Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Caradon Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Camping Caradon Touring Park
Trelawne
Looe
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 2NA
Tel: 01503 272388
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 151 Reviews
                9/10 from 151 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chuckysan 2 reviews from this member

I read the reviews after booking for four nights, and after reading them I knew we were onto a winner.

The pitches although somewhat close to each other were maintained beautifully, the grass was kept to a good length and the drainage was superb. (I can verify this through experience)!

The site itself was spotlessly clean, all the wet facilities were top notch, and although there were only three shower cubicles in the mens there always seemed to be one free. The water was hot and the cleanliness second to none.

Obviously I didn't bother with the children's play area (Bit too old now) but it was safe and again well maintained.

However for me the pinnacle of staying here has to be the bar. Being a real ale lover I must say that the ale on sale, St Austell Tribute- a well known and liked ale in these parts and I believe now nationally, was kept in excellent condition, tasted lovely and was at pub prices.

Owners along with their right hand man made us most welcome and were a great source of banter in the bar at night. Talking of which the way to solve the puzzle with the nails is. Sorry can't say anymore as I did promise not too.

Looe & Polperro are only 2 miles either way, and may I add that if you want a good feed off-site go to the Jubille Inn which is app one and a half miles away, just turn right when you get onto the main road.

Great site, great people & great beer, what more could a poorboy want?

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ali7 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite on the first night of our camping trip in Cornwall. Fantastic facilities, cannot fault the place in anyway. After staying at four different camps around Cornwall, I can honestly say that we were really spoilt with Caradon - it was lovely! Looe and Polperroe are gorgeous places to visit too - loved it!

The buses to and from the campsite into Looe and Polperro are a little bit hit and miss, but if you manage to catch the bus it's well worth it! Our driver stopped for petrol on the way - never seen this happen before - hilarious!

Loved Caradon! Wish we could have stayed there for the week!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lakazza 1 review from this member

The site was lovely, the facilities were cleaned daily and look liked they had just been updated, although the showers weren't the most powerful in the world they did their job.

We only have a little tent and we requested to be against the back hedge, when we arrived the site wasn't overly busy however the end of the site closer to the facilities were all packed tightly together.

The site had a shop which was opened in the morning and sold some useful essentials and a reasonable price.

The site had two games rooms, with table tennis, Pool, Table football and Playstation1's. It also had a bar / restaurant which we ate a couple of nights the food was delicious if a little pricey.

The local area is good for walks and we visited both Looe and polperro both had some really nice lttle pubs and we had the nicest chilli beef pasties in one of the pasties shops in polperro, would also recomened the boat trips between looe and polperro if the weather is nice.

We also visited profell (sp?) wildlife park, it would probably be a nice afternoon out for a family with younger children however we're both 21 and so this particular attraction didn't really entertain us.

All in all the area is very friendly as are the site owners, myself and my partner are hoping to go again next year and visit the eden project.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Csw246 3 reviews from this member

We found this site the best that we have ever stayed on, the staff where very helpful and the management were very friendly. I would recommend this site to any one and would give it ten out of ten. The bathrooms were kept very clean so was the site.

It was close to Polperro, I would recommend that you take time to visit Polperro, Looe and foye; they are all beautiful little fishing villages that are in easy reach from this site. What I liked with this site was that you could pay the full balance when you got arrived.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bevdobson 2 reviews from this member

Excellent shower block and toilet facilities on the site, these were cleaned to a very high standard every day. The site was good, level pitches and fairly good size too. The site was busy but not too noisy. It had a small shop & Clubhouse which has a bar and games for the kids eg; snooker table. Owners very friendly and always around asking if you were ok which was nice.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cumbrian camper 6 reviews from this member

Ok I don't want to repeat what others have said but here goes. This is a small site between Looe and Polperro.The pitches especially for tents are a little close together, however the 11pm curfew is well adhered to so its not a huge problem. If you want views then I'm afraid you wont get any here as its a couple of miles inland. The owners are very friendly and very very helpful, Steve was happy to recommend local restaurants and happy to book them for us. The showers are hot and the toilets are clean, we never used the bar on site as we ate out every night, there are plenty of quality restaurants in Looe and Polperro with a taxi to each costing about 8. There is a bus which stops at the site entrance but beware some only stop on request to the driver which is a bit of a problem if your not actually on the bus!.

Top restaurant has to be The Old Sail Loft in Looe. Overall a brilliant site just a pity its a treck to the best beaches and nearest village.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sueneil 2 reviews from this member

Just got back after 1 week at campsite, although we were only going to stay for 3 nights but it was so nice we stayed for week and travelled all around Cornwall from here.

Stephen and lene (owners) made us very welcome and helped with any information we needed. Toilets/showers/laundry and washing up areas were immaculate and the site was very clean overall. There was a curfue of 11pm which was ok with us, as we were up and out early.

There is a restaurant on site which you have to let owners know by 5.30 if you eating, we didn't always know when we went out if we were going to eat at site but a quick phone call to camp later in day was no problem. As for the food we ate there 3 times and what fantastic food we had which was not expensive. Small bar which was very friendly and either gordan or stephen always remembered what you were drinking.

Nearby Eden Project is a must, Looe and Polperro quaint little fishing villages, but St Ives and Boscastle also only about 1 hour away.

Well would we go back ? YES without a doubt.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Captain_C 1 review from this member

My wife and I, with our dog, visited this site in early July 2009. As with all the sites we have visited over many years, there are good points and maybe slightly negative points with them all.

With Camping Caradon, I was very pleased with the welcome and the special helpfulness of the owners. They were cheerful and helpful with all the usual questions about buses and taxis and shops and dog walks and so on. We know they have had to answer the questions so many times, but they were more than happy to answer them once again to us. The site was well kept and very clean. We could tell they took effort and pride in it's upkeep. Although we didn't get a chance to use the bar and restaurant, several other fellow campers were happy to recommend the food.

My only concerns were that firstly, the pitches in the centre of the site felt somewhat close together, giving a feeling that when the site gets really busy it would feel very crowded, and secondly, with only 3 showers in the men's and 3 in the women's block, there could be some delays in the mornings. I would also suggest that the showers need to be more powerful, as this would mean less time in them and speed things up.

Although there are lots of areas off the site for dog walking, there is no dedicated dog walk on site. Maybe this could be a minus point for dog owners.

Altogether though, an enjoyable campsite, with very friendly owners and good facilities.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jay1303 7 reviews from this member

Pretty easy to find. Nice level site but a lot smaller than expected with no views to speak of. Its basically one field. Not many trees within the site so if its hot and you are tent camping, there is no shade.

Lovely and quiet at night with everyone respecting the quiet period which meant a good nights sleep!

Bar facility is a good idea especially for families who can view the kids playing on play area from the windows, and have a reasonably priced meal. Maybe not such a great place for couples!

Showers were always hot, clean and tidy. Nice touch being solar powered, site is doing its bit for the environment but small block with toilets directly opposite them. Not keen that this site allows dogs as there is nowhere to exercise them and therefore dog fouling is actually on pitch sites, even if people are clearing it up, its not pleasant pitching up where a dog has 'been'.

Charge for hairdryers and ice pack freezing - however its only 1 and you can freeze as many times as you like so not so bad.

Great idea to use the bus service in the high season as parking is often at a premium in the small villages around.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tracyp107 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a week, our first holiday in our caravan (having finally admitted our age and progressed from a tent!). What a wonderful site. It was so peaceful and quiet, although it has to be said that this wasn't during the school holidays. The owners Steve and Lene were so helpful, they really couldn't do enough. We happened to mention that we were having difficulty in getting a TV reception and they lent us an aerial for the week. The pitches are level and spacious, the toilets and showers absolutely spotless. The surrounding area of Looe and Polperro was delightful and we were given lots of brochures and good advice on where we could go for lovely long walks with our dog. Would recommend to anyone.

Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth 109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3651 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0996