Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Flodabay Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Harris > Flodabay Farm Reviews

Flodabay Farm
4 Flodabay
Isle Of Harris
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS3 3HA
Tel: 01859 530353  or  07767 751847
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 3
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 131 Reviews
                10/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: J Mann 2 reviews from this member

 We spent a wonderful week at this amazing site. The complete opposite of other more crowded, busy, and, often ugly, camp sites. We enjoyed stunning views over the Bonnie Bay and easy access to the beautiful wildness of Harris, on our doorstep. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful and are working hard to create something that is the antidote to those regimented campsites. We took advantage of the fish platter on our third night and rated it 10 out of 10. What a treat after a blustery, cold, wet day to have a first class meal served by our host. Best sea food I have tasted. Don't miss this chance to spoil yourselves. We also bought Flodabay eggs, which was another bonus.

The area is a geologist's paradise, and obviously a great draw for nature lovers. There are limited facilities but this was not a problem for us. The environment more than made up for any shortfall.

This is a site for people who want to enjoy peace and quiet and privacy. We were in a motor home and hired a car to explore some of the more inaccessible parts of Harris. Much easier. Tarbert and Leverburgh are within easy access for basic supplies but there are less shops on Harris than on Uist and Lewis, so do stock up. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: John and Julie 2 reviews from this member

 We saw the excellent reviews of this site and booked our first two nights on the island based upon these reviews and we were not disappointed. The views from our pitch across the sea and over the local hills were superb, no need to watch TV with all the options available for walks and views, whilst the weather was not very kind on our second day (rain and wind) this did not spoil our stay. We would strongly recommend the seafood platter made and delivered by Tony, it was excellent. Tony was an excellent and knowledgeable host and could not do enough to make our stay memorable and we wish him well for the future and hope we can visit again on our next visit to the island. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jedblue 1 review from this member

 We have just returned home after a 3 week trip to the Hebredies and the Highlands and the undoubted highlight of our trip was our stay at Flodabay. From the reception from Tony and the spectacular views both front and rear this was truly a memorable experience. Short walks took us to the small pier where we watched the seals and a short walk in the other took us to the beautiful lakes. There are otters but we didn't! Manage to see any.

This is not a site suitable for children and caravan nears will definitely need a 4 x 4 to negotiate the steep track to the pitches. Our motorhome owners had no problems.

While there are no toilet or showering facilities we were quite happy to use our own. Electric hook ups and chemical toilet disposal are provided and wifi is on its way.

Tony even came to see us off and to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We did, ! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: S1lverfox 2 reviews from this member

 Anyone looking to stay on Harris should have a look at this site. We stayed here in May in our motorhome.

It is a steep climb up to the pitches, however once there the views are terrific. There is no toilet block yet.

With otters in the bay, and in the lochan, and golden eagles soaring overhead, this is a great site for nature lovers.

If you decide to stay here, then take the opportunity to have the evening meal, well worth it. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pottyhouse 1 review from this member

 Probably one of the best sites we have ever visited! We like rural, get away from it all sites but won't compromise on cleanliness and friendliness and absolutely hate mud!

Tucked away on the eastern side of Harris, the site is owned by Tony and his wife who also run a B&B located across the road from the site entrance. The only indication that the site exists is the sign on the gate. A short incline (easily done by our 7. 5m motorhome) brings you to 5 privately spaced hard standings, each with EHU, own picnic benches and stunning views, sea in one direction and open countryside in all others.

The site has 2 private lochs the short walks to which are marked with waymarkers. Kayaks are freely available and, despite being no fisherman, can imagine this is an idyllic spot.

What makes this site truly unique is Tony's cooking! Prearrange a time and Tony will drive up the hillside with hot, freshly prepared local food. We had scallops, dressed crab, honey smoked salmon and oatcakes-delicious!

Tony had good local knowledge, ensuring you will get the most out of your visit to Harris.

We have given full marks for facilities because the site provided what we like, no playground, toilet block on-site club, just unspoiled countryside and a warm welcome

A site we will definitely be revisiting. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smtc 1 review from this member

 Spent a lovely week here in October. Quiet location and fantastic scenery with views to Skye and Scottish mainland. Welcome from Tony was great and our caravan successfully reached the top pitch! The seafood meal prepared and delivered to the door was superb - tasty, plentiful and fresh! We could not have asked for anything more. Very honest approach and spontaneous refund of our overpayment! A lovely spot and we will be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Auchencrow 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed for two nights at Flodabay with our two cocker spaniels during a magnificent trip to the Western Isles. First of all, our dogs loved the site with 70 acres of moorland and two lochs to explore they could not have been happier.

The fishing on the two trout lochs is a real pleasure, as is the target golf - high entertainment in a strong south westerly!

As other people have said, Tony is a great host and by only having three or four guests at a time can offer a very friendly and first class service.

Toilets and showers would be a great addition at some point in the future.

Best of all are the views, certainly no need for a TV when you stay here. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Flodabay 1 review from this member

 A total gem in Southern Harris. Beautiful location with excellent pitches, water, chemical waste disposal and electricity. Good TV reception although we were not interested with such a wonderful natural habitat to hand. Wireless being established shortly. Superb fishing on the doorstep both sea and loch. I caught a delicious 2lb trout! Over and above our hosts Tony and Sharon prepared and delivered to our door the most scrumptious seafood meal of scallops, prawns, crab and salmon. Wasn't sure about submitting this review as don't want too many people to discover this gem as we might not get availability next time we visit? However our hosts were delightful and we wish them every success. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Katebrook 1 review from this member

 We stayed for a night at Flodabay earlier in the month, it is an amazing site with the most stunning views. Tony could not have been more helpful, supplying us with fresh eggs and home made oak cakes.

The site has basic facilities for toilet emptying, good long hose for water and well placed electric points.

The surrounding land is great for dog walking, well fenced with no sheep and two locks for doggie swimming.

Overall this unique site has the feel of a wild site with the luxury of electric, water and waste facilities.

We will definitely be back for a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cookiemim 1 review from this member

 This was our first stop on Harris, it was a very lovely start to our holiday. The owner was very helpful and showed us to our pitch, it was up a rather steep track but not a problem, there was electric hook up and water but no shower or toilet, but again, this was not a problem as we had our own and there was a facility for emptying toilets. The site has wonderful views and there are nice walks around the site.

The owner cooks a sea food buffet which can be ordered from him if you are staying for a couple of nights we can recommend eating the buffet it was delicious. If we visit Harris again we will definitely be heading there first. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Flodabay Farm child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Flodabay Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Flodabay Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Harris      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4736 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement