Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highlands End Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Bridport > Highlands End Holiday Park Reviews

Highlands End Holiday Park
Eype
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6AR
Tel: 01308 422139
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 04/07/2020 to 30/11/2020
           01/02/2021 to 30/11/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 120 Reviews
                9/10 from 120 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  120 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Melani 1 review from this member

 This is an impressive campsite with spectacular views. Excellent location and immaculately kept. Wardens and reception/shop staff lovely and friendly.

We were disappointed with the bar/restaurant. The venue and the food were really lovely but most of the staff seemed uninterested and the service was poor. Also the advertised hours of opening and closing were not adhered to which resulted in us being unable to obtain an evening meal.

We are not usually complainers but we feel that this aspect let the site down when everything else was fabulous. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Helenm 1 review from this member

 Highlands End is an excellent campsite and well deserving of its 5 star rating.

We were lucky enough to grab a gravel pitch with the most fabulous views over Eype Beach and was very impressed with our 1st experience of staying at a campsite.

There is an on-site restaurant, leisure facility with indoor pool and they even have Costa Coffee available form the restaurant as a take-away.

The on-site shop has a small stock of most necessities and a delicious bakery serving fresh croissants and pain-au-chocolate. Weíll be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: 00107618 7 reviews from this member

 This place is simply perfect. With lots of good points and some bad points.

Good:

1/ the pitches are large. And isolated. I like having the choice to choose the place you want from a few.

2/ Advice and introduction was great from very knowledgable staff.

3/ the ground is soft and easy to set the tent.

4/ very close to the beach( down a hill) and to westbay, short walk. Beautiful scenery.

5/ shop stocks up well and not badly priced. Essentials really.

6/toilets are clean and kept clean on most of the days we were there.

And lots more reasons.

Bad points:

It was a bank holiday so when it got busy the toilets were not clean and they were lots of people very strangely defecating up the walls !

We took food as take away from the restaurant. It was decent, but the seafood option was not up to standard as a takeaway.

It was really frustrating that campers started driving their cars up and down the paths to go to the toilet and showers ( 20-30meter distance)! that was ridiculous. You were not dodging people on a busy bank holiday weekend, but dodging idiots that cannot walk 20meters with cars. I think if it was not a bank holiday and post covid this place is 10. 5/10 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Philch 1 review from this member

 This site is very well presented and laid out. It is well looked after and is of a high standard.

The bathroom/toilet/shower facilities were very good; clean and very spacious. Water pressure and temperature continuously strong and hot at all times of day, very little queuing even with some Covid restrictions

Only point is that not a lot of children seemed to be on site. Not an issue for many but part of camping experience (for us) is kids making new friends and playing around site

Great jump off point for Dorset/Devon coastline

Staff very helpful and friendly. Would be nice to have had a small shop on site but understand might have been closed due to Covid 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Caking 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site

Clean and tidy and as assured all items were cleaned down after use

Game and play facilities exceptional for all ages

Toilets and showers lovely and warm, tidy and replenished daily 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ghentjo 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Highlands End for 10 nights in early July.

The site and views are breathtaking and cannot be faulted. We had a fully serviced pitch on the North Acres area of the site and everything worked very well. The weather was fantastic and obviously adds to the quality of the holiday.

We have stayed at many 5* sites and would rate the facilities as certainly up with the best. A quality bar and restaurant and pool complex.

There is a shop providing the essentials.

On arrival it was all a bit sketchy. No obvious area to pull up to to check in. We were behind three other units at 2pm so just followed them.

Check in was quick and efficient, we were given a park map and on we went. The pitches are not allocated so it's every man/woman for themselves. The areas of the park are not particularly well signed, and with a 21ft van on the back, after 5 hrs on the road we would rather have had a designated pitch.

Anyway, we found a suitable fully serviced pitch after navigating the very tight turns, kerbing the van a couple of times ( experienced tower btw ). We pitched up by use of our motor mover and were very comfortable for the 10 days. I, and a couple of other campers however, helped other campers pitching with a bit of muscle to get them onto pitches which we consider to be quite small and some quite steep for the price paid.

The facilities are top notch, being clean and plentiful and the site falls into silence at 11pm. Tv coverage is however a bit hit and miss, requiring regular re tuning. I asked the wardens which way to point the aeriel and they also had to re tune regularly. As a base, the park is spot on, with many lovely places within 15 miles east and west.

Overall a quality park. If we were asked our, our comments would be - Better signeage and larger pitches for the fully serviced areas, as after all, the premium is paid 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Ghart386 32 reviews from this member

 Another visit to Highlands End this time with with Carole's sister and her partner in the awning. We know what to expect as have stayed here before.

Excellent, well maintained and spotless site with wonderful showers and very clean toilet blocks. Excellent views too.

Martins Bar very good value for money.

My only gripe is the inability to pre book a specific pitch, causing people to cruise site looking for the type of pitch booked that is empty. Also, old hands here know that the 2. 00pm check in time is not followed, meaning if you arrive on time, you are left with what's remaining as all the better pitches have been taken.

We arrived early as we had travelled from a site in Cornwall for our 2nd week and queued behind others to check in. Unfortunately, there are large stones placed on the edge of the grass in this area. As we had to keep to the left in the queue to enable others to get out, as we had to swing out to get past the wall, our brand new twin axle caravan sustained damage to it's awning rail on said stone. No need for them to be there in my opinion.

Moan over. Had a great time there and will return. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chelseajock 1 review from this member

 We have just spent two night at Highlands End, this was our first visit to the site and to say we were impressed is almost an understatement, or to quote the wife "They have reinvested the money back into the site and it has paid off"

The site is situated high up on the Jurassic coast and has some absolute spectacular views, caution it can be windy. The day before we were due to arrive the site rang us to advise of expected high winds and that it was advisable to not erect an awning, they also advised that the site wasn't full and it would be fine if we wanted to turn up early, so 10 out of 10 for customer service.

On arrival they do not allocate pitches but direct you to your area where you can select any pitch within that locality, we were on a grass pitch and were able to pick what can only be considered an extremely large pitch.

The site is very well maintained, even saw staff picking up some of the lose pebbles that had strayed from the hard standing pitches onto the grass and putting back on hard standing pitch.

The facilities and associated buildings are modern and well decorated, the main Restaurant/Bar has a good menu, staff are helpful and polite and if required, it has sky and BT sports, it also lays on entertainment and has food theme night such as Italian nights. It is a dog friendly Restaurant with a specific area designated for you to sit with your dogs, they have a Dog Menu to keep your pet happy (The doggy ice cream was a hit with our hound)

The main Restaurant/Bar (Martins) has a Fire Engine theme and in addition to the two fire engines on display there is quite a bit of Fire Brigade memorabilia on display, if I am to be critical, I think it is a little bit over the top but hey ho that's just my personal view.

West Bay village is only about a 10 minute walk, you can take the cliff path but if that's not your cup of tea then there is an inland walk, again only about 10 minutes.

Overall this site is very well maintained and run, has modern and up to date facilities in a location that has outstanding views and easy access to West and East Dorset 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: JAS55 6 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Staff are a credit to the site their customer service skills are exceptional. The grounds are very neat and tidy and are patrolled most of the day by the grounds people who also check you are settled on your pitch. The exercise field for dogs is huge and dogs are allowed off lead, which is great for a border collie who wants to run. Accesss to the south west coast path is at the end of the site, and the beach is 500 metre walk, a bit steep coming back! Restaurant and bar are really dog friendly with lots of space for them and all inside! There is also a room without dogs as well. We didnít try the leisure pool as we had a dog. Shop was good with a limited range of basic necessities, but as first class food was served in the restaurant with breakfast from 9am though to dinner until 9pm. Walking distance to Westbay along public paths or the south west coast path, but fairly steep, on the way back. Lanes are narrow so not ideal for dog walking as traffic can be a bit quick on the way to the beach. Seemed fine for children but had no experience of the facilities. Will definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AdrianPB 6 reviews from this member

 Had 5 great days at this site. We wanted to walk ideally straight from the site, so we didnít have to move our Motorhome and this site is perfect for this. It is 1/2 mile from Eype (small coastal village with cafes, pub and beach) and West Bay (a lively and vibrant fishing/sailing small port with great cafes etc) and the site opens directly at both southern corners to the coastal path.

There is great walking to be had - both coastal and to Bridport (many owner managed shops and eateries) plus inland. There is a bus service along the A35 which we heard many walkers use.

The site was immaculate, flat or near flat pitches (donít bother with their hard standing concrete pitches), good facilities (pub and indoor pool which we didnít use and kids play areas). There were many dog owners - all were on leads (the rule) and there were 2 dog walking fields provided. The site was large enough to find quite areas away from kids play areas etc if wanted. We had a great view.

We loved a seating area with a dozen benches looking due West - were mostly full watching the sunset on the coast each night. We will return 


Previous     120 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highlands End Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Highlands End Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highlands End Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Highlands End Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1310 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement