Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Widdicombe Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Torquay > Widdicombe Farm Touring Park Reviews

Widdicombe Farm Touring Park
The Ring Road
Compton
Torquay
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ3 1ST
Tel: 01803 558325
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: Mid March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 116 Reviews
                8/10 from 116 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandra Stubbs 5 reviews from this member

 A well-maintained, adult only site, split into smaller sections. The site is on a slope, but the pitches are on level terraces. Large pitches, but the terraces are rather narrow in places for two rows of caravans.

Road noise can be heard in all areas of the park, but I would recommend the lower areas, as they seemed more sheltered from the traffic.

However, after a couple of days on the site, you really get used to it and it certainly did not spoil our stay. The road was a lot quieter at night.

There is a bar on site with entertainment in the evening including tribute acts and karaoke. A cafe provides meals, including breakfast, lunch, tea and snacks.

The toilet/shower facilities were a little dated but immaculate at all times.

The staff were all very friendly and made you feel at home, including showing you to your pitch.

Wifi is available in all areas of the site, but we felt it was rather expensive at £12 for the week - a lot of sites now offer free wifi from a certain location, such as the bar.

On the whole, we enjoyed our stay at Widdicombe and would consider returning next year. The best bit was our days out to Cockington Court - check it out!

I would recommend this site to people who want a child-free holiday on a friendly, well-cared for site, close to Torquay, but I would definitely mention the road noise, as for some people it would be an issue.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Micknme 1 review from this member

 We were first time visitors to widdicombe farm this year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The toilets and showers were always clean and tidy with plenty of hot water.

The staff were welcoming and friendly, and the girls in poppies restaurant were lovely, the food was excellent and terrific value.

It was lovely to be able to sit without hearing noisy children and not having footballs bouncing off the van was an added bonus.

The only down side was the road in between the vans was very narrow, making manoeuvring difficult when the pitches were full. We downsized our caravan before our visit otherwise we may have had problems.

Apart from this the site was really nice, with fabulous views, we would recommend it to anyone who wants a peaceful relaxing break, and we'll be back again the next time we need a break from the grandchildren! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

 Not a great time here, awful place for tents.

I contacted this site via email weeks before my visit, they sent me a welcome pack which I thought was nice but the truth was on arrival when they charged extra highlighting the 'fine print' which was not included in the email at all.

I was charged extra for being a walk in even though I phoned two days before trying to pre-book but was told they do not take advance bookings for some reason. The woman stated minimum three nights stay to qualify for the price quoted via email when I arrived, at this point I argued my case and just paid as was late and needed somewhere to stay. By memory it was around £18. 50 for a one-berth backpacking tent.

To say this huge site is commercial is a total understatement. The warden at the desk looked more like a air traffic controller behind the window with a telephone boom arm and had the attitude of a raging lion. She seemed happy with a smile to say that children were banned from even coming down the entrance! The toilet block(s) were strategic in signing the 'showers' Urinals' 'sinks' etc which was off putting.

The tent pitches were crammed together just passing the 6m rule, and as for the nearby road it was relentless from 5am, almost sounding like an aircraft that never arrived.

The on site pub was full as my stay was on a Saturday, but it totally lacked in atmosphere and felt (old). I have stayed at many adults only sites in the past, but this one just didn't work in my opinion, it was more like a retirement home for anti-children people. I have no children of my own but feel this place needed them!

Would never return. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Xwasp58 4 reviews from this member

 Top class Caravan Park. As soon as you get there you get a big welcome. At reception. The place is spotless. And the good thing about it is there are no children running about (Great)

I stopped for 3 nights and was only charged £40.00. For down south was very cheap. The toilets are very clean. The scenery is so beautiful. The first night we went into the club. Prices was good not to expensive the entertainment was free with a singer and comedian very good.

In the morning I went for a breakfast £5.50 for a full breakfast with tea or coffee you got plenty well enough for me. And Iím a big eater

Torquay is only 10 min down the road in car.

Would go there again 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bishopland 7 reviews from this member

 A truly friendly site. No wonder there seemed to be so many repeat visitors!

Site is very clean, well laid out, well organised and super friendly. Although site is close to a very busy main road, it is only when you are parked in the late arrivals field that this presents a noise problem.

Must remember to take earplugs next time or arrive earlier! It was great to have the club house with its entertainment and the excellent Poppies restaurant right on our doorstep.

It meant that even in poor weather there was always something to do in the evening. A request bus service is also handy for those without independent transport.

Gordon the owner and his wife were hands on people, always mixing with their guests especially in the evenings. All in all I would rate this site as A1 for value, cleanliness, friendliness and entertainment value.

We will make the four hour journey again as its well worth the effort. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gill M44 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely adults only site although off a main road is surrounded by beautiful countryside and very close to Torquay and Paignton (once you had learned the cut-throughs) without getting stuck on the ring road.

The pitches are very spacious. Showers and toilets quite dated but spotlessly clean. Also very reasonably priced laundry facilities.

The only downside with this site is that 'everybody seems to know everybody' and obviously there are 'regular' visitors here which at times made me feel an 'outsider' and not quite welcome. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

 We are Aussies currently touring the UK for 6 months. We were welcomed at reception and allocated a pitch. It is a very large site and is tiered so most of the pitches are fairly level.

The toilet and shower block was clean with lots of hot water.

There is a clubhouse/bar on site. It is quite nicely decorated. Our only problem is that they didn't open until 9pm which was a bit late for us and was also cold. We did manage a couple of beers though! Everyone in the bar seemed friendly and they all seemed to know one another so I guess that there are a lot of regulars. The entertainment didn't start until the weekend so we missed it.

We didn't eat at the restaurant but the prices looked very reasonable.

It is around a 10 minute drive into both Torquay and Paignton. We went to 'Bygone's' at Babbacombe which was quite interesting. We went to the model village there 40 years ago and it was excellent. We didn't go this time but I'm sure it will be even better. Babbacombe itself is a nice village with lots of quaint little shops. We walked along the promenade at Paignton which was lovely. The Pier was not too exciting but still nice to see.

The site is a little isolated and you really need to drive to get anywhere. However, we did enjoy our stay there. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue Wigan 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a two week holiday at this site. There is good and bad points we found.

Good Points

Very cheap at £75 week for our pitch with electric and awning as we are in the over 55 group.

Very good access to the whole of Torbay and surrounding district.

Just off the main A380 so very good for anybody perhaps new to towing as no little lanes.

Nice club with different acts Monday Wednesday and Friday, we saw a smashing comedian on the Friday nights.

Poppies restaurant was excellent, the food here very good value and very well cooked.

The main toilet block near reception very clean.

Bad points.

The small toilet block near our pitch was very cold and there was no lights at all until 7pm so felt very much like being in the twilight zone.

Wi fi expensive, we had come from another site where the wifi was free and this was £6 for a 48 hour card (48 hours from time set up not 48 hours usage)

Now our main problem! The first week we were there nobody was opposite us on our terrace so had nice views but when a caravan arrived we felt that we couldn't look out without looking straight at them. The terrace we were on was really much too narrow to have two rows of vans on. I know this site is reasonable but it felt really closed in. Also as all the pitches are in cul-de-sacs we saw several people struggle to get their vans in position unless they had motor mover because the road was so narrow that there was hardly room to manoeuvre.

There was a continual loud hum from the main road.

The shop closed at lunch and didn't open again until 6. 30 which was a pain if you needed something for tea time.

Overall a nice site spoiled by trying to fit too many vans in. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lissie 2 reviews from this member

 The toilets, although a little dated were spotless and very well maintained.

Staff was really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much for them and their local knowledge was great.

We had difficulty initially getting our tent (5 birth) to fit on a large site and had to update onto the sites one and only larger pitch. Although the site is sloping and tiered, it is still difficult to manage especially if you are disabled, using a wheel chair or scooter. I have a problem walking and even the flat bits tended to be sloping a little.

Good disabled facilities although could be a little difficult to get to due to the above comment.

Although the site was next to the dual carriageway, I must admit, it really did not bother us.

I know this is a farm and should be expected although I guess I really did not want to see rats on the campsite, especially back of our tent and in the hedgerow leading up to the upper tent area.

Site is close to Paignton and Torquay as well as other areas of Torbay, could not fault the location. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Boybris 6 reviews from this member

 My wife and I stayed here for 4 days in april,

the site is situated on a busy dual carriage way and approx 2 miles from torquay and paignton.

The site is very clean and tidy,the showers and toilets also very clean.

We stayed on the top plateau and there was only 1 shower and 1 toilet so it could get busy during peak season.

The club house was reasonably priced with good entertainment and staff friendly and helpful.

You will need a car to get about.

Would stay here again no doubt as paignton is such a beautiful place to visit and the site fees are very good. 


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Widdicombe Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Widdicombe Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Torquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4583 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement