Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Flodabay Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Site Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 114 Reviews
                10/10 from 114 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

OMG what a fantastic unique place this is, Firstly the road approaching from both Tarbet & Levensburgh is somewhat challenging single track hairpin bends shear drops etc. But we managed it with care in a large motorhome ! Tony, the owner met us at the gate and gave us instructions to follow his 4x4 up the steep gravel track keeping in 1st gear and not to start until he had reached the 'snowman' boulder at the top, after a bit of wheelspin and white knuckles we arrived at the top with the most amazing view in the world over the turquoise waters of the Minch towards Skye surrounded by a landscape that could be from another planet - amazing !There are only 4 pitches all with EHU and there's a few water points dotted about but no toilet or shower facilities ! There are otters & seals in the loch below and as our visit was during the end of June we were lucky enough to see the Most beautiful Midnight sun and an aurora (northern lights) We pre ordered the fish platter (50 for two) that was absolutely superb (best scallops we've ever had) This is definitely a must stay site if your touring the Outer Hebrides ! we will be back !

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brockville 8 reviews from this member

As others have said this is an unusual site. Only a very few pitches with no showers or toilets but if you have your own facilities it's no problem whatsoever. The owner Tony contacted us by text the day before our arrival to check which ferry we were on and then was waiting for us at the gate to take us up to our pitch. The Golden Road which you need to take from Leverburgh to get to the site was an interesting experience with a caravan. Very narrow single track road with small passing places but do-able with care. You definitely need a 4x4 to tow a caravan up to the pitches but the pitches when you get there are lovely with fabulous views out over the Minch to Skye. Water and EHU nearby

We had a dog with us and he was able to run free in the 50 acre fenced in area.

The seafood platter (50) was good value and delicious and lasted us 2 nights.

It is quite a remote site with plenty of room between the pitches so no problems with noise from others residents. The landscape is interesting and we felt almost as if we were in a lunar landscape (lots of granite rock and peat and heather) but attractive in its own right. When we left Tony was waiting at the bottom gate to see us out and to check that all had been well. He is a very friendly chap and the family are obviously trying to create something for a niche market which is working well.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Silverfox1584 4 reviews from this member

With the hardstandings limited to a max of 4 well spaced out pitches, peace and quiet is in abundance. You must have your own facilities on board your caravan or motorhome but water and hookup all there, including wdp. Sea and landscapes are superb. 2 lochs for flyfishing and otters swimming makes this site quite unique. Very dog friendly away from the road with possibly in excess of 50 acres to walk. Hospitality and info from Tony makes your stay easy and his seafood platter (ordered in advance) so very tasty and healthy. We will return maybe later this year or early next. We would highly recommend this location.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: J Mann 2 reviews from this member

We spent a wonderful week at this amazing site. The complete opposite of other more crowded, busy, and, often ugly, camp sites. We enjoyed stunning views over the Bonnie Bay and easy access to the beautiful wildness of Harris, on our doorstep. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful and are working hard to create something that is the antidote to those regimented campsites. We took advantage of the fish platter on our third night and rated it 10 out of 10. What a treat after a blustery, cold, wet day to have a first class meal served by our host. Best sea food I have tasted. Don't miss this chance to spoil yourselves. We also bought Flodabay eggs, which was another bonus.

The area is a geologist's paradise, and obviously a great draw for nature lovers. There are limited facilities but this was not a problem for us. The environment more than made up for any shortfall.

This is a site for people who want to enjoy peace and quiet and privacy. We were in a motor home and hired a car to explore some of the more inaccessible parts of Harris. Much easier. Tarbert and Leverburgh are within easy access for basic supplies but there are less shops on Harris than on Uist and Lewis, so do stock up.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: John and Julie 2 reviews from this member

We saw the excellent reviews of this site and booked our first two nights on the island based upon these reviews and we were not disappointed. The views from our pitch across the sea and over the local hills were superb, no need to watch TV with all the options available for walks and views, whilst the weather was not very kind on our second day (rain and wind) this did not spoil our stay. We would strongly recommend the seafood platter made and delivered by Tony, it was excellent. Tony was an excellent and knowledgeable host and could not do enough to make our stay memorable and we wish him well for the future and hope we can visit again on our next visit to the island.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jedblue 1 review from this member

We have just returned home after a 3 week trip to the Hebredies and the Highlands and the undoubted highlight of our trip was our stay at Flodabay. From the reception from Tony and the spectacular views both front and rear this was truly a memorable experience. Short walks took us to the small pier where we watched the seals and a short walk in the other took us to the beautiful lakes. There are otters but we didn't! Manage to see any.

This is not a site suitable for children and caravan nears will definitely need a 4 x 4 to negotiate the steep track to the pitches. Our motorhome owners had no problems.

While there are no toilet or showering facilities we were quite happy to use our own. Electric hook ups and chemical toilet disposal are provided and wifi is on its way.

Tony even came to see us off and to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We did, !

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S1lverfox 1 review from this member

Anyone looking to stay on Harris should have a look at this site. We stayed here in May in our motorhome.

It is a steep climb up to the pitches, however once there the views are terrific. There is no toilet block yet.

With otters in the bay, and in the lochan, and golden eagles soaring overhead, this is a great site for nature lovers.

If you decide to stay here, then take the opportunity to have the evening meal, well worth it.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pottyhouse 1 review from this member

Probably one of the best sites we have ever visited! We like rural, get away from it all sites but won't compromise on cleanliness and friendliness and absolutely hate mud!

Tucked away on the eastern side of Harris, the site is owned by Tony and his wife who also run a B&B located across the road from the site entrance. The only indication that the site exists is the sign on the gate. A short incline (easily done by our 7. 5m motorhome) brings you to 5 privately spaced hard standings, each with EHU, own picnic benches and stunning views, sea in one direction and open countryside in all others.

The site has 2 private lochs the short walks to which are marked with waymarkers. Kayaks are freely available and, despite being no fisherman, can imagine this is an idyllic spot.

What makes this site truly unique is Tony's cooking! Prearrange a time and Tony will drive up the hillside with hot, freshly prepared local food. We had scallops, dressed crab, honey smoked salmon and oatcakes-delicious!

Tony had good local knowledge, ensuring you will get the most out of your visit to Harris.

We have given full marks for facilities because the site provided what we like, no playground, toilet block on-site club, just unspoiled countryside and a warm welcome

A site we will definitely be revisiting.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smtc 1 review from this member

Spent a lovely week here in October. Quiet location and fantastic scenery with views to Skye and Scottish mainland. Welcome from Tony was great and our caravan successfully reached the top pitch! The seafood meal prepared and delivered to the door was superb - tasty, plentiful and fresh! We could not have asked for anything more. Very honest approach and spontaneous refund of our overpayment! A lovely spot and we will be back.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Auchencrow 4 reviews from this member

We stayed for two nights at Flodabay with our two cocker spaniels during a magnificent trip to the Western Isles. First of all, our dogs loved the site with 70 acres of moorland and two lochs to explore they could not have been happier.

The fishing on the two trout lochs is a real pleasure, as is the target golf - high entertainment in a strong south westerly!

As other people have said, Tony is a great host and by only having three or four guests at a time can offer a very friendly and first class service.

Toilets and showers would be a great addition at some point in the future.

Best of all are the views, certainly no need for a TV when you stay here.

Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Hebrides   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3006 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1094