Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 131 Reviews
                10/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ian Ryman 1 review from this member

 Wow! What an amazing place to stay. It delivers everything the description offers and more. We booked well in advance and communication and payment was easy and good.

On arrival, Tony was waiting for us and led us up to our pitch and showed us all the facilities. He is right when he says you would never know the site existed.

Tucked away at the top of a steep track, there are 3 pitches all hidden from each other but all with amazing views of Flodabay and the hills of the area known as The Bays. Golden eagles fly overhead and deer roam in the machair and woodland close by. Absolute tranquillity day and night unless it is windy.

Tony couldn’t have been more friendly, informative and generous, with fresh eggs from his chickens as a gift on arrival and seafood and homemade goose burgers and black pudding as a gift on our second day.

We were truly very sad to leave this idyllic spot and have vowed to return soon. Tony works so hard to make sure visitors have a memorable and enjoyable stay and has really won us over by keeping the place secluded and as natural as possible.

If you are a motorhomer who likes peace and quiet, connecting with nature and are happy with basic but essential services including EHU, CDP and water with no other frills, this could be the place for you.

Note NO toilets or showers on site. Thanks Tony, it was great to meet you and stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Will and Kate 1 review from this member

 Most people holiday in the Outer Hebrides to enjoy the scenery/wildlife and appreciate the tranquility of the Islands. On our three week tour through from Barra to Lewis we did not find a campsite to compare with Flodabay for its setting between mountains and sea.

Beautiful all round views of the eagle haunted mountains on one side and on the other the stunning coastline with distant views of Skye and mainland Scotland in the distance. Two beautiful lochs to fish or just watch the wildlife within five minutes walk, both set amongst heather and rocky outcrops with only the sounds of nature all around. (No traffic noise here or at the vans)

As well as all this you are met by Tony who guides you to your lofty perch and supplies you with samples of the mouth watering local produce and information on the locality. Then he leaves you alone to enjoy your surroundings. A good man indeed.

The coast road is a beautiful trip and St Clements Church is worth a visit for its medieval tombs and interesting graveyard.

Do not miss out on this site if you love nature and beautiful scenery. A place where you could sit in/near your van and spend the day looking around at the ever changing sky, sea, wildlife, and mountains without having to drive at all. For us it did really warrant the 10 out of 10 scores.

Will and Kate

Brecon

Wild Wales 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jasmin2019 1 review from this member

 Far from the madding crowd. This an awesome site with that away from it all feeling, met at the gate by Tony the owner who is very friendly and his love for Harris shines through. We drove up to our pitch to a stunning view over the Minch.

There are only 3 pitches, well spaced with full services, water hose and ehu on each with communal chemical waste dump.

Walked to the two private lochs, sadly didn't see the otters, but our neighbours did, this side of the island is just so different to anywhere I've experienced before, a complete contrast to West Harris.

Make sure of a visit to Sam's seafood shack and fish and chips at the Butty Bus are a must. Tony gave us fresh eggs from the farm and delicious home made plum jam with fruit grown on the farm. We'll be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Palee 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a very peaceful 3 days. Met by Tony on arrival who showed us around the beautifully located site which is in an elevated position taking full advantage of the beautiful views across the sea to Skye on one side and the rugged Harris landscape on the other side.

This is a unique site which provides total peace and tranquility and was perfect for us as part of an island hopping journey through the Outer Hebrides.

Tony is very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable and clearly very proud of his site. He has ensured that his site blends into the surrounding countryside so you get a wild camping feel with the benefits of electric hook-up, fresh water and chemical and grey water waste facilities. He very kindly gave us homemade bread, eggs, goose burgers and seafood on arrival whch were all delicious and gratefully received.

There is easy access to 2 nearby lochs, which provided an on-site dog walk and swimming opportunity for us. We would happily stay here again and thoroughly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hilli 5 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this gem of a site and won’t be the last. Tony met us at the gate like an old friend, armed with scallops, crab, eggs and his own goose burgers all very delicious. We were on the top pitch overlooking the stunning bay.

Our pitch was large and private with 2 new picnic benches. This is a unique place, it’s truly very special. Tony and Sharon have created a little piece of heaven in this site. The location is stunning, we saw glorious sunrises and sunsets, seals in the bay. It’s so peaceful and beautiful.

Wish we could have stayed longer. Nothing is any trouble to Tony, he is always willing to help in any way. I asked where we could get local langoustines, on our return one evening he came up with a huge dish of them freshly caught by him.

He also drove ahead of us when we were leaving to catch a ferry from Leverburgh, it was so kind of him as we were towing a twin axle caravan. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kim2 1 review from this member

 We did a tour from South to North of the Outer Hebrides and wanted to see The Golden Road on Harris.

We’d read about Flodabay Farm and felt like it fitted with our way of touring, a quiet, peaceful place, with stunning views. All the roads on the east of Harris are ‘thin’ but courteous drivers and numerous passing places make it much more preferable to the M6 which we are used to travelling!

Admittedly, the road up to Flodabay Farm is very steep, but it’s manageable, even with an 8mtr motorhome, Tony greeted us on arrival and showed us up to our pitch, which had commanding views over the bay. He also presented us with delicious home made sausage rolls, fresh eggs, scallops, crab meat and pollack fillets.

Our pitch was absolutely wonderful. We watched seals in the bay, eagles overhead and our dogs enjoyed roaming with us in the huge enclosed grounds and lochs.

We enjoyed walking into the local townships and talking to the locals who were keen to share stories of island life. I know that Tony promotes his site as ‘Wild Camping, with a twist’ and he does it well.

I’m not sure if the price tag of £30 a night may put some off, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: DMBR 1 review from this member

 A really special spot with a warm welcome from Tony and great views in all directions; if the weather is kind, the view of the sunset over the hills to the south is outstanding.

If you're into cycling there's an enjoyable circular route of around 16 miles you can do heading off the site and turning right - you can take in the St. Clement's Church en route.

It's a really memorable place to stay on a tour of the Western Isles. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fedulow 1 review from this member

 Meant to stay 2 nights and ended up staying 4! Perfect place if you want isolation. Owners were great hosts and met us with mackerel, pollock, black pudding and home made oatcakes!

Only set up for 3-4 motorhomes/caravans. We were the only motor home there due to the bad weather. EHU, water and black and grey waste disposable.

We watched seals from our van, surrounded by sheep and hawks. We will be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RobThomas 1 review from this member

 Great site above the tiny settlement of Flodabay. Booked for 5 nights and ended up staying for 10.

Daily walks down to the house own lochs behind the site, the view over The Minch from the caravan window and finding there was more to see on Harris convinced me to stay on.

Tony was very helpful and booked fishing for me from a small boat from the tiny jetty and salmon, sea trout and trout fishing on various lochs.

Camping in the wild but with water and electricity and a great host. Thanks Tony. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MikeandChris 1 review from this member

 This is a great site! Only 3 pitches for Caravan and Motorhome and doesn't take casual callers so need to book. Tony met us on time (hairy drive from Tarbert, narrow road with passing places past sheer drops at times, with our 7. 3m caravan) so relieved to meet Tony at the gate. Drive to pitch steep but no trouble with decent 4x4.

View from pitch is to die for, we were not too lucky with weather but the view of Flodabay bay on one side and the hills on the other made up for it.

Tony seems to care about his guests, with venison and goose burgers, free range eggs and oatcakes on arrival and believe it or not chocolate oatcakes on departure, (we did get into a sticky pickle on the return ferry with these, but they were delicious)

All facilities for caravaning seem to be designed to make life as easy as possible.

This site is strongly recommended, but be sure to book. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Flodabay Farm child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Flodabay Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Flodabay Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5877 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement