Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Flodabay Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Site Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 114 Reviews
                10/10 from 114 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Aiddeb 7 reviews from this member

Just stayed for 3 nights, after a very warm welcome from the owner he directed us to the pitch up the steep track, our van is 7. 5 metres long and is quite wide but we had no problems. The owner came back with some freshly picked strawberries which were succulent and sweet and best we've ever had. He also brought us some freshly caught Mackerel.

The wildlife is amazing, we saw the 2 Sea Eagles fly past our window and the Golden Eagle was a regular visitor. Unfortunately did not see the Otters.

This site is in the back of beyond, but if you want peace and quiet this is the place to be, we will return.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ellrob 3 reviews from this member

My wife and I stayed at Flodabay for 2 nights. We were a bit hesitant about it as there is no toilet block or showers, which we have never done before. We were met at the gate by the owner and we agreed that it would not be possible for my car to tow the caravan up the slope. However one of the other residents volunteered to tow the caravan up. The change over was a complete disaster, which if you were to ask the owner, I'm sure he would relate the story to you. However we were rescued by the guy who was going to tow the van, the owner, his sons and a passer by. My eternal thanks go to all involved. Once on site we realised that all the effort to get there was well worth it. The views are absolutely stunning, the site we had was pretty private. The owner could not have been more helpful and our only sorrow was that we could not stay longer. However I would reiterate what is on the site's website, that a 4x4 is very much needed to get to the site. I certainly would return.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bluestone Wanderer 3 reviews from this member

From the owner's warm welcome to his farewell we had an excellent stay at Flodabay. The view from the site is one of the best we have ever had out of our caravan window. The pitches are level and have their own picnic tables. Yes, the track up from the gate is a climb as others have said but please do not let this put anyone off. The owner lent my husband a fishing rod to use on his lochs and the work that has been done in creating walks was much appreciated. Being adults only added to the experience. Harris is a very different place with it's wonderful beaches and stark contrast of hills and we loved it. If you get a chance walk the old coffin route from the East to the West to appreciate the differences and on your return there's a welcome cup of tea and cake in the Bays Community Centre.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lakes 1 review from this member

Great location and really friendly welcome. The facilities are basic water, hook up and dump point so you need to be self sufficient. The views are amazing especially if you get clear blue skies and sunshine. Great walks along the coast. Marked pathways around site with picnic areas. Saw lots of wildlife including seals and a hen harrier did not manage to see the otter even though other people did whilst we were on the site. Tried fly fishing on the 2 lochs but to windy for fish but great for no midgies. We had the sea food platter delivered to our van one night which was delicious. A unique location.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eetuck 3 reviews from this member

It's mostly been all been said by other reviewer's! This place is a must visit if you are looking for a relaxing few days.

The drive to the site from Tarbert is through a desolate grey moonscape, but don't let this put you off. Once you have negotiated the rather daunting single track road to the site you will understand why this place is so special. We were greeted by the extremely helpful and cheerful host, who directed us to our pitch at the very top of the site where we had outstanding 360 degree views of sea and mountains. There is as yet no amenity block, but the owner's plans for this are impressive, we had electric hook up and water nearby and as our van is fairly self sufficient the lack of a shower block was not a problem to us.

My husband took advantage of the fishing on the two nearby lochs, stocked with brown trout, but the highlight of his holiday was watching the resident dog otter saunter past him as he prepared to play a few holes on the owner's practice golf course, it was one of those breathtaking wow moments that left him regretting he was wielding a golf club and not his camera.

The site is dog friendly and is more suited to adults rather than families with young children. A tranquil, peaceful place that allows you to relax and do as little or as much as you want.

I would definitely recommend a visit and would be happy to return.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Arry van-pulla 1 review from this member

We booked the site by e-mail prior to visit and received very good communication back. We stayed for seven nights and immediately was made welcome by Tony, the owner. He guided our outfit (4X4 and long caravan) up a very steep gravel drive, which was no problem to our outfit and placed us on a pitch which was ideal for van and awning. Ideally located for visiting South Harris and found plenty of places to visit over the week. Good walks from the site with exceptional views in all directions. Very good site for watching wildlife, with regular views of Golden Eagle and seals but sadly did not spot otters in the Lakes - probably because of 2 springer spaniels! No problem is too big for the owner, he will do a service wash, provide evening sea food platter, gives informed advice on the area and will loan fishing equipment. We will be more than happy to return to this site in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Derek and Kate 5 reviews from this member

A fantastic site, great hosts. Each of the 5 pitches had 10 amp elect and water supplies, a picnic table and Tony the host had planted herbs at the side of each pitch. Beautiful views from all pitches across the bay towards the isle of Skye and the mountains surrounding you. Chances to see seals, otters and eagles. Use of fishing in two private lochs for brown trout and practice pitch and golf facilities available on site. Picnic tables provided near lochs to enable greater enjoyment of the scenery. Tony will cook and provide delivered to your pitch a gorgeous sumptuous sea food platter at a very reasonable price. He can also supply eggs and farm produce. CWD placed centrally between the 5 secluded sites. We stayed 5 nights and travelled around the islands (Harris & Lewis) and needed all this time to visit all areas of the islands to enjoy the varied scenery.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janet and Jeff 3 reviews from this member

We were told about this site by a friend who had enjoyed it and thought we would give it a try.

The approach road along the coast is narrow but has a good surface and the driveway up to the pitch is steep, but the owner assists on arrival and is very helpful.

The scenery is very unusual and is termed as 'moonscape' in some leaflets and has footpath access to lochs and the small coastal harbour. The Isle of Skye is clear to see on good days and the mountains of Skye were tipped with snow in this distant view when we were there.

An absolutely delightful panorama is seen from this elevated pitch of the Harris coastline.

The owner is very welcoming and we were provided with a wonderful sea food meal with home made oat cakes and bread, that he cooks, if ordered the day before, and delivers directly to your pitch. What a lovely meal and we felt it was very good value.

There are no showers or toilet facilities, but electricity, toilet emptying point and fresh water are on the site.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waterman 23 reviews from this member

My perfect holiday on Harris would be a week here and a couple of days at Horgabost.

Flodabay Farm is on the East coast half way along the Golden Road, don't be put off because it is a twisty single track road, when you are towing people are extremely considerate and move over for you. The views are stunning, a Golden Eagle perched on a telegraph pole about 150 mtrs away after being mobbed by hooded crows. There is an otter run to one of the two lochs, forgot to mention there are two lochs, the otter one is a dog free area, the other one is glorious with a nicely sloped rock to get in and out, and yes you can swim in it. There isn't a loo/shower block, so what, there are views, walks, fishing, golf, water, Elsan disposal, service wash, herbs planted at each pitch, and best of all where else can you get a 5 star meal delivered to your caravan door. I was in heaven, Tony is great, he is always on site or at the end of his phone, he will do his utmost to make sure your stay is a good one, the only thing he doesn't do is the washing up. And he'd probably do that if you asked him

Only thing I would comment on is Harris is basically a big jagged rock and therefore probably not suitable for toddlers.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Claitair 3 reviews from this member

What a truly superb place to spend a few days. Or even weeks!

This is tranquillity encapsulated in a tiny corner of the Harris hills. The views almost defy description. The awesome Atlantic lying within reach lapping around the rocks where seals lounge around in the sunshine or splash in the shallow waters of the bay. The backdrop of the Harris crags behind the site offer a launching pad for golden and sea eagles. Magnificent. And on one of the small lochans on the site. A family of otters! unbelievable. I spent three days there with my dog and never left the site. I wish I could have spent longer there. We had forty acres to wander around without ever seeing a soul. Hearing only the breeze and the cry of a buzzard or curlew.

The campsite owners are always available and always unobtrusive. I was able to get eggs and bacon. And home made bread from my hosts and even have complete meals brought to my motor home if I had wanted!

There were another couple of campers on site but I barely noticed they were there.

A bonus was that this is not a site for children. Yes, there is a lot of space for youngsters to run around in. But there is nothing for them to do. Young teenagers may enjoy birdwatching or fishing. Or wandering down to the rock pools to seal watch. But young children would not get much enjoyment from this site. It is however the most perfect adult escape I have found in a long time. The peace and silence is priceless.

Take a trip to Flodabay. And stay for a long time.

Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Hebrides   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3020 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1016