Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Widdicombe Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Torquay > Widdicombe Farm Touring Park Reviews

Widdicombe Farm Touring Park
The Ring Road
Compton
Torquay
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ3 1ST
Tel: 01803 558325
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Mid March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 116 Reviews
                8/10 from 116 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Scoobyjoe 3 reviews from this member

 This site is just ok not the best we've stayed on for atmosphere, some, not all, of the staff really need to go on a customer care and learn to smile course, a bit too grumpy for us, and we've never stayed on a site where children can't ride a bike or scooter on the park.

The best bit of our stay has to be when we went into Poppy's cafe for takeaways, what a difference the staff are, very welcoming and the youngsters that served us are a credit to there parents very well mannered and polite, the food was just as good especially the lasagne very tasty.

The toilets were very clean and the showers were nice and hot. The play area was good and had a trampoline, which was popular with the kids.

Overall I don't think we would return as our grandson likes his bike and couldn't understand why he couldn't have it out of the boot of the motorhome. 


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RICHARD.A 9 reviews from this member

 Nice site not large but adequate.

Staff were friendly and toilets and showers were always clean.

Didn't use the restaurant but looked nice.

Children's play area was ok decent size.

Site a bit too near to the main road for our liking too much traffic noise. Due to this didn't return to the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speedymcgreedy 2 reviews from this member

 First impressions were good. However, did not last long.

Booking in was fast and friendly. A good start. We were put on cloverfield which was adults only. A shame about the pitch. It was filthy, hardly any grass, and was so stony (apparently clay) that every tent peg that we put in the ground was bent horribly.

Had an evening meal in 'poppies' on the night we arrived. I was unlucky enough to be able to see into the kitchen to find that the lasagne that someone had ordered was a microwaveable meal brought from a supermarket and charged at £6 ish. The curry that my Partner and I had came out of a tin and cost £5.85. This is not my idea of freshly cooked food.

The evening entertainment is aimed at the older generation. The family area is on the other side of the bar so the chance of having a quiet drink is slim to none.

The washing facilities were clean and tidy but needed better lighting. My partner was not impressed with the male facilities however. You are charged to use the hairdryers provided.

The walkway between the pitch and the amenities was muddy and sloping. As it rained pretty much all week, it was incredibly slippery.

The campsite is relatively quiet during the evening, although you can hear the rush of traffic as it is situated at the side of a dual carriageway. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carken 4 reviews from this member

 We've stayed on this site 6 times now, always on adults only pitches as we like the peace and quiet. It's a very clean,well maintained site with excellent facilities and very friendly staff.

We usually stay on their super sites with all the amenities included which are brilliant as I can use the shower in my van without my water running out!

As others have said the shop is pricey but the restaurant is really handy and very reasonably priced. I can't comment on the entertainment as we haven't tried it yet but they always seem to have something on.

Excellent touring base as there are lots of places to visit in the area.

Admittedly, the roads do get very,very busy but we bought a Devon / Cornwall mapbook which shows all the little country lanes. Problem solved! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lilycote 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a long weekend 23rd July - 28th July. Glorious weather.

The staff at reception were cheerful, helpful and friendly, we were in Clover field, an adult only area with about 14 largish pitches, all of which appeared nice and flat, about half had ehu. They were all tents of varying sizes, from 2 man pup tents to things the size of a mansion!

We were close to the campsite amenities, albeit down some steps and a slope, The washblocks were immaculate with plenty of showers, sinks and lavs.

We ate a couple of times at 'poppy's cafe' which is unlicsensed but they are happy for you to take your own wine and glasses (or cider or whatever your poison) The food wasn't adventurous but it was freshly cooked and tasty and not too expensive about £6 a main course. We also treated ourselves to a breakfast and that was good value and very nice. Once again the staff were friendly and helpful, the waitress was a bit ditzy but very nice!

The shop had limited opening hours and was pretty basic and you need to order a newspaper the day before.

The laundrette looked ok although we didn't use it, there was a small 'library' in there and we did some book swapping.

Our favourite was the bar! We had hours of amusment, there is a good entertainer on Friday nights, very funny, karaoke on Saturdays, they must have found the worst 'singers' in the UK when we were there, so we were playing 'name that tune'. Everyone was so friendly in the bar we were never without someone chatting to us.

All in all a good campsite the only downsides are - its near a busy road, but we had our bikes and could use the bridle path to the village then the lanes to the beach but going out in the car was a pain with all the traffic. The nearest beach was prob 3 miles away, down hill all the way, coming back was a hard slog though

There are lots of negative notices DON'T DO THIS AND DON'T DO THAT. We were asked not ride our bikes on the site as it 'encourages children!' make of that what you will!

We liked this place and if we're down that way again we will def stay there 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sartheteach 5 reviews from this member

 What a FAB site - the best weve been on so far! We stayed on the adults only field and it was so lovely and quiet. The toilets etc were spotlessly clean and ive never seen a chemical toilet disposal so clean. We didnt use the bar so cant comment but the little shop was useful.

The only little niggle is that we stayed on the B field and children were coming up and using the toilets which really should have been adults only as a few times they were unsupervised and didnt flush - a sign would have been useful.

On the subject of signs we didnt think there were too many - we didnt see many at all! THe site is just off the ringroad so you do end up driving most places but a bus does run into Torquay if you request it.

Overall it is a fab site and well worth a visit - we think it should be a 5 star! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tnt2387 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived at Widdicombe Farm at approx. 0100 in the morning after driving 6 hours and were glad that there was a field that we were able to pitch in.

When we went down to the reception in the morning, we found the receptionist to be very friendly and helpful.

We were situated in the couples only field and were happy enough with the site. We had a warden beside us who helped get our caravan onto the site, which was helpful. They also had a parrot, which gave us amusement with its various noises!

The toilet blocks were spotless and laundry room was convenient with members of staff on hand to deal with any problems.

There were many signs on the site, as someone else has said, but they were there for the convenience of users of the site. One I will mention is that people should not use their cars to travel to the toilet blocks or shop, however these signs were ignored by the usual campers that either can't read or think they don't apply to them!

We went to the club house and found it very nice with a good atmosphere. Although one of the barmen could have been a bit more pleasant. He was beside us on the site and never once said hello!

However, I would recommend this campsite and will certainly stay at it again if we are down that neck of the woods again. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chandler 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely clean and well maintained site.Toilets/shower blocks were spot less with regular cleaning sessions during the day.Disabled facilities were one of the better one we have come across this year.The signs regarding acceptable behaviour by all using the site were a bit annoying but we felt contributed greatly to the maintenance of the site.The staff were friendly and very helpful no matter how small the problem.

The children's play area (we have no children) we felt was a bit small and in need of a rethink including its position relative to those campers who require its usage.

The dog exercise area was of reasonable size but those campers with large dogs might find it a bit on the small size

The site facilities were accessible and central to all although the shop was poorly stocked and overpriced.The restaurant small for the size of the site but the food was excellent and reasonably priced.Views excellent,central for sightseeing,entertainment superb!Value for money?.Yes! Will definitely visit again and unquestionably recommend! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Drogers86 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Widdicombe Farm for a week in August. The staff on arrival were very friendly and helpful. Large pitch that fitted a tent and car easily, seem to be crammed in a bit though. Pitch also became very wet and muddy when we had a few days of bad weather as the drainage seems to be poor.
You get the impression that they are not keen on young adults being on their site as you get a few glaring looks from various staff! Shop is small and overpriced. The beer in the bar is flat and  has a lack of variety in lager. Also the entertainment is poor but this is probably because the site is for the older person. Toilet blocks are very clean and well maintained. Breakfasts in the restaurant are very nice and reasonably priced. Plenty to do in the area and good access to Torquay, Paignton etc(Roads can get very busy though!) 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arno 1 review from this member

 I would recommend this site to anyone. 
VERY clean showers, toilets and general site.  They have a nice little restaurant and also good Bar B Que food on the nights that there is entertainment in the bar.  While on this subject entertainment is of a very high standard.
I also liked the separation of families from adults only in the clubhouse, but everyone could enjoy everything.
Being on the ring road you could get any where very easily. 


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Widdicombe Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Torquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5936 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement