Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 131 Reviews
                10/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John961 1 review from this member

 This great site met all expectation. Tony and Sharon have created a site which enables you to observe the amazing wild life of South Harris without leaving your caravan, Eagles and Seals often, Merlins if your quick, Gannets diving in the sea, unfortunately the otters didn't appear, you have to be lucky to be in the right place at the right time to see these.

The lochs on site can be fished and the wild brown trout are up to three pounds, I caught one for dinner and with the herbs by the side of the pitch, very tasty. We enjoyed 7 days of fine weather and did not want to leave. If like us you enjoy quiet sites and don't need a toilet block this site is a must We will be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Charliebrammer 1 review from this member

 If they ever write the book 'A thousand sites to visit before you die' then this site will certainly be in there! What a special and unique place! So peaceful (only three pitches) with a view to die for. Not bad having just the two lochs to yourself either! As for the owner Tony, to say he will go the extra mile is an understatement! Brilliant welcome! If you're visiting the area don't miss the opportunity for this unique experience! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Markpar 1 review from this member

 Fantastic 4 nights at this unique site in idyllic scenery. Individual pitches are carefully placed to be private and even have pots of herbs around to use. Tony ensured he was available for any query without being obtrusive, dropping in a delicious pack of home made oatcakes then later some pollock fillets. The road from Leverburgh is narrow but clearly marked and very quiet, as is the road on to Tarbert and passable with care by touring caravans. We stopped on our way to the site to watch a golden eagle soar over the car, then once at our pitch we had a panoramic view over the bay. Cant recommend this site enough and if we visit Harris again, we'll certainly be booking in to Flodabay.

Mark and Kate 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Devon roamers 2 reviews from this member

 Wow, wow, wow! What an amazing site! Perched at the top of a hill overlooking Flodabay we were able to watch seals playing in the water and basking on the rocks while we ate breakfast. The pitches are so well spaced that we felt like we were there on our own. Tony and Sharon went out of their way to make our arrival easy, with Tony meeting us at the bottom of the lane with a 4x4 to tow our large caravan up the steep gravel track. We were able to site the van looking out to sea with ease. Hook up and fresh water were within easy reach, and chemical disposal close but well hidden. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon with no dinner plans, but Tony managed to get us a table at the local Rodel Hotel {delicious!}. Our dog loved being able to run off the lead around the two lochs that are within the 50 acres of fenced land. My wife and I both celebrated our birthdays while staying at Flodabay and we celebrated with Tony and Sharons seafood buffet - dressed crab, plump scallops, local langoustines and smoked salmon served freshly cooked to the caravan door, along with delicious homemade bread and oatcakes, as well as a surprise birthday cake! Don't be put off by the steep approach road or the single track coast road, we hardly ever saw any other cars on the road and didn't meet any cars at all on the way to Tarbert with the caravan to reluctantly catch the ferry home. Tony could not have been more accommodating or helpful, and the remote location makes this one of the most relaxing sites we have ever visited. Tony was a wealth of local knowledge and he or Sharon were always available on the phone. If you want to see the Outer Hebrides at their wonderful, unspoilt best this is the site for you. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bev and Nige 7 reviews from this member

 Not much more to add to the previous reviews as they say it all really. This was our second visit to Flodabay Farm site and hope it's not our last as we love the place. There's no where like it! The peace and tranquility along with stunning scenery, privacy and a great host make this a place to remember. If the weather was 10 degrees warmer on Harris then you could almost be in the Caribbean, with its lovely white sandy beaches and turquoise sea but then hey ho thank goodness its not as it would be noisy and inundated with people! Flodabay is real retreat with lovely walks on top of the moors with the dog and a great place for watching birds and wildlife. Look out for Otters and Seals basking on the rocks in the bay below! We were lucky enough to be sited on the new pitch (number one) on the site this year and were even more delighted with the views than last time. All the pitches (I think Tony now has 6?) are nice and secluded, with spectacular views. Tony is a great host and of course, we'd ordered his home cooked fish platter that he hand delivers to your van and it was bang on time too Tony! It was simply delicious and another one to remember. Tony had even put some special 'wee goodies' in our basket and also gave us some special treats before we left. Thanks Tony, you helped make our visit really memorable yet again, we'll certainly be returning, only next time we intend to stay for longer and visit our favourite beach (Luskentyre) that we never got to see this time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: M Potter 3 reviews from this member

 This was one of those 'Wow' experiences! Greeted warmly by Tony who helped us to locate our pitch by driving ahead. True, the slope, for many ( especially towing caravans ) might prove physically challenging and, once up the top of the site, walking could also prove difficult. However, for anyone in a Motorhome or camper van, the site is breathtakingly unbelievable. Flodabay is down below, stretching across the horizon. There is a clean and easily assessable Elsen emptying point. Dustbins nearby. There are no toilets or showers, But, quite frankly, most modern camper vans have facilities on board. The water hose point was also very easily accessed. Let's be honest. If WiFfi, Jacuzzis, Amusements, Bingo Halls etc were a priority. There's always Blackpool a little further south! Tony provided us with the most special meal. A Fresh Sea Food Platter. Literally driven to our summit door step, and, again, a 'wow' experience. This site is Peace personified. It's obviously Adults Only and, with the sheer Highland landscape of wonderful scenery, Tony, Sharon and son Jamie's hospitality, , the only problem we have is. When can we make it back ?

Jean and Michael. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BillandSue 4 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to Flodabay Farm and this time we stayed longer and enjoyed it even more. The spectacular view from the site was just as we remembered it, as was the excellent Seafood Buffet prepared by our hosts, Tony and Sharon, and delivered to our pitch. Tony helped us with collecting and returning a hire car which we found very handy for exploring Harris, Lewis and the other islands. The weather was better than we left behind, the Hebridean breeze keeping the midges at bay, and a Golden Eagle gave us a fine display, which made our day. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GilArchie 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, nice peaceful location no discos or loud music, kids screaming. Good golf course got a nice hole in one I mean I hit tony, s car ouch not good. The area was very nice. As it was my wedding anniversary, and tony did us proud with his excellent fish platter, enough food for two nights. Tony and sharon excellent hosts. We will be back.

Paul and gill. Tiger woods???? from good old Norwich. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sunny Jim 60 8 reviews from this member

 My goodness, the views here are spectacular on a sunny day! Site has no amenity block, you are paying for the view, possibly rather expensive at 25 per night, including electrics and water. Owner has gone out of his way to make it an enjoyable experience and has set up some golf holes to enjoy. A walk to the 2 lochs is recommended but you need proper footwear as it's quite boggy. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Philharmonica 3 reviews from this member

 This has to be the finest location for your motorhome or caravan, with stunning sea views and a real sense of solitude and privacy. There is so much nature on your doorstep with otters, sea lions and birds nearby for you to enjoy. Tony is the perfect host. His seafood platter, with oatcakes and homemade bread was just prefect as we watched the sunset. We've already asked for the recipe for his venison burgers too. Most of all, the setting really does give you a 'feel' for what life on Harris is really like. Each day the same views changed dramatically with the ever changing light and weather bringing new colours and moods to experience. We will certainly be returning! 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Flodabay Farm child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Flodabay Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Flodabay Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6080 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement