Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Widdicombe Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Torquay > Widdicombe Farm Touring Park Reviews

Widdicombe Farm Touring Park
The Ring Road
Compton
Torquay
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ3 1ST
Tel: 01803 558325
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Mid March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 116 Reviews
                8/10 from 116 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MrMrsMagill 5 reviews from this member

 Arrived at this campsite in the pouring rain! They normally only allow bookings of three nights or more, but made an exception for us as we phoned ahead. Staff very friendly, went out of their way to help, but somewhat eccentric! Reception, shop and restaurant decor somewhat unusual, but that added character. Fully stocked shop, restaurant and bar. Entertainment was provided at the bar, but we didn't make use of that because of the weather. Takeaway facility from restaurant, as well as local takeaway services which deliver to the site. Toilets, showers and other facilities excellent and well kept. Showers vary in temperature, however, depending on whether someone is using the wash basins or not! Overall a good site and we would stay again, if ever back in the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moe58 1 review from this member

 Just spent a relaxing week here, nice quiet site but not far away from Torquay and other places. Good WiFi and a problem was sorted out within the hour by ClubWiFi, excellent service. Nice little clubhouse and a good singer (Mrs Winward). Pitches are all level but number 37 and the three either side get no sun after early morning due to the high bushes. The shop is a tad small and remember to 'book' your daily paper for the next day. Toilet block was good and very clean all the time. Good sized dog field which with a bit of fencing and chicken wire could be made very secure for dogs to be off the leash, however go out of the main gate and immediately after the stopover area on the left there is a gate onto the old road which is good for dogs. A good site with good facilities, helpful staff and lots to do in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Marymint1 2 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic site. We stayed 4 nights and were made very welcome by the staff. We had a plot near to the toilet block and shop, bar and restaurant. Everything is so well thought out and the cleanliness of the whole site is really what one would and should expect. There is nothing negative to say about this site, all was fantastic, try it for your holiday. You won't be disappointed. The area is also well worth a visit and Sidmouth is a lovely place to visit. Really enjoyed our stay. Thank you everyone! Will definitely come again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caitlin77 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 6 week visit to Widdicombe Farm and can't agree with the review submitted by 'stella4steve'. We found the tastefully furnished Hayloft bar provided excellent entertainment and the bar opening times were about what we would expect really. On Saturday night the karaoke continues until a little after midnight, which means that it's at least 12.30am by the time the bar is closed. On the other hand, Sunday, which is a bingo night, is an earlier night as Sundays often are in many places, but surely one early night a week is acceptable. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and most welcoming. Gordon and Thelma are extremely good hosts and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. It seems to me that many people return time after time which must mean most people are more than happy with this adult only site which is close to many great places of interest. We will definitely be back!. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hirst7 2 reviews from this member

 We have just had 2 week at his great site and we are planning to return next year. It is well laid out and the pitches are of a good size to allow van, awning and parking on the grandstanding. There is a grass area next to the pitch o so out on. It is terraced so if you have mobility probe make sure o request a low over. The facilities are spotless with plenty of hot water. The on site restaurant, Poppies, does great food at a good price. The Hayloft bar is always welcoming and provides entertainment each evening. The bingo nights have prizes of £100+ each game and the singer's are worth listening to. Highly recommend this site and will definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Black greyhound 1 review from this member

 We arrived on the 9th for our 3rd visit and we were not disappointed as always we had a warm welcome from the reception staff who had our pitch ready for us. We set up and then went to Poppy's restaurant for breakfast all fresh food and freshly cooked. The site is very very clean and the pitches are kept tidy you have a space for the caravan a space for the car and also a place for the awning. In the evening we went to the Hay Loft bar and watched brilliant live entertainment. The toilets and showers are spotless with plenty of hot water and wardens are never far away if you need them. Everything an Adult touring park site should be and more. K&V Middx 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stchris356 1 review from this member

 We found this site on here and after reading the reviews we decided to book.

On arrival there was a pleasant lady in reception who explained everything and after purchasing a wi-fi card headed to our pitch. The pitch was an adequate size and the utilities where close to hand. Poppies breakfasts were brilliant and the staff in the restaurant and the shop were very cheerful and helpful.

We found the site very clean and well kept. Our only disapointments were 1, the road noise. Although we were fully aware of the sites proximity to the dual carrageway and expected some road noise, it was really quite loud!

2, After set up we decided to 'upgarde' our wi-fi card (unused), at reception was a different lady and we asked if it would be OK to exchange the card, she was clearly not amused!

Finally we went down to the bar at 10:30 on the first night to 'check it out' as I approached the bar there was a family infront of us being served so we politely waited our turn when a 'senior gentleman' walked into the bar, clearly not happy and said 'you don't want a drink do you?' to which I replied 'well that would be nice!' only for him to grunt back that they closed at 10:30 to which I pointed out I understood you were open until 11 o'clock to which he replied 'that there was a sign on the door' which was propped open so we didn't see it, he then grunted 'well you can have a drink if you drink it quickly' to which I replied calmly ' you know what, don't bother' naturally that was our first and last visit to the bar! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: VillaMan 6 reviews from this member

 Spent a glorious week at this site the first week of July. There is no doubt that it is a very well run site with very friendly staff, good pitches and excellent, spotlessly clean facilities. There is however one major drawback to this site, particularly relevant to motorhomers, I feel, and anyone who wants to lock the car up and utilise public transport, and that is its location. Certainly it is within the Torquay boundary but it is located the far side of the A380. So while access is superb as you approach the site, to get into Torquay without a car is very difficult. They mention a shuttle bus but this only calls if there is a minimum of 8 people requiring it (some of the site literature says 10) and, while there is a bus stop at the site entrance, there is no direct service to Torquay and on the return journey, because of the A380, it doesnít drop you at the site entrance. The nearest stop is at Occombe Farm, a good 30mins brisk walk back to the site on not a particularly nice bridle path. My wife and I take our bikes with us when we tour but the uphill journey back from Paignton nearly killed us ! It is so steep you have to walk your bike back nearly all the way. To have any proper freedom of movement if you stay at this site and you donít have access to a car (or would prefer not to use yours), you will have to factor in taxi rides into and out of Torquay / Paignton. For the record we put our name down for the shuttle bus twice but no one else did on those days, and we worked out the bus timetable and where we had to change for Torquay but the bus never arrived. Also be aware that it is a request stop anyway and you would have to move pretty smartish to flag the bus down as the traffic is motoring on at a fair old pace past the site and it isnít advisable to be standing too close to the road. The taxi service is very good and reliable and will set you back about £10 - £15 one way. All in all a lovely site, which I would probably visit again but you have to be fairly relaxed about your transport arrangements. Parking for motorhomes is quite limited in Torbay as well. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stella4steve 3 reviews from this member

 On arrival a warm welcome direction to your pitch (map)pitches are tight and some unhitched and pushed there caravans into there pitch very steep roads. Went into the Hayloft on the eve of arrival friday Andy Oakley very entertaining thought the rest of our stay would be. Now Hayloft bar/room open 8 till 11pm no daytime looks out dated decor chairs need tlc do not sit on the seats on the right side of the bar season only and no moving the seats as you are told to leave them where they are saturday was a jaw dropping the owner gordon was tired he had a late night (friday) wanted a early night rang the bell 10. 30pm back in caravan 11. 05 but wanted us not to sit watching our tv and come to the Hayloft. This site stuck in the 70's if you are 70 plus love early nights horlicks and as my husband said if you are dead this is for you. Toilet lovely clean and views breath taking we will not be back ps watch out for people using your premier pitch using your pitch to fill up and empty there waste 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bellybum 7 reviews from this member

 Visited Widdicombe farm in march 2013, weather was dry!, We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, shame the shop wasnt open till the Thursday which meant we had to set up and then go off site to do the shopping.

The site is made up of tiers, with very narrow roads between the pitches on either side of each tier, not good to reverse the caravan on if there is another unit opposite your pitch, you really need a motor mover to get onto the pitch

Other than that the site is clean and tidy with good views, the carriageway that runs next door to the site is not too noisy in the daytime and is quiet at night.

This park is very near to Paignton, Brixham, and Torquay so you do not have to travel very far.

The central toilet block is fantastic! The bar is quite nice, but did not open till 8-30 pm, for some people that is bedtime! Will go back if I choose to go back to that area again 


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Widdicombe Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Torquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4634 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement