Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Cotswold

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > Hoburne Cotswold Reviews

Hoburne Cotswold
Broadway Lane
South Cerney
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 5UQ
Tel: 01285 860216  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Static Caravans Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 141 Reviews
                8/10 from 141 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy goes fishing 1 review from this member

 We (2 adults and 2 kids 4 &6) have just returned from a three night camping trip to Holborn Cotswolds in April. After holidaying there last year in a static we thought it would be a good place to return to. Originally we planned to go to Anglesey but due to the poor weather we went glamping at Holborn.

This is a great site for £28 a night you get all the facilities and in April you may need them. The pool is great (with steam room and sauna) the kids entertainment is spot on, the take away is good. We did not eat at the pub but lots did and it looked good food.

The beer is pricey but it always is at this type of place. The pitches are excellent well drained and the amenity blocks are spotless and a joy to use.

We visited Burford which was great the parsih church is worth a visit if you are into that type of thing.

I ran the car flat and the site turned up in mins and gave me a jump start.

This is a great place to go and well recommended – only down side was somebody nicked our golfing brolly from the pub but hey that’s people for you. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr+Mrs R 1 review from this member

 Myself and my husband have just come back from a wonderful 10 night stay at Hoburne Cotswold and we highly recommend this site. Very warm welcome and the site warden was very friendly. The amenity blocks were always very clean and plentiful (we were on a pitch with 3 shower/toilet blocks situated close to us).

The club/restaurant was lovely and had lots of entertainment for children and adults alike. The food was reasonably priced and tasted good. We didn't experience any people being over noisy in the evening or early mornings.

One small complaint is the on site shop as the prices were higher than expected but was well stocked and had a variety of goods however there is a Tesco Extra about 4 miles away which was very handy.

There is so much to do around the site and also away from the site. Bourton on the Water was one of many favourite places we went to as lots to enjoy here. Cirencester and Gloucester are beautiful to walk around.

We will be going back next year for a longer stay, can't wait :) 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Simplycamping 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week in August during school holiday period. We booked a superior pitch. Found the site no problem and access is good but the waiting area for tourer arrivals whilst you book in is far too small for the size of site and caused a back log on the Saturday.

Check in was easy and the staff on the desk were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.

We were very disappointed when we got to our 'superior' pitch which was quite short for our van (21' van not the biggest)and not really wide enough for our awning and car. When we asked we were told that the 'superior' pitch means that you get a hedge between you and your neighbours, no water or drainage. That and the fact that our 'hedges' were at best, 3' high twigs is quite a let down when you are expecting better!

The site in total is large but not obtrusive with the log cabins and statics well away from the tourers and campers. There was, I think, 4 wash blocks with 2 or 3 showers for male and female in each. Bearing in mind that the site was busy this is just not sufficient for peak holiday times. The showers cubicles are good with plenty of 'dry' space and are push button type which annoys some campers. Beware of the water temperature though, it is scalding at times! Cleanliness could have been better on some visits but I appreciate that it is hard to keep facilities clean at all times.

The pools are both excellent and rather surprisingly not too busy. The indoor pool was warm with a popular slide. The outdoor pool was warm enough, after you get in! It was sunny enough to sit around on the many loungers around the outside pool sometimes which is nice. Parents allowed their young children to run in and out of the steam room and sauna which isn't ideal.

If you like to do a bit of exercise while on holiday the mini gym is just that, very very mini! 1 treadmill, 1 Xtrainer and 2 bikes in a very small room. I recommend jogging along the many cycle paths outside the site if you feel the need.

The shop on site is well stocked with food, drink, gifts and small toys (and makes fresh croissants in the morning) and was, I felt, fairly priced in the main. The staff were always very friendly.

The entertainment is good and the team do try very hard, well done to them. It was very pleasing that there is not a culture of pushing 'toys' to the kids (unlike other well known sites with a big Tiger!). The amusements are small and extremely hot which I loved because the kids rarely wanted to go in there.

The bar serves a good range of drinks, a bit pricey for some things, particularly soft drinks.

There was a bit of noise after 11 as people returned but we didn't hear anything excessive where we were.

My yougest enjoyed the playpark which is opened at 9 and closed at 8pm which is a bit early.

The boats were not on at all as they said there was not enough water in the lake!

We didn't really eat (a couple of portions of chips doesn't count) at the facilities but the food looked good. We ate at the Harvester on the way into Swindon one night and the quality was excellent but again a bit pricey for what is essentially pub grub. Oh well seems that is the norm.

There is an abundance of supermarkets close by with Tesco being the closest. The retail outlet at Swindon was quite nice for a visit but takes a little bit of finding.

I found the information from reception of what to do out and about quite scarce and the local knowledge a bit lacking. Pity.

Overall we really enjoyed the site and our holiday. We would probably return but would be interested in trying some of the other Hoburne parks now. Pity we live so far away. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hels189 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 5 night break here. After having 2 previous camping disasters this being our 3rd trip away was definitely 3rd time lucky and has restored our faith in camping and we shall be partaking again!

The site is very well run and we found all the facilities to be very well looked after and clean throughout the day.

The club house was good - large enough to cater for all visitors. Entertainment was enjoyable and suitable for both our children (6 & 10) The resident entertainment team were great and did their job very professionally.

We didn't eat there but lots of people did so it must have been good.

Only used the indoor pool as not quite warm enough for mine to venture into the outdoor (although it was open). I myself don't swim and was delighted to be able to sit pool side and watch also was able to dry my youngest without having to go into the changing rooms etc which was helpful.

Crazy golf was great at only a £1 a person however the course is a little dated and could do with a refurbishment.

The children enjoyed the playground and had enough for the little and bigger children.

As for the touring field this also was very well managed with wardens always about and the pitches being mowed as soon as a unit had left. We did have a problem with the 10am departure time though and because of this we decided to leave the day before even though we had paid for that night - just to take the pressure of a bit. Plus tent was dry and weather forcast wasn't great for that night - so rather pack up and go.

We liked the fact that we were not too close to the adjacent tent with the set up of car on one side and tent the other you kept your privacy. The warden met us on arrival at the pitch and showed us where to plug the electric in and checked we had no problems with the pitch.

We did have one night of a very giggly tent parents and children - however we didn't feel the need to complain although others had commented about it to us as they passed by.

We found the toilet blocks to be clean and tidy. I liked the fact that a few sinks were in enclosed cubicles so you could have a decent wash in private. Our block also had lovely big mirror with plug points so hair drying was a doddle.

One complaint was that we couldn't refreeze our ice packs - we don't have a camping fridge (yet!) and were relying on being able to use these - therefore we were buying food on a day to day basis. When we asked at reception for this service we were told to mention it on our survey as its a service lots of people ask for but they don't do - however the lady at reception said it is one they shold offer.

We found lots to do around and about - trout fishing went down great with out two and they loved cooking their catch on the bbq. Bourton on the Water is a lovely little village to visit and had lots for the children to do as well as being very pretty.

Tesco is just down the road to get your supplies as the on site shop is ok - stocks lots but a little on the pricey side. (£1. 60 for a loaf).

Overall we had a great 4 days and will return. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John4578 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a summer holiday of 10 nights. I am finding more and more that sites spend a lot of money updating the site and then let it down by not maintaining them correctly. This is what I found here. Changing rooms in the pool area were dirty, the decking area outside the main function room was filled with rubbish and sand and the toilet blocks were not kept clean.

Its a shame because apart from that its a great location for days out, Cotswold wildlife park, Bourton on the water, Cirencester are just a couple of places to visit, which all the family found to be great.

Back to the site and as previous comments have said there's a Tesco store only 3 miles away which saved us a packet as the on site food I found to be above normal prices, but was ok. Used both pools which we all enjoyed every other day.

Wardens were excellent in sorting out problems like electric going off which seamed to be a problem where we were. Only happened to us once.

Pitch was a great size, which they all were and not too crowded. Ours was shaded by two large trees which spoilt the evening sun, but that's all.

Tv coverage was non exsisting, tried all ways but no joy, Again appeared to be the trees.

Childrens entertainment on a night was spot on, must mention Steve who was worth his wages two fold. He was excellent.

Only other concern to us with having young children was people returning from the on-site bar late at night making a noise. This was between 11 till 12 at night which I thought was too late.

Would I go back? Yes to another Hoburne site but no to Cotswold. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Justy 13 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site and our overall impression is positive with a few negative points. The site is very easy to find from the A419 and checking in was easy. We stayed in the awning of my parent's caravan.

First I need to get my biggest gripe of my chest. I have camped since I was a baby so I have tried lots of different sorts of sites but I have always tried to avoid the ones with clubs as I wondered if they would be noisy at night. Unfortunately I have been completely proved correct.

The site is huge with a vast number of mobile homes and quite a few lodges however these are completely separate from the touring field. The pitches are not particularly big and you are only allowed one car at the pitch. Additional cars are parked back at the reception area. We supposedly had a superior pitch but I am not sure what we paid extra for as it was no bigger or better than any other pitch. The pitches are really crammed in too so you are pretty close to all of your neighbours.

There are several toilet blocks and the one we used was always clean. There were 2 showers in our block and the cubicles were huge with a wall cup/board shelf to put your clothes in. The showers themselves are of the awful push button every 10 seconds variety and they were very, very hot, to the point that I had to keep stepping out of it!

The pools are fab. The outdoor one is the warmest outdoor pool I have ever been in (apart from Center Parcs). The children's playground is also excellent and kept my 10 year old son totally occupied when he wasn't in the pool. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scorrybreck 3 reviews from this member

 Good site with plenty of facilities, but 1 big drawback!

We spent 10 days here with our tourer in early July 2011. It’s a large site with plenty to do on-site (but beware of facilities opening times, e. G. The indoor pool was open from 9am to 6pm, we would have liked to use it earlier or later than that – and the outdoor pool had even more restrictive times). It was surprisingly quiet when we visited despite it being July – apparently because our Scottish school holidays had started but the local English ones hadn’t.

There is however one BIG drawback to this site, which would actually prevent us from visiting again (and I’m very surprised that no earlier reviews have mentioned this) – there are no ground-level drains to dispose of your waste (grey) water, you need to pour it out in the chemical toilet disposal area, which means you need to lift the water container up over a 6 inch high ‘wall’ in order to pour it away. In my opinion this is a serious fault – surely the majority of caravanners must now use the wheeled water-hog type waste disposal containers, which can hold a lot of water but are dead easy to empty - as long as you can just tip them down a drain, not lift them up over an obstruction! I am reasonably fit but find it all but impossible to lift one of these containers when they are full, so we ended up emptying the thing much more frequently than we would otherwise (i. E. When only half-full), which I found to be quite annoying (given we had our fair share of rain…)! This is the first time we have encountered this problem in several years of caravanning.

So, a good site which we mostly enjoyed, however if you are not comfortable with LIFTING your waste-hog (try it!), I cannot recommend this site for touring caravans. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JCB1 2 reviews from this member

 Just came back from a 10 night stay there. As per the other Hoburne sites we visited we were very happy. The touring field is large, well kept with clean toilet / shower blocks. The club house was well run with good entertainment and the pool was nice. We did not eat the food there so cant comment on that.

We did struggle to get a TV reception, other people were putting up large ariels so if you want to watch TV go prepared!

It got busy at the weekend (we went during term time) and there was quite a lot of noise from people coming back from the club and sitting around their tents / vans but the security staff quickly sorted this out.

The touring field wardens were friendly and helpful. The surrounding area is lovely with lots to do, we will go back for another stay 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kdobson 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a week over half term with children aged 4 and 6. Great site, completely full all week but facilities did not seem crowded.

Toilet blocks were always clean and tidy, 2 showers in each toilet block but never saw anybody waiting. Credit to the wardens for keeping them so clean.

Plenty of bins that were rotated so they were never full however no recycling which was slightly disappointing.

Nice play area but was out of sight from most pitches, probably aimed at slightly older children.

Only visited the evening entertainment a few times but the kids loved it, Sammy the seahorse and his friends make an appearance at 6.30 and 8pm. Used both the indoor and outdoor swimming pools and both were great, both warm enough and a good waterslide with the indoor pool. Small children's soft play which keeps them entertained for a while.

A costcutter shop is next to reception which is well stocked, good choice of sweets, newspapers and essentials but a Tesco Extra is only 3 miles down the road with a McDonalds next door. Did not dine on site but Pizza Hut and Harvester are only 7 miles away towards Swindon. There is a fish and chip shop in South Cerney about 1 1/2 miles away but did not try it.

The touring site did have children playing throughout the day but we did not notice any noise after 10pm and it stayed quiet until after 9am.

Would not hesitate in returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Savanne1 23 reviews from this member

 This site is only 40 mins from home and I can see this becoming a favourite of ours. It was our first time out with the caravan, the pitches were a good size with easy access which my husband appreciated!

Check in at reception was quick and the staff friendly. The toilet block was clean and tidy the whole weekend. Our kids loved the indoor pool, they said it was warm but they wouldn't brave the outdoor pool.

We enjoyed a nice cold Stowford Press cider in the clubhouse on the Saturday evening. We don't normally go for sites with a clubhouse and entertainment but we did enjoy it and as the pitches arent next to the clubhouse the site remained nice and quiet.

We did pick a very windy weekend and had to take our awning down quickly on the Sunday. The mini golf looked good but it was too windy to have a go so that's on the to do list next time. We used the on site costcutter shop and found it well stocked and the prices good.

The site has a three night minimum for weekends which works well for us and we stayed on site til the Sunday evening but the high season prices are high and make for an expensive weekend (£130!) We plan to visit the site in May and September when the prices are much more reasonable (approx £45).

When booking you can ask for a certain pitch at no extra charge which is a nice touch. We didn't leave the site the whole weekend as there is so much to do. I didn't notice the road noise some reviews have mentioned. 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Cotswold child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Cotswold have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Cotswold?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Cotswold dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cirencester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4095 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement