Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Caradon Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Camping Caradon Touring Park
Trelawne
Looe
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 2NA
Tel: 01503 272388
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 151 Reviews
                9/10 from 151 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mungojerry 1 review from this member

I booked late for one night only as we are relatively local but wanted to meet friends who were staying nearby. The booking system was friendly and efficient, and the information provided was thorough and user friendly.

I was so impressed with this site! The showers and toilets were clean, there was food available, a little bar and family room, and a play area.

The staff/owners that I met were lovely and friendly.

Best of all - it was SO QUIET! We had a peaceful night, and slept as well, if not better, than at home!

I would definitely recommend, and will be certain to return.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jane jones 1 review from this member

Our stay at Caradon Camp site was absolutely incredible! We loved every moment of our 7 day stay! We had the most beautiful weather to enjoy Looe and surrounding areas! Our 3 dogs love being able to explore the stunning beaches and paddle in the sea! We were so impressed with the site that we are returning in September and storing our caravan there, in order to visit and explore a little more! Our hosts went above and beyond to help, advise and assist. Impeccably clean and extremely well maintained site! What more can I say. We loved it! The best site we’ve stayed at and counting the weeks until our next visit and leaving our holiday home there! Thank you Steve & Lene x

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 30 reviews from this member

Just returned from another wonderful week at my favourite site. We stayed on our usual pitch as we have a large air awning on our twin axle. Steve and Lene made booking it a pleasure, as usual. We managed to arrive a day early, once I thought that would be the case, they reserved it for me until I could confirm.

The site is immaculate and Steve and Lene and their small team are some of the nicest and hardworking people I have yet to meet. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We were blessed with amazing weather, which always helps. A short drive to Premium in Pelynt and you have a fantastic butcher in the store which helped on the barbecue front. The shop itself is also a godsend. There is a car boot sale just down the road every Sunday which is worth a wander around.

Looe is wonderful, though always busy busy, well worth thinking about catching the bus down, it stops at the site. Polperro also well worth a visit. Talland Bay, Millendreath and Downderry too.

Facilities, though a little dated, are spotlessly clean and well maintained.

All in all, an excellent, very well run site for a peaceful, relaxing break.

Steve even opened the bar on a Sunday lunchtime for the England game and again on the Thursday evening a little earlier. It was a bit disappointing that he was not supported better on the Sunday, after many guests requested that he opened. My brother in law and I enjoyed it though, as did the few others that were there.

Returning in September, what more can I say?

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Themgs 10 reviews from this member

We were also pitched during 'The Beast from the East'. We can only agree full heartedly with Dartgirl81. The owners went out of their way to ensure we were as comfortable as possible in really extreme conditions, and for that we thank them. It is certainly been added to our list of sites to return. We had a really interesting 10 days in weather we have never seen in Cornwall, made easier by the reactions of the owners.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dartgirl81 23 reviews from this member

We were unlucky enough to meet up with 'The beast from the east' during our stay at this lovely tidy, clean and very well run camp site.

This site has a very good approach for towing and for those driving large motorhomes, it is also well sign posted.

The booking process was simple with a very helpful owner named Steve. He gave us the security barrier code and our pitch number to save messing about in the cold when we arrived.

He gave very specific instructions on how to park on our pitch if he wasn't about, we did wonder why, but all was revealed as the pitches have intregra hard standings (plastic mesh, slightly under the grass, so it's not obviously visible) this was ok, but it did get a bit wet and muddy after the snow had thawed. Steve did provide us with some rubber mats for outside our motorhome.

The site had free wi-fi which was excellent, the best we'd ever used, and that includes places where you had to pay.

During the snow and big freeze lots of the standpipes froze (this was happening all around the part of Cornwall we were staying in) but Steve always ensured there was fresh water available from the laundry building.

We were told to use the family disabled showers/facilities as there were only a few of us on the site, and one day the water pressure was so low we couldn't use the shower, the local water board were having major problems in the area with burst pipes.

The site was extremely well kept, and very quiet. It had a small children's playground, a shop (closed for the winter season) and a small bar which Steve and Lena (his wife) opened on Friday/Saturday and Sunday evenings, which was really good, there were usually only about 6 people in the bar, but it was great to have a chat with fellow lunatics (winter campers) and have a drink.

Also, literally at the reception is the bus stop, which we used to catch the bus into Looe to have a look around and shop. There were no supermarkets in Looe but there are 2 Co-ops and the usual seaside shops and pubs.

There is an very large car park in Looe, the mill car park, which is the only place we could have parked our motorhome (FiFi is nearly 8 metres long) there was tons of room here but I guess it would be busy in the summer. If you take up 2 bays, make sure you pay for 2.

Up the road from the site about 10 minutes is the local village, Pelynt, there is a pub and Spa shop which stocked most things, plus there is parking opposite on an old disused garage forecourt, again we could easily park FiFi here.

To sum up

A very well run site, the owners, Steve and Lena were very helpful. The free wi-fi was exceptional and everywhere was well looked after and very clean.

Would highly recommend!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Twinspired 11 reviews from this member

For those looking for more than a field but less than a garish holiday park then this is a great choice. Situated just 8 minutes from Looe, 10 minutes to Talland Bay and Polperro, it is perfectly placed. The owners are just lovely, yes they like things done in a certain way but I think that is all to the good to give everyone a comfortable stay. The children can ride their scooters with care, there is a small green area for conscientious ball games, the play park for toddlers is enough and the bar is great for a glass of something in the dry. The facilities are well kept and yes whilst a little dark, I think this lends itself well to a more traditional style of camping. It has an open feel to the site, no overhanging branches or intrusive shrubbery to hinder getting a suntan! For a small site it has all one needs with a laundry room and small but well stocked shop, games room, take away food. The only tricky thing is the WiFi but I think one can live with that. It's a great base to explore this stunning corner of the world at an affordable cost, if you want activities or entertainment then this isn't the place for you.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ghart386 30 reviews from this member

Just returned back from a fantastic stay at this beautiful campsite. We stayed for 9 nights and had other half's sister and her man with us for 7 in the awning. It was our first visit here on the back of reviews on here. We will be definitely be returning!

A warm welcome from Steve and Lene on arrival, Steve saw us to our pitch, which was great. Pitch was large as we had already said we had a twin axle with an 8m X 3m awning. Fitted a treat. Pitch 39.

Site is immaculate and a credit to them both. Showers and toilets, though not many, appear to cope quite admirably and always spotlessly clean.

Small shop for essentials and able to order newspapers, which is good. I have to dog sit our jack russell whilst they go out!

Very good local shop with butchers in Pelynt, 5 mins drive. Also The Jubilee Inn in Pelynt which does very good food at lunchtime and reasonably priced, dog friendly too.

Looe and Polperro provide the usual mix of shopping and pasties and a couple of Coop shops. Great Pubs too. Can recommend the Sea Kitchen at lunchtime on Hannaford Road as a great place to have a drink and something to eat on their patio whilst looking out to sea. It's away from the hustle and bustle of Looe and the views good. Also free parking at the end of the road!

We had food at the site bar a couple of times and were not disappointed. Well worth popping to the shop and pre ordering. Very good value, and bar is pleasant also.

Very good location for visiting Looe, Polperro and and other nearby places of interest.

In closing, We will definitely return (But as other reviewers have said, we would rather it be a secret location. )

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sillysylv74 2 reviews from this member

What a lovely site to find, very warm welcome and everything we may need to know explained to us on arrival. We were given a bus timetable which was very useful, we used this to travel to Liskguard, bus stop being at entrance to site which was a bonus. Sadly we were only here for 2 nights but would be more than happy to return, site is immaculate and could not find anything negative to say about it. A big thankyou

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Richmcl 2 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed our visit. The site was very well kept being clean and well tended. The staff were all friendly, welcoming, and accomodating. The facilities were good including a games room and bar area with a family feel.

We had loads of space on our pitch, but mainly because the pitches adjacent to us were empty - it might have been a bit tight if full and we'd put our large awning up.

Great location with easy access to the local beaches and town.

Only stayed for a few nights but would certainly visit again if visiting the area again.

Thanks!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bernard2803 1 review from this member

Hosts. Excellent.

Amenities. Excellent.

Site. Excellent.

Location. Excellent.

Hosts at this site are very friendly and professional and very helpful.

Very clean and very well maintained.

We will certainly stay here again and highly recommend this site to all caravan tourers.

Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth £149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 16 to 21 October, Birmingham NEC
Hundreds of caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3928 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938