Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Widdicombe Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Torquay > Widdicombe Farm Touring Park Reviews

Widdicombe Farm Touring Park
The Ring Road
Compton
Torquay
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ3 1ST
Tel: 01803 558325
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Mid March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 116 Reviews
                8/10 from 116 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patriciag 2 reviews from this member

 I can't agree with the two reviewers who were not happy with their stay at Widdicombe Farm, Torquay in October. We also visited this site at this time but found that everything was as we expected it to be for the very end of the season. We already knew that Poppies, the bar and shop would not be open so we picked up what we needed locally. We did'nt have any trouble with the electrics either as we were able to put the heating on at the same time as the kettle as we always use a small 'caravan ' kettle which won't trip the electrics. We had a lovely 4 day break, all facilities on site were spotlessly clean, the showers were hot and the staff were helpful and friendly. We visited Torquay, Brixham and Teignmouth and enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing break. We will definitely be visiting this site again at Easter. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DickyMint87 4 reviews from this member

 Visited Widdicombe Farm out of season in October so all there facilities were closed which we new as they had informed us, friendly lady on reception although whilst trying to welcome us had the phone calls to contend with as well!

Although a nice site as previously mentioned not a lot of room between certain pitches and with no mover on our caravan struggled a bit

The one let down is the dual carriageway as you have to go past entrance to roundabout turn around and double back, then if you want to go into Paignton its down the carriageway to next roundabout and Yes! double back 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dottydart 16 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit and we weren't sure what to expect from the varied reviews we had read.

Good point: easy to find and access via dual carriageway;

Bad point: being on a dual carriageway, you sometimes have to go in the opposite direction to where you want to go, extending your journey.

Staff: Reception - one lady was very pleasant and helpful, one lady was a little abrupt, and when I asked her for directions to the nearest supermarket, she directed me as if I was familiar with the area, telling me to 'go to [named a local area]' 'turn left/right at [area]' and seemed frustrated when I didn't understand.

Wardens: all with whom we came in contact with were friendly and helpful.

Hayloft Bar: There was a more 'senior' gentleman serving at the bar who seemed a little gruff at first but his demeanour improved through the evening. The other, younger chap (sorry, don't know any names but I think he may have been the owner?) was very pleasant.

Good point: good, clean facilities and so nice to have a restaurant and a 'clubhouse' on and adults only site. We didn't use the restaurant, although people were queuing waiting for it to open for breakfast, but the twice that we used the 'club' we had an excellent evening - top class entertainment, quite reasonable bar prices, friendly atmosphere. Got a bit too busy on the weekend, though.

Bad point: when booking, we had to be specific about the length of our 'van, however our pitch was very small and although our 'van is only about 15ft long (incl A-frame) we had difficulty pitching. The roadway was quite narrow and other people's tent was pitched in such a way that it restricted our access to our pitch. We didn't have an awning, which was just as well, as the door would have opened practically onto next door's car, plus we had to almost squeeze our car between our 'van and next door's car. As the site is terraced, 'vans on the next tier up were overlooking us, as there was no fence/hedge separating us.

Even though we visited outside of school holidays, the roads in the area were very busy which we found a bit of a pain on times.

Toilets/showers were clean, and there were plenty of toilets and sinks (ladies) however, there could be more soap dispensers and hand dryers installed.

This is a hilly site and if you have difficulty with walking, ensure you book a pitch lower down. Our pitch was in Apple Blossom, but as I've mentioned, the pitch was too small. Ones nearer the access roads are bigger (and nearer to the water tap/bins).

We would consider staying at Widdicombe Farm again, mainly for the evening entertainment availability, but now that we know the layout a bit better we would choose our pitch more carefully. Given the cost of the pitch (approx 13/night if I remember correctly) we thought the site was good value for money. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SJK131048 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Widdicombe Farm touring park, this was our 2nd visit to this site. Unfortunately this time wasn't as good as 2010. Ok we know that it is coming to the end of season but surely they could open the shop, Poppy's restaurant and the Hayloft bar on a part time basis.

We weren't the only campers on the site. It was ridiculous that we couldn't get a morning paper or the basics items without having to get into the car and go down to Sainsburys. The actual site looked quite neglected the grass around the pitches hadn't been cut in weeks and no preparation in the way of cutting back the hedgerows ready for next year.

The only time we saw a warden was when the washer wouldn't drain it cost me 4 to wash (2 per load) a few items as the warden didn't seem to know what he was doing with the washer all he could do was huff and puff, and this was without drying them. 1 per 10 mins which is quite extortionate. We had problems with the electric we hadn't realised it was 10 amp and found that ours kept tripping if we didn't turn the heating off to boil the kettle - ridiculous !  


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bubbles4618 2 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a two night stay at this campsite and we were disappointed. I checked the reviews which all seemed to give very good accounts of the site, that is why we went there, also it being so near to Paignton.

Upon arrival I booked in at reception and was greeted by a friendly member of staff, who told us where the pitch was situated. All was fine with that.

We knew all the facilities like restaurant etc would be closed as its the end of the season. But we had major problems with the electric. If we had the kettle boiling and wanted to put a fan heater on it would trip the electrics out. When my partner went to reception the staff member told him she would pop along to us after she had finished reading her paper. Not a very customer friendly attitude. Were they cutting back on the electric supply being as the site closed up at the end of the week? We had a basic pitch and we also took two dogs with us and we were charged 37 which given that we could not use much electric seemed high to us.

Other than that the toilet/shower block were spotless but not very warm.

I don't think we will be visiting the site again.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daisydaisy 22 reviews from this member

 Great site. Easy access from main road. Terraced pitches which give it attractive aspect.

Toilets and showers very good. Staff very helpful. Very popular.

Little restaurant on site which looked nice although we didn't try it so cannot comment on food. Has nice bar and even entertainment each night. We saw two separate comedians and they were excellent.

Very near to all the resorts Paignton, Torquay, Babbacombe, Brixham.

Wouldn't recommend the buses though. It took us 1. 75 hours to return from Paignton having to get 3 buses for a journey of three miles.

What we do now is get a map of the area (available in reception)put a road in outside the main thoroughfare for in example Torquay. You can then find no parking restrictions. Enjoy your day without having to rush back to the car park before the ticket runs out.

You can park next to Preston beach for 4 hours free of charge.

Anyway lovely site would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bolly1965 5 reviews from this member

 After reading some of the reviews I was not sure what to expect of this site. The site was easy to find, just off the ring road. There were signs asking drivers to stay with their vehicles until they were parked within the yellow box before they got to reception. Ah ha, I thought, here we go with the old rules and regulations, however, the notice was only common sense, parking anywhere else would have caused problems with other visitors. The reception area boasts a wealth of information about the surrounding area and the staff were very helpful. There is a restaurant on site, which dogs are not permitted, however, you can order anything on the menu to take out, and the food was delicious, with generous portions and very reasonably priced. There is also a small shops selling the essentials, and a bar with entertainment, again no dogs permitted.

We stayed on Daisy Field, a fully serviced pitch. Yes the pitches are sometimes tight to get into, but that is down to the lay of the land, being terraced - one of the benefits is the wonderful views. The pitches are all gravel, with space for a car and an awning and with a grass area to the side.

The dog walk is more than adequate with a poop bin at the entrance.

There is a dial a ride bus service to Torquay, which is 4 return and when there are not enough takers for the service to run, there are regular bus services just a short walk from the site.

Wifi, was 12 for a week, and although I was told it was only suitable for googling and emails, found it to be more than fast enough for my needs (I am a Facebook addict and read lots of forums) I didn't feel that this was excessively expensive.

The shower facilities were well appointed, clean and had plenty of hot water. There is also a toilets and wash facilities around the site.

The wardens are friendly and helpful, we had a problem with our gas regulator and the warden came to see if he could help and recommended a mobile technician who sorted the problem.

This is an adult only site and naturally many of the campers were around retirement age, which wasn't and issue for us (I'm only in my 40s) and we met some lovely people.

This is a peaceful site, yes there is a little road noise but where isn't there? But you soon don't notice it. There is lots of wildlife and I for one enjoyed watching the bats at dusk.

Would we come here again? Yes I would love to. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ferret man 1 review from this member

 If you are looking for a place to stay we can recommend Widdicombe Farm Touring Park.

We have been visiting this site for over 12 years and would not stay anywhere else.

We stayed for three weeks in July/august and have just book again for late September.

From the moment that you arrive the staff are very friendly and helpful, you are made to feel not just a number on a pitch but part of the friendly family run site.

The facilities showers toilets etc are excellent and to a very high standard. In the evening you can always look forward to a visit to the Olde Hayloft Bar, where you will meet the host Gordon, A very friendly and happy person. A perfect end to the day with entertainment of artist, bingo, raffles and on karaoke evenings you can be sure that Gordon will entertain you with a song or two.

Next Year is the 40th Anniversary for Widdicombe Farm Touring Park and we would like to wish the family many more years in the excellent business they run.

We would recommend this park to anyone who wants a friendly holiday. Give it a try we are sure that you will enjoy it. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PaulM87 2 reviews from this member

 We spent a week there in August tenting.

The site is excellent and well equipped with cafe, laundry services and entertainment, take away and all staff are very friendly.

The toilets and shower blocks were well placed, and well maintained but could have been a bit cleaner. The toilet block situated for tenting were a bit dusty and web ridden, sharing showers with spiders at times.

The site is set up to a good standard for motor homes and caravans however it is not so good for tents the pitches are a little small and the ground is mostly made up of a nasty clay like mud. Most reminiscent of a thick beach slick.

Site placement can be a little issue at times as the site is placed on one side of a dual carriageway making it a one way entrance and exit from one roundabout situated approx 1 mile from the junction, with traffic backing up considerably adding 20-30 minutes to your journey. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Autotrail91 1 review from this member

 The 2 weeks we spent at the park was in the very wet period, but due to the park facilities it didn't dampen our holiday. The toilets, laundry room, poppies and the bar were excellent. We hired a car for the duration of our stay and with the park being so close to paighton, Torquay and other attractions it was only a short drive to any destination. The wardens and other members of staff were very friendly. We rebooked for 2013 while we were there can't wait to return. 


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Widdicombe Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Torquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5717 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement