Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Widdicombe Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Torquay > Widdicombe Farm Touring Park Reviews

Widdicombe Farm Touring Park
The Ring Road
Compton
Torquay
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ3 1ST
Tel: 01803 558325
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Mid March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 112 Reviews
                8/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SaucyMinx 6 reviews from this member

 As soon as we heard the Caravan sites were open, we contacted Widdecombe Farm who were very accommodating. We booked a Premium pitch which was huge, fully serviced and had fantastic views. We arrived early, but because our pitch was ready we were allowed to set up immediately.

The site is lovely and quiet, very clean and peaceful. The staff are friendly and helpful. We expected the showers and toilet block to be shut, but they opened them up which was a bonus. The on site bar was opened also.

Social distancing was adhered to at all times. We would not hesitate to stay at Widdecombe Farm again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Maljb 1 review from this member

 We decided to stay at this site because it was handy for all areas of Torbay. However, unless you get in the car to go places you are trapped on the site, we did do one walk down the lane next to the site but it is very narrow and not ideal.

The website says there are bus stops nearby but we couldnít find one unless you walked to Marldon.

There is also a bus available on site to take you to Torquay/Paignton for £4 return but we never used this as the times didnít suit us.

The site itself wasnít too bad but we were worried about using more than one electrical appliance at a time because if the electric tripped (only 10 amp) you had to fetch the warden to reset as you couldnít do it yourself.

The shower block was very clean and warm.

We went to Gordonís Bar on the Saturday and they had karaoke on, we had a good night although we realised that it was full of regulars who must have seasonal pitches. Every other night was bingo so we didnít bother with that but it meant we had to drive to a pub which meant my partner couldnít have a drink.

The only other time we went in the bar there was a female singer on, she was good but they obviously catered for the older generation (not exactly youngster ourselves) the music wasnít to our taste. The hours were quite restrictive 8-11, it would have been nice if they were open in the afternoon.

A nice site if you donít mind driving anywhere or are happy to stay on the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: REDROB 7 reviews from this member

 2nd stay at this gem of a site and again we were not disappointed.

The cleanliness and high standard of the facilities are still 2nd to none. Everything about the site deserves top marks and high praise.

Great location, ideal for visiting Torbay and the surrounding areas.

The food in Poppies is wonderful and great value for money. We can't comment on the Club/Bar as we didn't get a chance to use it this year.

Credit to all the Staff for making it what it is, a truly wonderful site. Can wait until our next visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Katadamick 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 12 nights

Very clean and well run site. Very helpful and friendly staff. You are made to feel welcome by both staff and guests from the minute of your arrival. We have stayed on a lot of campsites over the last 40 years and have never seen a toilet and shower block so immaculate. They are kept in excellent condition as is the rest of the site. I have read earlier reviews regarding the noise from the road. This is unfortunate as this is beyond the sites control and after a while you donít really notice it. The site also offer a minibus to take visitors to near by sites at a very reasonable cost.

Entertainment is very good, The restaurant offers very reasonable priced and well cooked food. One of the best Sunday roasts around. Small minus point is be prepared to take cash as the site does not take card payments in the shop, restaurant or bar this again is personal note as I prefer to pay by card.

All in all an excellent site and a credit to the owners, managers and staff. The only downside for us is like all things in life all good things must come to an end. Back to work 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WICCAN1 1 review from this member

 I would recommend widdicombe farm as we had a lovely time and the site was perfectly clean and tidy and all the staff were very friendly and helpful and we will be coming back again next year

The restaurant served excellent home cooked food and gardens bar was also very good 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: REDROB 7 reviews from this member

 The whole set up at the site is perfection. The staff are friendly, sociable and very helpful, as were the groundsman. The on site restaurant serves gorgeous meals ( Sunday Carvery was delicious). Gordons Bar is a lovely place to chill out and relax in the evening.

All the amenities were spotless regardless of the time of day, we even saw staff cleaning the Toilet/Shower block late in the evening.

We found all the other people on the site very friendly, very chatty despite being the only couple in a tent for most of our stay.

Torquay, Paignton and Brixham are all only a short drive away.

All in all a great place to stay and for the price I would be surprised if you would find any site that would match it in the area.

Thanks to all at the site for making our visit so memorable. See you next year! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heather2 3 reviews from this member

 Very noisy road noise site as right next to a dual carriageway, quite a dangerous exit as fast moving traffic.

Clean facilities.

Shop and bar opening hours quite restricted.

As I am disabled I booked by phone to ensure being near to toilet block. Checked again when booking in to be told it was just behind pitch. Only after pitching and putting up awning did we find it was a fair way away up slope and steps. Too much trouble to move pitch.

Dog walk field VERY small and nowhere nearby to walk.

Lots of places to visit nearby by car

Wouldnít go again 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sueandbilly 5 reviews from this member

 Came back again this year for 2 weeks, beautiful weather, fabulous site, spotlessly clean toilets and shower blocks, good food in 'Poppy's' Staff are most helpful especially Sandy.

Great club house, 'The Hay Loft', evening entertainment is brilliant, especially the two singers/comedians, Allen Roberts and Andy Oakley, when Andy holds court, there is not a dry eye in the house, be warned take a hanky with you to mop up the tears of laughter.

We will definitely return again next year.

My only gripes are, the toast for breakfast in 'Poppy's' needs to be toasted, as at the moment it comes on the plate looking very pale.

The toilet waste is just a tiled hole in the ground, so you need to bend yourself in double to get the cassette nozzle close enough to the hole, other wise your feet and legs get splashed with the contents of your cassette, as many of the caravanners on site are of senior years they may not be as flexible as the younger ones.

The fully serviced pitches have a toilet bowl at their disposal for cassette waste so why is this not the case elsewhere?

Finally why do we have to pay an extra premium to hold your chosen pitch on top of the pitch fee plus a booking fee as well, smacks of greed I feel.  


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tilly and Taz 2 reviews from this member

 Good site, very friendly and helpful staff, lovely toilets and showers - nice and clean and wonderful size of shower cubicles, only negative comment I would make is the gravel, really need to take a lump hammer as hard to get pegs in and soil is rather messy if it has rained as it leaves a not very nice colour on ground sheets 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patriciag 2 reviews from this member

 We have visited this campsite several times and always received the same friendly welcome. The staff are very helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay a happy one.

The pitches are cleverly arranged into four areas which are terraced and therefore lends itself to some lovely views over the countryside.

The utility blocks have recently been refurbished with walk in type showers with plenty of hot water. These facilities are always kept spotlessly clean.

There is a small shop and a cafe which serves reasonably priced tasty meals to eat In or take-away. There is also a bar with entertainment every night, ranging from bingo, karaoke and some very good singers and comedians. Being an adult only site means you have the best of both worlds. Relaxing peaceful days and wonderful entertainment at the bar in the evening.

Finally it's very easy to get to without having to drive through narrow lanes and it's also close to many interesting places to visit such as Paignton, Torquay, Brixhm, Totnes and much more.

I would not hesitate to recommend this site to anyone visiting the south west. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Widdicombe Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Torquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7121 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements