Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 116 Reviews
                10/10 from 116 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Haighh 1 review from this member

Excellent Site, stunning view from top of hill. Peaceful. The silence is deafening.

Tony the Owner could not have been more helpful and friendly. Worth noting, would not attempt if towing caravan.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jujofred 4 reviews from this member

This was our first stop on a tour of the Outer Hebrides and what a spot to re-charge the batteries. The road to the site is certainly not for the faint-hearted, but lovely owner Tony is on-hand to offer all the help you need.

There are just 3 pitches and no pitch overlooks the other so you feel perfectly at one with the magnificent landscape all around you. The views are spectacular, mountains behind you, and to the front you look out to the little islands and across the sea to Skye and the mainland. Each pitch has water and EHU.

There are no toilet or shower facilities so you have to use your own but it was the little touches that made it special for us: the lovely warm welcome and chat with Tony, the loan of the golf balls to use on the driving range (sorry, our aim was shocking and those balls are now lost forever!) and the fabulously tasty home-made oatcakes and goose burgers, eggs from his chickens and tomatoes from his greenhouse.

Oh, and did I mention the view? There are a couple of easy marked walks from the site which are well worth doing, but whatever you do, donít forget your binoculars as you never know what you might see flying high in the sky.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mohitta 1 review from this member

Another wonderful stay at this amazing location. The perfect place if you are looking for peace, seclusion and breathtaking views.

Short walks take you to two private lochs where you can picnic while watching electric blue damselflies dancing in the reeds. Watching seals in the bay, barbies in the evening with Tony's kind gifts of goose burgers and brilliant sunsets over the hill.

Can't recommend enough.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Albie13noble 1 review from this member

Spent 4 fabulous days at Tony and Sharon's beautiful camp site a piece of heaven on Earth, Tony was a brilliant host aiding us get our motorhome up to its splendid viewpoint, overlooking the bay below, this was despite Tony recovering from a hip op and walking with aid of sticks.

He presented goose burgers and homemade oat cakes and 6 fresh eggs as a welcome gift. We could not have picked a better site.

Looking forward to returning next year.

Bert and Carole.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mornaf 1 review from this member

Really enjoyed my time at Flodabay. And so did the dog. Tony was so helpful on arrival. Especially about navigating the slope to the site. However once at the top the view was breathtaking and well worth the 1st gear drive.

Lovely to have a secluded site and peace and quiet. Also lovely to be welcomed with the thoughtful welcome pack.

As I was on my own the fee was pricey but absolutely in order for couples or more.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The proctors 1 review from this member

Just got back from 3 nights at this really spot on site, the owner Tony was a really good host with his personnel greeting and some nice home made treats of goose burgers and oatcakes.

We arrived by ferry and true to form, he rang us to make sure we were on route and gave us clear instructions on how to get to Flodbay.

You have to be patience when driving to the site, as the roads are narrow, but really scenic and quiet, but when you get there, you are in for a surprise as your pitch is up a gravel road hill with a fantastic view (don't be put off with the gravel road).

The site only take 3 units but doesn't have toilet/shower facilities but as 240v, but that's a small price to pay, when you see your allocated pitch Its so beautiful and peaceful that we felt it was our own little kingdom.

We had a motor scooter and we travelled about the island which was perfect, the island has some nice cafes and the beaches on the west side are a must, but Flodbay is really nice. The site is more expensive than most sites on the island, but its so nice and if you want to be yourselves, without the crowds this is the place Well done Tony !

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CRolt 1 review from this member

We had a fabulous 5 nights at this site. You are met by Tony who guides you to your pitch and, in our case, presented us with some fantastic edible goodies. The pitches are very well spaced and private and the views fantastic. The grounds of Flodabay Farm are extensive and include two lochans with plenty of places to picnic. There is lots of wildlife around. The site makes an excellent base for exploring Harris. Definitely to be recommended. On the expensive side as there are no showers but worth it just the same.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AndrewBuddy 1 review from this member

My husband and I have just returned from a 6 week tour of Scotland in our caravan and the jewel in the crown was undoubtedly the week we stayed at Flodabay Farm. Our pitch was the top one of only 3 on the site, with incredible views over the Minch and reaching as far as Glen Coe on a clear day. We sat and watched golden eagles and seals to the accompaniment of cuckoos, just perfect. Tony could not have been more accommodating and his gift of homemade goose burgers, oakcakes and smoked salmon was very welcome. We would highly recommend this site to anyone visiting Harris. Just stunning!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stapll01 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a week with our large, twin axle caravan. Getting up to the top of the hill wasn't a problem as Tony had arranged the help of a land rover. The site was lovely, like a fully serviced pitch, and the views were amazing. Tony greeted us with, his now legendary, home made oatcakes, which were delicious.

Tony was very knowledgeable on local wildlife and where to get the best possible sightings.

We were also given homemade gooseburgers, freshly caught pollock and fresh eggs, all of which were delicious. Tony was definitely the host with the most and I'm sure a stay in his bed & breakfast establishment would be great.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay on the island and at Flodabay and would definitely return.

Just beware of the roads with a caravan!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hamish D 1 review from this member

This is a fabulous location with views across to Skye. Tony is a fine host providing us with oatcakes, fish and goose burgers. But the key is the beauty of the place, 3 sites make for privacy and there are good walks into moorland or along the coast. The site is an easy drive from the ferries or to St Clements Church. Easy to get around although the roads are narrow.

The moonscape location is very different from many other places in the Western Isles.

There is good water and power, no toilets or showers so you need to be fully self contained.

Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3880 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019