Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highlands End Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Highlands End Holiday Park > Reviews

Highlands End Holiday Park
Eype
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6AR
Tel: 01308 426912
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: R1cbm 14 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week here, site pitches are a very good size, lots of water and waste points around. The section for the tents is at the back of the site and there is only one area for toilets and showers which as you can imagine gets very very busy in the mornings (we had friends staying there also in a tent).

The site staff are very helpful and the club house is good. Food and bar were good value and there is a play area next to them so the little ones could play while we had some food.

The pool was good, expensive for the week and for us too deep as my little boy couldn't touch the bottom. (We really needed a smaller pool).

It's very high up so expect high winds (came back to see the awning flapping in the wind and someone kindly removed our windbreak.)

The beach is 10 minutes walk but no sand. You have to drive to another beach to get the sand. However, some great walks around we managed an early morning run up the hills. Hard work but well worth it.

Lyme Regis is a great little place to wonder round, Fossil hunting is also worth a go at Charmouth.

Would we go again, perhaps when the kids are older to take advantage of the facilities better. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sara1norm 2 reviews from this member

 When we first arrived at the site we thought we had made a horrible mistake, you have to drive through the static caravan park to reach the campsite, there are a lot of these vans and they are close together, our holiday hell.

However once through the static site one passes through a small entrance into the main camping area with a toilet/shower block immediately on the right. Driving slowly the outward appearance of the facilities looked modern and well presented.

We drove on towards the area recommended to us. There was a choice of several pitches (all large in comparison to many campsites) and we chose the one most suitable for us. This offered us some protection against the wind, but put us in a good position near two toilet blocks, without being too close to them.

We put up the tent and investigated the site. Both toilet blocks were clean and very usable, the showers provided plenty of room to keep clothes dry, plenty of hooks for clothes, towels etc. There is a substantial laundry room with washers and dryers, and several ironing boards with irons, on this trip we had no cause to use them, though I can imagine they could be useful.

My airbed was punctured and well used, like almost anything you could want on a campsite one was available in the shop at a very reasonable price. Although small it is an Aladdin’s cave, with very helpful and friendly staff.

The beach is easy to reach, but a steep climb back up. There are a number of footpaths from the campsite along the cliffs and inland.

The entire site was spotlessly clean and well maintained, the grass was cut to a good height for tents, the price was very reasonable with free showers, I could not find a single fault with the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hela 9 reviews from this member

 I really liked it here and will be going back again.

PROS:

A good range of pitches- electric or non, facing the sea or West Bay
Great facilities which were fairly clean
Nice swimming pool
Great coastal path walks
Close to Bridport town centre
Nice play park for the kids
Will freeze ice blocks

CONS:

Pitches are designated so you can't pick your own which is a shame
The facilities especially the washing up area could be cleaner
Many of the locks on the toilets were missing
The swimming pool is very expensive (only needed if the weather is poor)
The tourers (not statics on site) dominate the pitches too much
The shop is not that useful 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Riggson9 1 review from this member

 Excellent camp site. Very good size pitches, clean, well laid out, good facilities, staff very friendly and helpful. Fantastic views and coastal footpath walks, so be prepared for a few hills. Beach really close, pebbles, shingle with a bit of sand at low tide and dogs are allowed. We were very lucky with fantastic weather but when the winds get up it can be a bit scary. Strong pegs and storm straps essential. Would love to go back again. Lovely pool but a bit cool when we took the plunge 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisa0372 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely camp site, stayed for two nights, site is kept lovely and clean, plenty of water points and electric hook ups.

Shower and toilet block are kept really clean and tidy, showers have plenty of room to move around in and plenty of hot water, toilets are very clean, only let down was the hairdryers for 20p you didn't have much blow drying time.

Shop is well stocked, didn't get chance to use the bar or swimming pool, but I am sure I will on our next visit.

Prices not bad really but school holidays are higher. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janinel 9 reviews from this member

 we are regular visitors to this site for many years. The situation is amazing spectacular views, walks and the sea is literally yards away. No traffic to spoil the peace and quiet. Clifftop walks to beacon hill if fit enough. And over to a little quaint pub that did cook meals is well worth the climb. Also there is a village walk to a garden doing teas and snacks.

If you walk the other way into west bay there is a superb cafe on the beach reasonably priced. Food is well cooked and god choice of meals.

Dogs are allowed on the top end of the beach, there is a harbour shops and plenty of snack bars fish and chips.

The camp itself is stunning. Food is cooked on the lounge bar not a vast range but well cooked and not too pricey. It has a pool and gym,

Pitch and putt course.

We have been returning here for years, you can sit virtually alone on the cliff top and watch the sunsetting over the sea, tranquil and relaxing. Away from it all but in a good location. Short drive into lyme regis for livelier entertainment.

Well worth visiting you will be back. Usually you can just call in on spec and pitches are available. But busy weekends, very popular, toilets clean and well fitted. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Luckyluke 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with stunning views - clean and well-equipped showers and wash blocks - well laid-out and flat pitches - little bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Only downside is the wind - if you are in the 'open' Area 3 in a tent and it is windy. Well, let's just say that if you are not well pegged down then you will be looking for your tent near Weymouth. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loopi33 4 reviews from this member

 Went in May hoping for good weather. Was ok apart from strong winds. Felt a little vulnerable but then we were on a cliff. Amazing view. Clean quiet site. Fairly empty. Strange set up for me anyway is that you can pick your own pitch within a certain area. This meant we were able to get great view over bay. Two beaches within walks over cliff- have to be fairly fit though as they are quite steep. Didn't use the bar but the shop was a lifesaver for basics we had absent mindedly forgotten. Great staff service. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Costawad 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this sight a few times in 2009 and it remains our favourite site.

It has everything. In particular the coastline walks and views.The rabbits make it very interesting for our dog.

The toilets are immaculate.

The children's play area is large and away from the pitches but in good view.

Shop restaurant and bar on site all very good.

Cant fault it. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sssnake 38 reviews from this member

 Beautiful location. Well maintained site with excellent shower and toilet blocks.

Motor homers please note that most hard standing pitches we saw, including ours required levelling blocks and some of them were quite severe so I'd advise Milenco Quattros as necessary.

Lovely walks to Eype and Westport and the pub by the old rail terminal serves Palmers ales (which I fell in love with!). 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highlands End Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Highlands End Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highlands End Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Highlands End Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3932 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement