Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highlands End Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Highlands End Holiday Park > Reviews

Highlands End Holiday Park
Eype
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6AR
Tel: 01308 426912
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bunny66 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for nine days in July.

The site itself is very well maintained.

The showers cubicles are large and clean, the swimming pool is larger than a lot of sites we have visited and also very clean.

The bar and restaurant on site is a little pricey but adequate, the shop stocks a large range of items.

The views are stunning and the pitches are a good size. The children's playgrounds are kept spotless. The dog walk is for the very fit being a large field which is very very steep. However it did give us a good work out as did the walk from the site to nearby Eype beach (which can be accessed from the site) and is also dog friendly all year round.

There are a hotel and pub outside the site but we did not go to them as they were down a very narrow steep lane that was a bit precarious to drive or to try walking back if it was dark.

West bay about half an hour walk from the site along a coastal path is also for the fit, particularly coming back. However, we found West bay a little soul less.

Bridport is about a 5-10 minute drive and can be walked by either the country lane outside the site or via westbay but would take at least 30-40 minutes. It has a Morrisons which is great value and has lots of individual shops as well as a market some days.

Lyme regis (about a 20 minute drive) is absolutely fabulous, we loved the quaintness of it and the beach side pubs.

Unfortunately, the downside of this site are the strong winds. We had read about it in other reviews but felt we would give it a go thinking we may have one or two days of it. Maybe we were unlucky but we had strong winds practically the whole time we were there. We could not put our awning up at all and in fact saw a large awning ripped from a caravan whilst we were there and several discarded tents and windbreakers.

It was so strong sometimes we could not even sit outside and one night it was so bad and with rain that it was like being on a boat rather than being in a caravan, I cannot imagine what it was like for the poor tenters! For some unfathomable reason the tents are in the most exposed part of the site right on the edge of the cliff, which although offer stunning views also mean that they are more open to the elements.

As I said maybe we were unlucky but I don't think we will chance a site so high up again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SusanHB 2 reviews from this member

 We are not normally fans of large sites with lots of facilities, but for various reasons we ended up booked into Highlands End for three nights at the end of July/early August. We had 2 tent pitches without any hookups etc. We were very happy to be in a field with only other tents/trailer tents.

The cleanliness and standard of maintenance of the whole site is very impressive. The toilet/shower blocks are kept clean and there is ample hot water. It got a bit muddy underfoot when it had been raining but I think that's pretty much unavoidable.

The bar/restaurant/club area is normally somewhere I would avoid like the plague, but it was perfect when we had spent a night being battered by the wind, woken up in a cloud and cooked breakfast in persistent rain. It's very spacious and the fact that it was also immaculately clean and yet they were happy for us to bring our wet collie in as well was a godsend at the time.

There is lots of room in a large empty field to let dogs run off steam.

The children's playground is robust and large enough to keep the children happy for a good while.

The shop carried a very wide range of goods and they will refreeze you freezer blocks for free.

The comments about grass cutting are spot on - they really do come round as soon as a pitch is empty - the one across from us was done at 8:50am, but it wasn't a big deal.

The view of the coast from the site is splendid. Being at the top of a cliff you do need to think about where you pitch if it's forecast to be windy. We deliberately stayed on the lower side away from the cliff top. Some of the fields have a pronounced slope but the pitches are quite well defined and we felt we had a reasonable amount of choice as to where we set up. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lkhbelfield 4 reviews from this member

 Well were do we start! we booked 7 days camping. Fantastic well kept site, massive pitches with awesome views. Unfortunately when we arrived we set our tent up in wind and fog. After talking to some people they told us this site is always windy. After 3 nights of wondering if our tent could take the wind any more we decided to pack up and head home before our tent ended up in the sea. But must say this really is a great site hope the weather is better for you. Also the shop was of a good size but not very well stocked. Food was fantastic from the campsite bar and was child friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ellamaija 3 reviews from this member

 Campsite is spotlessly clean. We are early risers so showers were very clean for us. The downside is that the campsite is in a beautiful location on a cliff - great when dry but a nightmare if wet and windy. We actually had a disaster and our tent broke after day 2!.

Staff are great, you have to pay for the pool use.

There is a walk down cliff to west bay through a cattle field which is very picturesque. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bob_the_Bodger 3 reviews from this member

 Some friends recommended this site and took us on our first camping experience. Since then we have been again in May and June and have booked again for our last trip of the summer in September. We love the site. We have always been in what they call Area 2 as we have EHU and always book early. The pitches are big and we have plenty of room for our Seattle 8 and car with loads of space for chairs etc. There are two shower/toilet blocks and they are regularly cleaned. There are never any problems with cleanliness and we havenít had to queue to use the showers.

The site is very quiet in the evening. There is also wi-fi but you do need to pay at reception for this.

The site is quite high up on the South West Coastal Path and I can see how it could get very windy, (as other reviewers have said) especially in Area 3 which is nearer to the Coast and more exposed. All I can say is that we have never had any issues although have always been there on sunny days. I think Area 2 is a bit more sheltered.

There is a lovely swimming pool on site which you do have to pay extra for but itís worth it. Next to the pool is the bar which serves meals and you can takeaway on some of them. Thereís also a kids playground in the beer garden and another in the tent area.

At the very top of the site there is a gate leading to the South West Coastal Path. You go left and there is a lovely walk down to West Bay which is well worth doing and right takes you to the beach at Eype. There is a path elsewhere on the site which leads to the village of Eype where there is a pub - not much to write home about but itís okay and itís nice walk.

All in all we love this site and recommend it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tej1985 1 review from this member

 Very impressive campsite! It does feel too much like a holiday park but it has excellent facilities to make it a pleasant and comfortable place to stay. Shower and toilet facilities are impressive with amazing hot showers. Staff at the bar and shop were very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere on site was good. Plenty of space to also get some peace with the stunning views of the sea. Highly recommended! Could be a bit cheaper but not bad considering the vast facilities. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clare allen 1 review from this member

 Just came back from a first time visit to this campsite. Cant wait to go back. Lovely views from the pitch, plenty of room between the the tents, clean and warm toilet block and nice food in club house. Yes it was windy most of the time but what do you expect from camping 200 feet up on a cliff!. Take plenty of strong pegs and pin down your guy ropes well. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kpglenister 2 reviews from this member

 The site is one of our favourites and we have been going there now for 6 or 7 years. It is a very clean and well kept site. The toilet and shower blocks are very clean and roomy. It can be very windy and suggest to anyone who wants to put up an awning that they go to the lower pitches overlooking West Bay. The views are better from the top but in very windy weather you can loose your awning. The restaurant has great food and a good atmosphere. There are some wonderful places to visit. Beer Pecorama is great for the kids. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Friar Snig 2 reviews from this member

 There's nothing much I can fault this site for. Beautiful surroundings with glorious views, well laid out spacious manicured pitches, good toilet and washing facilities, and a grand children's play area (if you need one) make Highland's End a fine place to stay.

I can't comment on the shop, the pool or the bar because I didn't visit any of them, but they're there.

The beach at Eype Mouth is a 10 minute walk away, and the fishing from the shore can be great! One evening, in just a couple of hours, I caught over 30 mackerel with a string of feathers. Strangely, my mate Dave caught nothing at all just a few yards from me - probably because he spent most of his time asleep in the evening sunshine!

But beware as has already been mentioned, please do not underestimate the potential for extremely high winds. They can be devastating. On our fourth morning there we awoke to gale force winds, and driving rain. It was very difficult to stand still in the teeth of the relentless blast, and needless to say the tents took a real battering.

Many on the site were damaged, including ours and that of our friends, and one or two had been abandoned during the night. We spent several hours on 'tent patrol' that morning constantly knocking back in loose pegs and guy ropes, and hanging on to rapidly warping poles. Eventually, soaked to the skin and frozen, we gave up, hurled everything into the back of our vehicles and fled for sunny Lancashire despite having three more nights paid for. You don't get refunds.

We stopped for breakfast down the road in Bridport and were surprised (and slightly disgruntled) at how gentle the drizzly breeze was in the valley. It's that cliff top location, beautiful but treacherous! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jojojet 1 review from this member

 Just visited highlands end after recommendation. It was our 1st first time touring again after a 30 year break, can't understand why we left it so long! - what a laugh we had

Fantastic park, lovely views, great walks with the dogs, saw sheep giving birth to the lambs.

Friendly staff, grass area's kept very neat and tidy, no litter around nice shop, great bar with very good food, would recommend. Shower block clean and tidy, though the showers need to run longer before you have to press the button again, Play area very good, swimming pool expensive £7.10 for 2 adults and a child, and the water was very cold - also I didn't like the fact that one member of the leisure staff was cleaning the mats out of the changing pool side with very strong smelling chemicals (I know they need to be cleaned but you could do it when no one is around)

Very handy for morrisons and the wine factory,

Eype beach nice to walk along,

Would not recommend the New Inn Eype

Would definitely go again

(in 5 nights we only experienced the wind for half of a night) 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highlands End Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Highlands End Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highlands End Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Highlands End Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3875 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement