Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 131 Reviews
                10/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gammo209 1 review from this member

 'Breathtaking Site'

A small amazing site with only 3 pitches perched on your own plateau with glorious views across the sea.

Beautiful walks to your own Lochs (ideal if you like fishing). The best site we have been on - electric+ water+ CDP on site but we had no problems using our own on board facilities.

Tony (the best) was extremely knowledgeable about the area and supplied tasty treats (oat cakes, mackerel & lovely goose burgers) he and Sharon have put a lot of love and thought into making this a really magical place and we would highly recommend it to those seeking a perfect, peaceful place on 'Top of the World'

Thank you Sharon and Tony for a great Stay. Love Debbie & John 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PeterBoek 2 reviews from this member

 On a special terrain higher up, with amazing views of the bay and Harris, the owner of the lovely B & B has created 3 very special places for caravan/motorhome.

The concept is great: to fully experience the Outer Hebrides like nothing else on a secluded lot with lochs, and beautiful nature, and without the usual camping facilities (however fresh water, electricity, disposal of grey water and chemical waste present). So if you want to experience 'wild' camping with comfort and great views and with the feeling of being submerged into nature and all the elements, do not miss this place. There are enough things to do on this very scenic island, the location is great, the owner is very hospitable, his gooseburgers very tasty, there are seals to be seen etc. Quiet, secluded, not for the faint-hearted and not for children I guess. Not to be missed. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Barbara Crampton 1 review from this member

 This is definitely not your average campsite. Our exclusive pitch 'on top of the world' had a water tap, electric hook-up, chemical toilet disposal point and two picnic tables. Anyone who needs anything more, such as showers, toilets, laundry and shop on site will be disappointed, but you will get fantastic views, total peace and quiet and an unbeatable experience of all manner of life on a Hebridean island. This encompasses wildlife such as sea eagles souring overhead and dragon flies in the nearby pools and lochs and the everyday rhythm of life in the community such as the activity of boats in the bay.

This four-night stay was part of a six week 'road trip' to celebrate our recent retirement and we just wanted to chill out after a couple of weeks of travelling round the islands, partly wild camping. Our West Highland Terrier, Charlie, enjoyed the freedom of the hills and spent most of his time at Flodabay standing on top of rocks, looking about and sniffing for rabbits.

Tony was an excellent host and good company, but left us to ourselves most of the time and we enjoyed his tasty goose burgers, oatcakes and two locally caught brown trout. As a bonus, TV reception in the evenings was surprisingly the best we have had on the whole of our travels.

We would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karenbarley 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic 7 nights at the Flodabay campsite perched on the 'top of the world' overlooking the magical Flodabay. The beautiful sunrises, sunset an the glistening sea views were truly amazing, and then there are the seals basing on the rocks down below. Tony was incredibly helpful as the host, attentive and informative without ever being intrusive. He had a 4x4 on hand to help us get the caravan up tot he top pitch, which wasn't a problem at all. We were able to navigate the narrow Harris roads easily and carefully with our caravan and estate car. Also he was very generous; the smoked salmon and homemade oatcakes and goose burgers were delicious. He advised on places to explore, kept us abreast of the weather so we could plan the best days to explore outdoors and indoors. The landscape on the east side around Flodabay and 'The Bays' area is rugged, rocky and there are many hidden lochs and paths to explore. A brilliant base for this amazing Island, we traveled up to the Lewis part of the island and were able to explore easily from here.

If you're looking for showers, dishwashing facilities, toilet blocks, laundrettes and pub entertainment etc then this isn't the place for you, although the usual water, electric hook up and Chemical disposal is supplied. But if you are looking for stunning views, have your own toilet and washing facilities, are a fan of 'wild' camping (with a difference) then I highly recommend. We would go back like a shot and enjoy the views, peace, quiet and beauty of this magical place. Thank you Tony for a fantastic experience. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Liztobin 1 review from this member

 Flodabay caravan/motorhome site is fabulous. The views from each pitch are breathtaking. It's a really unique site, you feel like you are wild camping, looking out to sea and over to rocky hills but with the essential facilities of electricity, water and chemical disposal. It is incredibly peaceful and has the opportunity to see Golden and Sea Eagles just by scanning the skies from the pitch.

Harris is a beautiful island, especially the East side where Flodabay is. Pretty much all of Harris is single track road as is the approach to the site, but don't let that put you off, there are lots of passing places. We easily towed our caravan.

If you are expecting a 'caravan club-esque' type site you may be disappointed, but if you love being out in the wild, in an incredibly tranquil place and experience the real essence of the Outer Hebrides you will love this site.

The owner Tony was very welcoming and friendly and made our stay unforgettable. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Willyfrosty 1 review from this member

 Another reviewer said this site is unique, not true, it's absolutely unique! This was our second visit and we stayed seven nights. Tony only lets 3 or 4 pitches so that everyone can enjoy the amazing views and sit at their personal picnic bench in front of their unit. No loos, no showers but peace and tranquillity of the very best kind. Water, power and cdp close by the pitches.

Wonderful welcome from Tony and on departure both Tony and Sharon came to say goodbye with gifts of homemade oatcakes and gooseburgers. Good walks, waymarked to the lochs which you can reach without leaving the site. Might be a while before we return to the Hebridies but when we do this will be our first port of call without a doubt. 100% recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MJB17 1 review from this member

 What a cracking site overlooking the Bay. A beautiful peaceful place. Loved watching the seals in the evening down by the pier. Saw a few birds or pray swooping over head and a gorgeous sunset, not to mention the deer at certain places along the way. Our dog loved seeing the sheep, they're everywhere & Tony, our host, was very welcoming took us up to site showed us what we needed to know & left us to it but to text him if we needed anything at all! Must mention the Harris Hotel which is about 9 miles away, we had forgotten that places are closed on a Sunday & that's the day we arrived, got a table later in the evening after the dinner rush had been. The food was fabby as was their service, great wee place to eat. Will defo stay at Flodabay Farm again if we are ever back. Cheers Tony

Jon & Mandy Boys 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rbt1 2 reviews from this member

 The choice of site was down to the location along with it being a special occasion we wanted somewhere a little extra special. We were met by Tony at the gate who gave us a huge welcome, site information leaflets and escorted to our pitch. We certainly got the extra special, the view was stunning, view that left you speechless and the tranquillity beautiful. With help of binoculars we could see the seals in the bay, enjoyed knocking a few golf balls around on the range and a spot of flyflishing on one of the Lochs. Our stay was 2 nights only but we thoroughly enjoyed every minute and felt that there was so much more to see and do. Tony and Sharon are wonderful hosts and made our stay special, homemade oatcakes scrumptious and delicious goose burgers. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swettenham 1 review from this member

 The views are stunning. A seal colony was ever present in the bay beneath us and we had 2 sightings of a golden eagle. The golf driving range is a lot of fun and Tony provides clubs and balls for you to hit out towards the sea. My husband enjoyed fishing in the two private lochs. We didn't really want to leave the pitch but when we did we were rewarded with more beautiful scenery and the legendary beaches. Leverburgh is less than 20 minutes away and Tarbert within 30 minutes, both providing great restaurants and groceries and more !

This is a place to relax and soak up the beautiful scenery. We didn't have the best of weather but it didn't spoil anything. The view is just as beautiful. There is so much to do, our 6 night stay was not long enough for us !

This is a truly unique and amazing site. We had a few concerns after reading about the steep gravel road but we need not have worried. We have a 4 berth coachman caravan and a 2010 Landcruiser. Tony met us at the gate, we looked up 4WD in our handbook, flicked the switch and there was no problem at all !

Sharon and Tony are very obliging, nothing is too much trouble but they never intruded on our peace and quiet.

This is a great escape from reality. The ideal place to get away from it all and unwind. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gwyn Catherine 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at Flodabay three times now. The site is much appreciated and the view fantastic, as is the welcome from Tony. The proximity of the two lochs in which we may fish for trout is a bonus and the freedom of the rocky landscape is much appreciated by our little dog. We intend to return next year. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Flodabay Farm child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Flodabay Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Flodabay Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1230 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement