Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 131 Reviews
                10/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Scooby6 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from touring the scottish isles for 4 weeks in our campervan. We rang Tony up on the off chance of staying at Flodabay. Luckily for us he had room, we stayed for 2 nights and Tony could not have been more helpful and friendly and made us very welcome. All though the weather could have been better it really is a wonderful place to stay. We had a pitch that overlooked the sea and small harbour and the view was spectacular. Tony has 2 lochs which you can fish on with rods supplied free of charge, as previous reviewers have mentioned you can order a fantastic sea food platter cooked and delivered to your door by Tony which includes homemade bread and oatcakes, a must when you stay here! All though there are no shower or toilet facilities this did not bother us as we were self suffient and Tony is trying to sort this out. All in all while we were away we stayed in many camps and Flodabay was one of the best if not the best we used. We hope to return to the magnificent isles again next year and will definitely return to Flodabay. If on Harris do not miss this site it is a gem ! and on leaving Tony gave us a jar of homemade marmalade with whiskey and homemade honey, delicious. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: H Belles 3 reviews from this member

 Another memorable stay at this wonderful small motor home and caravan site.

I would echo previous reviews (eg Bev and Nige) which describe the breathtaking views and peacefulness of this location. The food, hosts and surrounding area.

This is a venue not to be missed and is hard to beat. The scenery is stunning and the tranquillity all around something you will not forget.

The onwer is an amazing host, he could not be more welcoming, friendly and helpful. From the moment you arrive until he waves you on your way, you are made to feel like a family friend. Nothing is too much trouble and the home cooked and locally sourced food a wonderful addition to this fabulous 'find'.

His Seafood platter is a unique experience, everything locally sourced with a taste experience you will not forget. The home baking available and award winning Oatcakes are a must, and pack plenty Oatcakes to take home!

You will not find many places as special as this on your travels and I would rank this as the best, without doubt, on the Islands (I have visited on numerous occasions and stayed on many sites).

I will return soon :) 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kaiserdog24 1 review from this member

 We visited Flodabay farm whilst on our honeymoon touring Scotland and the Hebs were on our route. Particularly we were thrilled to find Flodabay for a nights stay on Isle of Harris as the location was so peaceful and the most stunning views. After parking up we cycled around the surrounding road / coastline and watched seals playing in the bay which was a lovely experience and otters nest on the lochs of Flodabay. We were able to walk outer dog in peaceful surroundings and he absolutely loved exploring the area!

This motor home stay is very well maintained with hard standing making it suitable in all weathers, water is easily accessible as multiple points as is sewerage, dry waste collection and electric point. A well maintained and cared for location, the owner we met was a delightful chap, who was so kind to us we were only sad to have missed his fresh seafood evening picnic if only we didn't have a ferry to catch back to the mainland we would have stayed longer.

Thank you so much for our most memorable stops on our honeymoon - Flodabay farm (fresh produce available, the eggs, bread, honey and marmalade were delicious).

We will be sure to recommend to any friends or family that visit IOH that they stay with you.

All the best for your future plans with the farm, although it's currently great in the most idyllic location.

Luke, Sarah and Kaiser the dog 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bev and Nige 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from 2 weeks travelling around the Highlands and Islands of Scotland and had the most magnificent holiday.

We decided to give Flodabay Farm site a try when it was recommended to us by others who had stayed there the week before we were visiting Harris.

What a find! This place is magnificent. We ended up staying for 2 nights, although we wished we could have stayed longer!

It has the most impressive 360 degree scenery of sea, hills and moorland and is so tranquil and relaxing. Who needs the Greek Isles when you have this in Britain!

The owner is the perfect host. Nothing is too much trouble for him and he has spent a lot of time and effort (and money) developing a site that has the 'Wow' factor and is a real talking point, especially with its own driving range!

There are 2 lochs to fish or swim in or even go in the Kayak that is there for you if you want.

Binoculars are a must as there are lots of birds including Golden Eagles and Sea Eagles in the area and there's also an Otter Run further up from the site.

If you go then you really must try one of the owner's freshly cooked fish buffets. He cooks what he catches and brings it to your unit. We had a delicious meal that we will never forget!

We had; Dressed Crab, Hot Smoked Salmon on a bed of Rocket and Scallops and Prawns in a 'Special Sauce' served with Homemade Olive Bread and Oakcakes to follow - all delicious!

We have not stopped talking about this place since we left and can not wait to go back.

Only visit with a Caravan though if you have a 4x4 vehicle as it is quite a steep, gravel slope to get up to the site. The site has no toilets or shower block, hence I've only given 8/10 but does have electric hook up and water point and has a toilet disposal point.

Its well worth a visit, especially if you want to get away from it all! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ann and Paul 1 review from this member

 An excellent site with so much to do.

The setting was superb overlooking the bay and the walk to the headland was stunning.

The site itself was unique, offering pursuits along with the chance to watch the wild life at the two lochs, both of which were awesome.

We were made to feel very welcome with an informative explanation of the area being given.

The oat cakes, honey and marmalade were well enjoyed. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Meadowsmaureen 3 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful peaceful location. Don't miss this site, it's in a perfect, tranquil spot, with beautiful views in all directions. As has already been said, there are a couple of things to note (1) no toilet/shower block so you need to be self sufficient and (2) there is quite a steep slope up to your pitch, but it's perfectly do-able in a motorhome in first gear! The owner is a lovely friendly host, lent us fishing rods and kayaks for the beautiful lochs, we played golf on the driving range, saw eagles, took wonderful walks. We stayed for 3 nights and did not want to leave, we would definitely return and stay for longer, the Isle of Harris is stunning and ideal for 'getting away from it all'. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mossie 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at floda bay for 8 nights and wished we'd booked for longer, the road from Tarbert is narrow and winding but with plenty of passing places we had no problem with our large caravan, on arrival we were met with a friendly wave and were greeted by the owner who escorted us up to our pitch. The site road is short and steep and a 44 is recommended, once at the top the views are magnificent, like sitting on top of the world. The site is basic, no toilets or showers which again was no problem, water and electric is at hand and each pitch has its own picnic table. After we had set up the owner arrived with fresh strawberries and homemade oatcakes, delicious, his hospitality added to the enjoyment of our stay. Shops are not in abundance but the owner's takeaways are excellent, among other things we had his seafood buffet this was out of this world and is highly recommended. The weather was kind to us and we found plenty to do, walking round the croft admiring the scenery, watching for wildlife and fishing were high on our list. A big thankyou to the owner &Co for making our stay tremendous, we will definitely return, hopefully next year. Mary &Bob xx 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Aiddeb 7 reviews from this member

 Just stayed for 3 nights, after a very warm welcome from the owner he directed us to the pitch up the steep track, our van is 7. 5 metres long and is quite wide but we had no problems. The owner came back with some freshly picked strawberries which were succulent and sweet and best we've ever had. He also brought us some freshly caught Mackerel.

The wildlife is amazing, we saw the 2 Sea Eagles fly past our window and the Golden Eagle was a regular visitor. Unfortunately did not see the Otters.

This site is in the back of beyond, but if you want peace and quiet this is the place to be, we will return. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ellrob 3 reviews from this member

 My wife and I stayed at Flodabay for 2 nights. We were a bit hesitant about it as there is no toilet block or showers, which we have never done before. We were met at the gate by the owner and we agreed that it would not be possible for my car to tow the caravan up the slope. However one of the other residents volunteered to tow the caravan up. The change over was a complete disaster, which if you were to ask the owner, I'm sure he would relate the story to you. However we were rescued by the guy who was going to tow the van, the owner, his sons and a passer by. My eternal thanks go to all involved. Once on site we realised that all the effort to get there was well worth it. The views are absolutely stunning, the site we had was pretty private. The owner could not have been more helpful and our only sorrow was that we could not stay longer. However I would reiterate what is on the site's website, that a 4x4 is very much needed to get to the site. I certainly would return. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bluestone Wanderer 3 reviews from this member

 From the owner's warm welcome to his farewell we had an excellent stay at Flodabay. The view from the site is one of the best we have ever had out of our caravan window. The pitches are level and have their own picnic tables. Yes, the track up from the gate is a climb as others have said but please do not let this put anyone off. The owner lent my husband a fishing rod to use on his lochs and the work that has been done in creating walks was much appreciated. Being adults only added to the experience. Harris is a very different place with it's wonderful beaches and stark contrast of hills and we loved it. If you get a chance walk the old coffin route from the East to the West to appreciate the differences and on your return there's a welcome cup of tea and cake in the Bays Community Centre. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Flodabay Farm child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Flodabay Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Flodabay Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5838 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement