Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highlands End Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Highlands End Holiday Park > Reviews

Highlands End Holiday Park
Eype
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6AR
Tel: 01308 426912
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 132 Reviews
                9/10 from 132 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jojojet 1 review from this member

 Just visited highlands end after recommendation. It was our 1st first time touring again after a 30 year break, can't understand why we left it so long! - what a laugh we had

Fantastic park, lovely views, great walks with the dogs, saw sheep giving birth to the lambs.

Friendly staff, grass area's kept very neat and tidy, no litter around nice shop, great bar with very good food, would recommend. Shower block clean and tidy, though the showers need to run longer before you have to press the button again, Play area very good, swimming pool expensive £7.10 for 2 adults and a child, and the water was very cold - also I didn't like the fact that one member of the leisure staff was cleaning the mats out of the changing pool side with very strong smelling chemicals (I know they need to be cleaned but you could do it when no one is around)

Very handy for morrisons and the wine factory,

Eype beach nice to walk along,

Would not recommend the New Inn Eype

Would definitely go again

(in 5 nights we only experienced the wind for half of a night) 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jane Preston 1 review from this member

 Very helpful on arrival. Good level clean and tidy pitch. We had electric hook up.

Great facilities and a friendly family atmosphere. Being right on the cliff top there was nearly daily drama with coast guard helicopter rescue to be seen. Lots of paragliders too.

If you pitch here you need plenty of decent pegs. The wind is indescribable and many tents were abandoned in pieces and their owners went home without them! Having said that the views are astounding the beach although shale is fantastic and the water warm and clear. You are left to your own devices for your stay and ample supplies are available at the local shop.

We will be returning! Oh. There are lots of rabbits. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Artoisdobes 9 reviews from this member

 Just got back from Highlands End - what a lovely site! We used the pool and gym and they were both great. Yes there is an extra charge but it is well worth the money.

The views are beautiful but take some BIG wooden blocks as some of the pitches with the great views slope badly.

The loos and showers were superb - always spotlessly clean. The bar was pleasant and the food was pretty good too (we only ate there once). The maintenance staff also did a great job with the grounds.

Not too impressed with Bridport but did have a nice walk down to West Bay with the dog. And yes the fish and chips from the kiosk is wonderful!

Really loved the site but not enough in the area to make us go back again. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pendleton_girl 21 reviews from this member

 It had been a long day and we were looking to find somewhere to pitch up for the night with a lovely view. Highland's End was the choice and it didn't disappoint. It was cheaper than I expected so soon after the August Bank Holiday, we paid £13.75 for our campervan (no electric) and we more or less had the area we were in to ourselves - at the far end with a fantastic view of the stunning Jurassic Coast. Sadly it got dark all too quickly, but an early night was on the cards anyway as we were so tired.
The following morning dawned bright and sunny; pulling back the curtain we were treated to a fantastic sight as the sun rose over the bay. After breakfast I set off to walk down to Eype Village; it is all downhill there so bear in mind you will have a climb to get back. Also don't make the mistake I made and pass the sign directing people to the right to follow the path; I missed it and ended up trying to climb down the bank and ended up on my backside. Nevertheless the coastal path is a lovely walk.
We are definitely planning to go back; the loo and shower facilities looked very good and there was a restaurant, shop and a gym although I did not see these. Two things I would advise you to be aware of however. First, if you have a tent make sure it is sturdy and can stand the wind which can be very strong. Second, there are quite a few rabbits around and sadly my husband saw that one of them was afflicted with myxamatosis; he reported it to the management who responded to us to say they are aware and will humanely kill affected rabbits, but I would ask if you see them to make sure you report it so there is a better chance of putting the poor creatures out of their suffering. Apart from this, a great site and we are definitely going back and it is always nice to see rabbits - hopefully healthy ones! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caren 3 reviews from this member

 This is a nice camp site in a lovely part of Dorset, the views from the camping area are fantastic. The facilities were good with plenty of showers and toilets and washing up areas inside and outside. A good swimming pool onsite and a bar and restaurant.

It was a busy time with lots of campers coming and going over the bank holiday weekend, the bathroom area struggled not due to lack of space, more due to peoples lack of consideration, they only seemed to be cleaned once a day. On the whole a nice site.

One warning it can be windy here we experienced very strong winds one night and a lot of tents didn't survive, it was not for the faint hearted, the area is great but I wouldn't risk going back due to the wind. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Austinhead 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site, would agree with all other comments about the cleanliness and great facilities. The walk to Eype beach is down a steep bank which won't suit everyone (including me at 8 months pregnant) but you can drive there, although I felt £4 fixed car parking charge was a overpriced if you only intended to stay for an hour or so.

Main reason for my writing this review is to say please listen to the warnings about the winds. We did arrive when it was very very windy, the previous day people had been sent to an alternative area for pitching, and on the day we arrived others were leaving as it was just too windy. We just about managed to pitch our tent and in the 3 days we were there we saw others come and go either with or without ruined tents due to the winds. In the end our tent poles snapped and the tent ripped on day 4 and our holiday was over.

I would seriously recommend that only those people who have expensive high quality tents stay on this site, as you can neither predict whether it will be windy, nor the direction that the wind will come from. We did see several tents break in the wind.

Although the site was lovely, with great views and great facilities, I wouldn't stay here even with an expensive tent, when the wind was up it made being outside very uncomfortable and being inside very noisy (although that could be down to our cheapish tent). It seemed that the area for caravans was much less windy.

Another point is that the toilet block is at the other side of the caravans so you need to walk through the tents and then the caravans to get to it.

I hope if you do stay the wind is low and you have a great time. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maysid5 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Toilets and free showers spotless at all times and even have piped music and heating. The pub was first class and the food was lovely and very well priced. Wonderful childrens play area and another small play area in the beer garden. Indoor and outdoor washing up facilities again spotless. The whole site is immaculate thanks to a team of gardeners who work none stop. There is a great dog exercise area, unfortunately most people tended to take their dogs to the grassed area at the back of the site which I thought was very unfair as the children used that area to fly kites and play ball games. The pitches are marked out but very spacious. Added to this there is a swimming pool, gym, tennis courts all these have an extra charge and there is a very well stocked shop. We would certainly visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julie58 11 reviews from this member

 This is a nice enough site. The facilities are very clean. It certainly is high, overlooking the beach if you have one of the lucky pitches. Otherwise it can be disappointing to book and overlook caravans.

The shop is well stocked and the staff helpful.

Personally I'm not keen on the drive through the static vans to reach the touring site. All the shop / reception / club facilities are handy for the statics but not for the tourers.

Lovely play area for the children and plenty of room to walk dogs.

On balance would be happy to return. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markone 6 reviews from this member

 Well,this the 2nd time of visit, 1st time was in August 2007 and apart from being 'a bit windy' and the ground being saturated we were amazed with the whole lay-out,facilities and features. So when we came back in April 2008 we were expecting 'not much',but we were very happy with the park all over again, the club is very very good, local real ale, lovely food and all very reasonably priced.
Off site, a lovely pub 'down the hill' (Quite steep on the way back!)The New Inn is well worth a visit,and the host is very accomadating

Back to the site and area,all of the staff are very knowledgeable and helpful and what with the local area,of outstanding beauty,amazing site, and well thought-out site you could not ask for much more.

The toilet/shower blocks are very clean and spacious, the only slight critisim is the hot water at the wash up areas,comes out very slowly, but this only a very slight 'niggle' on what I think is a perfect site.

BUT please don't visit,otherwise I may not be able to get in! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Namreg 4 reviews from this member

 I have to say this is one of the best sites we have visited, either with the van or in our previous tenting life. Our opinion could be coloured by the fact that we had virtually 10 days of unbroken sunshine during one of the worst summers I can remember, but nonetheless, this is an excellent site.
 
It's on top of a cliff (and therefore a little windy), and the views are nothing short of stunning. There is a cliff walk (I think that path covers the entire Jurassic Coastline) that is easily accessible, but be prepared for some steep climbs!
 
The facilities are excellent. Showers are roomy and clean (most of the time) with a separate benched area to change. Shop is well stocked with all the necessities (except sellotape!) and the restaurant is much better than I had hoped for.
 
The only criticism I have is that you have to pay for the pool, and if you want to use the sauna as well, you have to pay extra for that also. At £26 per night, I would have thought they could have thrown these in free, but there you go.
 
We will definitely be going back. If you visit, look out for a leaflet in the reception area about guided fossil tours in Charmouth - well worth doing, and you WILL find some fossils. The kids loved it. 


Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highlands End Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Highlands End Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highlands End Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Highlands End Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3893 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement