Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Flodabay Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Site Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 114 Reviews
                10/10 from 114 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Globetrotter72 5 reviews from this member

We stayed for 4 nights with our touring caravan. We had a pitch at the front with beautiful views over the bay, and often ate at the picnic bench in front of our caravan.

The owner gave us a loan of a buoyancy jacket for one of our daughters and we had great fun using his 4 person dinghy on loch 2.

We ordered a surf and turf buffet and Flodabay fish and chips from the owner. Delivered to our door in a basket and tasted as good as they looked.

The site is on the east coast and is very peaceful, not too far to drive to the beautiful beach at Seilibost on the west coast which is shallow and ideal for kids. The Hebrides Art Café is also a must to visit.

The steep road to the pitches is fine for motorhomes, but caravans need to be towed by a 4x4. We will definitely return to this site on our next visit to the beautiful island of Harris.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rasputin1 4 reviews from this member

Turned up at this site a day early, we had been on the road about 5 days up to this point but it was no trouble and probably a bit lucky that they had space for us even though there were only 3 pitches. 2 off which looked over the dramatic Floodabay which is a sheltered inlet on the east side of Harris. There was another motorhome parked alongside who were Dutch if I remember right and a caravan further down the hill with only views of the surrounding hills. As I said earlier we arrived a day early we were met by the owners daughter who after a little confusion about the dates showed us to the pitch which was loose stone. The entrance to the site was not for the faint hearted, the girl said just take a run at it you will make it and we did with a little wheel spinning here and there but trust me the views are spectacular, it was blowing about force 4 when we got there and the van was rockin a bit but it was well worth it for the views. After an hour or so the owner turned up an ex chef as he put it, a pleasant guy who gave us loads of info including the weather forecast fortunately the wind wasn't to get any harder.

The owner being a chef cooks dinner for his guests on a pre order basis preferably the order goes in the night before, We were running low on supplies as there is not an abundance off shops in the area so I decided to chance my luck, phoned the owner asked him if he could do me and her indoors who is a vegetarian some grub, no sorry he says don't have anything defrosted, oh well I thought get the cheesy pasta out Shona (staple food of campers ) we will just have to slum it, 5 minutes later my phone rings it was the owner , I could do you some baked pollock with chunky chips and a vegetable bake for your wife and that he would deliver it to our van at 7 oclock well it turned up piping hot and deliciouse and he only charged us a tenner for it.

Great host, Great location. Only down side no toilets or showers does have electric hook ups.

Forgot to mention you can hit some balls on the golf tee into the hills or do some fishing in the small Lochs he will even supply the tackle.

To the owner your a Star thanks

Ian & Sho

PS gave it a low score for child friendliness as you are perched on top off a hill, no sheer drops but you would have to keep your eyes on your kids.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Roger C 3 reviews from this member

A great little site set in the glorious countryside of the east side of South Harris. The proprietor, could not be more helpful, has gone to a lot of trouble to help visitors make the most of his 40 acres and I can confirm the excellence of his meals, delivered to the door. Together with the peace and quiet and wonderful views I regard it real value for money, even for one person. I spent 4 nights there and will certainly return next time I visit Harris.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: H Belles 3 reviews from this member

If you want complete peace and quiet, a real taste of Harris with fabulous food and service this is the place to go!

Total privacy and tranquillity with the option of amazing home cooked food to eat on site or take home, a must visit if you are in a motor home or camper.

I travelled alone and felt totally safe in my isolated site (as requested), every effort was made to meet my requirements. The service and friendliness is what I have come to expect on this truly magical island.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Happy Roamer 5 reviews from this member

On the Golden Road on the east coast which is a remarkable drive and very different to the west coast. The 2 spaces overlooking the bay have their own picnic tables and fabulous views. I spent 4 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Tony and his family are very welcoming and helpful with eggs, bacon, sausage, smoked salmon, oatcakes and ready to cook pollack with dill and butter. All delivered to the door and delicious!

This site is a must when you are visiting Harris, not least because there is a CDP point. No shower/toilet block but motor homes/caravans have their own so it wasn't a problem. Steep access but motorhomes cope with it easily - if in doubt, phone Tony for advice.

There are 2 lochs with trout fishing and a rod is offered if you don't have one. Young children would need a lot of supervision but older ones who would appreciate the fishing would find this site unique.

The Harris Tweed company at Grosebay are a must see. The best tailoring outside of Saville Row and local weavers supplying the tweed. I now own 2 jackets! Superb local art cafe worth a visit along with other artist galleries.

Nothing is too much trouble and this site deserves to be full all the time.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lisa81 9 reviews from this member

Amazing site with beautiful uninterrupted views of several bays on east coast (we had pitch one).

Had electric hook up, water and waste facilities. Toilets planned for next year.

What makes this site so good is the friendliness of the family running it who go out of their way to make you welcome. They can provide cooked meals and home made produce. We can highly recommend the pork & Apple sausages, venison sausages, oatcakes, rhubarb & ginger jam.

Little tee for golfers which our young son loved and owner even gave him extra balls when we left.

Two inner lochs with walks.

Surreal site, just amazing and so so friendly.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PeterandSue 2 reviews from this member

What a gem!

The owner and his wife could not have been more helpful and deserve all the success that should come their way. This site is worth visiting in its own right as well as being handy for the ferries from Leverburgh, and the boats to St Kilda. Without their help in looking after our dog we would not have been able to do the wonderful trip to St Kilda. The family looked after our dog from 7am until 8pm and did a great job. We had a delicious meal delivered to our door and bought some of their shoreline eggs, smoked salmon and bacon. All very good. The views from plot 1 and 2 are amazing, looking out across the coast. Plot 3 looks inland and is still pretty amazing. If you enjoy total peace and quiet with wonderful scenery, this site is not to be missed.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brysi 1 review from this member

We made our first visit to Harris & had a great time. It was helped by the weather and sites like this one at Flodabay. The proprietor was very accommodating over the phone and gave us information about his facilities. When we met him and saw the site it was everything he described and more. It is a small site with space for 4 motorhomes or 3 and 1 caravan. On the top site you have a lovely view across the bay to Skye. It is one of the few sites in Harris that has toilet waste facilities; there is water and electricity but no toilet or shower block. This did not bother us as we wanted a quiet scenic place to spend 2 nights.

The owner offered to loan us fishing rods to use on his lochs. There are 2 lochs which he has clearly sign posted and one of them has otters living in it but we were not fortunate enough to see them. He is a good cook and makes his own sausages, which you can buy along with home cured bacon, fresh eggs and he also prepares and seasons fish for you to cook yourself. This is not the full extent of his culinary talents as he prepared different meals for other campers to cook in their vans and he even delivers them to the door. We enjoyed his sausages, fish, eggs, scallops and king prawns. There is even a herb garden at your disposal; fresh mint and chives added to our culinary experience at Flodabay.

There is a restaurant close to the site, in walking distance and others not too far away if you wish to take your van out. The site is hard standing and is protected by a gate. Just before reaching the site we had the pleasure of watching seals sun bathing on some nearby rocks and we enjoyed walking into Manish Township and sitting in the bay with the sheep and birds. It was also a pleasure meeting teh owner and the 3 teenage children. We have no hesitation in recommending Flodabay and hope to return there again some time.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shirl56 7 reviews from this member

We spent the last night of our Hebridean holiday in this site - and we'll be back. The setting is stunning, only 3 pitches and breathtaking views from them all. Electric hook-up, fresh water, grey waste and CDP (one of only 2 we found on the entire island!). No toilet/shower block yet - in the planning stages. Tony, the owner, made us very welcome and pointed out the hill lochs to me - a keen trout angler.

Each pitch has its own picnic table and benches and we ate dinner surrounded by the 'lunar landscape', views across the sea to the other islands and birdsong all around.

After dinner I set off with my rod to explore the lochs. Guests at Flodabay have exclusive free access to these lochs. Walking was difficult as the heather is really deep in places but it was worth the effort to spend time tempting the trout. I like to fish dry fly and there were plenty fish rising. I got a few offers but these Hebridean trout were too fast for me. As my friend in Lewis often tells me, 'That's why they call it 'fishing' and not 'catching'!'

We hope to return next year to experience again the tranquil beauty of this place.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pat and Bob 6 reviews from this member

With only 3 pitches on 40 acres of moorland here is peace and quiet at the extreme. Beautiful views over the Bays of east Harris from 2 pitches and shelter in the moor on the 3rd.

Water, electric hook-up and Cwd are the facilities, but this site is unique on south Harris in having a chemical waste.

The welcome is supreme, with eggs, home smoked salmon and home made oat cakes amongst the offerings.

Access is from the minor road that is narrow. The track up to the pitches is steep but our motorhome had no problem.

There are 2 lochans on the site for trout fishing.

Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Hebrides   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3127 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938