Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 131 Reviews
                10/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doug Findlay 59 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 5 Nights at this spectacular location. From the initial booking enquiry to arriving on the pitch Tony could not have been more helpful.

I have a 4x4 and twin axle caravan and experienced no issues negotiating the single track roads in the area. Tony met us at the gate and after a few instructions we arrived at the very top pitch ( the road looks worse than it actually is and is ok once you are on it). The views were incredible - full 360 degrees.

Water, electricity and waste were all at hand. Tony greeted us with Goose Burgers (what a taste), fresh eggs, homemade oatcakes and a couple of Pollock fillets. He even have me a couple of bags of golf balls to hit (as I come from Carnoustie !). We seen all types of wildlife mainly from the caravan which included sea eagles, seals, deer etc. LEt's area for walking our 2 dogs and tried my hand at fishing on 1 of his 2 lochs.

This side of Harris is more rugged but if you cross to the West some of the beaches are out of this world - recommend Luskentyre. We were not blessed with the best of weather but it still did not detract from the natural beauty of the area.

We received more goose burgers on our departure - what a great host. We will return and definitely recommend to others. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Michael Lewis 1 review from this member

 Spent 7 nights at this idyllic small caravan site overlooking the Minch with fantastic views to Skye and the Scottish mainland. Hospitality was second to none.

The drive up to the pitch along a steep gravel track is not for the feint-hearted, but with Tony's expert help and encouragement it was well worth it for the views.

Complementary freshly-caught mackerel, goose-burgers and oat cakes added to the enjoyment. The best holiday I've had for many years. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bignige44 1 review from this member

 A warm reception from Tony on arrival and shown to our favourite spot to park the motorhome, then open the wine and relax aaaahhhhhhh. This is our third visit here and the views from the site are fantastic.

Within 30 minutes we'd spotted a Golden Eagle, Grey Heron and a couple of seals basking on the rocks, I'm sure Tony has a word with the wildlife! And as a self confessed techie the 4G availability has improved somewhat, on EE network I was getting 64Meg download and14Meg upload.

On the downside we only had two nights as we had to get the ferry back to Skye for the return journey, on the upside, there's always next year :-). In the words of Arnie Schwarzenegger 'we'll be back'. A definite must visit place when on the island touring in a motorhome.

Each corner you turn is another breath taking view, and totally different from all the other islands. Loved the gooseburgers and oatcakes thanks Tony. Nige. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ferhh 5 reviews from this member

 We really don't want to leave this review as worried it might get to well known and we may never get in again, but it is such an incredible site that if we didn't it would be an injustice to Tony and Sharons hard work to create such an amazing site with an incredible welcome.

The views are out of this world, the goose burgers and fresh mackeral amazing, and Tony could not have been more helpful from meeting us on the road to the encouragement and instructions on how to navigate the steep track up to our pitch.

Once up on the pitch it took our breath away at how beautiful it was. We canoed in the bay our pitch overlooked and was followed by the seals we had been watching from the site. Cant wait to return just hope everyone else hasnt discovered it so we can get in.

Thanks Tony we will be back. Chris and jenni 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jat059 2 reviews from this member

 A fabulous site and a most gracious host. Tony was a star as were his homemade oatcakes.

Would highly recommend this site especially if you're looking to get away from it all. I know we will be coming back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Haighh 1 review from this member

 Excellent Site, stunning view from top of hill. Peaceful. The silence is deafening.

Tony the Owner could not have been more helpful and friendly. Worth noting, would not attempt if towing caravan. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jujofred 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first stop on a tour of the Outer Hebrides and what a spot to re-charge the batteries. The road to the site is certainly not for the faint-hearted, but lovely owner Tony is on-hand to offer all the help you need.

There are just 3 pitches and no pitch overlooks the other so you feel perfectly at one with the magnificent landscape all around you. The views are spectacular, mountains behind you, and to the front you look out to the little islands and across the sea to Skye and the mainland. Each pitch has water and EHU.

There are no toilet or shower facilities so you have to use your own but it was the little touches that made it special for us: the lovely warm welcome and chat with Tony, the loan of the golf balls to use on the driving range (sorry, our aim was shocking and those balls are now lost forever!) and the fabulously tasty home-made oatcakes and goose burgers, eggs from his chickens and tomatoes from his greenhouse.

Oh, and did I mention the view? There are a couple of easy marked walks from the site which are well worth doing, but whatever you do, donít forget your binoculars as you never know what you might see flying high in the sky. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mohitta 2 reviews from this member

 Another wonderful stay at this amazing location. The perfect place if you are looking for peace, seclusion and breathtaking views.

Short walks take you to two private lochs where you can picnic while watching electric blue damselflies dancing in the reeds. Watching seals in the bay, barbies in the evening with Tony's kind gifts of goose burgers and brilliant sunsets over the hill.

Can't recommend enough. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Albie13noble 1 review from this member

 Spent 4 fabulous days at Tony and Sharon's beautiful camp site a piece of heaven on Earth, Tony was a brilliant host aiding us get our motorhome up to its splendid viewpoint, overlooking the bay below, this was despite Tony recovering from a hip op and walking with aid of sticks.

He presented goose burgers and homemade oat cakes and 6 fresh eggs as a welcome gift. We could not have picked a better site.

Looking forward to returning next year.

Bert and Carole. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mornaf 1 review from this member

 Really enjoyed my time at Flodabay. And so did the dog. Tony was so helpful on arrival. Especially about navigating the slope to the site. However once at the top the view was breathtaking and well worth the 1st gear drive.

Lovely to have a secluded site and peace and quiet. Also lovely to be welcomed with the thoughtful welcome pack.

As I was on my own the fee was pricey but absolutely in order for couples or more. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Flodabay Farm child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Flodabay Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Flodabay Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5471 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement