Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Cotswold

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > Hoburne Cotswold Reviews

Hoburne Cotswold
Broadway Lane
South Cerney
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 5UQ
Tel: 01285 860216  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Static Caravans Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 141 Reviews
                8/10 from 141 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahh56 52 reviews from this member

 We stay here several times a year as it is local to us. We visited during the bank holiday weekend and expected it to be busy which it was.

Despite the touring/tent filed being pretty much full the toilet and shower facilities were always kept clean. The pool was busy with staff limiting numbers at busy time but this is to be expected at a busy time. We went to the clubhouse at night which was packed ( you needed to be there by 6pm to get a seat). The children's character Sammy the Seahorse used to provide good children's entertainment but this appears to have been revamped with more of a story narrative and less singing and dancing which in our opinion is a mistake, it was not very good. Also the drinks in the bar are quite expensive 4. 50 for a fruit cider and 1. 60 for lemonade from a gun machine.

The general entertainment was very good especially one of the entertainers Ben, who was the act one night he has an amazing voice.

On our last day we tried to go out on a pedalo and were told we had just missed to booking slot and would have to wait another 40 minutes, this was despite no one else using them and a member of staff sat outside the pedalo hut! We didn't bother in the end.

Hoburne have a silly check out time of 10 am so we paid for an extra night so that we could leave later and were annoyed to see people still packing up at 11. 30/12. 00. I feel the site is getting more and more expensive so will be limiting my visits. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NicciMac 54 reviews from this member

 We stopped here for one night because I really wanted to visit the Cotswold Water Park, and this site is within the park itself. Everything seemed clean enough.

We ignored the rule about keeping the dog on a lead at all times, because we were also instructed to be considerate of neighbours regarding noise - we can't have both with our dog! The words 'dogs to be kept on leads at all times' really fills me with dread. Just stipulate only well behaved dogs are allowed and they are to be kept under control - far less draconian! One warden did spot us and tell us off, but it was mostly fine.

Nice flat pitches - tarmac with a gravelled area for an awning (though why someone would want to put their awning up on gravel rather than grass is beyond me). We were told to move the van from the gravel to the tarmac just after we arrived - not sure why, it really makes no difference.

Location is great, and there's a lovely little shop on site. We didn't use the bar or pool. I'm fairly sure I saw a notice saying that we had to pay for use of the pool. If that is the case then that is barmy - we already had to pay something like 46 for one night, and the place is surrounded by lakes! We went just outside the site (following public footpath) and swam in the big lake next door. Water was lovely.

I have to give a fairly poor review because of 2 things:

1. The cost! I have had nights in hotels cheaper than this, next time I fancy wild swimming we'll just be pulling up and sleeping in a layby. There really is no justification for the price.

2. Check out time is 10am! This might make sense if you have hired a static that needs cleaning before the next tenants come along, but on what grounds do campervans have to be off site by 10am??? We didn't have time for breakfast! Felt really short changed by this.

On the plus side, a toad got into the van over night and greeted me as we packed up at stupid o'clock. That was nice. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Psychosian 11 reviews from this member

 Went for a short, 2 night, break in tents with friends. We didn't know what to expect as our friend had booked it, but been previously, and liked it.

We found almost all staff to be very friendly and helpful. The site, including amenities was kept clean and tidy. There was a good playground and other activities, to keep a variety of aged children, occupied.

We drunk in the bar both nights, which took a while as the queues were so long for the bar! The second night we also ate at the restaurant, which again was incredibly busy. When we eventually got our food though, it was good.

The pool was fun for the children and we enjoyed a walk around the lake.

We will defo be going back to this site, even though it's got more facilities than we're used to! 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Daves mate 21 reviews from this member

 This place is literally 20 minutes up the road from us but despite some regular visits to the area we'd never stayed here before now. As we'd recently bought a new (to us) trailer tent we booked a pitch for the weekend just to make sure all was well before we go further afield in it later in the year.

Check in was easy, although we weren't able to choose our pitch. The camping/touring field was much busier than I thought it would be at this time of year but not so busy that we couldn't have been given a pitch a bit further from the road which, as others have said, can get a little noisy. As I got out of the car at our allocated pitch I was approached by somebody on a bike (I'm going to assume it was a warden, although no introduction was made) and asked my name. After being ticked off on a list I was then told where all the facilities were and how to pitch. Some debate then followed as I didn't want to pitch in the suggested way which ended with the warden(?) mumbling something about not liking trailer tents and cycling away. Not a great start!

The pitch itself was a good size. Not hardstanding as such but with a strip of tarmac to one side to park the car on and separated by neighbouring pitches by a low wooden fence, we were camping with friends and I'm not the only one in our party to catch a shin while walking from pitch to pitch after dark. Depending on how/where you're pitched ehu can be quite far so take a long lead or be prepared to pay a refundable deposit for an extension.

We chose to stay on site for the whole of our stay and so visited the club house in the evening. I wasn't expecting much after my experience with the warden(?) and one of our party encountering a less than cheery cleaner but have to say the bar staff were very friendly and chatty as were the entertainment team who delivered a good mix of kids stuff, silly games and cabaret and were also great with our younger kids in the morning of the following day too. We also the used the indoor swimming pool while we were there which although a little on the small side was good fun. The older kids also enjoyed the arcade.

I asked at reception if we could have a late checkout on Sunday and was told it wasn't something they offered and the only way we could vacate our pitch any later than 10am would be to book another night's stay. I notice from reading the other reviews that this is a common issue. Maybe Hoburne should listen to what their clientele want.

Overall We quite liked the place although there are a few shabby areas. For example, on the crazy golf the astro turf is curled up and peeling from pretty much all the holes and there are several areas around the place that could use a little TLC and a little thought just to make it a nicer place to be. There are plenty of places across the country that do this type of holiday better. If this site was a long drive from us we wouldn't give it a 2nd look. As it's local I think we'll probably visit again sometime. Although, maybe Hoburne need to explain to some of their staff that when you work in the hospitality trade you need to be. Well. Hospitable! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve185cs 3 reviews from this member

 Big commercial site, not the type we have stayed at before, but plenty of facilities for our 4 & 7 year old kids. Turned up & got shown to our large pitch by a warden who was very friendly. We were in camping field A, No: 15, right in the corner with hedges to the back two sides and a couple of trees to the rear of our pitched tent. What we did not know (or were told by Hoburne when booking) is that the two roads behind those two back hedges are busy lorry routes. I did a Google Maps view of the site prior to booking, and to me the B4696 Spine Rd East and Broadway Lane (the road where you enter the Hoburne site)looked like normal 'back' roads. Roll on a few hours and at about 4am it is lorry after lorry after lorry hurtling down the B4696 or coming down Broadway Lane from the Industrial Estate. If you pitch in area A along those back hedges, and you are not used to road noise be aware. No sleep after 4am as it is non stop. Excuse me Hoburne Cotswold, WHY do you not warn of this when booking. This coupled with the fact that this site allows group bookings of tents, which on our stay was not too good as most groups were noisy well after 11pm. Other than that, the site is fairly clean and well maintained, plenty of facilities. I think if we were staying in a motorhome or caravan pitch, in a chalet or static caravan on site, then we would have loved it. BUT, camping on this site, NEVER again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steve154 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from weekend visit too Cotswold Hoburne this was Our first visit too this site booking was easy and they seemed very helpful with letting me use the web site map to choose what pitch I wanted as we talked over the phone. After a short trip for us (45 mins up the road ;-). )booked in and given a map with the road all highlighted to our pitch so all easy again ! We had booked the hard standing and was just getting my self positioned right when the Lady warden came round on Her bike found Her a bit offish and was told 'you will be told too move if you park caravan wrong even if you are all set up'! sorry but I just thought 'asked' instead of 'told' would be a better way of putting it. Anyway once set up found our way round the site all seemed good popped in the shop like most other camp site shops got most stuff in there and most of it over priced the same so ok for the odd things you may of forgot. It was very hot when we got there and after setting up and our walk about I went to the shower block for a shower think there was a few of them the nearest to us had block 4 on it all seemed very clean and tidy only 2 showers in this block but like I said there were other blocks only thing that would have been nice would been able to choose how hot you had your shower on such a hot day like it was. Went to the club house for food thought it was ok priced and not too bad. Drinks were about 70p cheaper than my local on larger and cider. So happy there! we had our 2 young grandkids with us so only stopped till the kids stuff finished thought it was a good idea that they did there stuff before the bingo. Nothing worse than having to get in club house early to get a seat then having to to try and keep the kids quite for 1hr when they play bingo. Used the pool next day again very good kids loved the flume and also used the small ball pit next too pool. Seemed plenty stuff for older kids too. Overall a nice site and have tried to book on before but all ways booked up. Can see why ! think We will use again ! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AndrewMoorey 35 reviews from this member

 By far the largest site we have ever stayed on. Totally geared up for young families and very efficiently run. The facilities were always spotless

With plenty of hot water all the time. When we arrived we were shown on to our pitch by a warden and we pretty much had the whole touring field to ourselves. By the weekend though every available pitch was taken and the place felt very overcrowded.

The pool, clubhouse and entertainment cannot be faulted but the bar and food prices were higher than you'd expect. We wanted to leave later than the 10am deadline but felt that charging another nights fee was unreasonable.

If you have a young family then this site gets a 5 star rating but as we have passed through that stage we would return only during term time. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JOHN G W 18 reviews from this member

 Spent the bank holiday weekend here, we have been before so we knew what to expect, we had our granddaughter with us, so we made use of all the facilities the pool was very good and included in the price, we had a friendly experience at check in an our pitch was of a good standard, the facilities were kept very clean, since we came last year we could see no signs of any modifications and in places it was starting to look a bit tired however this is still a very good site.

The entertainment was very good, some of the best I have seen on a holiday park.

It is not a cheap site but there is a lot included and the children are well catered for, we ate in the restaurant and the food was o. K with the exception of the Sunday lunch which was barely warm.

You have to vacate your pitch by 10:00 am which does seem to be early we actually paid for an extra night and stayed till late afternoon to make use of the pool etc. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Helenterry 11 reviews from this member

 Spent bank holiday weekend there with the grand children.

All facilities extremely clean and monitored regular, all staff friendly and helpful, you were even met at your pitch by a member of staff.

We have paid as much on a campsite with no entertainment swimming pool etc as we did at hoburne, excellent value for money.

There is a Nisa shop on site which sells just about everything and open all day, brilliant park for the kids and always something for them to do.

I would recommend this site to anyone. Lovely atmosphere. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahh56 52 reviews from this member

 I was a bit reluctant to return here as the last few visits we have been a little disappointed, however, it seems that Hoburne are listening to the comments on sites such as this and we notice some subtle changes for the better!

Firstly on arrival you are now greeted by security before entering the site, they direct you to your pitch so that you don't have to go via reception. This also stops the problem of travellers that this site has had in the past.

The wardens are less 'obvious' now too. They were great on arrival and told my husband to drive over another pitch on to ours as opposite our pitch was a tap and it would be awkward to reverse - great help! They are around but not patrolling at 10am like before.

As it was a bank holiday we expected to queue to go swimming as we have before, but no, there was a life guard checking for passes, the pool never felt busy despite the site itself being very full. I know local people that used to turn up to use the facilities gratis, so this is now resolved.

The pool itself was clean and every time we went to the changing rooms someone was cleaning and sweeping.

The entertainment was very good although because it was busy you needed to be in the room by 6. 20 at the latest to get a seat.

My only irk is the fact that if you want to check out after 10 they charge a full night's stay ( this would have been 32) we are very local and would like to have stayed until about 3 or 4pm but are not prepared to be charged such a huge amount. I feel this is short sighted of Hoburne as people such as ourselves would stay more often in term time if we could have a late check out for around 10. 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Cotswold child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Cotswold have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Cotswold?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Cotswold dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cirencester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4524 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement