopping on one foot while I tried to dry myself! Why can't more places have this?

Nearby is Matlock, a lovely little town. And although Darley Moor race track is right next door and occasionally the bikes were loud we didn't find it noisy.

All in all, I think this is one of the nicest sites we have tried.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Usandthedog 8 reviews from this member

Spent a lovely few days at this site. Great location, not far from the main road, and close enough to nearby Ashbourne with some lovely walks. 2 supermarkets close by for all provisions. Enclosed dog area within the woods where woofer could run off the lead using logs and fallen trees as a steeple chase, great fun. Owners were lovely and helpful, very welcoming and on hand if needed. Pitches were large and nicely separated so you feel like you have a little wood all to yourself. Adult only which is a huge bonus, nice and quiet. Just the way we like it.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ShaznCol 15 reviews from this member

Just returned yesterday after a quick weekend break at Woodland. We were also there over the Easter break, which was when the site changed to Adults Only.

Have to say the simplicity of the site is it's strongest point.

The pitches are hidden amongst the tall trees, which provide a cool canopy over the site. The trees and the bracken between divide the pitches perfectly.

Friendly welcome at the reception.

Facilities are very clean, however on busy dates, perhaps the two cubicles and three showers in the Gents toilets would be in demand.

The wildlife and variety of birds is very interesting to just sit and watch. Some people were bringing their own bird feeders to hook over a branch next to their units!

The pitches and road around the site were sometimes a little muddy due to the weather on our stays and, with the natural woodland debris underfoot, keeping the unit clean was a bit of a chore, wellies recommended!

Having visited several sites around the area over the years, Woodland will be our first choice in the future.

Definitely a de-stressing experience!

Ashbourne is a pretty town and Leek was a good day out also. Countless other points of interest surrounding.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Beilby 7 reviews from this member

We have just spent a peaceful and restful weekend at this lovely site. We were attracted by the fact it is an adult only site and the that you are not required to leave until 6pm on your departure date. The setting among the trees, the friendly helpful wardens and the close proximity to Ashbourne and the surrounding villages make this a very pleasant site to stay on. Because of the hard ground sturdy pegs and a strong arm are needed when putting up an awning. If they would also ban 'yapping' dogs the place would be perfect!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sybil LGL 6 reviews from this member

We've visited a few sites this year and felt this one was quite unique as we were pitched amongst the trees, which we really liked - we enjoyed the tranquility of this site.

The site is easily accessible off the A515 (short drive down a lane) and for us meant we had no hesitation taking the van out a few times - no difficult lanes or access to contend with. Despite this the site was quiet and although there was occasional slight road noise it was not intrusive at all.

It was also great to be able to walk down the quiet lanes immediately off the site and we did a lot of walking around the area.

The facilities were excellent - ample showers and toilets and very clean. It was quite cold when we stayed and the toilet/shower blocks were always warm.

The wardens were very friendly and helpful.

This is a site which met our expectations and which we would have no hesitation in recommending.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 86 reviews from this member

Since this site became Adults only we felt that it was high time to give it a visit - and we're so glad we did. Spent 4 nights prior to the May Bank Holiday. We were greated and booked in by Tony very quickly and told that we could pitch anywhere that was free. The pitches are all sited in the trees and very discreet. All hard standing - compacted earth and crushed stone - making very firm surfaces. Site facilities are spacious and spotless; there is loads of room the shower cubicle with a sectioned off part for your clothing - so no risk if getting it wet!

The site is only a couple of miles from Ashbourne town where there is a Sainsburys. M&S Food, Waitrose and Co-op to cater for all your needs. A good selections of small shops and several coffee shops complete the line. Oh - I forgot - a chippy in there market place - most important! There is also an excellent garden centre with restaurant and coffee shop less than a mile from the site - well worth a visit.

Local attractions abound in the Derbyshire Dales area of the park District. Dovedale is compulsory! The walk to ilam Hall is easy and pleasant.

Are there any downsides? Well traffic noise has been commented on, although it never bothered us. (The A515 road IS very busy and carries quite a bit of heavy traffic). Perhaps the one improvement that could be made is TV booster signals. The office is fed from a dish at the edge of the site, whilst the managers' have a full aerial installation for their own caravan. Reception was certainly hit and miss - more the latter!

Snelston village has nothing - but there is a decent pub in Clifton. It serves food at reasonable prices, and on light nights could be walked to across the fields.

All in all we had a really enjoyable stay at Woodlands and have added another 'must go back to' site to our list.

Management response: Thank you for your kind comments.

The TV reception is not great but if you have a directional aerial you should have no problems, some people bring an external aerial that they fix on a pole, these also work fine.

The satellite dish you refer to is a 4G dish that supplies fast broadband to the caravan park and allows us to have wifi all around the site and has nothing to do with TV.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ellybrown1 7 reviews from this member

We received a very warm welcome at Woodland View. We were given a talk through the site and then advised to pitch anywhere. The site itself is beautiful, each hard standing pitch sitting in amongst the trees so all of the pitches have a wonderful woodland feel to them. The toilet block was immaculate and it was lovely and warm all the time. Push button showers which were powerful enough and the temperature was set just right. The disabled facilities and laundry also looked good although we didn't need to use these. The enclosed dog walk was brilliant for the dogs, giving plenty of space for them to run around off lead in amongst the trees. We decided on some walks as the weather was good, and the owner went through a few possible walks for us, giving us clear directions and advise on where to go. They directed us to walk through fields to the pub in Clifton which is a 2 mile walk with gorgeous scenery on the way. The next day we walked down to the river Dove where we had a picnic, again given good directions and the owners also let us borrow a map to help, although their directions were that good that it was not required.

One thing that we felt was excellent was that we did not need to vacate the pitch until 6pm, giving us an 'extra' day to Rest! We have been racking our brains to think of something that would improve this lovely little site, and all that we could think was that it has no shop close by for essentials (although there was a what we nicknamed a 'robo-shop' in Clifton)

We will definitely return to this site in the future as we really enjoyed our stay there!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stevie Camper 1 review from this member

Just returned from 3 Days at Woodlands and our first experience camping under trees! Excellent site, friendly welcome, great pitch ( ref to previous reviews regarding rock pegs!), great location for visiting anything within the area. Great value for money, especially staying until 6pm. Toilet blocks very clean, and good design. Great dog walking area. My daughter absolutely loved the woodland setting. Great shame this is moving to adults only but I'm sure the owners must of thought this through, otherwise we would definitely return.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bestieboy 25 reviews from this member

A very brief review as we have visited a number of times before and left more comprehensive reviews.

Once again we enjoyed our weekend and the site is great.

Unfortunately, for us at least, the site is to become adults only in 2015. A shame as this had become our Peak district 'go to' site, however I can understand this decision as there is not a lot here for children and it may be more viable as adult only.

We wish the owners all the best and may return at some point if we are lucky enough to lose the sprogs for a rare weekend of peace!

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


122 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019