Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Widdicombe Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Torquay > Widdicombe Farm Touring Park Reviews

Widdicombe Farm Touring Park
The Ring Road
Compton
Torquay
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ3 1ST
Tel: 01803 558325
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Mid March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 116 Reviews
                8/10 from 116 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twisted-pixel 8 reviews from this member

 Having read the reviews and the fact that it was an adults only site, I chose this site to spend a week in at the beginning of July. It was pretty soggy when I arrived and I was advised that they had had a lot of rain and the ground might be a bit soft and I should be careful where I parked my car as they didn't want the grass damaged. This was fair though I thought.

My next request was for a wifi pass 'oh, you might not be able to get wifi in the camping field, you best check'. Hang on a second. Doesn't your brochure and website say 'WIFI available throughout the park'?? (another reason I chose this site so that I could still get access to the net). Apparently not. Very disappointing to advertise something that isn't actually available.

The site caters mainly for caravans and mobile homes however and I think they have about 12 tent pitches, a few of which are EHU. Some of these were roped off to allow the grass to recover and those that weren't were. Well. A bit muddy to say the least but I guess that was to be expected. The mud however is a bright red clay that sticks to everything!

Because of the adults only, it seems that the site is mostly populated by retired (or close to retiring age) folks. I've got nothing against this at all, except that the couple camping next to me were put off a bit by the 'Please be quiet on the site, you don't look like our regular people' comment from reception when they checked in which made them feel a little alienated.

There is a single shower and toilet servicing the tent field and one section of the hard standings with another block near to the main reception. In 5 days I only ever had to wait twice to use the shower but to be fair there were only 5 people camping (two couples and me). Had the weather been better I think the wait would have been much more significant. The block was always clean (my thanks to Barry, a very cheerful chap who works there and who can also belt out a few tunes as noted on the Karaoke night) and the block also houses two washing up sinks.

There is both a restaurant on site (which I didn't try) and a bar (which I did try) along with a small shop providing most of the basics. A freezer is available to keeping your ice packs cool too.

The site is easy to access, no winding roads to drive down, although once in the park the access roads are single track to if you meet a caravan coming the other way, one of you has to back up.

I came away having been rested but can't help feel that the 'tenters' are being slightly short changed - wifi not extended to the camping field, a single shower/toilet that would be very busy in peak times if the weather permitted, most campers are slight younger than the general site population and therefore seemed to be stereotyped as party all night noise freaks.

The site location was excellent for where I wanted to be, but I wont be using it again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carken 4 reviews from this member

 Good site for peace and quiet, but I have to say, I will not be returning. Traffic is terrible outside the site and the only way to get anywhere is to dodge about using short cuts and tiny lanes. Good for touring Paignton and the surrounding area though.

Access on my pitch was difficult as a few times I had to almost drive onto neighbouring pitches just to park my car.

I visited this site a few years before and since then have bought dogs. I have to say, I am very disappointed in their dog walk. The top end is very close to the carriageway with no barrier to stop dogs running off into the traffic if you are foolish enough to let them off the lead.

Toilets were always clean and showers were hot but I wasn't keen on having the shower curtain sticking to me constantly.

Like others have mentioned, the WI-FI was expensive and I was told that if I didn't get a signal after I'd paid then there was no refund.

All in all, it was a very friendly site with nice people but there are just too many negative points for me to want to return. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brooksy1501 6 reviews from this member

 The beauty of this site is it's 'Adults Only' so no screaming kids flying around on bikes (especially as we stayed during half term)!

Very friendly and helpful wardens and a clean, well kept site. Our only gripe was the pitch being hardstanding with very hard ground making it hard to pitch an awning. Bent quite a few metal pegs trying. Excellent facilities, showers, launderette etc.

A great bar with entertainment which unfortunately we couldn't take advantage of because dogs are not allowed in and one of ours is unable to be left in the caravan due to bad separation anxiety.

However we would stay again if we were returning to Torquay as the site had a nice atmosphere.

Just one negative. The wi-fi is expensive (we paid 12 for a week) 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fairypixie 1 review from this member

 Very peaceful campsite, Added bonus there were no children but I found it too quiet. It is in a great location and I could not really hear the traffic noise.

The pitches are a little on the small side and very close to each other we were on a hard standing pitch which was a good thing as it was raining a lot on the last 2 days of our holiday. Cannot say much about the food or the bar as we did not use them as we had the dog and it was not really the weather to go and use them outside with the dog.

Some of the longer term residents seem to think it is their right to leave things messy such as the toilets but they were cleaner than some campsites and the showers were hot at all times. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KJR42 6 reviews from this member

 A strange site, looks like a rack them and stack them type site with no landscaping and a long walk uphill for the showers.

Good views and friendly staff who took time to give information when requested, although this is not open all year the shower block was very cold and not a pleasure to shower in. That said they were clean and that is the priority.

The biggest gripe with this site is the red soil, sounds silly but it got on everything and stained it, it was still on my tyres 5 months later.

In summary the site was OK and in a great location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jellymouse 4 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site only a short drive form town centre with hard standing pitches, water near by and electric hook up. Set in a very picturesque area with almost no light pollution so brilliant for stargazing on a clear night.

The staff on site are really friendly and the evening bar is great for a few quiet beers and listening to the local people chatting away in the lovely southern accents

The showers and toilets were very clean and all round we really enjoyed our stay here.

I would definitely recommend this site to anyone who was thinking of visiting the area 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kevin Fear 11 reviews from this member

 A short visit to this site over the bank holiday weekend proved to be very successful. Access to the site is from the main ring road dual carriage way and therefore easy. Some traffic noise at some times but did not cause a problem for us. We have a large (9. 3 metre) RV and tow a trailer. No problem with access to the pitch we were allocated and plenty of space for the car and trailer. Other pitches may have proved more of a challenge for us but with the wardens being so friendly and helpful and nothing being too much bother we feel it would have been OK. The restaurant was again friendly, offered a good range and reasonably priced. The fish and chips were a delight and served with a smile! Loo blocks were clean, bright and warm. Water tap on the pitch as was a drain for grey water. Black water dump point (on board tanks)on the roundabout towards the bottom of the site. Possible care needed on the sloping approach due to risk of grounding if you have a large overhang. Plenty to see and do in the surrounding area. It was a very busy weekend with lots on and traffic was very heavy so will pick a quieter time to return! 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gillhalfpint 4 reviews from this member

 We booked into this site for a week and it was easy to find and easy access, friendly welcome and given a pitch.

A problem was being told we could not use our airer to dry clothes. We were there a week so needed to do washing, and were told only airers that went onto caravan windows were allowed. People had been complaining to them if they saw someone else's washing so they mnade this rule. As we had done a handwash, we were told they would allow our airer for an hour, and no way should we put knickers on it.

Next problem was the site bus. We knew the bar, shop and cafe were not open till Easter, but this was not made clear about the site bus, so we were expecting transport that was not available to us, as were others on the site.

The wifi facility was expensive and not very reliable. We were told 6 for 48 hours but it was not 48 hours of use as other places do, but 48 hours from first logging on. We paid 12 for a week even though by then we would only get 5 days use, and it kept cutting out to be logged on again, and I ended up losing work by having to log on again.

Books could be borrowed, but you had to return them before leaving so you had to make sure you could finish them.

It is an adults only site, and could be a brilliant site, but it would be great to feel they could treat us as adults without so many rules. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andee4570 1 review from this member

 We love this site, this was our 2nd visit this year and our 5th. Visit in all. I agree with some comments of other subscribers yes the pitches can be a bit awkward to access but other campers always seem happy to help and yes visitors seem to be a bit clannish' at times but put yourselves out to be friendly it cuts both ways.

The staff are very helpful and friendly the facilities are always clean the 'hairdressing station' in the ladies is a delight. The little bus to Torquay is so useful and you can use your bus pass.

The park and ride at Brixham is also a boon by the way. The noise from the by-pass may trouble some people we don't notice it due to the fact we live very close to the M6.

The laundry facilities are good not too expensive and with the added bonus of a spin drier for any hand washing and finally the red soil potatoes are very tasty. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sheila+Ken 5 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week at this site and will definitely return if we visit the area again. The staff were brilliant and went out of their way to help us.

We weren't happy with the pitch allocated to us, so they told us which one. S were vacant and to choose one ourselves. We chose the Daisy field which was very nice.

Apart from the main toilet and shower block, there were toilets just beside our pitch, which was very handy. Poppies restaurant does lovely meals and isn't too expensive, so we visited a few times and were well satisfied.

The Hayloft bar is nice and their prices are reasonable as well. They had entertainment on Monday, Wednesday and Friday and bingo Tuesday and Thursday. Saturday was karaoke night.

The site itself isn't too far away from Paignton in the car but if you don. T want to drive you can order a mini bus from the reception the day before.

The amenities block were spotless and the showers were nice and hot. The water points were dotted all over the site so you didn. T have far to walk. The only down side of our stay was the weather. It rained 4 days out of 7.

This made the pitches muddy and we were trailing mud into our awning. Apart from that we think this is a brilliant site and very friendly indeed. 


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Widdicombe Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Torquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4519 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement