Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 131 Reviews
                10/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The proctors 1 review from this member

 Just got back from 3 nights at this really spot on site, the owner Tony was a really good host with his personnel greeting and some nice home made treats of goose burgers and oatcakes.

We arrived by ferry and true to form, he rang us to make sure we were on route and gave us clear instructions on how to get to Flodbay.

You have to be patience when driving to the site, as the roads are narrow, but really scenic and quiet, but when you get there, you are in for a surprise as your pitch is up a gravel road hill with a fantastic view (don't be put off with the gravel road).

The site only take 3 units but doesn't have toilet/shower facilities but as 240v, but that's a small price to pay, when you see your allocated pitch Its so beautiful and peaceful that we felt it was our own little kingdom.

We had a motor scooter and we travelled about the island which was perfect, the island has some nice cafes and the beaches on the west side are a must, but Flodbay is really nice. The site is more expensive than most sites on the island, but its so nice and if you want to be yourselves, without the crowds this is the place Well done Tony ! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: CRolt 1 review from this member

 We had a fabulous 5 nights at this site. You are met by Tony who guides you to your pitch and, in our case, presented us with some fantastic edible goodies. The pitches are very well spaced and private and the views fantastic. The grounds of Flodabay Farm are extensive and include two lochans with plenty of places to picnic. There is lots of wildlife around. The site makes an excellent base for exploring Harris. Definitely to be recommended. On the expensive side as there are no showers but worth it just the same. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AndrewBuddy 1 review from this member

 My husband and I have just returned from a 6 week tour of Scotland in our caravan and the jewel in the crown was undoubtedly the week we stayed at Flodabay Farm. Our pitch was the top one of only 3 on the site, with incredible views over the Minch and reaching as far as Glen Coe on a clear day. We sat and watched golden eagles and seals to the accompaniment of cuckoos, just perfect. Tony could not have been more accommodating and his gift of homemade goose burgers, oakcakes and smoked salmon was very welcome. We would highly recommend this site to anyone visiting Harris. Just stunning! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stapll01 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a week with our large, twin axle caravan. Getting up to the top of the hill wasn't a problem as Tony had arranged the help of a land rover. The site was lovely, like a fully serviced pitch, and the views were amazing. Tony greeted us with, his now legendary, home made oatcakes, which were delicious.

Tony was very knowledgeable on local wildlife and where to get the best possible sightings.

We were also given homemade gooseburgers, freshly caught pollock and fresh eggs, all of which were delicious. Tony was definitely the host with the most and I'm sure a stay in his bed & breakfast establishment would be great.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay on the island and at Flodabay and would definitely return.

Just beware of the roads with a caravan! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hamish D 1 review from this member

 This is a fabulous location with views across to Skye. Tony is a fine host providing us with oatcakes, fish and goose burgers. But the key is the beauty of the place, 3 sites make for privacy and there are good walks into moorland or along the coast. The site is an easy drive from the ferries or to St Clements Church. Easy to get around although the roads are narrow.

The moonscape location is very different from many other places in the Western Isles.

There is good water and power, no toilets or showers so you need to be fully self contained. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Miller3992 1 review from this member

 This was such a fantastic location. It was so quiet - the only sounds were the birds. Tony was very welcoming, so much so that we extended our stay by two night. Harris is a beautiful island, not at all what we had imagined and we will definitely be back. The drive along the Golden Road is not to be missed. We saw otters, dolphins and seals. On the way back to Stornoway we saw a golden eagle and a sea eagle - what a great end to an already memorable stay 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mikeredadmiral 1 review from this member

 This is a little gem of a site, nestled into the hillside. The drive along the Golden Road is beautiful if you want to take that route. Tony was waiting at the gate, the entrance to the site at our prearranged time. We followed him up the track (keep your vehicle in first gear with plenty of revs), into the hillside to our pitch, which was spacious and not overlooked. It was easy to think we were the only ones there even though the pitch above us was occupied. This is the nearest you will get to wild camping, with the benefits of fresh water, hook-up and chemical disposal. It is only when you get out of your vehicle and look east that you see the full majesty of the view. In an elevated position you are overlooking Loch Fhleoideabhagh, a sea loch, opening out to The Minches, with Skye in the distance. Waking up each morning to see that was a bonus.

The fresh water lochs within the 30ac site are well waymarked and well worth a visit while your here. This is a site where you can just sit and watch the world go by if you wish. There are various raptors around and we did see a sea eagle flying nearby to us. Tony said there were Sea Eagles and Golden Eagles nesting in the mountains to the west of the site. If you do want to explore the area, then a lovely drive south takes to Rodel (16th C church) then further round takes you to the magnificent beaches of South Harris. Tony has purposely kept this site small to retain the wild camping feeling. All in all this site is brilliant and just waiting for you to explore. Just do it! 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sandy T 2 reviews from this member

 Tony made us very welcome, and was there at the gate to meet us, bringing his beautiful oatcakes, smoked salmon & gooseburgers, all home made. The ascent to the pitches is up a steep track, but if you arrive by caravan, Tony can arrange a 4x4 to haul it up for you.

Spectacular views in all directions. No showers or toilets, but water, power (10a) and drainage on pitch, with cdp close by, so not an issue!

Highly recommended, but remember to book in plenty of time, as Tony is normally and rightfully full! 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nina1 1 review from this member

 A unique location. Outstanding views over lochs and mountains and so peaceful. Tony made us very welcome from the minute we arrived. We were delighted with his gift of his home made oat cakes, goose burgers and fresh fish. If you want tranquillity, scenery and wildlife this is a perfect location. Unfortunately we were only there for two nights and we just wish we had allowed more time to stay there to see the wildlife. We will definitely be going back and would highly recommend Floda Bay Farm and Tony for his dedication to conserving the natural surroundings and wildlife. Thank you Tony from Dennis and Nina 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paws on tour 1 review from this member

 If you are searching for an island with a real ‘castaway’ feeling then this is your place. We were lucky enough to stumble onto previous reviews about Flodabay and decided to take a trip with our caravan in October. Don’t let the single track roads from the ferry port to the site put you off - we did it towing our beast of an 8 meter twin axle without any issues. The site is remote and wonderful with views everywhere you turn. It’s going to be difficult to return to the ‘standard’ campsite in the future! We were very fortunate to have the place to ourselves (there are only 3 large pitches well separated) and the dogs benefited from the walk to the Lochans each morning. So if you are there when others are too don’t expect overcrowding or even being able to see your neighbours - what a joy! Tony could not do more for us and we thank him dearly for his hospitality and oak cakes/seafood. We will certainly return for longer to explore the neighbouring islands but to be honest everything we wanted was on our doorstep in this wonderful, isolated, wild and unspoilt island - may it stay that way! Thank you Tony and Sharon for allowing us to share your beautiful spot on the island. It really was hard to leave! 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Flodabay Farm child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Flodabay Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Flodabay Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2263 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement