Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Cotswold

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > Hoburne Cotswold Reviews

Hoburne Cotswold
Broadway Lane
South Cerney
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 5UQ
Tel: 01285 860216  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Static Caravans Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 141 Reviews
                8/10 from 141 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JOHN G W 18 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the Bank holiday weekend, We were very pleased with the pitch we were given, we said on booking that we would have our 10 month old Grandchild with us and they bent over backwards to allocate us a pitch near to the shower block and close to the amenities. The toilets were clean and to a good standard. The entertainment was excellent as was the swimming pool, we chose to eat in the restaurant on a couple of occasions which was o. K and not too overpriced. The children's play area was really good both inside and out our grandaughter really enjoyed the soft play area, we will definitely return, the only downside was that you have to leave quite early 10:00am which is a rush and the warden was checking to see if you were packing up. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahh56 52 reviews from this member

 Visited this site several times before and always had a good time. However I would reconsider visiting at peak times. We queued every day to go swimming and in order to get a table at night we needed to he there before 6pm. Check in was a farce as so many people were arriving we were sent straight to the touring site and we were sent to two pitches which were occupied before going back to reception. We wanted to stay until 2pm on checkout day and we were told yes that is fine £32 please!

On the plus side the entertainment was good and the facilities clean although the wardens were Anita too Tiberius in reminding people that pitches has to be vacated by 10 am (we were reminded at 8. 45 am during breakfast despite us not having an awning etc) 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sparks03 4 reviews from this member

 We spent a week at the Cirencester site in August 2012 due to work commitments (still commutable for me)and was suitably impressed.

Considering the price we paid the site had loads of facilities including boating lake, indoor/ outdoor pool and large outdoor/ indoor play areas.

Found the pitches were well spaced with excellent water point/ EHU distribution and thoughtfully spaced pitches. Hard standing for cars was a great way of helping to separate out the pitches and offer a little more privacy.

The clubhouse was slightly dated but this didn't detract from being able to enjoy it and the entertainment was something else. I've never laughed so much in my life, it was so bad it was nothing short of bloomin brilliant. Plenty of arcade machines to keep the little ones entertained for a while and situated very close to the entertainment areas also.

The site was pleasantly situated being surrounded by lakes and nature reserves and it was an easy, quick journey into Cirencester which is a charming little place.

If there was one downside to the site it was the spine road leading up to the A419, got very busy very early but that was about it.

Had a great break away considering the circumstances and having paid a lot more for this year's camping holiday we didn't have half as good time as we did here. Kids have petitioned us to return so we'll be returning in 2014. Recommended :D 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jayne73 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this site amongst flood warnings so was very nervous about my stay. I didn't need to be, the pitches were great and the hard ground for your car meant there wasn't muddy tire marks across the grass. I didn't like our pitch (personal choice rather than a problem with it) and the staff were so helpful at showing me alternatives.

Despite the rain we had a great time, that much to do on the site we barely left! Kids loved the pools, the outdoor pool was not something I expected to use given the weather but in between showers it opened and was so warm it was a pleasure to use.

The play area was nice. Golf and pedalos were both reasonably priced. My children loved the Sammy seahorse show on an evening and keep asking when we will return. Showers and toilets clean and well located.

Looked to go back in August but prices were high for camping as they vary throughout the year, a term time visit next time but can't wait to return! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Laddie47 7 reviews from this member

 First visit to the Cotswolds and I would like to deal with that initially. We are used to areas of natural beauty such as Wales and North Yorkshire. This area seems to be more about the odd picturesque village set near either a busy dual carriageway or industrial estate, very strange, but I suppose it's a personal choice.

As for the site I can hardly fault it. Arrival was swiftly dealt with but I cannot concur with previous comments about reception staff being friendly and helpful. Found them to be, at best, functional and at worst quite rude.

The pitch was a good size, well drained and I like the Tarmac parking space to the side.

The ground was quite hard, despite the weather, so take your rock pegs!

The amenities blocks were perfectly adequate. Not the best but neither were they the worst and the idea of having 4 spread around the site is a good one. They were well kept and always piping hot.

The children's facilities are excellent, especially the indoor pool which is a fantastic asset on a bad weather days. The outdoor pool is heated, barely, and is again very good. Would have loved this on a sunny day but, alas, not to be.

There is a soft play area, arcade, table tennis, tennis/ basketball courts and even pedalos, weather permitting.

For adults there is a sauna and a minuscule gym.

The club house is good and is more child friendly than one for the adults. This is ok though because everyone seems to have kids at a site like this and we really enjoyed the entertainment.

The booze is pricey but the food isn't bad value and is reasonably varied. The on site shop is well stocked with helpful staff.

Venture out of the camp and you can be at any number of attractions inside 1 hour. Took the family to Highclere Castle (Downton Abbey), Stonehenge, and Bath to name but a few.

The weather, as always, was horrific and be warned, it can get pretty windy where the tent pitches are, always the poor relations!

This site is a lively one and is usually in full swing by 7. 30, kids on bikes in PJs! However we didn't experience any late night issues as the bar shuts at 11.

Also there is quite a lot of road noise with a busy main road leading to yet another Cotswold Industrial Estate nearby.

On the whole I have to recommend this site if you have kids and want a good family break. If you are in search of peace, tranquility or scenery, go elsewhere. Would definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tomo50 27 reviews from this member

 This is our 7th visit in 3 years to this site. But alas probably our last. Maybe the current economic climate is partly to blame but Hoburne is cutting corners and it shows!

The touring/tenting pitches are not kept as tidy as previous, the 3 sets of wardens have been reduced to 1, the on site security is now off-site, the £20 discount card (for every £200 spent)has been scrapped, the toilet blocks were never closed for cleaning but took place whilst you were in there, very stern faced reception staff, broken locks on most of the swimming cubicles, inexperienced, unqualified (and not always well turned out)entertainment team. But there are still some excellent points to make:-

Brilliant bar staff, good children's entertainment programme, good adults visiting entertainment, lovely indoor and outdoor pools (but could have been a few degrees warmer), plenty of activities - crazy golf, tennis, football, play park, bowling, pool, table tennis, sauna, steam room and gym.

So disappointed this visit has not lived up to our expectations - please see previous reviews from us (tomo50) before making up your mind to book 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyns 26 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a weekend at Hoburne. We have stayed at this site in previous years so we knew it was good. However, we were disappointed on this occasion.

The wardens were not at all welcoming and were far more concerned with managing the detail of how your car was parked and what time you were leaving, rather than keeping the toilets clean and dealing with the kids playing football at midnight.

Some of the pitches are quite tight and there is little space in the touring field for the kids to play away from other campers.

Indoor pool is nice although some of the changing rooms had broken locks and the outdoor pool was closed while we were there? Plenty of life guards on duty, which was comforting

Kids entertainment was good and drinks prices were costly, but to be expected at about £3. 30 a pint? Shop was well stocked and had plenty to keep us fed and watered for a weekend, including choc croissants at breakfast!

Plenty to do on site to keep us occupied for our weekend so there was no reason to head out.

This is a good site, but the unfriendly wardens, grubby toilets and tight pitches (on this visit) were probably enough for us to look elsewhere for our next trip. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahh56 52 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from a long weekend at Hoburne Cotswold.

As always a great time, clean facilities ( including the pool) and good entertainment.

One thing we have noticed increasingly each time we visit is the noise on the touring field. On Saturday afternoon a family had their music on so loud that it drowned out the radio inside my van and they were several pitches away. I have no problem with people playing music but keeping it a reasonable level is only fair.

Then in the mornings there were young children shouting and riding bikes around at 7. 15 am! The wardens live on site but appear to turn a blind eye. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bradtourer 27 reviews from this member

 Hoburne cotswold is a very busy site which you will find very hard to book, we have try several times to book a weekend on this site, when finally got a vacant pitch, I wasn't disappointed by the wait, great pitch with private borders,

Good clean toilet and shower block, facilities are within the top 5 of all sites I have visited within 7 years of caravan and camping, free fishing with a choice of 3 lakes, tennis courts, outdoor and indoor pools with sauna, steam room etc, also crazy golf, pedaloes to hire, at reasonable prices,

Good entertainment on site, swindon town centre within 15 miles with a great choice of big name stores.

Will definitely be booking a weekend or possibly a week as there is so much to do, highly recommended 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 57lisa 6 reviews from this member

 Had a very pleasant week here over the Easter holidays with our 6 and 10yr old children. We experienced mixed weather but found lots to see and do. We had stayed here a few years ago for a long weekend and like the area.

The site itself was full as expected in the School holidays but did not feel overcrowded or too noisy. Check in was straightforward and reception staff pleasant.

We noticed the wardens were very busy checking departures and whether people had parked their cars correctly on pitch and moving them if needed.

We stayed on a hard standing pitch which was spacious enough and well laid out – take sturdy rock pegs though.

The shower block was always clean and tidy and if busy, there are nearby alternatives meaning we didn’t queue at all during our stay. The children liked the play area which appeared well equipped and maintained.

We made good use of the indoor pool and steam room complex – again busy but not too full and mixed changing area kept constantly clean by busy staff. We did notice at one point staff limiting entry to the pool to prevent overcrowding but we had obviously been lucky choosing our time to go in.

There is a small soft play area for younger ones and bowling alley as well as arcades in the complex. We used the crazy golf – not overpriced and fun for a little while. There are pedaloes and go karts for hire also.

We didn’t go to the clubhouse entertainment but had one evening meal in the complex and found it to be ok - nothing special and standard fayre and price for this type of site. We found a café place not far from the site on a fishing lake in the waterpark which served delicious good value meals and were fab with the children and would recommend.

The site is in a good location for exploring the area. Nearby the waterpark is well worth taking time for – the visitor centre at the top was very useful and the staff gave us pointers to all the various options available. For instance we found some nice cycle routes and had a great time canoeing at one of the lakes.

Swindon is nearby if you want lots of shops etc. And we enjoyed visiting Cirencester and its Roman museum as well as a few pretty villages 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Cotswold child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Cotswold have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Cotswold?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Cotswold dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cirencester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4506 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement