Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Caradon Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Camping Caradon Touring Park
Trelawne
Looe
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 2NA
Tel: 01503 272388
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 151 Reviews
                9/10 from 151 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Black ice 6 reviews from this member

What a fabulous Christmas and New Year we have had. We could not find fault with the site in any way nothing was to much trouble for the owners.

The toilets and showers were spotless as was the whole site, the small shop carried basics and you could order morning papers. The bar was very inviting and Gordon the barman was very friendly and helpful the food served by Carl the chef was lovely and very reasonably priced. There is a bus service to Looe and Polperro that stops right outside the site. Morrisons is 13 miles away in Bodmin but there is a Spar just up the road selling everything.

The party on New Years eve was great and the buffet that had been prepared by Carl the chef was absolutely gorgeous not a sausage roll or curled up sandwich in site the home made pate was to die for and the fireworks at midnight were lovely.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dianejth 1 review from this member

Spent 2 nights here as a first family camping trip with a borrowed tent. Had a great time and will now be buying our own tent and cant wait to come back for a longer stay next year.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and the whole site is kept very clean and tidy. The toilets and showers are very clean and fresh and the family/disabled wet room was fantastic for my daughter who has mobility problems.

We did not use the bar but it looked great and I'm sure we will use it when we come back for a longer stay. The games room is small but my children (12 & 13)enjoyed playing pool.

Looe and Polperro are within easy reach as is Talland Bay. A great place to stay and explore the area.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tess and Mist 3 reviews from this member

We had a great week here, kids loved being able to have WiFi so they could keep in touch with their friends. The toilets and showers were really good.

The dogs loved being able to go for walks in the nearby Forestry.

Could do with a bit more space between pitches as our guy lines were almost touching next doors.

Also having the takeaway there was great when you didn't feel like cooking.

It was nice to have a bar on site also having a Tv/ games room there we did not need to take our Tv with us. The Butcher in Pelynt is well worth a visit, also the Spar there is well stocked.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Burneysfiesta 1 review from this member

Camping caradon was a lovely well maintained site with excellent facilities. The only drawback was that the club could have been open during the day also takeaway food. The other drawback was that the owner wanted everyone to be in bed and sleeping by 11pm which we found quite daunting. With every respect to other campers we did not like the fact that we were not allowed to sit in our awning and talk quietly by ourselves, after 11pm. As we go to bed early when in work we like to chill out when on hols. The surrounding area was fantastic and would like to go back to the area but unfortunately not this site.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulshutt. 1 review from this member

Having not camped for a few years we where persuaded to give Caradon a try. We arrived Thursday lunch time to find everything very peaceful and quiet. The camping area is nice and flat with lighting, standpipes, high hedges for privacy, even doggy bins. The shop and club provided most things that you would need, although newspapers where not sold till 8. 30 also we found the drinks a little expensive in the bar. The toilet block which included two disabled facilities was very clean with constant hot water supplied from solar panels. One thing that we found a pleasure was if you stand at the entrance to Carador at 5pm the local bus will pick you up and drop you outside the Jubilee in Pylent no driving no worries. This is a really nice pub, good Cornish ale, and good food.

Looe is only 2. 5 miles away which we loved, again you can use the bus. If you are national trust members there are two or three nice houses to visit Lanhidroch and Antony where Alice In Wonderland was filmed.

All in all a good holiday apart from the weather, we would go back Carador.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shaz1912 4 reviews from this member

Had a lovely few days at Caradon.

Stephen and Lene very friendly and helpful, and gave us lots of information on surrounding area.

Tent pitches very flat, would have pitch on the other side of the field next time as they are bigger.

Showers very hot and the water stays on, lovely and clean even the taps shine.

Washing up sinks very good, hot water, dish drainer and bowl.

Pub very good friendly and not over priced.

We walked from camp site to talland bay and then on to Polpero, lovely walk took about 1 1/2 hours.

Walked from camp site to talland bay and then onto looe took about 2 hours.

This campsite is well worth a visit

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Husky1 3 reviews from this member

Where can I start, This site was lovely the owners steve and lene were very friendly and helpful.

The pitches are all flat, pegged out with electric hook-ups and are very large.

The toilet block is always clean what ever time of day you use them with 3 showers in each block, the water is always hot and with ample water pressure. The washing up area is also always clean and there are washing up bowls and drainers at each sink.

The bar is great just what you need after a long day, July and Aug there's a take away window just of to the side of reception and I can recommend the food.

The bus runs around every 30 mins just outside the campsite which will take you to looe or polperro costing around 6 return for 2 adults, or there are some lovely coastal paths if you're feeling fit.

This site would suit all!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rik666 22 reviews from this member

Thank You Steve and Lene for being wonderful hosts

A lovely quite site, which has all the qualities of a caravan club site but with the added bonus of a small bar & restaurant, Definitely Highly Recommended

Location - Situated near looe

Pitches - All the pitches are reasonably sized, flat and well drained. Most have electric points well within reach, there are several drinking water points dotted around, waste grey water disposal is at ground level near toilet block, the elsan disposal is located near the toilet block behind a gate which cannot be open by small children

Toilets / Showers - Although the main block is an older building there has obviously been a lot of time taken to ensure that it is well fitted out, professionally decorated & absolutely spotless,

The showers are manual type adjustment so you can have your shower just as you like it,

My only complaint would be the windows and door being kept open, in summer this is fine, but is was just a little to cold this June.

There is also a new modern family / disabled wet room which I believe is available on request.

There has been some very impressive systems put in place in the toilet block, Most of the soaps, toilet paper etc are environmentally sensitive, rain water is harvested and used for flushing the toilets, when the sun is available water solar panels help heat the hot water. All great stuff

Facilities - There is a well stocked shop, out door washing up areas, recycling, Internet room & laundry facilities

Staff - Very welcoming & very helpful

WI-FI - Free WI-FI is available in most areas of the park

Bar / Food - The bar serves restaurant quality food & some great local beer

TV Reception - No problems here, we had perfect digital signal

Fishing - Nothing on site

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Duckbayboulders 3 reviews from this member

Booked this site due to good reviews and location, Looe and Polperro nearby. Only booked for one night to try out our new tent. When we arrived about eight in the evening the owner was in the clubhouse, he opened up the reception and gave us details of our pitch, the campsite and also site pass-number for entry barrier. Pitch was clearly numbered so easy to find also nice and level. We got to try our new tent out (which I'd like to add was also fab!) The clubhouse isnt too big either, selling food and drinks. There is a games room, good for the kids and a small playground too.

There is a shop within the reception area for daily essentials.

The site is quiet and very well set out, toilets and showers are lovely and very clean with plenty hot water also has washing-up facilities and laundry room with iron and ironing board.

The owner was friendly and helpful, we will certainly be back again.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gymbob 1 review from this member

We only booked here for 7 nights, but we ended up staying for another 3 as the weather picked up and it was glorious. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, jiggling around their other bookings so we could stay on our pitch. We had an excellent pitch against the hedge and in a corner and plenty big enough for us.

Facilities are excellent, particularly the free showers - my shower is the most important part when I'm camping. Everything is extremely clean, with no smelly towels hanging up like you find in some campsites. This is a very green campsite that uses solar power backed up by the boiler on dull days. There is a hairdryer in the shower block too, but it is 20p.

Playground adequate - mine are a bit old for them now, but they still went. They enjoyed the table tennis and pool though in the clubhouse.

The children and the dog were extremely entertained by the two black rabbits that live free on the site. The dog spent hours sat watching them hopping around. One of the rabbits had an ear that looked like it might have had some unwanted attention at some point!

If I had to constructively criticise it would be that there is no dog walking area on site. The lane outside the site is pitch black at night and for a wimp like me it was too much! I did see one lady lapping my tent for a second time with her dog in the dark and I couldn't blame her!

The site is also rather isolated, although there is a good bus service from just outside the entrance. Talland Bay is lovely, but it is a 2.5 mile walk along country lanes. Polperro is about the same. My husband tried to meet us at Talland Bay in the car one day, but there was nowhere to park (you'll know what I mean if you know the cornish country roads), so he ended up driving back to the campsite and walking.

From Talland Bay there is a lovely walk into Looe along the coastal path. Looe is just stunning with some fabulous restaurants. Looe Island is accessible sometimes by foot when there is a really low tide, and the tide was low enough while we were there, but we didn't go as dogs are not allowed.

We tried our hardest to get into the Michelin starred restaurant Trawlers on the Quay in East Looe to no avail, but had a wonderful seafood meal anyway in the town centre at Lascares. It was warm enough to sit outside with our little dog and the staff put the heaters on for us.

For dog owners, we booked our dog into kennels for a day in Pelnyt, which is just down the road from Caradon, whilst we visited the Eden Project. Even though we didn't get to look around he seemed perfectly happy.

In summary, we loved this campsite but it was a little isolated, and there were no dog walking facilities.

Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth 109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3600 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016