Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 118 Reviews
                10/10 from 118 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Derek and Kate 5 reviews from this member

A fantastic site, great hosts. Each of the 5 pitches had 10 amp elect and water supplies, a picnic table and Tony the host had planted herbs at the side of each pitch. Beautiful views from all pitches across the bay towards the isle of Skye and the mountains surrounding you. Chances to see seals, otters and eagles. Use of fishing in two private lochs for brown trout and practice pitch and golf facilities available on site. Picnic tables provided near lochs to enable greater enjoyment of the scenery. Tony will cook and provide delivered to your pitch a gorgeous sumptuous sea food platter at a very reasonable price. He can also supply eggs and farm produce. CWD placed centrally between the 5 secluded sites. We stayed 5 nights and travelled around the islands (Harris & Lewis) and needed all this time to visit all areas of the islands to enjoy the varied scenery.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janet and Jeff 3 reviews from this member

We were told about this site by a friend who had enjoyed it and thought we would give it a try.

The approach road along the coast is narrow but has a good surface and the driveway up to the pitch is steep, but the owner assists on arrival and is very helpful.

The scenery is very unusual and is termed as 'moonscape' in some leaflets and has footpath access to lochs and the small coastal harbour. The Isle of Skye is clear to see on good days and the mountains of Skye were tipped with snow in this distant view when we were there.

An absolutely delightful panorama is seen from this elevated pitch of the Harris coastline.

The owner is very welcoming and we were provided with a wonderful sea food meal with home made oat cakes and bread, that he cooks, if ordered the day before, and delivers directly to your pitch. What a lovely meal and we felt it was very good value.

There are no showers or toilet facilities, but electricity, toilet emptying point and fresh water are on the site.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waterman 23 reviews from this member

My perfect holiday on Harris would be a week here and a couple of days at Horgabost.

Flodabay Farm is on the East coast half way along the Golden Road, don't be put off because it is a twisty single track road, when you are towing people are extremely considerate and move over for you. The views are stunning, a Golden Eagle perched on a telegraph pole about 150 mtrs away after being mobbed by hooded crows. There is an otter run to one of the two lochs, forgot to mention there are two lochs, the otter one is a dog free area, the other one is glorious with a nicely sloped rock to get in and out, and yes you can swim in it. There isn't a loo/shower block, so what, there are views, walks, fishing, golf, water, Elsan disposal, service wash, herbs planted at each pitch, and best of all where else can you get a 5 star meal delivered to your caravan door. I was in heaven, Tony is great, he is always on site or at the end of his phone, he will do his utmost to make sure your stay is a good one, the only thing he doesn't do is the washing up. And he'd probably do that if you asked him

Only thing I would comment on is Harris is basically a big jagged rock and therefore probably not suitable for toddlers.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Claitair 3 reviews from this member

What a truly superb place to spend a few days. Or even weeks!

This is tranquillity encapsulated in a tiny corner of the Harris hills. The views almost defy description. The awesome Atlantic lying within reach lapping around the rocks where seals lounge around in the sunshine or splash in the shallow waters of the bay. The backdrop of the Harris crags behind the site offer a launching pad for golden and sea eagles. Magnificent. And on one of the small lochans on the site. A family of otters! unbelievable. I spent three days there with my dog and never left the site. I wish I could have spent longer there. We had forty acres to wander around without ever seeing a soul. Hearing only the breeze and the cry of a buzzard or curlew.

The campsite owners are always available and always unobtrusive. I was able to get eggs and bacon. And home made bread from my hosts and even have complete meals brought to my motor home if I had wanted!

There were another couple of campers on site but I barely noticed they were there.

A bonus was that this is not a site for children. Yes, there is a lot of space for youngsters to run around in. But there is nothing for them to do. Young teenagers may enjoy birdwatching or fishing. Or wandering down to the rock pools to seal watch. But young children would not get much enjoyment from this site. It is however the most perfect adult escape I have found in a long time. The peace and silence is priceless.

Take a trip to Flodabay. And stay for a long time.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Babs115 1 review from this member

We arrived on a fairly windy and wild Harris in April 2014, with our three kids (5, 2 and 3 months) and Mabel the bulldog. We hadn't been before and the island was just as spectacular as we'd been told it was, beautiful scenery, gorgeous beaches, and on the Flodabay side of the island, the lunar landscapes, which are so unusual but really lovely. The weather was not at its best, and we hope to return in future to see Harris at its best.

Flodabay farm is in a lovely situation, and the owners are very helpful. As others have mentioned, the road up to the 3 sites is very steep and not for the faint hearted, and the sites themselves are set amongst the rocky landscapes at height, which unfortunately we did not feel was all that safe for the kids to be playing on, there is quite a risk of falling if you have little ones like ours with very little common sense or fear! The wind got up that night and you certainly do feel it up there, it is quite exposed. However in summer I think it would be beautiful, and if we ever get away without the kids we would return! We had hoped to stay three nights but headed off after the first one. Turning at the sites is also not easy and needs a bit of skill, our MH is quite long though.

There are not toilets or showers at the moment which again is not ideal if you have kids.

There are picnic tables at the front of the pitch which I am sure would provide a spectacular location for a bottle of wine, or two.

The owner recommended the Skoon cafe nearby which was really great too.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chick Mailey 1 review from this member

We had an amazing time here. The owner could not have been more friendly and welcoming, we tried all of his homemade food he had on offer and ended up staying for 3 night's. We were greeted by a golden eagle one night as we returned from our travels around the island, and I fished the Loch's just above the camp site, and was rewarded with 2 brownies over the 3Lb mark and caught around 25 fish in all, all on the Fly, I returned all of them safely to the water. We will definitely visit here again when we return to the Isle's. I would highly recommend a visit here, it was stunning !

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sun dance1997 1 review from this member

We were booked into the campsite just for the one night but the view was absolutely fantastic and the owner was so friendly and had really thought of everything to make people want to stay longer. The pitches were up a steep hill overlooking a beautiful bay towards Skye. He had made a driving range with three greens up in the hill where we could hit as many balls as we liked. He leant us a rod to go fishing in his two private lochs at the back of the pitches. The owner told us to watch out for the golden eagle which flew back and forward over the site - it was an amazing bird of prey to watch. We had water and waste disposal but there was no toilets on site yet but they are planned for December. We were able to use our own toilet in the motorhome and used our shower for the first time so it wasn't a problem. We ended up staying another night because it was so good and unique. The owner offers seafood amongst other food to be delivered to your door when you wish. We had the most fantastic seafood which included scallops, smoked hot salmon, dressed crab, prawns and also his own black pudding - it was delicious!

We would highly recommend this site and will definitely go back.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hilli 5 reviews from this member

We had booked 7 nights at Flodabay in our caravan and were so glad we did. The road leading up to Flodabay was a bit narrow, but spectacular scenery. The owner was at the gate to meet us on a sunny Saturday. We had booked pitch 1 over looking the bay, but a storm was coming in so the owner suggested pitching in his drive, which was a very good idea as the winds were very strong.

The owner was so friendly and couldn't do enough for us, a perfect host. We got some of his homemade sausages which were delicious and his eggs from the shore line chickens were out of this world.

Flodabay is an ideal base for touring Harris and going into Lewis. The pitches are up a steep hill, they are very spacious and the views are breathtaking. There are quite a few picnic benches to sit and enjoy the view, we even saw 2 sea otters. There aren't any showers or toilets as yet, but that didn't bother us having our own facilities.

There are 2 private lochs that you can fish in the owner also supplies the rods, loads of land to roam which our dog loved.

One night the owner arrived with the most delicious mashed potatoes, scallops and prawns.

All in all we had a fantastic holiday even though weather wasn't that kind. Definitely recommend Flodabay

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Suestaines 1 review from this member

Just returned from touring the Outer Hebrides in a campervan with my disabled grandson. Stayed here for two nights and the owner could not have been more helpful towards us both. I was met at the gate even though I was four hours late as the ferry from N. Uist was cancelled? The site was up a steep gravel roadway which I managed in first gear after the owner had driven me up the day before. My site and the views on this unusual but breathtaking landscape took my breath away as we'll as the hairy journey around the narrow roads. I wouldn't have missed this for the world. Water and electric hookup together with disposal was all we needed but there are plans for showers and toilets.

My second night I was treated to the most mouthwatering meal delivered hot to me. All I needed to do was eat it. What a treat.

I was treated to a sample oh their home made honey and freshly cooked bread and oat cakes.

I hadn't realised it but there was also a service wash available.

From our Luna landscape base we could see the lochs and even the seals and although I didn't. 't use them there was our own picnic table. Very few places to stay on this island but I am delighted that I braved the 'C' road to this unique setting.

The owner did everything within his power to make my stay a great one. Many thanks.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Doris57 5 reviews from this member

Surrounded by lunar landscape in a truly peaceful spot overlooking the bay. If you want total peace, tranquillity and wildlife this is the place. Coming south Floddabay B&B is on your left and opposite is a newly fenced entrance. If you not greeted upon arrival by Tony then pull off road and knock on B&B. Do not be put off by very steep drive, looks worse than it is and is worth the view. We got our 7mtr MH up fine. Only five pitches, with two prime ones at the front with an unobstructed view to sea. Level pitches(but front two very exposed in windy weather). Bay very good for seals and resident otter. Miles of open space behind and two lakes with marked out walks out and about. Only here two nights so did not try out the golf. EH, Grey waste and fresh water. No loo but had that all on board so not bothered. Picnic benches provided to each pitch. Tony could not be more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Can order cooked meals delivered to your unit if ordered the night before. (Tony was a chef in previous times and his food is recommended). Only thing I would say is, it was the most expensive stop of the whole Hebrides trip, 20 a night & 5 extra for a front pitch with a view. Suited more to couples.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3988 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019