Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highlands End Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Highlands End Holiday Park > Reviews

Highlands End Holiday Park
Eype
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6AR
Tel: 01308 426912
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tinah 6 reviews from this member

 We booked this site for 3 nights based on the excellent reviews. We were not disappointed.

We chose a gravel pitch with electric. These are placed in a good position providing a wonderful view.

My husband used the swimming pool which was the well-run by helpful staff and was beautifully clean. He also had an evening pint in the Bar/restaurant which was busy with guests dining.

What we enjoyed about the site was its position next to the coastal path. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to West Bay and a further 20 minutes to walk up into the town. There are no bus routes that pass the site but a taxi back was only 6.

The shower blocks were clean with good sized shower cubicles.

I have no hesitation in recommending this well-run site. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tockers 28 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 glorious days here in early October when the site was very quiet. We chose our pitch and set up camp on the grass with beautiful views out to sea and of the Thornicombe ridge. We used our levellers and were very pleased with our pitch. The motor home service area was a bit difficult to get to and the tap was not a screw one which made it difficult to fill up. The taps on service pitches are screw type so would not have same problem. The site is kept spotless and has everything else you would need, a shop, bar, coffee shop laundrette and even a swimming pool. The pool was very warm and a nice asset for the site. There is also a sauna and steam room. The local area is outstanding with lots of walking and great beaches. West bay is a short distance away and Bridport a bit further has a large morrisons. In high season I expect this site is very very busy so I am not sure if I would visit in summer but for a spring and autumn break it is wonderful. The showers and toilets were all excellent with plenty of room with seats, hooks, and separate wash rooms. There is recycling. We had a lovely time with great weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nsmith1971 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site and facilities.

Shop had the basics and a cafe that had excellent views(we were able to take dog In the cafe)

Clubhouse - dog friendly. Just wish parents would keep their children under control as were screaming and shouting running round pool table in fire engine room. Disco was on in other room so no excuse. Lovely play area at back for the children.

Swimming pool was kept very clean.

Playarea in touring field was excellent.

Plenty of walks for your dog. Please be aware that the exercise field which says it secure but dog can get out under one of the bottom gates as where people have walked through has worn away. We did ask at reception if it could be filled in but nothing happened. Rest of field ok.

Shower block: People need to respect cleaners and clean up their own mess with the mop provided, also hair in wash basins.

Plenty of loo roll, anti bac spray outside toilets(was an excellent touch) Need to keep an eye on soap running out.

Tourers in bottom field with no electric- could do with their own toilet/shower block as that Rd got busy at times.

Overall an excellent site that just needs to address these things and it would be perfect. We would stay again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slocs36 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from a sun drenched weekend and as I read plenty of reviews thought it only right to submit one myself.

The booking in was fast and efficient with a choice of pitches(due to early arrival)All of the pitches are reasonably level, very spacious and are kept spotless. There are plenty of recycling areas, drinking water and waste water points.

The shop is well stocked, cafe has stunning views and the bar has plenty to offer and is reasonably priced. The food is typical pub food and was hot and tasty (did have to wait 30 mins due to being busy)

The surrounding areas are picture post card being right on the coastal path with views to both Eype and West Bay (paths are very steep so take care)

The toilets and wash up areas are clean & well maintained, the showers are free.

The play areas look very good and are enclosed

Overall I would recommend this site to everybody

One downside was that we were sharing the area with 4 tents full of noisy 20 somethings who had no thought for anybody but themselves, however even they did not spoil a great weekend 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Palmer2 18 reviews from this member

 Firstly I think the management of Seaview Haven in Weymouth should come here to see how a site should be presented and cared for. Our third visit to this site and what a joy. Quality pitches in size, condition, privacy and views. On top of the hill so a bit of a climb back but well worth it for the views and its a pleasant walk in either direction. Very well maintained showers, toilets, washing facilities. Will be back again as sure as campers do barbecues 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil Daniels 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Highlands End this year, but this time we took our grandchildren aged 11, 10, and 8. We previously visited in April but left early due to the extreme cold!

We were impressed with the site during our earlier visit, and we are even more impressed now!

Highlands End is great for children with a decent play area/park, and lots of great walking opportunities along the south coast path. In addition, the close proximity to the beaches of West Bay in the east and Eype in the west make this a great location! The beaches are actually pebble beaches, but they are OK.

The site has pretty good toilet and shower facilities as well as dish washing, laundry, and chemical disposal points. The older children were happy to use the showers alone and we felt quite secure allowing them to do so. Due to one day of wet weather, we spent an afternoon in the heated indoor pool. This was pretty good with a lifeguard in attendance at all times. We had to pay to use the pool but this was pretty reasonable.

The restaurant has a decent menu and is reasonably priced, but on a very busy evening we had to wait an hour to get our food.

The site is very dog friendly too with outstanding dog walking and exercise areas.

Overall, this is a really good site that is well maintained, and is neat, tidy, and clean all of the time.

I've no hesitation in recommending this site! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MrsBeeks 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Highlands End, having visited during the Olympics last year.

It didn't fail to live up to expectations, this really is a lovely site, well run, great facilities, friendly and well informed staff and the location is second to none.

We went for a 4 night break in May, myself, my husband and our dog Murphy. The park is extremely doggy friendly and there are great walks and a brilliant fenced in exercise field for the dogs. This is one of the few places I have stayed where dogs are also allowed in parts of the club house.

The cleanliness standards are all over the park are excellent and the staff never seem to stop with ongoing maintenance, they were constantly keeping the grass short and tidy, cleaning the showers blocks, and were extremely friendly and helpful.

We ate in the clubhouse bar on a few occasions, and whilst the menu was very typical standard pub meals they were served hot and tasty so no complaints.

The facilities on site are great, there is a shop that sells all sorts of essentials, a little coffee shop with wi-fi access, swimming pool, playgrounds for the kids. If I had to find a bad point, the only thing I would say is that for a family park with a great clubhouse, I think this could have been utilised for better entertainment but very minor point if I had to pick one.

Would recommend this site to anyone of all ages and we will definitely return for visit number 3 soon :) 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil Daniels 3 reviews from this member

 We went to Highlands End on Easter Monday intending to stay for 4 nights but left after 2 due to the cold! This is a wonderful family friendly site that caters for everyone. The site is very well tended and the shower blocks are functional but very clean and warm. Most of the EHU pitches are level and easily big enough to take our very large family tent. There are great views down to West Bay in the east and Golden Cap in the west. This is a lovely site and we have booked again to take some of our young grandchildren camping. We were even given 2 nights credit for the nights we didn't use! I fully recommend this site! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rob Raine 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with fantastic views, nicely laid out and with a great playground for the kids. The area is very beautiful, and it's a short walk to the pebble beach along the cliffs.

On the down side, we we're surprised to find the swimming pool charges and was so expensive. On top of that, they charge for each entry - you don't even get the whole day!

The toilets and showers felt a bit old fashioned - all a bit tired 1980s looking. The road layout could be kinder to tourers - narrow roads through the static van site, unnecessary low brick walls and kerb stones on corners. As someone else said: the shops and pool are ten minutes uphill from the tourer area.

In a nutshell: you can get better for your money elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gigi1 7 reviews from this member

 We were recommended this site by friends and it was everything they said it would be. Beautiful site with stunning views. We found this to be a very quiet site, even though it was full. We had the North Rye Grass area which had a hard base together with elec, water and waste and were able to choose our pitch.

Plenty of space for our big motorhome and a car next to it. Next time we will have the South Rye Grass area, which has views over the bay. A very clean site with lovely dog walking areas, although it is a pity some owners did not pick up after their dogs.

Clean showers and toilet area, but had to pay to use the hairdryer! - only 20p but would have been nice to know before hand.

Nice dog friendly bar and restaurant with limited food, and most of it could be ordered as a take-away which is good to know for next time. Well stocked bar.

The shop was ok, good range of things to buy (food, drink and gifts). Next to the shop is the Cowshed where you can have a coffee and look at the stunning views - breathtaking! For young children there is a lovely play area with climbing facilities.

We didn't go in the swimming pool but did do the pitch and putt golf. Think we need lessons! Good fun though.

Would definitely recommend this site and will certainly return. This is probably the best private site we have been on. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highlands End Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Highlands End Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highlands End Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Highlands End Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3794 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement