Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 118 Reviews
                10/10 from 118 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stapll01 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a week with our large, twin axle caravan. Getting up to the top of the hill wasn't a problem as Tony had arranged the help of a land rover. The site was lovely, like a fully serviced pitch, and the views were amazing. Tony greeted us with, his now legendary, home made oatcakes, which were delicious.

Tony was very knowledgeable on local wildlife and where to get the best possible sightings.

We were also given homemade gooseburgers, freshly caught pollock and fresh eggs, all of which were delicious. Tony was definitely the host with the most and I'm sure a stay in his bed & breakfast establishment would be great.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay on the island and at Flodabay and would definitely return.

Just beware of the roads with a caravan!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hamish D 1 review from this member

This is a fabulous location with views across to Skye. Tony is a fine host providing us with oatcakes, fish and goose burgers. But the key is the beauty of the place, 3 sites make for privacy and there are good walks into moorland or along the coast. The site is an easy drive from the ferries or to St Clements Church. Easy to get around although the roads are narrow.

The moonscape location is very different from many other places in the Western Isles.

There is good water and power, no toilets or showers so you need to be fully self contained.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Miller3992 1 review from this member

This was such a fantastic location. It was so quiet - the only sounds were the birds. Tony was very welcoming, so much so that we extended our stay by two night. Harris is a beautiful island, not at all what we had imagined and we will definitely be back. The drive along the Golden Road is not to be missed. We saw otters, dolphins and seals. On the way back to Stornoway we saw a golden eagle and a sea eagle - what a great end to an already memorable stay

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeredadmiral 1 review from this member

This is a little gem of a site, nestled into the hillside. The drive along the Golden Road is beautiful if you want to take that route. Tony was waiting at the gate, the entrance to the site at our prearranged time. We followed him up the track (keep your vehicle in first gear with plenty of revs), into the hillside to our pitch, which was spacious and not overlooked. It was easy to think we were the only ones there even though the pitch above us was occupied. This is the nearest you will get to wild camping, with the benefits of fresh water, hook-up and chemical disposal. It is only when you get out of your vehicle and look east that you see the full majesty of the view. In an elevated position you are overlooking Loch Fhleoideabhagh, a sea loch, opening out to The Minches, with Skye in the distance. Waking up each morning to see that was a bonus.

The fresh water lochs within the 30ac site are well waymarked and well worth a visit while your here. This is a site where you can just sit and watch the world go by if you wish. There are various raptors around and we did see a sea eagle flying nearby to us. Tony said there were Sea Eagles and Golden Eagles nesting in the mountains to the west of the site. If you do want to explore the area, then a lovely drive south takes to Rodel (16th C church) then further round takes you to the magnificent beaches of South Harris. Tony has purposely kept this site small to retain the wild camping feeling. All in all this site is brilliant and just waiting for you to explore. Just do it!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sandy T 2 reviews from this member

Tony made us very welcome, and was there at the gate to meet us, bringing his beautiful oatcakes, smoked salmon & gooseburgers, all home made. The ascent to the pitches is up a steep track, but if you arrive by caravan, Tony can arrange a 4x4 to haul it up for you.

Spectacular views in all directions. No showers or toilets, but water, power (10a) and drainage on pitch, with cdp close by, so not an issue!

Highly recommended, but remember to book in plenty of time, as Tony is normally and rightfully full!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nina1 1 review from this member

A unique location. Outstanding views over lochs and mountains and so peaceful. Tony made us very welcome from the minute we arrived. We were delighted with his gift of his home made oat cakes, goose burgers and fresh fish. If you want tranquillity, scenery and wildlife this is a perfect location. Unfortunately we were only there for two nights and we just wish we had allowed more time to stay there to see the wildlife. We will definitely be going back and would highly recommend Floda Bay Farm and Tony for his dedication to conserving the natural surroundings and wildlife. Thank you Tony from Dennis and Nina

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paws on tour 1 review from this member

If you are searching for an island with a real ‘castaway’ feeling then this is your place. We were lucky enough to stumble onto previous reviews about Flodabay and decided to take a trip with our caravan in October. Don’t let the single track roads from the ferry port to the site put you off - we did it towing our beast of an 8 meter twin axle without any issues. The site is remote and wonderful with views everywhere you turn. It’s going to be difficult to return to the ‘standard’ campsite in the future! We were very fortunate to have the place to ourselves (there are only 3 large pitches well separated) and the dogs benefited from the walk to the Lochans each morning. So if you are there when others are too don’t expect overcrowding or even being able to see your neighbours - what a joy! Tony could not do more for us and we thank him dearly for his hospitality and oak cakes/seafood. We will certainly return for longer to explore the neighbouring islands but to be honest everything we wanted was on our doorstep in this wonderful, isolated, wild and unspoilt island - may it stay that way! Thank you Tony and Sharon for allowing us to share your beautiful spot on the island. It really was hard to leave!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gammo209 1 review from this member

'Breathtaking Site'

A small amazing site with only 3 pitches perched on your own plateau with glorious views across the sea.

Beautiful walks to your own Lochs (ideal if you like fishing). The best site we have been on - electric+ water+ CDP on site but we had no problems using our own on board facilities.

Tony (the best) was extremely knowledgeable about the area and supplied tasty treats (oat cakes, mackerel & lovely goose burgers) he and Sharon have put a lot of love and thought into making this a really magical place and we would highly recommend it to those seeking a perfect, peaceful place on 'Top of the World'

Thank you Sharon and Tony for a great Stay. Love Debbie & John

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PeterBoek 2 reviews from this member

On a special terrain higher up, with amazing views of the bay and Harris, the owner of the lovely B & B has created 3 very special places for caravan/motorhome.

The concept is great: to fully experience the Outer Hebrides like nothing else on a secluded lot with lochs, and beautiful nature, and without the usual camping facilities (however fresh water, electricity, disposal of grey water and chemical waste present). So if you want to experience 'wild' camping with comfort and great views and with the feeling of being submerged into nature and all the elements, do not miss this place. There are enough things to do on this very scenic island, the location is great, the owner is very hospitable, his gooseburgers very tasty, there are seals to be seen etc. Quiet, secluded, not for the faint-hearted and not for children I guess. Not to be missed.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barbara Crampton 1 review from this member

This is definitely not your average campsite. Our exclusive pitch 'on top of the world' had a water tap, electric hook-up, chemical toilet disposal point and two picnic tables. Anyone who needs anything more, such as showers, toilets, laundry and shop on site will be disappointed, but you will get fantastic views, total peace and quiet and an unbeatable experience of all manner of life on a Hebridean island. This encompasses wildlife such as sea eagles souring overhead and dragon flies in the nearby pools and lochs and the everyday rhythm of life in the community such as the activity of boats in the bay.

This four-night stay was part of a six week 'road trip' to celebrate our recent retirement and we just wanted to chill out after a couple of weeks of travelling round the islands, partly wild camping. Our West Highland Terrier, Charlie, enjoyed the freedom of the hills and spent most of his time at Flodabay standing on top of rocks, looking about and sniffing for rabbits.

Tony was an excellent host and good company, but left us to ourselves most of the time and we enjoyed his tasty goose burgers, oatcakes and two locally caught brown trout. As a bonus, TV reception in the evenings was surprisingly the best we have had on the whole of our travels.

We would definitely recommend this site.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4043 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019