Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 118 Reviews
                10/10 from 118 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karenbarley 1 review from this member

We had a fantastic 7 nights at the Flodabay campsite perched on the 'top of the world' overlooking the magical Flodabay. The beautiful sunrises, sunset an the glistening sea views were truly amazing, and then there are the seals basing on the rocks down below. Tony was incredibly helpful as the host, attentive and informative without ever being intrusive. He had a 4x4 on hand to help us get the caravan up tot he top pitch, which wasn't a problem at all. We were able to navigate the narrow Harris roads easily and carefully with our caravan and estate car. Also he was very generous; the smoked salmon and homemade oatcakes and goose burgers were delicious. He advised on places to explore, kept us abreast of the weather so we could plan the best days to explore outdoors and indoors. The landscape on the east side around Flodabay and 'The Bays' area is rugged, rocky and there are many hidden lochs and paths to explore. A brilliant base for this amazing Island, we traveled up to the Lewis part of the island and were able to explore easily from here.

If you're looking for showers, dishwashing facilities, toilet blocks, laundrettes and pub entertainment etc then this isn't the place for you, although the usual water, electric hook up and Chemical disposal is supplied. But if you are looking for stunning views, have your own toilet and washing facilities, are a fan of 'wild' camping (with a difference) then I highly recommend. We would go back like a shot and enjoy the views, peace, quiet and beauty of this magical place. Thank you Tony for a fantastic experience.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Liztobin 1 review from this member

Flodabay caravan/motorhome site is fabulous. The views from each pitch are breathtaking. It's a really unique site, you feel like you are wild camping, looking out to sea and over to rocky hills but with the essential facilities of electricity, water and chemical disposal. It is incredibly peaceful and has the opportunity to see Golden and Sea Eagles just by scanning the skies from the pitch.

Harris is a beautiful island, especially the East side where Flodabay is. Pretty much all of Harris is single track road as is the approach to the site, but don't let that put you off, there are lots of passing places. We easily towed our caravan.

If you are expecting a 'caravan club-esque' type site you may be disappointed, but if you love being out in the wild, in an incredibly tranquil place and experience the real essence of the Outer Hebrides you will love this site.

The owner Tony was very welcoming and friendly and made our stay unforgettable.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Willyfrosty 1 review from this member

Another reviewer said this site is unique, not true, it's absolutely unique! This was our second visit and we stayed seven nights. Tony only lets 3 or 4 pitches so that everyone can enjoy the amazing views and sit at their personal picnic bench in front of their unit. No loos, no showers but peace and tranquillity of the very best kind. Water, power and cdp close by the pitches.

Wonderful welcome from Tony and on departure both Tony and Sharon came to say goodbye with gifts of homemade oatcakes and gooseburgers. Good walks, waymarked to the lochs which you can reach without leaving the site. Might be a while before we return to the Hebridies but when we do this will be our first port of call without a doubt. 100% recommended.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MJB17 1 review from this member

What a cracking site overlooking the Bay. A beautiful peaceful place. Loved watching the seals in the evening down by the pier. Saw a few birds or pray swooping over head and a gorgeous sunset, not to mention the deer at certain places along the way. Our dog loved seeing the sheep, they're everywhere & Tony, our host, was very welcoming took us up to site showed us what we needed to know & left us to it but to text him if we needed anything at all! Must mention the Harris Hotel which is about 9 miles away, we had forgotten that places are closed on a Sunday & that's the day we arrived, got a table later in the evening after the dinner rush had been. The food was fabby as was their service, great wee place to eat. Will defo stay at Flodabay Farm again if we are ever back. Cheers Tony

Jon & Mandy Boys

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rbt1 2 reviews from this member

The choice of site was down to the location along with it being a special occasion we wanted somewhere a little extra special. We were met by Tony at the gate who gave us a huge welcome, site information leaflets and escorted to our pitch. We certainly got the extra special, the view was stunning, view that left you speechless and the tranquillity beautiful. With help of binoculars we could see the seals in the bay, enjoyed knocking a few golf balls around on the range and a spot of flyflishing on one of the Lochs. Our stay was 2 nights only but we thoroughly enjoyed every minute and felt that there was so much more to see and do. Tony and Sharon are wonderful hosts and made our stay special, homemade oatcakes scrumptious and delicious goose burgers.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Swettenham 1 review from this member

The views are stunning. A seal colony was ever present in the bay beneath us and we had 2 sightings of a golden eagle. The golf driving range is a lot of fun and Tony provides clubs and balls for you to hit out towards the sea. My husband enjoyed fishing in the two private lochs. We didn't really want to leave the pitch but when we did we were rewarded with more beautiful scenery and the legendary beaches. Leverburgh is less than 20 minutes away and Tarbert within 30 minutes, both providing great restaurants and groceries and more !

This is a place to relax and soak up the beautiful scenery. We didn't have the best of weather but it didn't spoil anything. The view is just as beautiful. There is so much to do, our 6 night stay was not long enough for us !

This is a truly unique and amazing site. We had a few concerns after reading about the steep gravel road but we need not have worried. We have a 4 berth coachman caravan and a 2010 Landcruiser. Tony met us at the gate, we looked up 4WD in our handbook, flicked the switch and there was no problem at all !

Sharon and Tony are very obliging, nothing is too much trouble but they never intruded on our peace and quiet.

This is a great escape from reality. The ideal place to get away from it all and unwind.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gwyn Catherine 1 review from this member

We have stayed at Flodabay three times now. The site is much appreciated and the view fantastic, as is the welcome from Tony. The proximity of the two lochs in which we may fish for trout is a bonus and the freedom of the rocky landscape is much appreciated by our little dog. We intend to return next year.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: John961 1 review from this member

This great site met all expectation. Tony and Sharon have created a site which enables you to observe the amazing wild life of South Harris without leaving your caravan, Eagles and Seals often, Merlins if your quick, Gannets diving in the sea, unfortunately the otters didn't appear, you have to be lucky to be in the right place at the right time to see these.

The lochs on site can be fished and the wild brown trout are up to three pounds, I caught one for dinner and with the herbs by the side of the pitch, very tasty. We enjoyed 7 days of fine weather and did not want to leave. If like us you enjoy quiet sites and don't need a toilet block this site is a must We will be back.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Charliebrammer 1 review from this member

If they ever write the book 'A thousand sites to visit before you die' then this site will certainly be in there! What a special and unique place! So peaceful (only three pitches) with a view to die for. Not bad having just the two lochs to yourself either! As for the owner Tony, to say he will go the extra mile is an understatement! Brilliant welcome! If you're visiting the area don't miss the opportunity for this unique experience!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Markpar 1 review from this member

Fantastic 4 nights at this unique site in idyllic scenery. Individual pitches are carefully placed to be private and even have pots of herbs around to use. Tony ensured he was available for any query without being obtrusive, dropping in a delicious pack of home made oatcakes then later some pollock fillets. The road from Leverburgh is narrow but clearly marked and very quiet, as is the road on to Tarbert and passable with care by touring caravans. We stopped on our way to the site to watch a golden eagle soar over the car, then once at our pitch we had a panoramic view over the bay. Cant recommend this site enough and if we visit Harris again, we'll certainly be booking in to Flodabay.

Mark and Kate

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3890 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019