Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 118 Reviews
                10/10 from 118 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Devon roamers 2 reviews from this member

Wow, wow, wow! What an amazing site! Perched at the top of a hill overlooking Flodabay we were able to watch seals playing in the water and basking on the rocks while we ate breakfast. The pitches are so well spaced that we felt like we were there on our own. Tony and Sharon went out of their way to make our arrival easy, with Tony meeting us at the bottom of the lane with a 4x4 to tow our large caravan up the steep gravel track. We were able to site the van looking out to sea with ease. Hook up and fresh water were within easy reach, and chemical disposal close but well hidden. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon with no dinner plans, but Tony managed to get us a table at the local Rodel Hotel {delicious!}. Our dog loved being able to run off the lead around the two lochs that are within the 50 acres of fenced land. My wife and I both celebrated our birthdays while staying at Flodabay and we celebrated with Tony and Sharons seafood buffet - dressed crab, plump scallops, local langoustines and smoked salmon served freshly cooked to the caravan door, along with delicious homemade bread and oatcakes, as well as a surprise birthday cake! Don't be put off by the steep approach road or the single track coast road, we hardly ever saw any other cars on the road and didn't meet any cars at all on the way to Tarbert with the caravan to reluctantly catch the ferry home. Tony could not have been more accommodating or helpful, and the remote location makes this one of the most relaxing sites we have ever visited. Tony was a wealth of local knowledge and he or Sharon were always available on the phone. If you want to see the Outer Hebrides at their wonderful, unspoilt best this is the site for you.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bev and Nige 7 reviews from this member

Not much more to add to the previous reviews as they say it all really. This was our second visit to Flodabay Farm site and hope it's not our last as we love the place. There's no where like it! The peace and tranquility along with stunning scenery, privacy and a great host make this a place to remember. If the weather was 10 degrees warmer on Harris then you could almost be in the Caribbean, with its lovely white sandy beaches and turquoise sea but then hey ho thank goodness its not as it would be noisy and inundated with people! Flodabay is real retreat with lovely walks on top of the moors with the dog and a great place for watching birds and wildlife. Look out for Otters and Seals basking on the rocks in the bay below! We were lucky enough to be sited on the new pitch (number one) on the site this year and were even more delighted with the views than last time. All the pitches (I think Tony now has 6?) are nice and secluded, with spectacular views. Tony is a great host and of course, we'd ordered his home cooked fish platter that he hand delivers to your van and it was bang on time too Tony! It was simply delicious and another one to remember. Tony had even put some special 'wee goodies' in our basket and also gave us some special treats before we left. Thanks Tony, you helped make our visit really memorable yet again, we'll certainly be returning, only next time we intend to stay for longer and visit our favourite beach (Luskentyre) that we never got to see this time.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: M Potter 3 reviews from this member

This was one of those 'Wow' experiences! Greeted warmly by Tony who helped us to locate our pitch by driving ahead. True, the slope, for many ( especially towing caravans ) might prove physically challenging and, once up the top of the site, walking could also prove difficult. However, for anyone in a Motorhome or camper van, the site is breathtakingly unbelievable. Flodabay is down below, stretching across the horizon. There is a clean and easily assessable Elsen emptying point. Dustbins nearby. There are no toilets or showers, But, quite frankly, most modern camper vans have facilities on board. The water hose point was also very easily accessed. Let's be honest. If WiFfi, Jacuzzis, Amusements, Bingo Halls etc were a priority. There's always Blackpool a little further south! Tony provided us with the most special meal. A Fresh Sea Food Platter. Literally driven to our summit door step, and, again, a 'wow' experience. This site is Peace personified. It's obviously Adults Only and, with the sheer Highland landscape of wonderful scenery, Tony, Sharon and son Jamie's hospitality, , the only problem we have is. When can we make it back ?

Jean and Michael.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BillandSue 4 reviews from this member

Our second visit to Flodabay Farm and this time we stayed longer and enjoyed it even more. The spectacular view from the site was just as we remembered it, as was the excellent Seafood Buffet prepared by our hosts, Tony and Sharon, and delivered to our pitch. Tony helped us with collecting and returning a hire car which we found very handy for exploring Harris, Lewis and the other islands. The weather was better than we left behind, the Hebridean breeze keeping the midges at bay, and a Golden Eagle gave us a fine display, which made our day.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GilArchie 1 review from this member

Excellent site, nice peaceful location no discos or loud music, kids screaming. Good golf course got a nice hole in one I mean I hit tony, s car ouch not good. The area was very nice. As it was my wedding anniversary, and tony did us proud with his excellent fish platter, enough food for two nights. Tony and sharon excellent hosts. We will be back.

Paul and gill. Tiger woods???? from good old Norwich.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sunny Jim 60 8 reviews from this member

My goodness, the views here are spectacular on a sunny day! Site has no amenity block, you are paying for the view, possibly rather expensive at £25 per night, including electrics and water. Owner has gone out of his way to make it an enjoyable experience and has set up some golf holes to enjoy. A walk to the 2 lochs is recommended but you need proper footwear as it's quite boggy.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Philharmonica 3 reviews from this member

This has to be the finest location for your motorhome or caravan, with stunning sea views and a real sense of solitude and privacy. There is so much nature on your doorstep with otters, sea lions and birds nearby for you to enjoy. Tony is the perfect host. His seafood platter, with oatcakes and homemade bread was just prefect as we watched the sunset. We've already asked for the recipe for his venison burgers too. Most of all, the setting really does give you a 'feel' for what life on Harris is really like. Each day the same views changed dramatically with the ever changing light and weather bringing new colours and moods to experience. We will certainly be returning!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Travellinglouis2014 6 reviews from this member

If you want bright lights, music and entertainment this is not the site for you. If you want peace and tranquillity, stunning views, amazing walks, your own loch to fish in, to watch seals and otters in the bay, eagles soaring over the hills and the friendliest welcome you are likely to get, then this is the place.

Of all the sites we have stayed on this is unique. Met at the gate by Tony, we did wonder for a while where we were going but once you get to the top it is a stunning view. We got there in rain and the wind was blowing but it just added to the fun, never slept better, with the rain pattering on the roof.

Next morning bright and sunny and to quote ‘My Lord what a morning?’ The walks to the Loch are all marked but we did go a bit ‘off piste’ one day across the moors, which was an adventure.

The golf range is very special, and you don’t have to get the balls back.

Some of the beaches within 30 minutes’ drive are stunning, our dogs loved it.

We were there on October, the Northern Lights were amazing, and the midges had all gone.

Tony is a very genial host, and a font of knowledge for all things local, and contacts you before arriving with explicit details of how to get there. Being a tad allergic to fish we didn’t try his platter, but his oat-cakes, goose-burger and venison burgers are excellent.

If you are a shopper, again not the holiday for you, Leverburgh is the nearest place for provisions with a very well run local co-operative, with a small C!

You do need you own toilet and shower, but power and water are on the site.

We plan one-day to return and maybe for longer than the four days we were there.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PhilipB 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights in September. Tony was at the gate to meet us with a very warm and friendly welcome, he took us up to our pitch which was absolutely amazing the panoramic views were stunning. Electric, water and CDP were all nearby.

Two lochs to explore which were so tranquil, it was so dark at night that the stars were amazing never seen so many.

Tony was the perfect host full of information about the area, he delivered our sea food platter to our door which was fantastic, Scallops, two types of Salmon, Crab and Lobster, such lovely flavours would definitely recommend.

If you are ever on Harris then this site is a must.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Backcare 4 reviews from this member

We have stayed on many sites in the UK; many great locations. We love sites of 5 vans or less; Flodabay Farm, Harris met our needs pre booking and during our stay. A week prior to our stay Tony contacted us for final arrangements; this resulted in an informative direction to the site from the ferry. As promised Tony was waiting at the gate to ensure we were positioned on our pitch without any issues; a very warm welcome. The site is fantastic with views to die for; brown trout fishing and golf. Had my quarry on fly and the odd trout for breakfast. Wow what a cook; Tony/Sharon; I was spoilt with a fantastic selection of sea food suppers; you must indulge when you visit. Excellent hosts and excellent site, you will not be disappointed, exactly the opposite; we will be back soon

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4458 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019