Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Woodland Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Woodland Caravan Park
Windmill Lane
Snelston
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2GT
Tel: 01335 300 598
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 4th November 2018

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 133 Reviews
                9/10 from 133 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (17)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 43 to 48                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rpwhitelock 3 reviews from this member

Good Points - Peaceful location, washroom facilities, friendly welcome by warden, spacious and separate pitches.

Points to bear in mind - Take care not to drive past site entrance as its not easy to see and difficult reversing back.

Woodland setting makes it quite dark.

Ground really hard - no chance trying to secure awning using standard tent pegs.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BrownsandHounds 4 reviews from this member

Really friendly and relaxed site. We came here on the spur of the moment (and based on prior UK campsite reviews) and we'll certainly be back. The wardens were both very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Lovely woodland setting with good facilities. Be prepared for the dawn chorus! Apparently there is a motor racing circuit across the road, but the site's web-page publishes meet dates if you're worried about the noise.

Other than a circular walk (map provided by the warden) we didn't get off site but we know Ashbourne is a lovely place to visit. Fantastic fully fenced dog walk area - we could let our terrier off lead with confidence, knowing he wouldn't do a runner! Relaxed attitude towards kids too. Large motorhome, two adults and three dogs + hookup coat us £23 a night.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stevenoble 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for four nights following the bank holiday weekend. Our party consisted of two adults and two children (aged 4 and 5).

Wardens: Very friendly and willing to help. I booked over the phone and received excellent service and helpful information about not following SatNav rather approaching via the A515.

Facilities Block: The toilets are cleaned regularly throughout the day and I always had hot water in the showers and basins. There are no enclosed wash basin cubicles (which some prefer) but we didn't find this to be a problem. The showers are the fixed head push button type and have good curtains and a bench for your clothes/to sit on getting dry, this ensures your clothes stay dry while you're in the shower. The disabled facilities looked good and this can also be used as a family room (with toilet, wash basin and shower - wet room style with a lift off hose and temperature adjuster which is better for the kids I find). There is also a laundry with 10-12Kg washer and dryer, it is £3 for a wash and about £1 for the dryer depending on how much you need to dry.

Pitches: The site is made up of all hard standing level pitches. As previous reviews have stated 'rock pegs' are essential for an awning (I always use rock pegs and found they went into the ground without a problem). There are no 'fully serviced' pitches, but water taps are located around the site. The pitches vary in size but all will fit most caravans, an awning and car. The electric hook ups are all 10A but this is usually plenty.

Dog Walk: There is a very generous sized dog exercise area fenced in within the woodland. We don't have a dog but the ones I saw bounding about in the exercise area seemed to be having a great time.

General Comments: This site represents great value for money, most other sites in the Ashbourne area are at least £5 per night more. My children are also under 11 which means they are free on this site - again it is not unusual to pay an additional £5 per night for them. The children loved running around in the woods, building dens and riding their bikes. The wardens seem very relaxed about the children playing and having fun. I did see one of the wardens 'have a word' with a couple of children who were swinging on the gate, but he did this in a very friendly way and I thought was fully entitled to do so.

This site is about an hour from home for us so we fully intend to visit here again, especially for weekends. This site represents even better value when you consider they let you stay until 6pm on your departure day - for weekends this is a great option.

Being in the peak district there is plenty to do. We did a lot of cycling using the Derbyshire Council website to find various cycle tracks to ride along (Tissington Trail, Manifold Way etc. )

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lambobadger 1 review from this member

Just spent 2 nights at Woodland & really enjoyed it, so peaceful & quiet. Toilet & shower facilities were clean & tidy. 3 minutes drive to local pub & 5 minutes drive into Ashbourne town centre. Tony & Carol very friendly & helpful. Lovely woodland to walk in & for children to play in. Would definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Millington2014 1 review from this member

We had a lovely time at Woodland Caravan Park.

Each pitch is individual divided by lovely trees.

The dog walk area is fabulous and the showers etc. were great. And importantly the owners were fantastic!

We had some issues and had to return home early due to our elderly Springer being poorly. In our haste to get to the vet my husband lost his wedding ring on our pitch! The owner came to the rescue and found it! We are forever grateful! and sorry we had to leave the site early. Our dog is recovering, and we hope to go back to Woodland when possible! Thank you! -x-

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theyoungfamily2011 3 reviews from this member

We spent 4 nights at Woodland Caravan Park over the Easter break, our fist trip in 2014.

Great greeting on arrival, wardens very friendly and helped us out during our stay (broken-down visitorís car).

We picked the site because of the woodland setting, our 4, 6 & 8 year old children loved making dens and playing in the woods.

Facilities on site were of a good standard, really warm toilet / shower blocks, good sized showers with seating areas. Welcoming reception area with good local information. Clean Elsan and waste water located in the little shed by reception! We also had a great game of Frisbee on the adjoining field.

Our pitch was towards the bottom of the site, opposite the dog walk. The hard standing was very 'hard' (need rock pegs), also muddy on our last day, resulting in a very muddy awning (but you tend to expect this from a woodland site).

The local pub 'The Cock Inn at Clifton' is fantastic, and managed to seat 13 of us for Easter Sunday lunch, great food and service.

We would recommend this site, something different to the normal open field !

Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 43 to 48      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth £149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1509 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


Black Friday SALE
Black Friday SALE
OLPRO have masses of amazing Black Friday offers EVERY DAY throughout November. Prices slashed on inflatable awnings and tents





0.0859