Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 118 Reviews
                10/10 from 118 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bev and Nige 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 2 weeks travelling around the Highlands and Islands of Scotland and had the most magnificent holiday.

We decided to give Flodabay Farm site a try when it was recommended to us by others who had stayed there the week before we were visiting Harris.

What a find! This place is magnificent. We ended up staying for 2 nights, although we wished we could have stayed longer!

It has the most impressive 360 degree scenery of sea, hills and moorland and is so tranquil and relaxing. Who needs the Greek Isles when you have this in Britain!

The owner is the perfect host. Nothing is too much trouble for him and he has spent a lot of time and effort (and money) developing a site that has the 'Wow' factor and is a real talking point, especially with its own driving range!

There are 2 lochs to fish or swim in or even go in the Kayak that is there for you if you want.

Binoculars are a must as there are lots of birds including Golden Eagles and Sea Eagles in the area and there's also an Otter Run further up from the site.

If you go then you really must try one of the owner's freshly cooked fish buffets. He cooks what he catches and brings it to your unit. We had a delicious meal that we will never forget!

We had; Dressed Crab, Hot Smoked Salmon on a bed of Rocket and Scallops and Prawns in a 'Special Sauce' served with Homemade Olive Bread and Oakcakes to follow - all delicious!

We have not stopped talking about this place since we left and can not wait to go back.

Only visit with a Caravan though if you have a 4x4 vehicle as it is quite a steep, gravel slope to get up to the site. The site has no toilets or shower block, hence I've only given 8/10 but does have electric hook up and water point and has a toilet disposal point.

Its well worth a visit, especially if you want to get away from it all!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ann and Paul 1 review from this member

An excellent site with so much to do.

The setting was superb overlooking the bay and the walk to the headland was stunning.

The site itself was unique, offering pursuits along with the chance to watch the wild life at the two lochs, both of which were awesome.

We were made to feel very welcome with an informative explanation of the area being given.

The oat cakes, honey and marmalade were well enjoyed.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Meadowsmaureen 3 reviews from this member

What a wonderful peaceful location. Don't miss this site, it's in a perfect, tranquil spot, with beautiful views in all directions. As has already been said, there are a couple of things to note (1) no toilet/shower block so you need to be self sufficient and (2) there is quite a steep slope up to your pitch, but it's perfectly do-able in a motorhome in first gear! The owner is a lovely friendly host, lent us fishing rods and kayaks for the beautiful lochs, we played golf on the driving range, saw eagles, took wonderful walks. We stayed for 3 nights and did not want to leave, we would definitely return and stay for longer, the Isle of Harris is stunning and ideal for 'getting away from it all'.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mossie 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at floda bay for 8 nights and wished we'd booked for longer, the road from Tarbert is narrow and winding but with plenty of passing places we had no problem with our large caravan, on arrival we were met with a friendly wave and were greeted by the owner who escorted us up to our pitch. The site road is short and steep and a 44 is recommended, once at the top the views are magnificent, like sitting on top of the world. The site is basic, no toilets or showers which again was no problem, water and electric is at hand and each pitch has its own picnic table. After we had set up the owner arrived with fresh strawberries and homemade oatcakes, delicious, his hospitality added to the enjoyment of our stay. Shops are not in abundance but the owner's takeaways are excellent, among other things we had his seafood buffet this was out of this world and is highly recommended. The weather was kind to us and we found plenty to do, walking round the croft admiring the scenery, watching for wildlife and fishing were high on our list. A big thankyou to the owner &Co for making our stay tremendous, we will definitely return, hopefully next year. Mary &Bob xx

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Aiddeb 7 reviews from this member

Just stayed for 3 nights, after a very warm welcome from the owner he directed us to the pitch up the steep track, our van is 7. 5 metres long and is quite wide but we had no problems. The owner came back with some freshly picked strawberries which were succulent and sweet and best we've ever had. He also brought us some freshly caught Mackerel.

The wildlife is amazing, we saw the 2 Sea Eagles fly past our window and the Golden Eagle was a regular visitor. Unfortunately did not see the Otters.

This site is in the back of beyond, but if you want peace and quiet this is the place to be, we will return.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ellrob 3 reviews from this member

My wife and I stayed at Flodabay for 2 nights. We were a bit hesitant about it as there is no toilet block or showers, which we have never done before. We were met at the gate by the owner and we agreed that it would not be possible for my car to tow the caravan up the slope. However one of the other residents volunteered to tow the caravan up. The change over was a complete disaster, which if you were to ask the owner, I'm sure he would relate the story to you. However we were rescued by the guy who was going to tow the van, the owner, his sons and a passer by. My eternal thanks go to all involved. Once on site we realised that all the effort to get there was well worth it. The views are absolutely stunning, the site we had was pretty private. The owner could not have been more helpful and our only sorrow was that we could not stay longer. However I would reiterate what is on the site's website, that a 4x4 is very much needed to get to the site. I certainly would return.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bluestone Wanderer 3 reviews from this member

From the owner's warm welcome to his farewell we had an excellent stay at Flodabay. The view from the site is one of the best we have ever had out of our caravan window. The pitches are level and have their own picnic tables. Yes, the track up from the gate is a climb as others have said but please do not let this put anyone off. The owner lent my husband a fishing rod to use on his lochs and the work that has been done in creating walks was much appreciated. Being adults only added to the experience. Harris is a very different place with it's wonderful beaches and stark contrast of hills and we loved it. If you get a chance walk the old coffin route from the East to the West to appreciate the differences and on your return there's a welcome cup of tea and cake in the Bays Community Centre.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lakes 1 review from this member

Great location and really friendly welcome. The facilities are basic water, hook up and dump point so you need to be self sufficient. The views are amazing especially if you get clear blue skies and sunshine. Great walks along the coast. Marked pathways around site with picnic areas. Saw lots of wildlife including seals and a hen harrier did not manage to see the otter even though other people did whilst we were on the site. Tried fly fishing on the 2 lochs but to windy for fish but great for no midgies. We had the sea food platter delivered to our van one night which was delicious. A unique location.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eetuck 3 reviews from this member

It's mostly been all been said by other reviewer's! This place is a must visit if you are looking for a relaxing few days.

The drive to the site from Tarbert is through a desolate grey moonscape, but don't let this put you off. Once you have negotiated the rather daunting single track road to the site you will understand why this place is so special. We were greeted by the extremely helpful and cheerful host, who directed us to our pitch at the very top of the site where we had outstanding 360 degree views of sea and mountains. There is as yet no amenity block, but the owner's plans for this are impressive, we had electric hook up and water nearby and as our van is fairly self sufficient the lack of a shower block was not a problem to us.

My husband took advantage of the fishing on the two nearby lochs, stocked with brown trout, but the highlight of his holiday was watching the resident dog otter saunter past him as he prepared to play a few holes on the owner's practice golf course, it was one of those breathtaking wow moments that left him regretting he was wielding a golf club and not his camera.

The site is dog friendly and is more suited to adults rather than families with young children. A tranquil, peaceful place that allows you to relax and do as little or as much as you want.

I would definitely recommend a visit and would be happy to return.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Arry van-pulla 1 review from this member

We booked the site by e-mail prior to visit and received very good communication back. We stayed for seven nights and immediately was made welcome by Tony, the owner. He guided our outfit (4X4 and long caravan) up a very steep gravel drive, which was no problem to our outfit and placed us on a pitch which was ideal for van and awning. Ideally located for visiting South Harris and found plenty of places to visit over the week. Good walks from the site with exceptional views in all directions. Very good site for watching wildlife, with regular views of Golden Eagle and seals but sadly did not spot otters in the Lakes - probably because of 2 springer spaniels! No problem is too big for the owner, he will do a service wash, provide evening sea food platter, gives informed advice on the area and will loan fishing equipment. We will be more than happy to return to this site in the future.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3967 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019