Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Cotswold

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > Hoburne Cotswold Reviews

Hoburne Cotswold
Broadway Lane
South Cerney
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 5UQ
Tel: 01285 860216  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Static Caravans Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 141 Reviews
                8/10 from 141 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Barney737 3 reviews from this member

 We had a weekend at this site (friday-mon) for the royal international air tatoo. Which was unfortunately cancelled. Luckily we were saved by the facilities at the site.

We had 3 parties staying together 2 motorhomes and a caravan on adjoining pitches, nicely spaced out, no feeling of being crammed in. Pitches were hardstanding with grass for awnings. Hookups on every pitch with lots of water point dotted round the site.

The shower blocks / toilets were very clean despite the rain in the week,and the pitches seemed well drained.

After the dissapointment of the air tatoo the facilities at the park were a great save of a weekend. The pool with a flume was clean and we had 4 hours each day in there. There was lots for the kids to do, a soft play area inside for the small people,and a large outdoor adventure playground for the older ones. There were tennis courts and a crazy golf course as well.

The onsite shop is a costcutter, nice range and not expensive as some site shops can be.

All in all an enjoyable stay,and we are already looking forward to next year. Hopefully we will see some planes as well.:-) 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catralense 6 reviews from this member

 We got through to someone who was helpful and pleasant and made a booking for the first weekend in July.

The weather was awful the whole time. However, the facilities were good. The whole family enjoyed the pool and flume. The adults in our party enjoyed the sauna and steam room. The evening entertainment wasn't really our thing (bingo, etc) but those who went seemed to be having a great time.

ALl the kids enjoyed the playground when it was dry and spent ages playing in the indoor soft play when the weather was at it's worst.

The toilet and shower block was clean all the time. The showers were lovely and warm and I never had to queue.

We'll be going back at some point I'm sure  


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyns 26 reviews from this member

 Very difficult to get a pitch, which is made even harder by the unhelpful reception staff. When we eventually got though on the phone, we were told we couldn't book two pitches at the same time so our friends had to make a seperate call?

Having said that the site is great. There is plenty to keep you on site and entertained. Indoor pool is great and the play area is adequate. Felt very safe for the toddlers and there was plently to keep them occupied. Pitches are generous although gazebos are banned which was frustrating as the wardens waited until it was up before they told us!

We were disappointed that the slide and outdoor pool were both out of order during our visit. The food was grim and the entertainment was not as described and pretty poor.

Overall, however, this is a great site and we have already palnned a return trip, If we can get a pitch! Quite expensive, but worth it 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Csimcox 7 reviews from this member

 End of May Bank/hols visit.Our third visit, & experienced all weathers!

Pitched in Field A. The toilets and showers have eventually been upgraded in this field and are clean with never any queues.

The saturday was boiling hot and our family went straight to the outdoor swimming pool, which is heated. One minute bug bear is that the wildlife (ducks / geese) sit on the pool side furniture - would be great if staff could brush / jet wash them off first thing in morning. But hey, we are in the country!

Sunday and monday was torrential rain - but the kids went in the indoor swimming pool - the complex never seemed messy even with the numbers of people seeking shelter!

If you want a nice day out go to Buscot Park (National Trust), its about 20 mins away.Fabulous house and gardens!

The nightly entertainment isn't our thing, but plenty were seen enjoying the evenings. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ranger150 3 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. One of the best we have visited. Really nice touring field, shower blocks, location and top class swimming & entertainment complex. We visited over the weekend but the complex was plenty big enough to cope with all the weekend clients. All in all fantastic value for money . Will definitely be returning ( something we never normally do ) Agree with previous comments about the receptionists. Never got round to visit local area as it was too good on the park. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Craig1020 4 reviews from this member

 This was the first time that we had visited a large commercial site and on first impressions we were not sure we had made the right choice. On first arrival we were put on a very poor pitch which was full of nettles and directly opposite the bins which was a little strange as we were the only ones there. However on speaking to the unhelpful receptionists we finally, after much argument, managed to change pitches.
The touring field was not maintained to the standard we had become used to having mainly stayed on CC sites. However this was probably due to it being the day after the bank holiday as the site was quickly brought upto a high standard. The pitches were large, level and mainly on hard standings and had hedges which offered some privacy.
The toilets and showers were clean but we have had hotter water at other sites. We were very impressed with the facilities and the grounds especially aroung the beautiful lake. The indoor pool was great for our 3 year old even though he was disappointed that the slide was out of action. Kids will also love the playgound, soft play area and the grazy golf as well as the tennis courts and astro turf.
We did not sample the evening entertainment but it seemed to offer a good variety of shows. The shop was very well stocked and every thing was at a reasonable price due to it being a Costcutter.
The site is in the Costwolds Water park which offers lots of water based activities in lovely surroundings.
In contast to previous reviews we found the wardens to be very helpful especially when they assisted us when we had a problem with our water pump. However we did on the whole find the reception staff unhelpful with any query being a hassle for them. But on the whole we really enjoyed our stay and would definately recommend this site to anyone with a family. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hayley3565 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights over bank holiday weekend. There were 3 pitches booked in our party and the pitches were well spaced and comfortable.

Reception takes ages to book in or just handle enquries, the ladies behind the desk seem to be slowed down by using the computers.

Swimming pool excellant the children loved the slide and tempreture good and showers were warm.

Slide did break down on the Sunday around 1.15pm and was not working still on the Monday.

Entertainment ok although the sound system seemed to be on the loud side on the Saturday evening and distorting alot!.

It is a busy site and they do have rules for rules for rules and keep reminding you of them. This can be annoying!

I agree the wardens do come round dead on 10am asking you if you are ready to move. This is however not them personally, just what they are instructed to do by the Management and the rules of the park. They were very helpful to all 3 pitches in our party BUT were very governed by Management and the park.

All in all a good solid park with lots to do and good quality facilities. Toilets, Dishwashing areas and a well stocked shop are excellant.

Would recommend families to go just remember there are lots of rules! 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jesc 2 reviews from this member

 Agree with other comments - clean facilities, entertainment good for both adults and children.

Good size pitches. The one thing that spoils this 'holiday', is the jobsworth wardens. Like others have said, they do not give you a minute.

It is true that they charge you if you are not off for 10am. Well they start harrassing you at 10.05am, asking if you are ready to leave, even though the site is almost empty! It is a shame they can't show a little discretion, many people are left with a negative impression, after what is usually a good break. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ive Pulled 4 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site, me and my partner stayed in the annex of my sister in laws awning. We had a great weekend. The site was very clean and tidy, shower blocks spotless and the entertainment complex faultless. The price of drinks & food were very reasonable and the evenings entertainment was enjoyed by 10 adults & 6 children in our party. The kids really enjoyed the indoor swimming pool which was heated, but they didn't get to use the outdoor pool as it did not open untill the following weekend. Sitting on the decked area by the outside pool over looking the lake was very relaxing.

Since our visit to Hoburne, many friends have visited the site and have all returned for many weekends there, all agreeing its a very good value for money holiday.

Our family are all returning shortly for a long weekend, unfortunately, we can not return due to the fact we now have a small dog as pets are not allowed. Other Hoburne sites allow pets, just a shame this one does not. Best wishes & happy camping 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ginge45 4 reviews from this member

 Easter 2008 - After visiting Hoburne Cotswolds for 4 consecutive years, this year I was most disappointed along with a lot of other people.

We stayed in pitch A37 which is lovely, alot of space, hardstanding and gravel for awning. And very safe for the children. After only being on the pitch for 3 hours (and the site still not full) there was a powercut, this lasted a whole 17hours! through the night. We had an extremely cold night (with a 2 & 5 year old) and awoke to blizzard snow like conditions. Needless to say we could not use the club facilities on the Friday evening either. The power came on at 10am on the Saturday morning. Then ater 10.30 am went off again, we then continued to get power cuts all through the day. The pool was well below temp 23 when it is usually 29deg too cold for children (although it was open).

The powercuts continued all Saturday night so yet another cold night in the caravan. The walk to the toilets was not the best, a bright torch needed, although the emergency lighting did come on in the new and very clean refurbished toilets.

After more powercuts Sunday am we took a walk to reception to see what was happening along with the rest of the touring campers, only to be handed a letter and told the power was being switched off possibly til Mon/Tue and it would be best if we went home! If we hadnt gone to reception yet again we would never have known this.

So that is exactly what we did- cutting the 'time away'-(couldnt call it a holiday)short by 2days. We did indeed get a full refund for the full 4days within 3days of arriving home.

The childrens play area needs more attention on the cleanliness side of things and the horrible smell of chip fat that lingered on your clothes all day was not the best. Putting the pool table right next to the small childrens ball pit did attract rather alot of loudy teanagers which was a bit intimidating for our young children.

All in all the actual surroundings of the site is fabulous and really pretty, they just need to get the electric/cleanliness situation sorted.  


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Cotswold child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Cotswold have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Cotswold?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Cotswold dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cirencester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4123 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement