Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Caradon Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Camping Caradon Touring Park
Trelawne
Looe
Looe
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL13 2NA
Tel: 01503 272388
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 151 Reviews
                9/10 from 151 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  151 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DamonST 3 reviews from this member

We have just spent a week at Caradon, spanning the Easter weekend. Booking was simple, and the confirmation and site information received through the post was swift to arrive and comprehensive.

Camping Caradon is situated just off a single track lane, and is well signposted from the A387 between Looe and Polperro. I would urge visitors to ignore sat nav instructions and instead aim for Looe first, in order to avoid some very narrow lanes approaching the site from the other direction.

Looe and Polperro are within 2 ½ miles in either direction, and Talland Bay is around the same distance heading south. All are beautiful and worth several visits.

Our first impressions were of a very well maintained site, clean and bright with lots of colour. We were met by Steve in reception, who provided us with our pitch details, wi-fi password, bar opening hours and an assurance that if we needed anything, we just had to ask.

Access to the site is via a keycoded barrier which is in operational during “quiet” hours (11pm to 7am). Parking bays are available outside reception for those who wish to leave earlier/arrive later and for day visitors.

Reception is combined with the site shop, which stocks the food and drink essentials as well as various camping spares such as pegs, hose clips, regulators and so on. Either Steve or Lene are usually available here through most of the day, and if not can be found easily enough thanks to the info board placed in the doorway.

Pitches are well numbered and easy to find thanks to a well laid out map on the back wall of the reception. The grounds are indeed well maintained, and any vacant pitches were regularly mowed. Our pitch was in a shaded area close to the main site facilities and children's play area.

There was a barely noticeable slant to the ground, but nothing to be concerned about. The ground was solid enough to hold standard wire and v-shaped pegs well, and after a week they were as firmly held as the day we pitched.

Toilet and shower facilities are of a high standard and are thoroughly cleaned daily (and I do mean thoroughly!). There are three showers on both the male and female side, with good water pressure and enough room to change inside the cubicle. Plenty of toilets and sinks are also provided.

Outside the block is a covered area with sinks for washing up, complete with plastic bowls and draining boards. There is a good sized and well appointed disabled/family toilet/shower room at the end of the block, which I had cause to use one day when the gents was closed for cleaning.

At no point through the week did I have to queue for any of the facilities.

Caradon is a very environmentally conscious site. Hot water is provided courtesy of solar panels, toilets are flushed with recycled rain water, urinals are kept hygienic through the use of eco-friendly blocks (which apparently save over 100,000 litres of water a year), and there are large recycling bins provided for glass / plastics / paper / cardboard alongside one for other waste.

There are displays provided around the facilities block explaining all the “green” measures in place (and that the hot water and toilet flushing do have conventional back-ups available for busy periods).

Whilst we did not eat in the bar/restaurant due to having our furry four legged friend with us, we did enjoy a pint or two of the local ale (Tribute) on the benches outside, which was priced lower than we paid in Polperro. The food did smell good, and the portions seemed more than ample.

It should be noted that dogs were previously allowed in the bar/restaurant area, however it was explained to us that the combination of excited dogs, bouncy kids, pint glasses and people eating was resulting in a less relaxing environment for everyone, and a lot more cleaning to boot.

Kids are now free to enjoy a game of pool, table tennis, ps1 etc in a room adjoining the bar, which is screened off from the main bar area by a fully glazed partition (so mum and dad can have a quiet drink and still watch their little darlings). The kids play area is also just outside the bar and again is in full view for parents’ peace of mind.

The play area itself is a sturdy wooden swing/slide/climbing frame combination, and seemed to be very popular with the kids. As mentioned previously, the site would benefit from a small area dedicated to ball games etc for the older kids, who were left to have a kick around on any vacant pitches.

Perhaps a few of the pitches at the far end of the site could be sacrificed in favour of not having balls etc bouncing off cars/tents/motorhomes? It was barely half full when we were there yet we still had a ball flying towards us, courtesy of being pitched near two trees being used for goalposts.

It is to be expected that a site as well looked after as this one will have a bit of background noise during the day, as Steve mows the grass, moves caravans in and out of the compound ready for guests, attends to the recycling area and so on.

I would much rather this than a silent site where everything is left to become overgrown and hazardous, and Steve always had a smile and a cheery wave for anyone sat around watching him work.

Steve and Lene are wonderful hosts, and true to their word nothing is too much trouble. As we left, Steve was helping a couple erect their awning, and as it was proving troublesome we chipped in a few helping hands (we wanted to stop and say goodbye anyway).

Without a doubt, we will be returning later this season, and many more to come.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Graham35 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights after reading some good reviews about this camp site. On arrival we were met by the owners Steve and Lena and given a warm welcome. The camp site looked immaculate and well looked after. The toilet and shower blocks were spotless at all times day and night.

There is a lovely bar on site, which opened at 2000 and closed at 2300 and seemed to be well stocked. There was a shop on site which you can order newspapers and get most things you require.

There is a good bus service into Looe and onwards, or into Polpero with the bus stop next to reception. On arrival Steve gave us a bus timetable and a map with some lovely walks marked out. I have nothing bad to comment on and will return to this camp site again.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Taeban99 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Camping Caradon and were so impressed that the next day we booked a 6 night stay for later in the year.

The site is immaculate and the toilet block spotless.

The owners and warden are very friendly and helpful.

There is a very good play area outside the bar with lots of seating and a games room and shop although we didn't use them.

It is a very easy walk into Polperro and a woodland walk in to Looe, both on the local bus route which stops at the gate to the campsite. Perfect for a good walk, a bit of shopping and a beer and then the bus back.

Was very reluctant to share our find but that wouldn't have been fair to Stephen and Lene who work very hard at running this great site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Yorks 7 reviews from this member

Stayed at Caradon for 2 weeks covering the bank holiday weekend in August. I can not find a single thing wrong with this site. It rained solidly for a full week and I never needed the wellies the site drained so well,

the toilet/shower block was spotless regardless of what time you used it, the laundry room was well appointed and reasonable in what they charged.

2nd week the sun shone and the kids had great fun on the playground and in the games room. The shop was well stocked and open all day. Stephen and Lene were very attentive as hosts and nothing was too much trouble - they even phoned a couple of visitor attractions for us to check if they were open.

I certainly would not hesitate in staying at Caradon again and will be recommending them to anyone who wants to stay in the area. Excellent campsite that well deserve their 4 star AA rating

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jessv32 2 reviews from this member

We visited Camping Caradon for 1 week at the beginning of August. This is without exception the best site we have stayed on!

The owners were friendly, and obviously take great pride in the site.

Despite coming to the end of the camping season, the grass was immaculate, like a bowling green! The amenity block was spotless, I have never seen a toilet or shower block like it! Showers were fabulous, hot and very powerful!

Playground was well kept, and very popular with our 8 and 5 year olds. I felt happy to leave them to play being only 2 tents down from the play area.

Despite being there at peak season, and the park being fully booked, with lots of children, it wasn't noisy after dark.

Location was perfect also! Would I go back? Absolutely!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Arryp0tter 2 reviews from this member

We wanted a flying visit to Cornwall at bank holiday, Caradon took us in the night before we left. Upon arrival we were impressed by the layout, the reception is clean tidy and welcoming.

The owners greeted us with warmth. Nothing seemed too much trouble when we enquired regarding local beaches the lady was most helpful giving us a map she had reproduced and proceeded to tell us about all the local beaches etc.

The site itself is extremely flat, well kept and pleasing to the eye. Plenty of electric hookups. The facilities are excellent with lashings of hot water both for washing up and showers. The toilet block is modern and clean and well equipped.

There is a small clubhouse with a good selection of beers/wine and soft drinks, there is a pool table a table tennis table dart board and small stage with a big bag of things for younger children to play with ie building bricks etc.

All in all this is a first class site hand for just about all the top end of cornwall. The prices were very reasonable. Don't think you could go wrong by a visit here. A bit rural but then Looe and Polpero are about 2.5 miles away in either direction so supplies are easy enough.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Colkatalas 1 review from this member

The site was clean and tidy showers were great my eldest son (14) said they are the best showers he's had on any campsite.

I would dispute the claim to being a flat site though.

We had a pitch next to the hedge and I got into bed with my head lower than my feet.

The owners and staff were friendly and my children made friends with there's however they could possibly have a bit more entertainment for the children.

Unfortunately the Chef had been off sick for a while so a trip to an outside chippy or restaurant had to be made.

The site sticks to its 11pm quite policy strictly which is a great bonus.

As it was a wet fortnight maybe a disco for the kids on a couple of nights would have helped.

The beach at nearby looe is 2.5 miles away and is clean and the town of Looe caters for all your needs.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: *Diamonds* 7 reviews from this member

We spent a very rainy week here in August 2010. The site is quite nicely laid out and is quite a small campsite. There wasn't much in the way of facilities, just a basic playground for the kids and a games room that only opened at 7.30pm. We were a bit disappointed that they didn't open this area in the daytime as it was terrible weather. Also, there was a notice to say the chef was no longer there, so no food was available.

The toilet block is clean and modern and the owners are really nice and friendly.

I have to say that our children loved this site, I don't know what it was, but they were really sad to leave. We went to a much more expensive site straight after here with ample activities and it's own private beach, and they just pined to go back to Caradon! the owners have children who our children made friends with, I think this is why they loved it so much.

We also found our pitch to be a tad small but you get that sometimes.

All in all we enjoyed our week considering it was terrible weather. Looe is lovely, we caught about 200 crabs off the harbour. There are crab nets/lines being sold in Looe and it passes hours!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thejoneses10 1 review from this member

We just came back from a week here and loved it. The site is small, friendly and spotlessly clean, and there was always hot water! The woods just down the road are perfect for a run, which was tough but great fun, or a walk with the dog or kids if you're feeling a bit less energetic.

For anyone who likes to collect sea glass (or is that just me?!), Polperro is amazing at low tide! We also parked at the National Trust car park up the road from Talland Bay and followed the footpath down to the beach which was virtually deserted (Talland Bay itself was packed).

It was a bit of a trek back up but the views were out of this world so it was worth every aching step.

Overall the site, staff and area are all lovely, and I would recommend the site to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derekbab 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from camping caradon having stayed 11 nights,nothing really to add from the previous reviews as they are all spot on, the staff are friendly enough the site itself is spotless.

The free wifi didn't work for the first 5 days then then steve got someone in to fix it we got one day and it went off again for the rest of the stay, this is a free service offered by the owners so I am not complaining at all just grateful the owners decide to offer something for free which very rare these days.

Well done to the staff for making our stay enjoyable we will be back. Pitch 4, 8 aug

Previous     151 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth £109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1957 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016