Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Widdicombe Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Torquay > Widdicombe Farm Touring Park Reviews

Widdicombe Farm Touring Park
The Ring Road
Compton
Torquay
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ3 1ST
Tel: 01803 558325
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Mid March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 116 Reviews
                8/10 from 116 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Juliesomerset 36 reviews from this member

 Easily accessed campsite off the ring road - which was the reason we chose it - beautiful location - stunning views from some of the higher pitches -pitches are tiered and unfortunately we were put in the lower tier which was exceptionally tricky to get down into, our tow-bar gouged a path down and it was really tricky to get back up the slope again when we left - but apart from that the facilities are lovely, the team who take care of the site are lovely and the toilets are so well kept - the hay-loft bar was nice for an evening drink and there was nightly entertainment -my only gripe was the late opening time of 8pm - there is a cafe on site which was marvellous - open for food all day - great breakfasts, dinners etc - we loved the walk down into Marldon village - 2 very good pubs there, found the bus service locally to be very poor - went into Brixham by bus and it took an hour and a half - buses so crowded and dogs were payable, unlike Cornwall and Dorset- all in all a lovely site, would return but on a different pitch 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 I just didn’t click with this site and in hindsight I wish I’d stayed somewhere else. Firstly one has to mention the elephant in the room that is the noise from the road, it is quite horrendous and starts early and finishes late.

Also talking loud noises, it was right at the start of the season and you expect some work to be going on, unfortunately I was placed on a pitch next to an area of constant tree cutting starting about 9am and continuing all day. Oh well, at least that drowned out the noise from the road.

I like to park my van and then rely on public transport or good old shank’s pony, this site isn’t great for that, the nearest bus being a good mile away and the local footpaths could be confused with the local tip as there was so much flytipping.

On the plus side the facilities were good, clean, kept warm and the shower cubicles were massive. Also everyone I met on site was very friendly.

If the site was located better I would be consider staying there again, but Torquay, Paignton and Brixham did not really do it for me with parts just being too run down to be classed at tourist destination, although Totnes is a real gem. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul n linda 11 reviews from this member

 Me my wife and frank the dog stayed on the clover pitches in july. On arrival we had car trouble which the car dumped all of its oil and the staff were very understanding and helpful. Thanks to the AA too.

its a large site which is cleverly divided into little offshoots which run off the road which goes through the entire site. Its a very peaceful site with lovely views over the countryside (depending which part of the site youre on. ) torquay and Paignton are only a couple or so miles away with various supermarkets for supplies. There is a small shop on site which stocks most of the essentials. The very picturesque town of brixham is well worth a visit too.

The toilets/showers are quiete spacious and are kept to a very high standard of cleanliness. They do have a bar/clubhouse on site which only opens at 8pm every night which seemed to have a varied selection of entertainment on most nights. It also has a large dog walk that is regularly mowed so you can let your dogs off for some excersize too. We have already booked the same site and pitch for next year.

Forgot to mention out daughter and her boyfriend came too but stayed in a tent in the well presented camping field. A big thumbs up from them too.

a really pleasant stay, thank you. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daffodil1941 45 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site I will put the good points first the large toilet block is second to none and nothing has been spared to make it clean and well laid out very impressed even the small one is clean and as a privacy cubicle. The staff were very friendly and helpful and last but not least the club house, its only small but we enjoyed our two evenings there first night a male singer he was good and second night bingo which we had not played for years and was fun. The things that we were a little disappointed with were the shop which opened odd hours but only really stocked the necessities but you could order papers for next day the small café/restaurant we did not use so cannot comment a fish and chip van comes one night again did not use, but I was uncomfortable with pitch sizes and felt we were all tucked in and could see into every ones windows. Overhall a good site for a couple days being an adult only but you do need a car or good legs for walk to bus stops 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suzanne w 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely stay here. Staff very friendly and helpful. They put us next to the dog exercise area, we have two boarder collies, which was very helpful. Toilet and shower block were the best I have seen very modern and clean. They had entertainment every night at their pub, three nights in a week is bingo. We had sunday dinner in the Poppies restaurant, which was very good. Shop is well stocked. The only down side was the noisy traffic as it is by A330, rooster who my partner thinks started at three in the morning then kept going, sea gulls felt they had to join in and then other birds. So bring ear plugs, or drink lots at the pub the night before. It was very handy to get to places and we could walk to Compton castle National Trust. Nice size pitches too, in flat ground all very clean. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pallett 14 reviews from this member

 This is a really lovely site, it is on a hill side and laid out in terraces so it is hilly which gives a big bonus of good size pitches which are not invaded by people walking through them. The facilities are equal to any Caravan Club site we have been on and were spotless while we were there. One addition which would be very useful would be a drive over motor home waste point, other than that a nice site we would certainly return to. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy and maz 11 reviews from this member

 My husband and I spent 8 nights here during a visit to Devon. The staff were so helpful when we booked as we kept changing our minds about what dates and pitch we wanted and they were able to shuffle things around for us to give us exactly what we wanted. We ended up with an amazing pitch right at the top of the site with stunning views over the countryside. The main toilet block was spotlessly clean with lots of showers, loos and wash stations. There where also smaller toilet blocks on the site, and while smaller and not as posh as the main one they are still perfectly acceptable. The Hayloft Bar was also fine for a few evening drinks and provided some form of entertainment every night including live singer, karaoke, comedy act and bingo (damn you number 54, I could have been £90 richer)!

The traffic noise from the dual carriage way by pass can be heard at night depending on wind direction - take ear plugs if you think tis will bother you like we did.

Poppies restaurant is a separate business but I thought I'd give it a mention anyway. We had Sunday dinner there which was lovely and two evening meals. On our last night we decided to eat there again but our meals took 55 minutes to arrive. We had apologies from the waiter but to us 9pm to start our meal was a bit late. The restaurant is only small and was not even half full so there didn't seem to be a reasonable explanation for this. However I can't fault the food. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mothergriff 4 reviews from this member

 This site will be one that I will be returning to, Staff are friendly and nothing to much trouble. Toilet and shower blocks are immaculate hot water and seats to sit on. Site is kept in tip top condition. Small shop with just about all you need, a bar which depending on time of the season has entertainment and a café /restaurant which we didn't get the opportunity to use but was busy when we passed by it. Pitches were a decent size and we were not on top of each other. If I had any negatives it would be paying for Wi-Fi and the go-cart track across the road which interrupts the quite peaceful site. All in a great site at a great price. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richardvip545 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 5 day stay. We were on 'Poppy 9' pitch.

Lovely site, brilliant welcome from reception staff. The downside for me, and it is nothing to do with site staff, is the way some other visitors left the toilets, if they do it in their own homes then they have a serious problem! I felt sorry for the cleaning staff having to go in there. Other than that lovely. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dawhee 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely camp, toilet and showers kept very clean, staff very sociable and friendly just outside Torquay. The only thing we were disappointed with was the views going off the internet pictures thought all the plots had a lovely view and when booked asked for a pitch with a view but was very disappointed has we were allocated a pitch right at the bottom of the camp without a view. Would visit this camp again but would want to book a pitch with the view. 


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Widdicombe Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Torquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5724 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement