Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highlands End Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Highlands End Holiday Park > Reviews

Highlands End Holiday Park
Eype
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6AR
Tel: 01308 426912
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 132 Reviews
                9/10 from 132 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site previously and it never fails to disappoint. In February when we visited we were arriving in the evening so decided to plan ahead and call in to book a takeaway meal, unfortunately the bar was closed for refurbishment but fortunately the site was still offering a takeaway service out of reception which provided us with a hot and tasty meal on arrival.

The site itself is well looked after with great, clean facilities. The pitches are nice and flat so no problems levelling up and there is easy access to the coast path and the dog walking field to ensure that our dogs are kept happy.

Whilst we generally visit this site in quieter periods the pitches with the lovely sea views are almost always taken, a testament to the beautiful view, fortunately it is still possible enjoy the coastline and the sea air from many of the other well positioned pitches. During this stay we didn’t plan to do much, just a bit of walking off of the site to Colmer’s Hill and then the following day into West Bay to have a browse around ‘The Customs House’ a mix of retro/vintage/bric-a-brac stalls under one roof in an old sea side barn/courtyard area, there are also a couple of pubs and fish and chip cabins near the harbour. We have previously walked into Bridport and also along the coast path in the opposite direction to Seaton and onto Golden Cap.

Would recommend this site to anyone who enjoys camping near the sea and walking. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sinam 1 review from this member

 Its ok. We were after good sea views, and literally 4 tents could have any sea views. We were disappointed because of that. You either have to arrive very early so you can be sure to get a pitch with sea views (which is very few) or if that's not your priority, then this campsite is just fine. Good facilities, and good for kids. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Baileybus 30 reviews from this member

 Just returned after 4 night break. Beautiful location with stunnung views and lovely walks. Facilities were clean with good flow of water in showers. Staff were friendly and helpful. Local village of Eype was pretty. Had a meal at New Inn which was good but thought it was expensive as portions weren't very big. The walk along the coast path to Charlestown is worth doing, together with a visit to the Anchor Inn. We will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Baileyjake 11 reviews from this member

 This is my second stay at highlands end. I returned because it's such a well maintained site in a great location. As others have said the wash rooms are great the showers clean and warm.

Frustratingly though the nearest wash room to my pitch, fully serviced hard standing, north rye acres, was closed for cleaning between 10. 30 and 12. 00 every day. The guys cleaning were happy to point me in the direction of the further away and older block. I never saw this closed for cleaning. On time I ignored the closed signs and took a shower anyway. There was no cleaning going on, it had been done and the guys were no where to be seen.

The swimming is extremely expensive. I chose to pay each time we swam which cost about £32 for 4 visits and that's with a 3 year old who swims for free. When my youngest is 4 then I guess the £45 will be justified.

The site is very exposed and both times I have visited it has been windy. But last week the wind hit 47 mph at 3am. Some awnings (poles) ended up in the skip, some of my neighbors took awnings down and 2 left completely before dawn. The tent field was virtually empty by the morning. I think a lot left in the night. It was quite frightening. A warden was cruising round in a landrover at this time checking if everyone was ok and offering to help.

Unfortunately it rained rather a lot but that's not highlands ends fault. It's still a good site and I would return again.

The club house is quiet and has a good playground in the garden. Beer was expensive (£4. 95 for a pint of peroni) they serve food but I didn't get to sample it although it looked ok.

The playground by the pitches is also well maintained and has a lot of climbing frames etc. And seems to be checked daily by the maintenance guys. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Subry 7 reviews from this member

 Fantastic Site - one of the best we have stayed on. Really easy to find and access is good, nice spacious pitches with views to die for. We had a sea view in every direction - what a way to start the day! Toilets and showers were always spotlessly clean and we never had to queue. Onsite pool was lovely and never too busy, shop was ok. We ate at Martin's a couple of times, food was a bit pricey but probably the norm for the area, desserts were lovely. West Bay is great, everything you'd want from a traditional seaside resort. The site has a great clifftop location with short (but steep) walks either into West Bay or Eype beach. It was windy while we were there but we were in quite a sheltered spot on North Rye Acres and it didn't bother us, but we did see a few tents struggling in the winds. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bessy525 54 reviews from this member

 Spent 1 week at this site and had a great time, booked a gravel pitch which gives you a great chance of a sea view, no reserved pitches just go to appropriate area of the site and choose from the available pitches. Being high up offers superb views of West Bay (Broadchurch) and Epye downside is your very exposed to the elements. 10 amp hook up across the site level pitches on gravel some hard standing sloped needing good sized levelling blocks.

Facilities kept clean and surprisingly given the site was full the 2 shower blocks coped with demand only waited once for a shower during the 7 days.

Staff very helpful and always willing to offer advise on local area. Didn't really use the club house quite dated but always busy great look at 2 antique fire engines in the dinning area, some site users with families complained about the high cost of using the indoor swimming pool I believe £45.00 per week.

Wifi reception was iffy at best we were close to mast but really didn't get the access needed very slow broadband speed and paid £15.00 for a weeks access, resorted to the mobile phone as signal was excellent the nearest mast is right on the entrance to the site. Good facilities for the kids dog walking area etc. Freeview reception was excellent. Bridport just down the hill with Morrisons as your best bet for provisions. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rawtenstall 1959 4 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from spending a few days at this picturesque camp site and as the sun shone, it could not have been more beautiful.

I arrived fairly late but the bar staff had been informed of my late (8pm) arrival. They were helpful and gave sufficient basic information to get me to the correct pitch. The pitch was flat and dry for my tent and I had a beautiful view from the cliff top vantage point down to the beach. The pitches were spacious so no feeling of being 'on top' of other campers. At night it was quiet, and the low light pollution meant you could see the stars.

The shop had sufficient provisions though I went to Morrison's mostly in the local town (a 7 minute drive away) the showers were clean and warm (even though I went at 9 pm for the shower).

In the day, wanted to watch the tour de France and they set the channel up for me in a sitting room next to the coffee shop and the staff seemed genuinely helpful. The pub/restaurant looked a bit tired and could do with a bit of an upgrade. The pool looked lovely but a bit pricey if you wanted to take yourself and children daily. I camped alone and felt very safe there. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brooksuk 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 1 week in August 2014. This is a fantastic campsite, very well maintained, good facilities and superb views across the Dorset coast.

Checking in at reception was easy and the staff were very helpful. We easily found a fantastic pitch on 'North Rye Acres' with a fabulous view of the coast. This was probably the best view we've ever had from our tent.

The tent pitches in North and South Rye acres are fairly exposed to the wind and while we were there some other campers had their tents taken down while they were out due to the high winds (we assume to avoid the tent blowing away or destroying itself). If you choose carefully you can find more sheltered pitches but they come with less great views!

If I had to find any negative points it would be that the site shop could be stocked a little better with 'everyday items' and the bar / restaurant doesn't open until 5pm Monday-Friday (did open all day at weekends) - it was an excellent bar with fantastic children's play area which we thought should be open earlier in the day even if that's just for the school holidays.

If I want to re-visit the Dorset coast again I would definitely come back to Highlands End. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lou68 6 reviews from this member

 We booked this site at the last minute based mainly on what was available in conjunction with the reviews on here.

We were greeted by a very pleasant woman on arrival who directed us to the grass hook up area and left us to choose our own pitch. We managed to find several vacant pitches and chose one with a partial sea view. Some of these pitches are quite sloping.

The toilets were kept clean and we were impressed by how good the showers were, powerful, plenty of hot water and free. Plenty of space to keep clothes dry and get ready comfortably. Maybe decor was a little dated but the positives far outweighed this.

Site was clean and well kept. Adventure play area excellent, pitch and putt was good fun, the sloping course presented some challenges!

We had fantastic weather and so didn't use pool, bar or restaurant.

Shop was very basic and we preferred to pop to Morrisons in Bridport which was only a few minutes away.

All in all we had a great few days. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sportbilly999 4 reviews from this member

 Really couldn't recommend this site enough. Great location overlooking the sea with a coastal path with a shortish walk into West Bay. Great dog exercise area - beach just a short walk away. However has big pebbles that my little Westie dog didn't like!

Staff extremely helpful - couldn't rate Karen and Fez highly enough.

Facilities great - tennis court, 9 hole golf course and indoor pool. Bar and restaurant on site

Toilet/shower block was really tidy and cleaned every day on set times.

Even though weather was really poor - very windy and wet we still had a good time. 


Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highlands End Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Highlands End Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highlands End Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Highlands End Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3270 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement