Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Widdicombe Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Torquay > Widdicombe Farm Touring Park Reviews

Widdicombe Farm Touring Park
The Ring Road
Compton
Torquay
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ3 1ST
Tel: 01803 558325
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Mid March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 116 Reviews
                8/10 from 116 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicky Hatherell 20 reviews from this member

 Just got home today from a weekend at this site. We had lovely views from our pitch, and were very close to a toilet block / washing up facilities, as were most places I believe as there are a number of blocks.

The toilets were the cleanest I have ever seen and the hot water was very hot. I like a hot shower as well as to wash dishes in very hot water. The showers are free - more often we are finding we need to pay for them, but not here.

The site seemed extremely well organised and efficient.

The only negative perhaps is the vicinity to the main road - many could view that as a positive but we could hear the traffic more than we would have liked. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vardra 3 reviews from this member

 Restaurant was good, both with regards to the service and the food.

Pitches were small and we couldn't erect any wind breaks despite having a large pitch, due to the lack of space.

The sound of the dual carriageway is very audible.

Although the site was spotless, there are many warning signs and the rule book that we were told to adhere to. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: THURSDAYS CHILD 1 review from this member

 A bit too regimental for us. Well maintained and clean. When my sister and brother-in-law came from their site to visit us it was not allowed as they had their 2 very old shelties with them and there is a charge for visiting, even though, apart from the toilets any facilities they might have used, have to be paid for.
We were put on an adults only area which was very difficult to manoeuvre on even though our van is not a huge one. Strict instructions for placing car, van and awning were given on arrival! OK for people who like to be managed. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jmvandelft 1 review from this member

 Just came back from another stay at Widdicombe Farm. We've been several times now and have always found it a great place to stay. I have read some of the other reviews and can't understand what the problem is. The staff in reception are very welcoming and happy to help. The entertainment is excellent, the bar prices are very reasonable too. You could not fault the cleanliness of the park and the wardens keep all the toilets and showers spotless.

We find the park family friendly. It is not a commercial site so whilst it might not be the right park for those with lots of children or teenagers, it is good for the average young family. They have a separate field for families, which we find very good as our children can chatter and play with others and although as responsible parents we supervise our children, we can relax knowing that we are sharing our area with other like minded people and that our children are not disturbing people who are looking for a quieter holiday.
I'am sure the people booking on the adult only fields appreciate being separate.

The only down side for us is that it gets booked quickly so you need to book early which I suppose is a plus for the park as it must mean they're doing something right. I must say though, I haven't noticed all this signing people go on about, the only signs I see are those giving useful information or advice. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hannahgib69 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here Farm last weekend and my impressions are quite mixed.

On arrival I was surprised at the proximity of the site to the main road. We were put on an adult only area at the top of the site where the pitches were so narrow we could barely get the tent on it without sticking onto the road. We were warned that the heavy rainfall this summer meant that some of the pitches were waterlogged, and it was very pretty, but there's nothing that can be done about that. However, the location did mean that there was nothing between us and the road, and although it wasn't that bad, it seems motorcycles use the ring road as a race track well into the night. It was really noticeable when the road got quiet (between about 1am and 7am).

The wash block that served our pitch area was well located but only consisted of one shower, 2 toilets and 2 sink units. There is another larger block 250 yards away by the main reception, but who wants to trek that far when camping. It was much more basic than I was expecting, both from a site of this size and from previous reviews.

However, this was the first time we had stayed on a site with entertainment. The bar was well priced and we went to the karaoke night on Saturday. The long term residents were welcoming, staff were friendly and we had a great time.

I won't be going back to this site, but I would imagine for those on the lower pitches (greater access to shower blocks and protected from the road noise) this is a good site.

The facilities for families are great and I cannot fault the location, so I wouldn't discourage others from giving it a go. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colin j 3 reviews from this member

 This site is perfect for visiting local attractions of Torquay, Paington, Brixham & Babbercombe. All within 10-20 mins by car.

The site consists of tiered cul-de-sac type roads, pitches are large enough but the roads leading to them are very narrow, no place to pass if you meet someone coming in the opposite direction, Adult and family areas are separated.

On approach to the site, off a very busy and fast main road (no road noise on site) you go past a well-equipped children’s play area, with signs giving strict play times.

To reception manned by polite, helpful and knowledgeable staff, attached is a small shop selling basic essentials with a newspaper ordering service, next door there is a small restaurant selling a good variation in foods, cooked fresh and to a good standard and no more expensive that eating off site. They also arrange BBQ nights

Opposite there is a clubhouse split in two, one area for adults only and a family friendly area. Entertainment is provided each evening.

There are three amenity blocks on site, two small and one large one near reception, they house the biggest shower cubicles I have ever seen and they are all kept spotless.

This site is let down a little with some long term residents who adorn their pitches with trinkets and pots full of weeds (including one of the wardens vans)

This is a good site, with a little extra effort, weeding paths, flower beds, painting etc it could become an excellent site, looking forward to a return visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Matt-lucie 15 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from this campsite and I was disappointed. They really do not seem to like families on this site. In fact I overheard a conversation between someone in reception and a warden about ‘being glad when the damn kids are gone and back in school’. Nice eh?

On the plus sides for kids there is a good and well kept play area with trampoline. However that is it! They do say you can play ball games in the top field which is very small and really not part of the site and right next to an extremely busy duel carriage way. So no need to add that during our stay although loads of kids were staying on the site no parent in their right mind would allow a child to venture up there. There is also a rule about no cycles, scooter, skateboards or roller stakes anywhere on site.

Families are all placed in the hilly field with only 3 toilets, 1 shower, two hand basins and two washing up points for about 80 pitches. These were right at the top of a steep hill, other than that then families were allowed to use facilities near reception but no way are children to venture into adult only area. However to be fair toilets, sinks and showers were always very clean. That is the major plus point for the site.

There are signs everywhere on this site listing the ways that you can get thrown off for disobeying rules. My particular favourite was the rule outside the family bathroom saying that any parent who allows a child under 10 to use the toilet alone will be asked to leave the site immediately. Now what about common sense here? I am sure a 7, 8 and 9 year old can manage to use a toilet without their Mums and Dads with them. The signs made you feel like you were constantly in trouble.

Another major segregation point was in the bar area. I imagined that when they described a family room they meant a separate room, but no what this is, is one large room that has a iron partition down the middle with signs all over saying children MUST NOT pass this point. So all the families were crammed into half of the room and all the entertainment directed themselves towards the adult section and we were ignored. The dance floor was in the adult only section too and one night a young boy aged about 4 or 5 was crying because he was not allowed to go and dance with his Dad as it was across the divide. Everyone was complaining about it and many families made similar comments.

Good points.

For adults only this is a great site. It is clean and well kept. It is also a good location for Torquay and Paignton.

Poppy’s cafe is a really excellent place. The food is of a high standard and the staff are very friendly. No complaints there at all.

Bad points.

Shop is too small and expensive.

Pitches are small and organised like a housing estate.

Although the play area is good for kids it is situated on the main thoroughfare for cars.

No ball field.

Not enough facilities for showering etc

No cycling, roller-skating etc.

TOO MANY SIGNS!

Overall as you can gather from this review I am very disappointed. This is only the second time in years of camping that I have given a negative review of a site. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NeilandEmma 7 reviews from this member

 Like another review we felt they were not keen on young adults staying on site. Our pitch was tiny and very cramped. The facilities were clean. I think the site is aimed at the older person. When we walked in the bar, we were stared at and it was very uncomfortable. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arsenal fan 29 reviews from this member

 Arrived here without booking as it was mid sept bit of a hassle to get pitched but were put lower down the site where pitches were quite close together didn't matter as the vans next to us were not occupied and as we left before the weekend I image it would very cramped at peak times.

Toilets and showers were excellent separate disabled unit which was well used maybe there is need for another somewhere else on site as people used cars to get there making it a pain getting unit through to pitches. However we liked this site and its easy access to Torbay thought it was a bit pricey but if you used the club with its entertainment well worth it.

We would come here again and use adult area

As we have been told kids are plentiful during peak season. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tnt2387 4 reviews from this member

 This is the second year in a row that we have been to Widdicombe Farm and we received the same excellent service that you would expect to receive when on holiday.

We arrived at approx. 01.00 and used the overnight field, which was really handy for us with arriving so late.

We went to the reception in the morning to check-in and were greeted with the same young lady who checked us in the previous year and received the same friendly and professional manner that we did last time.

We were given our site number on the adult only site and were not disappointed with the nice flat pitch.

The toilets were spotless as usual with mop buckets and sponges to clean up after yourself, if you wished to do so.

The people on the site were friendly, which was nice. This is probably due to the size of the site. I found that larger sites are very 'mass productive' with people tending to keep them selves to them selves. However on this site it's very friendly indeed.

If you dont have your own transport you can contact reception who will organise the local bus to stop to take you to Torquay. They also have a large selection of leaflets on nearby tourist attractions and discounts for selected sites.

There is plenty of room for kids to play and the adult only site means you don't have to put up with kids kicking balls and annoying people, which I think a lot of other sites should have but sadly don't.

There was no bicycles allowed and people had to walk to the toilets, which I know a lot of people didnt like, but sure the exercise will do them good. At least you weren't avoiding cars and tripping over cycles that had been left lying all over the place.

The entertainment was good throughout the week with Friday night being the best for us. He was a singer / comedian, sorry I forget his name, however he was very good. Kids were allowed into the club house too but were not allowed near the bar area, which was good.

The only thing about the entertainment was that it ended too early 11.00ish. We also liked the way Gordon and Thelma got up at the end of the night and thanked everyone for coming. Very personal touch.

Because we were there last year we were charged last years prices.

We will definitely be back if we decide to go down to the south of England next year.

Keep up the good work Gordon Thelma and staff. EXCELLENT! 


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Widdicombe Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Torquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4458 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement