Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highlands End Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Highlands End Holiday Park > Reviews

Highlands End Holiday Park
Eype
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6AR
Tel: 01308 426912
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rrlm 4 reviews from this member

 Really good site. Very well kept. Pitches are good size and they cater for larger motor homes. Plenty of fully services pitches. Toilets and showers clean and tidy. Good restaurant on site and swimming pool, sauna and steam room. Within easy distance of Bridport - 5 mins by car. Lots of lovely walks on the Jurassic coastal path. Oub within walking distance. Staff very friendly and helpful. Dogs very welcome. Can be quite noisy if you are near the children's play area. Lovely views. Pebble beach within walking distance - although climb back up quite steep. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S n buxton 9 reviews from this member

 Called on 'spec' and just spent a couple of nights here.

Initially we were slightly put off by what appeared to be a large static caravan park, but I am glad we persevered and stayed.

The sections given over to tents is at the far end of the site and offers some spectacular views along the coastline. The pitches allocated to each tent are spacious and well maintained.

The toilet block is a fair distance to get to, but is very well appointed and clean. The restaurant and shop are even further away, but in our experience well worth the trek. The food was very good and they had 3 types of real ale on tap. Fantastic.

A very good site. Will have no worries about returning. Wish we could have spent longer here. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geordieboy57 2 reviews from this member

 We found this site from the internet and were concerned what we'd find but were really pleased from the moment we drove through the gates. It is a perfect location for touring Dorset and all the beautiful villages and coastline, which was breathtaking.

Pitch was large enough for our large tent and car. Toilet blocks were fantastic, very clean, never busy with individual shower rooms and excellent laundry room with free use of the iron. The site was very busy but due to the layout you felt like you had your own private site! Even had rabbits hopping around every evening, so nice.

The shop was very well stocked from food to camping items and the prices were surprisingly good as some sites over price their goods. Onsite bar/restaurant was very popular and tasty! Swimming pool was warm, clean and staff all so friendly.

We are desperate to return, such a good site and so much to do and visit in the area. Markets and bootsales on every where most of the week and seaside towns were wonderful. Large supermarkets close by and never far from a 'chippy'! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cloud9 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 8 nights with our touring caravan on a serviced hardstanding pitch. The site is in a truly beautiful spot and we were lucky to get a pitch with a partial sea view. Itís lovely being right on the cliff top with stunning views and a short but steep walk down to a lovely unspoilt shingle beach.

The camp site is generally well kept and the pitches are tidy but rather on the small side. The toilet blocks are dated but adequate although they could have been cleaner and should have been checked more often.

The restaurant and bar were well run and the food was good and a reasonable price. The shop and reception were also good

The pool and gym were a very good standard and clean and well run. You do pay extra to use them though. We appreciated the adult only swim time as we didnít have any young children in our party.

There is a good Morrisons Supermarket at Bridport and West Bay, a lively harbour, is a nice, scenic 1 mile stroll along the coast path.

We chose the site because our 18 year old son and his girlfriend were coming with us and we wanted something a bit more lively than the caravan club sites we normally use but we didnít want it to be too commercial. In that respect it fitted the bill perfectly.

The main downside for us was people not following the rules and no wardens around to enforce them. Lots of people pitched incorrectly and parked their cars on the wrong side of their caravans making small pitches even smaller.

Overall we had a good time and some good trips out to Lyme Regis, Beer, Weymouth and Portland. We were also very lucky with the weather!  


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lorraine P 4 reviews from this member

 My husband I enjoyed a lovely week here - the pool, sauna and steam room was a lovely extra, to look forward to in the evenings, after long walks in the day,

The bus stops at Bridport - and we found a safe walk back to the site,

The food was really good - and we are very fussy everything seemed to be homemade!

Facilities were great too lots of toilets and 4 showers. Everyone was very friendly and we felt very welcome.

We were also pleased that we were able to chose our own pitch! We would recommend this site to anyone 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tydabuan 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely location a short walk from a beach. We stayed for a weekend with a couple of friends who brought their caravan as well.

Large site, with every conceivable type of pitch, shop, club and swimming pool. The shop was quite large with lots of variety, but we didn't use the club or pool. We were on a grass pitch and it was quite peaceful. Had to search around for a grey waste point, though. Shower/toilet blocks were clean and functional.

All in all a very enjoyable weekend and we would go again. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mjrees 40 reviews from this member

 My wife and I are trying to emulate the BBC programme by driving round the UK coastline.

This site was recommended by friends who had worked there in the past as staff. It stood up to all our expectations and as we visited in low season, we got the pick of the pitches and parked at the very top of the cliffs with magnificent views of the local coastline and a spectacular sunset! Facilities were spotless and extensive if a little too commercial for our personal liking but the staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly. We would certainly recommend this site - especially for the location, local coastal walking and views. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kellyclan 6 reviews from this member

 Wow! what a find. The awning nearly took off the 1st night.

The site itself was lovely. Reception girls were friendly and helpful.

The shop stocked everything you would need. We didn't use the pool as there wasn't time after our fossiling trips to Lyme Regis.

We did use the the bar. They had a hog roast outside which was great and the fireworks were great for the kids.

Despite the site being busy the showers, toilets and washing up facilities were both spotless and not particularly busy.

The showers were always hot and very spacious.

My only complaint would be that the site at night is not well lit. Take a torch.

I am glad we stayed there but sadly will not return due to the high winds. If you don't require an awning this will not be a problem.

The sunrise and sunset are beautiful and that alone is worth a visit 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mel.bee 2 reviews from this member

 I have to admit I was worried by all the other reviews on this site when our friends suggested we stayed here. It was the wind versus our lovely new tent that I was worried about.

The site is lovely, my first impression was of a well kept road/drive leading up to the main entrance. The reception staff were helpful when explaining our choice of pitches although not very talkative when I explained my fears of high winds.

We had a pitch with our back to a hedge, just over the crest of the hill (with EHU). Our pitch was pretty level, but towards either end of the field there was quite a pronounced slope.

The toilet, chemical disposal and washing up block was large, and I believe there were 2 or 3 on site.

The clubhouse was very nice, although busy and served lovely food (full menu and bar). They opened up another section on our arrival, so had plenty of capacity.

The swimming pool was £3 per session for adults, but was a really good size and was quiet as well, which was a nice surprise, but may be busy during peak periods.

There is a shop next to reception which sells just about anything you could need or may have forgotten. Even a variety of individual pegs, which may come in handy for some.

The only downside was the wind. We had stunning weather for 2 days, but on the 2nd night, the wind got up and we ended up taking down our awning in the early hours of the morning in the howling wind. You are right on top of a cliff, so very exposed. No harm done though. The plus side of this though was that both sunrise and sunset gave stunning views.

If you could guarantee the wind would be low then I would definitely visit again without a doubt, however it really did put me off. If you are not a worrier like me, or you are in a motorhome or caravan then you'll love it. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trinity Smith 1 review from this member

 Put aside any worries you will have when you drive through the park. There are lots of static units and you begin to think uh oh. Trust me this will pass when you see the beautiful views from the cliffs and large pitches. We thought that perhaps some more quick growing hedges need to be put in to provide more shelter for tents. I believe at least 2 were abandoned due to a storm on 22nd.

The park is clean and very well maintained and appointed. Reception staff are very welcoming and helpful. The shop and information area next door is great. It has all the essentials and is not over-priced.

Toilets, private wash areas, and large shower cubicles are kept very clean, and we never encountered any problems. But then we didn't really get up until 1030. So they had probably be cleaned by then.

The bar and restaurant is very welcoming and comfortable. Dogs are allowed inside. There is a take-away service (we did not use this, but it seemed to be very popular) Prices in the bar is very good and the standard of the food is lovely. If you want Sunday Lunch you must book ahead, this gets booked up very quickly.

Swiming Pool, Gym and Sauna were lovely. Cost £4.40 for my husband and daughter when they wanted to use it. But if you plan to swim every day then you can purchase a booklet which gives you 7 swims at a slightly reduced price.

Washing facilities are very good, cost of a wash was £3 and Dryers were £1 for 80 mins. However, there are only 2 washers and 2 dryers, both large capacity and washloads take about 30 mins.

There are also a number of washing up points, and plenty of water taps around the site.

Although we couldn't have picked a worse week weatherwise, it was still a fabulous site.

For views from your tent, pitch on Area 3 (be careful of the wind though) For the not so brave, camp in Area 2. There is a children's play area.

Places to Visit:

Dorchester's Teddy Bear Museum, Dinosaur Museum and the Terracotta warriors were great. The Mummies Museum was really disappointing, but at the time we visited they also had the Tutankamun Exhibition which was lovely.

Weymouth's SeaLife centre is expsenive and not really worth the money (but it was raining on our visit)

Bridport - Little market town, and holds a town market on Weds & Sats.

Lyme Regis - Just because I didn't like this place, doesn't mean you shouldn't avoid it. It is a popular town especially for the beach, but I didn't find it too dog friendly. There are a number of places to eat and The Old WatchHouse on the Cobb is great for fresh fish. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highlands End Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Highlands End Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highlands End Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Highlands End Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3761 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement