Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highlands End Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Highlands End Holiday Park > Reviews

Highlands End Holiday Park
Eype
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6AR
Tel: 01308 426912
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AdrianPB 6 reviews from this member

 Had 5 great days at this site. We wanted to walk ideally straight from the site, so we didn’t have to move our Motorhome and this site is perfect for this. It is 1/2 mile from Eype (small coastal village with cafes, pub and beach) and West Bay (a lively and vibrant fishing/sailing small port with great cafes etc) and the site opens directly at both southern corners to the coastal path.

There is great walking to be had - both coastal and to Bridport (many owner managed shops and eateries) plus inland. There is a bus service along the A35 which we heard many walkers use.

The site was immaculate, flat or near flat pitches (don’t bother with their hard standing concrete pitches), good facilities (pub and indoor pool which we didn’t use and kids play areas). There were many dog owners - all were on leads (the rule) and there were 2 dog walking fields provided. The site was large enough to find quite areas away from kids play areas etc if wanted. We had a great view.

We loved a seating area with a dozen benches looking due West - were mostly full watching the sunset on the coast each night. We will return 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wynjam 8 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week on this site. We were lucky enough to get a front line pitch with amazing sea views. The pitches at this end of the site were fairly well spread apart with a decent distance between each. However nearer to the toilet blocks the pitches seemed more crowded, although this was probably as this area was mostly occupied by families which as we all know/remember seem to have a lot more 'stuff' that can make pitches appear more crowded. (been there and done that). The staff at the site couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant, special recommendations for the wardens of the touring area who were great.

The weather whilst we were there was variable and as mentioned by other reviewers the front line pitches take a battering when the wind blows, so if you erect an awning make sure you peg it out well.

Can't comment on the leisure facilities as we didn't use them but the toilet blocks were kept fairly clean, not an easy task in the August Holidays.

All in all a really nice stay and would definitely return 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: *deb* 24 reviews from this member

 We had 9 days at this site earlier this summer and would recommend it to anyone looking for a site in the area.

We stayed in South Rye Acres Touring section which is grass pitches with electric and a tap in the field. The bins are also close by.

The views were simply stunning. Really beautiful right on the cliff tops. Unfortunately the first few days saw the entire camping field gutted by 53mph winds with many tents wrecked. It was an uncomfortable few nights being buffeted by high winds with many around us leaving. Once the weather warmed up again we decided to tack a couple of nights onto the end of our trip to make up for it! The staff managed to to change things around so we could stay on as we were going to have to move to another area and back again. Luckily we didn't have to do this.

The toilet facilities were quite a distance from South Rye Acres and they could do with some closer. Signs say to go to your closest block but I would highly recommend going to the other block (on the right if facing away from the sea) as this is far superior to the over subscribed main block (and indeed it has more facilities!).

We made use of the pool several times though in all honesty I didn't realise at the point of booking that swimming facilities were chargeable. This is a slight grievance.

The bar and restaurant are good. The food is fairly average but saves having to cook. We all enjoyed the fire service memorabilia and it was a family talking point, as were the dominoes and games available to play.

The shop was ok if a little basic. There is a cafe attached here though I never saw anyone use it as a cafe which is a huge shame as it has some of the best views on site (Martin's bar looks out across land?). Put Costa in there (They serve in the bar) with a fire and I'd be there like a shot in bad weather / out of season!

The walk to West Bay is beautiful and after a major struggle to find something wholesome to eat (loads of burgers and pasty types) we ended up having the most lovely salad outside at the Sladers Yard Gallery Cafe.

The walk down to the beach is also stunning.

We struggled to find a good sand beach in the area without a long drive out to Poole areas.

The traffic is also horrendous in the height of season. No fault of the site!

All in all, I would definitely return. Love it! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Darren1077 1 review from this member

 Our summer camping trip to Highlands End started perfectly, the staff was very friendly and couldn’t do enough to help us, the Reception area is well kept and the Restaurant/Bar looked great, there is obviously a connection to the local Fire Brigade, and I have never seen so much memorabilia which even includes an old Fire Engine.

The site is kept beautifully and the facilities and and shower blocks are clean and functional. The location of the park is simply stunning, set right on the coast path with amazing sea views as far as the eye can see, the stunning beach is just at the bottom of hill and we walked to Westbay in about 20 minutes, there are playgrounds for the kids, paddocks for ball games and a dog exercise field.

The shop and information centre are well stocked and there is a great leisure facility on site. However unfortunately during our second night the weather took a turn for the worst and an unexpected storm ripped through the entire campsite which is indecently, the most exposed part of the camp being positioned right on the cliff edge. I can only describe the scene as absolute carnage!

At about 1 o’clock in the morning I took my family to the safety of our friends motor home and then spent the next 3 hours repegging my tent as the wind was bending them out like twigs, or helping more unfortunate campers throw their tents and belongings in the bin, my air beam tent was literally pinned flat to the ground by the wind, and was incidentally, the only tent to survive the night as there are no poles that could be broken.

Other campers was simply abandoning their tents and driving off, or seeking refuge in their cars or the shower blocks. At four o’clock in the morning I decided I had seen enough, I threw everything in the back of our car and drove home. Our camping gear was in tatters. I like to coincide myself an experienced camper and outdoor person having spent over 22 years in the army, as well as 4 months training in arctic conditions, however the average campers gear cannot cope with these conditions.

Once again I cannot stress what a beautiful campsite this is with lots to do and see in the local area, but anyone using tents or side awnings should be aware of the potential conditions, a moderate wind on the top of that hill can be nothing less than brutal. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ghart386 32 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first visit to Highlands End and overall very impressed. Apart from a few small niggles which I will come to later.

Excellent location, well laid out site. Our fully serviced hard standing pitch was almost perfectly level, top marks for that.

Facilities very good, shower blocks, toilets, chemical disposal points and washing up areas spotless and well maintained. 10 Amp electrics a little bit weak these days I think? Though only tripped it once, lesson learned.

Martins Bar very good though seemed short staffed on our lunch time visits, not their fault, but a bit of a wait to be served as one girl had to double as food order clerk, waitress and bar tender. Very pleasant girl though and helpful.

Didn't use the leisure club facilities or the pitch n' put course so cannot comment.

We know the area well and love this part of Dorset. Bridport a lovely town with Morrisons and Lidl, good bakers and butchers and takeaways of all descriptions.

Easy walk into West Bay which our Jack Russell loved, in fact it's a really good dog walking area.

Now to my few niggles.

As the site map shows all the pitches and their respective numbers, whether gravel electric, grass electric, hard standing fully serviced, I find it somewhat bizarre that you cannot pre book a specific pitch?

They appear to be allocated on a first come first served basis and if you arrived at the standard check in time of 3PM. 3PM???

You will find that all the best pitches have been snapped up.

In practice, it appears that they release the pitches at approx 1PM and all the old hands know that, worth bearing in mind if it's your first trip. We did notice that there was a 'This pitch reserved' sign on a pitch near us one day. On enquiring at reception whether it was possible to reserve a pitch the answer was only if you specify you have a large unit on booking. I then said that I had specified we had a large air awning which is approximately a metre longer than the caravan when I booked. The response from the officious woman, as her eyes rolled into the back of her head was. 'an awning equals width not length. ' she then pointed to the pitching instructions. When I drew her a diagram of my awing which proved that length, not width, was the issue she seemed to not have a lot to say then.

When the said 'Long Unit' arrived, it was shorter than a twin axle caravan. Be careful when booking!

Also the shower blocks are cleaned way too early in my opinion. Approximately 10.00AM.

This said we will return, now we know the ropes. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Damaca 73 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, on top of a hill near the cliffs so it might be windy in poor weather; we were fortunate to have excellent weather during our stay. The site is clean and tidy and well laid out. Just a few steps brings you onto the Coast Path from where there are lovely walks in both directions. Another path leading directly from the site takes you easily into Bridport (not more than a couple of miles) where we visited the very good Saturday market. The showers and toilet block are spacious and clean; there are good views of the sea from many pitches, and there is a nearby pub in the village of Eype. The paths from the site are well-signpopsted, and one leads past a small nature reserve/pond with a bench for sitting on and observing nature. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarafdean 9 reviews from this member

 Love this site. Our third visit this year. Fully serviced pitch in North Rye area. We ate in bar area with 2 dogs & made very welcome. Staff all very friendly and wash rooms very clean & warm. We find this site an easy tow and really appreciate the closeness to the beach and great dog walking area. We'll be back again next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rawtenstall 1959 4 reviews from this member

 I have been to this site three times in the last three years. The first time was fab, gorgeous weather, views and setting with a lovely hill climb one side of the site and the west bay the other which has lots of seaside attractions and good for children and adults alike.

The second time we went, we managed one night and went home because of 70-100 mile an hour winds but the site team who are amazing, refunded the money over to this year.

We just got back from our third trip there. Again, site in good condition, and its not too 'ruly' or restrictive. Children can run free and have fun and teens also had stuff to do - we went to the weymouth carnival which was good cheesy fun!

The restaurant has been refurbished as needed, it was quite outdated. I hope they do the shower blocks next and build another closer to the camping tents and pods as it is required. The ones there are a good size and functional but need more cleaning at busy times and need the thermostats sorting as 4 were too hot to stand in. The on site shop is well stocked and Bridport Morrison's is close by.

Sadly cut our hols by a day because of another very very windy and gusty night needing extra pegging out in the lashing rain etc and another horrid night forecast. Overall a fab site and would return but may be inclined to get a caravan next time as when the weather is bad, there is no hiding place. D 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Metadimension 3 reviews from this member

 Very disappointed with this site.

Bad points: Only 8 male showers and 8 female showers for over 160 pitches - unless you went at 6. 30am you had to queue. Water almost always luke warm or stone cold and shower water comes out in a dribble. Plenty of noise after 10. 30pm. Dogs roaming off leads. No wardens patrolling (that I saw). People allowed to pitch two large, family tents in one pitch (4 adults, 10 children, 3 dogs!), when told about this, nothing was done. Staff in leisure club rude and unfriendly.

Good points: Martins Bar - Nice modern facility - great beer, good food & reasonable prices. Good location for exploring Dorset (Lyme Regis, West Bay, Bridport, Charmouth etc. ) and just a short walk to the local beach. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigErnie 32 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site previously and it never fails to disappoint. In February when we visited we were arriving in the evening so decided to plan ahead and call in to book a takeaway meal, unfortunately the bar was closed for refurbishment but fortunately the site was still offering a takeaway service out of reception which provided us with a hot and tasty meal on arrival.

The site itself is well looked after with great, clean facilities. The pitches are nice and flat so no problems levelling up and there is easy access to the coast path and the dog walking field to ensure that our dogs are kept happy.

Whilst we generally visit this site in quieter periods the pitches with the lovely sea views are almost always taken, a testament to the beautiful view, fortunately it is still possible enjoy the coastline and the sea air from many of the other well positioned pitches. During this stay we didn’t plan to do much, just a bit of walking off of the site to Colmer’s Hill and then the following day into West Bay to have a browse around ‘The Customs House’ a mix of retro/vintage/bric-a-brac stalls under one roof in an old sea side barn/courtyard area, there are also a couple of pubs and fish and chip cabins near the harbour. We have previously walked into Bridport and also along the coast path in the opposite direction to Seaton and onto Golden Cap.

Would recommend this site to anyone who enjoys camping near the sea and walking. 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highlands End Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Highlands End Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highlands End Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Highlands End Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3921 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement