Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highlands End Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Highlands End Holiday Park > Reviews

Highlands End Holiday Park
Eype
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6AR
Tel: 01308 426912
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 132 Reviews
                9/10 from 132 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deltaone 6 reviews from this member

 I visited this site after reading a number of reviews and my first impressions were that it was a wonderful site.

The toilet and shower blocks were in excellent condition and very clean washing up facilities and laundry also excellent, the children's play areas were a good size and very practical, one by the restaurant and one in the touring field. The staff were helpful and there was a roving warden as well as grounds keepers.

The restaurant food was top class and evening entertainment was also pretty good, it hit a perfect level for us as we don't enjoy the hi-de-hi campsites but like to have an on site facility as we have 3 young children and in this instance we could not have asked for more.

The site is immaculate and well kept, the touring field is a little way back from the entrance area which is o.k for us but if you have difficulty getting about it may cause problems.

Unfortunately the camping area suffers from high winds and we lost both wind breaks and our tent to it this year the pegs were coming out of the ground constantly as the ground was damp when we first set up so if using this site I would highly recommend you invest in some delta anchors or pyramid thread pegs. I was told when were leaving that the site suffers pretty much year round with the wind due to it being situated on a cliff top.

All in all I would highly recommend the site but would prepare well for the wind. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skelton 2 reviews from this member

 This was the first time we stayed at Highlands End. It was recommended to us by some friends, who didn't let us down when they said "It was a nice campsite"
We stayed over the bank holiday weekend and had a pleasant welcome when we arrived. As we had arrived early we got a pretty go spot overlooking West Bay.(Stunning views).
The pitches are very spacious, and well maintained.
We ate in the bar/restaurant every night as the food is very reasonably priced & absolutely gorgeous. There were long ques to order food at times and it may pay to book a table in advance as it did get busy.
We did get to use the swimming pool, sauna & steam room, which were very clean. There was also a gym, but we didn't feel the need for over exerting ourselves.
The showers/toilets were spotless, and cleaned at least twice a day. They did get busy from around 7am onwards, so if your an early bird like me then you'll be in & out before the rush.
We did have bad weather over the Bank holiday (70mph wind and rain), but it seemed that most of the tents did manage to stay upright . Well recommended place to stay, with lots of thing to see and do 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catcarolc 3 reviews from this member

 I thought the site was very well laid out and nice and clean. The toilet and shower block was great and the washing up water nice and hot . The pool was lovely and the playground good. We ate in the pub on-site twice as it was windy and the meals and service were good. The pitches were a good size and mostly level.
However I will not be returning as it is so exposed. The wind was blowing an absolute hooley up there when all around was relatively calm. Our tent collapsed although the pegs stayed put and 2 of the fibre glass poles broke with the force. Admittedly my tent is not designed for high winds ,being of a polytunnel design. Alot of others packed up early and went home and the low-lying tents seemed to survive OK. I like to sit out in the evening relaxing ,not huddle inside feeling cold in the warmest clothes. No point taking the BBQ.
In summary- only go if you have a really sturdy tent and the forecast is completely calm.
PS the girls age 10-13yrs loved our visit to the donkey sanctuary about 40mins away. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zipster 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 days at this site over the May Bank Holiday Weekend. We were sited in Area 2 that has 5 tent pitches available with Electric Hook up.

The site itself was well looked after and manicured to a very high standard, staff were always touring the site giving you a good sense of security.

Both Toilet / Showers Blocks were clean, the childrens play area look good fun for the kids and very tidy, we used the Indoor Pool, Sauna & Steam Rooms all of which were clean. Unforunately on this occasion we did not used the Clubhouse facilities.

For our first evening we went to West Bay and had the traditional Fish & Chips which were ok, the following day we paid a quick visit to Burton Bradstock nothing much there other than a Beach & Tea House. Our third day saw us visit Lyme Regis which again was ok but being spoilt by the quick food operators and sometime smell of Hot Cooking Oil

On our final evening we went to the Anchor Inn in Burton Bradstock and had a superb meal based around fresh fish etc not cheap but well worth the money we found this in The Good Pub Guide 2006.

Our only concern was the weather, being on or near the Beach & Cliffs we expected it to be windy but our last day/ night it become or felt very windy but we managed in the end.

Would we go back? yes we are looking to go back in early September with our Grandson who is 6 as it has everything we want and I'm sure it has everything he wants. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Old angler 2 reviews from this member

 I have visited this site many times over several years. It has just about everything the only downside is that it is on the clifftop (but safe for kids) and a bit of a trek to the beach if you are old and arthritic like me. The clubhouse and bar are very good, fishing lake at the local sister site is great. The sea fishing is OK but nothing to scream about.
On the plus side in nearby West Bay (A walk if you are healthy, otherwise 5-10 mins by car) are some of the most famous restaurants and eating pubs and hotels in the west country. I know, I've tried them all.
A site well worth visiting. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mick+Tina 4 reviews from this member

 Days we spent: 7 Days Mon-Sun
Arrive: Anytime after 11am
Depart: Before 11am
Cost: £133.00
Caravan facilities: Electric, Water, Sewerage, Gravel for awning, Concrete hard-standing for Caravan. We stayed we think on the best plot which was Area 2 Plot Number 16 and yes you can book plots in advance. We managed to slip into a corner area very close to the shower block and waste disposal area. The site is lovely and quiet, its a mixture of static, tents and Caravans. All are separated from each other such as statics in there own area, tents and Caravans separated as well.

The entrance to the site is excellent, nice and wide and very easy to find the site, the swimming pool is cold! and it was supposed to be heated. There are 4 or 5 shower blocks as i remember, which are very clean, quite posh, deep sinks, separate washing cubicles and separate closed door showers.

Places of interest: Well Bridport is within easy access to many area's, but we found a lovely Pub, why do all us men find Pubs! called The Anchor Inn which is at West Bay Beach.

On site shop: Very expensive not very large, but I think they are all quite expensive aren't they, there is a Tesco 5 mins drive from the site.

On site restaurant: We wanted to pay for a meal for the 4 of us not buy the whole camp site.far too expensive

Our ratings:
Park - 5/5
Shower/Toilets - 5/5
Shop - 3/5
Staff - 5/5 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dom1969 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 6 nights at Highlands End. Completely agree with others comments on the standard of maintenance at this site, in particular the statics in Area 1 are without exception immaculately kept. The grass pitches in Area 3 (The tent Area) were better than your lawn at home. The scenery is absolutely fantastic both looking out to sea and Inland. We had some rain and some blustery winds but nothing which concerned me.

The facilities are very modern, clean and not too far away wherever you are on the site. Being August it was more or less full but I did not have to queue for a shower, it seemed most people were happy not to mob them at the most obvious times!

Used the swimming pool, tennis courts and pitch and putt (all very good), all had to be paid for but rather that than not have the facilities at all!

The beach at Eype is easily reached from the Campsite but not suitable for bathing (it falls away quite steeply into the water) but still worth a visit. The cliff path can be accessed from the site and includes sheer drops so all children should be supervised, although there is a gate. The pub in Eype (New Inn) is a bit of a walk and suffered from the English disease of only serving lunch between 12-2pm (why??). The other caravan park in the village has a tea room which was quite pleasant. For bathing, Lyme Regis and Weymouth are very good although advisable to use the park and ride services given lack and cost of parking in both locations.

I was pleasantly surprised with the bar/restaurant. It is completely non-smoking, great family atmosphere with good range of food and drink. The menu is not haute Cuisine but clearly the Head Chef and his team put a bit of passion into what they do and the result is good honest home cooked food. The portions were so big on occasion we ordered children's sizes (esp the Pizza's!). The turkey curry was particularly good.

Staff were very friendly and keen to help with any problems or requests.

This is not the cheapest site but value for money it is excellent. Would not hesitate to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Muush 1 review from this member

 This really is a lovely site with very well maintained facilities and friendly staff. The site is located on a clifftop and is often prone to strong, gusting winds, but as long as you've got a decent tent and guy it properly you'll be fine. There are some nice walks (if a little strenuous in places!) along the cliffs and down to the beaches, with fantastic views all around. There's a decent park area for the kids and good sized grassy area for frisbee, football etc.
We've been coming to this site regularly for several years now and my only complaint would be about the inconsiderate behavior of some other campers. There always seems to be group who'll be gathered around a barby 'till one or two in the morning, talking and laughing out loud with no consideration for their fellow campers who are trying to sleep.If the staff here would only clamp down on the selfish minority this site would be perfect! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Themorgans 5 reviews from this member

 Just back from a great long weekend at Highlands end. What a great site, spot on.
 
After reading the reviews I was nervous about the reports of high winds but we had no such problem. Anyway this site is no more exposed than others I have visited and the inner pitches are protected by hedges so I do not see the problem, having said that it was 25deg+ and not a whisp of wind so I could be wrong!
 
The grass is better than my lawn at home - fantastic. The entire upkeep of the site is spotless and army of gardeners do a great job. The views are breathtaking. The kids playground is great and safe. The dog exercise field was like a bowling green! and fenced is to keep pooch from running off too far. The club on site is huge. no problem for my 2 under 3's to run about in without causing bother to others. The dog was also allowed in for a packet of crisps - Brill family atmosphere. This place sets the example of what a family club should be.
 
Lyme Regis is 15mins down the road and is a nice little place - good sandy beach and a nice prom. (dogs allowed onto the edges of the beach - ask a dog warden if unsure they are very friendly)
 
My only concern was the number of showers for the size of the campsite - having said that I only had to Q once and i had 6 showers when the site was full so not a bad hit rate! showers have loads of room and each has temp control and a dry area - top marks again!
 
PS the pool is great too
 
All in all 10 out of 10. Well done highlands end keep up the good work and thanks for a great weekend, we will be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crazyguider 24 reviews from this member

 This was our first family outing in a tent, with 2 kids under 5.  I think we've been spoilt for choice!
Site is immaculate, and the grass is kept very short.  It's safe enough to let the kids wander around.
We pitched next to a large group of 'students' who were fairly noisy during the day - our kids just joined in -  but at night they were v. Considerate - we could hear them warning each other to 'sshhh'!
Facilities are fantastic, except for the constant local radio over the tannot system.  Washing up areas clean, some even in a seperate room, but could do with a tad more hot water at peak times.  Food a bit pricey, so we used chippie in Bridport, and Morrisons. 
Pool excellent and not too pricey.
All-in-all a lovely site - we visited twice in 2005, and will do so again this year, if only to please the kids!
You will not be dissappointed. 


Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highlands End Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Highlands End Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highlands End Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Highlands End Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3845 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement