Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highlands End Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Highlands End Holiday Park > Reviews

Highlands End Holiday Park
Eype
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 6AR
Tel: 01308 426912
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahpea74 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from another fantastic week at Highlands End. Again the site was very well kept and the shower blocks very clean. We had a beautiful viw across Lyme Bay and great weather.

One evening we could see right round to Exmoor! This is now our third visit in just over a year and we loved every minute. Our 8 year old was able to go and play in the playgrounds safely and enjoyed meeting up with some friends from last year.

It was nice to see that there is now a coffee shop at the rear or the shop with views over Eype.

The only downside is the fact that you have to pay for the pool, but this has not put us off from booking a fortnight next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vengabus 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks stay at Highlands end, we were really looking forward to visiting this site after reading such good reviews. Starting with all the positives, the site has fantastic views whichever way you look, the coastal walks to the beach and west bay are lovely, although quite a hike so no good if can't walk very far. The pool sauna and tennis courts are all lovely but you do have to pay extra.

The nearest town is bridport we walked there quite a walk and no pavements took about 45 minutes nice little town. Has a morrisons. The site is well maintained clean and tidy two toilet blocks with plenty toilets and showers.

Unfortunately there are a few more negatives than positives. The main problem with this site is the high winds we have never known wind like it, it was constant from the saturday till the wednesday. We tried to block wind with our van and hedge but made no difference, in our personal opinion if you have a tent or awning this site is not suitable. Although the site cannot predict the weather I feel you should be made aware of it on booking!

The touring pitch is 10 minute walk uphill to shop reception and pool, the shop is poorly stocked and expensive and the staff were a bit abrupt. You have to find your own pitch on arrival driving round waiting for people to leave is not my idea of a good start to my holiday. I'd rather have an allocated pitch ready at a certain time. Most of the pitches are sloped and even with our levellers under still had to catch the pizza when opened the oven!

We enjoyed the last couple of days as the wind died down and the sun came out. We understand that the english weather is unpredictable but the position of the site offers you no shelter from the elements. We will not be re visiting Highlands end as it's not suitable for tents or awnings. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shiraz62 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a great long weekend with friends at Highland's End. As has been said, the site is clean, well laid out and has a well stocked shop, a bar and restaurant and an indoor pool and gym.

All very well if you want a base for a family holiday but we wanted something a bit quieter and were initially a little worried by all the static caravans parked at the top of the site, but once through these and on to the camp site proper, the views open out and we could see all of the bay from Bridport to Lyme Regis. The grass non EHU pitches had the most beautiful views we've seen in England!

There was a short (steep) walk to the beach and plenty of room for the dog to run and run. The sunsets over the sea were amazing. Bats flew above our tent and there were rabbits everywhere.

Our pitch space was plenty big enough and even though the schools have broken up and there were lots of children around, there was lots of space and the views were stunning.

Bridport and the surrounding area are lovely and we would strongly recommend a visit. We will be back next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spook71 4 reviews from this member

 Great camp site, very clean child and dog friendly, would definitely visit again.

There are fenced off dog walking areas at sides of site and a really good children's play area.

Even though the children were off school it was a quiet site,

There is good food to be had from the restaurant the pizza were great, I think you can have take aways from there too,

Couple of gripes was you had to pay for swimming in the indoor pool, but it was very clean and very warm, and the shop was poorly stocked. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ladyp4511 2 reviews from this member

 A wonderful campsite probably the best site I have stayed at. The facilities were top notch incredibly clean with a big dry area in every shower (very important) would you believe piped music in the toilet/shower block. The shop very reasonable prices. Very friendly staff. The views from the site were amazing with fantastic coastal walks, and not too far from the village of West Bay. When the sun wasn't shining it could be a bit windy so pitch your tent in the middle of the site.

Top class camp site would definitely recommend to everyone, also very reasonably priced for camping. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Acea 20 reviews from this member

 Arriving at this easy to find site, on a sunny maunday Thursday, it really was just a stones throw from Bridport. The site has spectacular views and the circular walk from the site down to the beach to chat to the fisherman, back up the cute windy road, with a stop at the hotel bar for a drink and across the foot path back on site.

Site facilities were one of the best; hot showers with cubicles big enough for a family, music. Nice touch! ;great laundry clean well equipped.

Food on site was locally sourced and home made, delicious and reasonable.

Leisure centre was again excellent, could have been warmer for the price.

One last point the site wardens were extremely helpful. Taxi to town was 6 for four not worth the hassle of parking.

Hope to return in the summer. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Had an enjoyable stay at Highlands.

Given the time of year we didn't book and got told on arrival we could select our pitch from those available. It was busier then expected for March and those with the sea views were packed in quite well, we opted for a quieter pitch away from the views.

Our pitch size was fine, but some of them did look a little cramped especially if you have a big unit.

For us the reason for staying was the great walks along the coastal path. Westbay is a nice stroll away and good for a fish n chip stop! Eype is also a stroll away down to the pub and also a licensed restaurant. Both were reasonably priced for an ale and food (although we didn't eat there).

This is a site we'll use again in the quiet season as I expect in summer it's a bit too busy for us. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Niccih 2 reviews from this member

 Great views from this site as you are right up on the clifftop although as reviewers have mentioned before it can be extremely windy - so much so that on our final night I was kept awake for 2 hours due to the noise of the wind and the movement of the caravan!

We didn't bother to put our awning up and to be honest I was glad we didn't due to that wind.

The site itself is clean and well kept. The bar and restaurant are very pleasant and the staff were all cheerful and helpful. We ate once at the restaurant - would recommend the large curries, very tasty and absolutely enormous portions! I don't think we saw anyone actually finish one!

The children's play area was well equipped and in good condition, our 3 year old loved it.

We didn't use the swimming pool on this occasion.

As mentioned, West Bay is easily walkable but the hill coming back was a bit of a mission with a buggy and giving our 3 year old a piggy back the whole way! Also within easy reach are Lyme Regis (great beach), Bridport (pleasant town for a wander) and Charmouth (for fossiling. )

Our only complaint is that the pitches were quite close together and whilst there was no problem in terms of noise it did make them difficult to get into when arriving. Luckily we arrived on a Thursday and there were very few people there but by the Friday evening most pitches were taken and anyone without a motor mover was having great difficulty in backing their caravans in due to the tight angle needed.

Will definitely be investing in a motor mover as we would definitely not have got in (caravan is 6 berth so quite large) if we had arrived later.

We will be staying here again in the future. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Teljan 1 review from this member

 This is our 2nd visit to Highlands End, and the weather was glorious. The site has amazing views and good coastal walks which even we can manage, and we consider the pitch sizes to be very generous.

The only downside this time was that a visiting CC rally had reserved all the best pitches, so although we arrived early the pitches were limited and the site was packed. On enquiring, we were told we would not be able to reserve a pitch in future as this was against site policy! One rule for the CC---.

We cannot fault the location of this site, and it is maintained very well. One small niggle is the short burst of hot water in the shower, necessitating repeatedly pushing the knob to restart the water.

We will definitely be returning to Highlands End as, although a large site, it feels open and spacious. With regard to the high winds, it is essential to invest in an awning strap to secure your awning or tent. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathy1962 1 review from this member

 Stayed here and loved every bit of it.

Myself my Fiance and our Labradoodle Rolf.

We were able to choose our own pitch from a selection of grass with hook up and were lucky enough to get one right on the edge by the fence with spectacular sea views. (Millinaires row so we were told) A very short walk to the huge dog excercise field where Rolf made lots of doggy friends. It is on a steep slope so not ony wore out the dogs but owners to.

Pitch was large and we did not feel cramped by other vans.

The area is good for exploring either by car or on foot some nice if hard walks from the campsite. West bay just a mile away over the cliff top. We went to the beacon which is virtually straight up then on to seatown for a drink in the nice pub. Charmouth is good for fossile hunting.

The on site facilities were also good nice little shop and tourist info. Wifi was the cheapest we have found did not use it though. Showers were good dressing area with hooks and a bench so nothing gets wet while showering. Push button but plenty of hot water. Also separate wash basins to just have a wash. We found them to be always clean warm and never had to queue. Music playing was a nice touch.

Washing up sinks were outside and under cover as was the chemical toilets. Did not use the pool so cant comment. Unfortunatley did not use the bar or restraunt found ourselfs to tired after a day out walking.

All in all we had a lovely holiday.

Yes it gets windy and our first night was very windy. But peg your awning down well and use a storm strap and it will be fine! After all you are on an open cliff top We stayed 6 nights and had 2 and half nights of wind and a bit of rain one night. Sunsets are lovely to watch.

We will definitely be back! 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highlands End Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Highlands End Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highlands End Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Highlands End Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3952 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement