Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Widdicombe Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Torquay > Widdicombe Farm Touring Park Reviews

Widdicombe Farm Touring Park
The Ring Road
Compton
Torquay
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ3 1ST
Tel: 01803 558325
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Mid March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 116 Reviews
                8/10 from 116 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heather2 3 reviews from this member

 Very noisy road noise site as right next to a dual carriageway, quite a dangerous exit as fast moving traffic.

Clean facilities.

Shop and bar opening hours quite restricted.

As I am disabled I booked by phone to ensure being near to toilet block. Checked again when booking in to be told it was just behind pitch. Only after pitching and putting up awning did we find it was a fair way away up slope and steps. Too much trouble to move pitch.

Dog walk field VERY small and nowhere nearby to walk.

Lots of places to visit nearby by car

Wouldn’t go again 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sueandbilly 5 reviews from this member

 Came back again this year for 2 weeks, beautiful weather, fabulous site, spotlessly clean toilets and shower blocks, good food in 'Poppy's' Staff are most helpful especially Sandy.

Great club house, 'The Hay Loft', evening entertainment is brilliant, especially the two singers/comedians, Allen Roberts and Andy Oakley, when Andy holds court, there is not a dry eye in the house, be warned take a hanky with you to mop up the tears of laughter.

We will definitely return again next year.

My only gripes are, the toast for breakfast in 'Poppy's' needs to be toasted, as at the moment it comes on the plate looking very pale.

The toilet waste is just a tiled hole in the ground, so you need to bend yourself in double to get the cassette nozzle close enough to the hole, other wise your feet and legs get splashed with the contents of your cassette, as many of the caravanners on site are of senior years they may not be as flexible as the younger ones.

The fully serviced pitches have a toilet bowl at their disposal for cassette waste so why is this not the case elsewhere?

Finally why do we have to pay an extra premium to hold your chosen pitch on top of the pitch fee plus a booking fee as well, smacks of greed I feel.  


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tilly and Taz 2 reviews from this member

 Good site, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely toilets and showers - nice and clean and wonderful size of shower cubicles, only negative comment I would make is the gravel, really need to take a lump hammer as hard to get pegs in and soil is rather messy if it has rained as it leaves a not very nice colour on ground sheets 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patriciag 2 reviews from this member

 We have visited this campsite several times and always received the same friendly welcome. The staff are very helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay a happy one.

The pitches are cleverly arranged into four areas which are terraced and therefore lends itself to some lovely views over the countryside.

The utility blocks have recently been refurbished with walk in type showers with plenty of hot water. These facilities are always kept spotlessly clean.

There is a small shop and a cafe which serves reasonably priced tasty meals to eat In or take-away. There is also a bar with entertainment every night, ranging from bingo, karaoke and some very good singers and comedians. Being an adult only site means you have the best of both worlds. Relaxing peaceful days and wonderful entertainment at the bar in the evening.

Finally it's very easy to get to without having to drive through narrow lanes and it's also close to many interesting places to visit such as Paignton, Torquay, Brixhm, Totnes and much more.

I would not hesitate to recommend this site to anyone visiting the south west. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Carlydeb 4 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 3 nights here on our way back from Cornwall. The site is easy to access, staff are friendly. The site itself is tired, the pitches are cinder type surface which walks into your outfit. The pitches are reasonable size but lined up and facing into the person opposites window. The pitches are steep terraces so not a very attractive outlook. We had a serviced pitch which had a water tap and drain on, however next to our pitch was a toilet surrounded by a wooden fence which was the chemical toilet emptying not the prettiest of scenes! The back of our pitch was a motorway crash barrier! That ran the full length of the pitches. Toilet block was immaculate very spacious cubicles and spotlessly clean. Poppys restaurant was brilliant the food was 5 star, very well priced and delicious good menu and wine. The club/pub is dated has a horrid black ceiling with millions of white fairy lights in it and Xmas lights and holly on the bar in June???? The pub is not dog friendly entertainment takes priority over everything else. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Printini 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned after another lovely week here. The staff are so friendly and kind, always chat and will go out of their way to help if needed. The facilities are probably the best we have had to use, so clean. The site has very easy access and is a good base for touring south Devon. The clubhouse was open every evening with a variety of entertainment. There is a small shop that sells essentials and a small restaurant, we did have breakfast one morning, was really good. There is also a mobile chip van on a Tuesday, they were nice too. Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Burcyluton 7 reviews from this member

 Large friendly site, first time staying on an adults only site. We just needed a stop over for one night, here are our thoughts.

Good points:

- very clean facilities

- reception very helpful and informative

- great service and a friendly chat with the cafe staff

- people friendly and chatty, even to us one night stoppers

- good access to nearby tourist areas

Not so good:

- price, expensive at £27 for one night

- unless the on site bar is for you its a drive in a car for anything else

- the main road noise never stops

- some site rules are a little weird, eg no rotary washing lines (even though the wardens clearly had them), and strictly no underwear to be displayed.

All in all it did us a turn, but prob not somewhere we would choose to visit again - only because we'd prefer the option to cycle/walk from - but for a one night stop was just fine for us. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TomMac 27 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week, well informed welcome when we arrived, very easy to get to; no small village roads. The site is sloping and had good, level pitches on terraced sections. At night there is little lighting of the roads and stairs, so torches are a good idea. There is a small carpark near reception and the main toilet block and I saw many older people driving rather than walking. There is a café/restaurant that serves breakfast and meals. There's a pub which has nightly entertainment such as karaoke and singers come along. The last night we had bingo and a raffle. The prizes were on the table and you could pick whatever one you wanted. We bought our tickets the night before, we noticed that all the new people who bought tickets on the night, had their numbers come up, so buy your tickets on the night of the raffle! Also saw a worker win a prize, that shouldn't be allowed.

There are 3 toilet blocks, on the left on the hill was a small shower and toilet block, the main big one next to reception had several toilets, showers and laundry and another toilet block on the lower right had just two toilets each. The cleaning team do a good job of keeping everything clean, they are always in and out which is a bit uncomfortable sometimes. Some people mention traffic noise, but we really didn't have a problem with it, all we heard was someone shooting occasionally.

The park has a good dog policy; no aggressive breeds, and most importantly; no children! Absolutely brilliant, so peaceful.

While here we went to Babbacombe Minature Village, Bygones Museum, and in Torquay; Amusements and mini golf, Living Coasts 'zoo' where you can walk in the penguin and seabird enclosure. In Paignton we also did mini golf, amusements on the pier and the Zoo. The Zoo was very busy and has a lot of walking, if you're game, get there early and avoid the mums and prams brigade and you also may be able to park close to the entrance. Cockington thatched village is also worth a look. We also drove to Brixham, took the 5 minute ferry across to Dartmouth and then onto Totnes and finally Haytor Rocks in Dartmoor. Our sat nav actually took us from Haytor and back to Widdicombe farm via all farm lanes, we didn't go onto a main road once. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 31 reviews from this member

 First do read the directions section the Sat Nav will create huge problems for larger units. The sites own directions are simple and fool proof.

Road noise has been mentioned several times, the A380 is on the top of the hill on the other side of the valley. Yes you could hear the traffic but it never kept us awake. If you want ultimate peace and quiet there are plenty of suitable sites out there.

We were at the top of Apple Blossom field which meant we never used the main facilities block. The smaller one near us presented no problems. No lack of hot water, always clean. Only one male shower, two unisex are available, but I only waited once.

The reception staff I dealt with were friendly and helpful.

The pitches we were on are a double width hard standing with a single width grass area along side. A normal car with normal caravan and average awning with have a bit of room to spare. The terraced nature of the site means the pitches are mostly arranged in straight rows which can feel a little regimented.

We did not sample the entertainment or the restaurant.

The Nippy Chippy van cancelled when we were there, a sign on the entry road would have been nice as we did not go via reception to reach Apple Blossom field. We fancied fish and chips so drove down to Torquay town, can recommend the Blue Anchor chip shop, huge portions.

Loved visiting the Al La Ronde a unique hexagon shaped National Trust property set on a hill above Exmouth. Had cream tea on the lawn overlooking the river estuary. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bilko99 1 review from this member

 The site was fine the staff very friendly and the facilities were as to be expected. We did however object most strongly to having to pay £5 for two friends to visit us on the site for one and a half hours, because they wanted to see our camper-van. I know that it is an adult only site and understand that this may be necessary as it is a working farm but it is a shame that our grandchildren couldn't visit us. 


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Widdicombe Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Torquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5770 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement