Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Cotswold

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > Hoburne Cotswold Reviews

Hoburne Cotswold
Broadway Lane
South Cerney
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 5UQ
Tel: 01285 860216  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Static Caravans Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 141 Reviews
                8/10 from 141 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Black-major 10 reviews from this member

 Nice easy place to find and was fortunate to get a cracking deal on the net for four nights including EHU and full use of the site facilities for £117. 00 so it was happy days.

The club house has been modernised to very good standard and has the that bristo lounge feel affect with a good restaurant and café area serving good food and drink at reasonable prices

The main complex housed the swimming pool which was quite large and safe for all ages

The play area has also been modernised and well used on a daily basis, there were also two court areas for tennis and football which were old and out dated and run down but were still in use

The touring area is well laid out with spacious pitches

My only gripe is that all the touring amenities blocks were small and cramped inside, the were clean and not outdated like some parks. The showers were the terrible push button types and you had to constantly hold the button down to get the water flowing it was hot but there are difficulties trying to shower one handed, would rather pay in my opinion

The elsan point what a nightmare it was an old-style concrete shower tray on the floor with no flush system and was about 3ft sq. Complete with a stupid little hose to was down with, remember to try and stand back when emptying your cassette

But this don’t really matter now as this was the last year for visiting tourers and can clearly understand why no money has been spend in improving the touring amenities blocks 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doctorwho59 1 review from this member

 Been going here for over 20 yrs

Some quiet breaks. Some theme weekends.

Lovely site. Almost perfect

Went to check in on Thursday 6 Oct. Only to be told there will be no more touring after this month.

This was shocking news.

When I started going here. Most of them site was for touring. Tents. And motorhomes. This is how it became popular and made money. Then one half of site was used for statics (holiday homes)

All tourers etc were on their other half.

Now it seems there greed of a big company cares nothing about how it started.

But as a warning. Things can go too big. And fall apart

Sad news. Great memories. But another company just concerned about making as much money as possible 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mickfishing 9 reviews from this member

 Have used this site since the 80s. Overall the site was very good. This year they have updated the club and food venues and by doing this they have increased the prices above what I feel is reasonable, £56 for a night. Ok that includes electric and up to 6 people but no gazeebos or anything out side of your main unit. Think this is very pricey. Check out time 10am can stay till 5 pm for £25. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kimjacq 4 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit to Hoburne Cotswold in our Folding Camper. A pleasant arrival and information given and details of where our pitch was to be. Friendly greeting received from the Touring Wardens. Pitch good size with a large green patch. The site has site-wide WiFi which pleased our teenagers immensely. The toilet/wash blocks are adequate with nice hot water in the showers.

The entertainment area has been updated since our last visit with the bars, restaurant and cafe becoming 'Boutique'style. This is very pleasant and modern, although we couldn't comment on the food as we didn't eat in either.

Our daughter enjoyed the daily quiz in the bar although she was supposed to be studying!

The evening entertainment was good again but the no longer do the children's bingo which I think is a shame as this was such fun.

This site is ideally situated for visiting the Cotswold Water Park which we did and now our son (and dad) want to learn how to sail.

Our plan was to return next May Whitsun holiday and book our son (and dad) onto a course but to my dismay HOBURNE holidays are no longer excepting tourers in any shape or form.

They are preferring to turn their sites into Static Caravans / Holiday Homes only - this is such a shame as we really did enjoy our holidays at Hoburne - we're hoping they may change their mind but we doubt it.

All in all, at a time when stay-at-home and Camping and Caravanning holidays are on the rise it seems a strange decision to make. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Tomo50 27 reviews from this member

 Our 12th visit over 7 years. But sadly our last! (check out my previous reviews) Hoburne??? - what have you done??? The magic has just disappeared. You seem no longer interested in family friendly holidays and activities but more interested in selling hugely overpriced caravans - I take it you want to eventually become an Owners only park??? Never before have we been charged to pay family footbal and kwik cricket. Never before have we been excessively asked to produce passes to use outdoor pool (they're made of paper and get wet in swimming bag!). Never before have we been approached (TWICE) by your caravan sales rep touting for business whilst having coffee on the terrace. Never before have we been asked to walk over grass and concrete frequented by dogs to travel from indoor pool to outdoor pool. Never before have we been charged in excess of £4 for a pint of lager and £5 for a medium glass of wine! Never before have we been charged £4. 95 for 1 jacket potato with butter only - yes 1 potato! Where has all the family games gone? Pool tournatment, Shuffleboard, Crab football, table tennis, talent show. To name just a few. Never before have we seen so many empty touring pitches during middle August, or for that matter so many empty tables in the clubhouse??? I wonder why??? We stayed for 14 nights and used the clubhouse only twice, we used the overrated restaurant once, played bingo only 3 times and NEVER used the snackbar (which stops selling food from 3pm - 6. 30pm - how very odd during busiest part of the day?). Your entertainment staff leave a lot to be desired - particularly their evening solos and shows - not professional at all. On both visits to clubhouse to watch these we left before 10pm. Your visiting caberet were not much better - maybe that's the change of acoustics in the newly revamped and rearrangaed room? I really am sad to write such a negative review about what was once such a fantastic park. The setting is beautiful, our (privately rented van for £1100 for 14 nights rather than the £2150 from Hoburne) was in a fantastic spot overlooking Mallard lake. Our kids (2 x 13 yrs)loved the outdoor pool, crazy golf (which is in dire need of upgrading) tennis, pedalos, ticket machines and generally playing on bikes on site. But they too feel the magic has gone. I have left a copy of this review with the reception staff but doubt I will get a reply. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Albion1968 8 reviews from this member

 Visited this site on the whitsun bank holiday weekend staying for 4 nights. We had visited 2 years ago and really enjoyed it. Although quite pricey I think the facilities and touring pitches are excellent. We were greeted at the entrance to the touring field and was escorted to our pitch and even had help pushing caravan onto it. Great !. The toilet blocks are very clean and the showers excellent although toilet paper needs addressing on a daily basis. The park has made changes around the clubhouse since our last visit and thought these changes have made it better. Excellent facilities for our 2 children ( 9 & 13 ) with plenty of activities going on during the day and evening. Food in the new café area was good and reasonably priced has were the drinks at the bar. We ate in the newly named brasserie one evening and were quite disappointed with the wait for food 1 1/2 hrs but were given free drinks to say sorry ! again the food was good. This is a great park to stay if you want to take advantage of all the activities the water parks have to offer would strongly recommend booking in advance. I would recommend this park and we are looking forward to a return visit shortly. Staff are very friendly and seem to bend over backwards to make your stay a happy one. Well done hoburne 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: IDK2013 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here on the May day weekend and have to say that overall it was a very good site and would come back again.

Site is very tidy and touring wardens were all really friendly and welcoming - even offered to help me push the caravan on to the pitch. The pitch itself was very tidy but is a bit on the small side compared to other sites visited. Also have to park the car partly on the grass.

The shower block is a bit dated but was clean and had plenty of hot water so can't really complain.

The centre has had a refurb done recently and it was very nice. All the usual things you would expect - on site shop, swimming pool, park, bar, restaurant, café and softplay area. The pool was lovely and clean, staff were great but the showers were awful! Not enough of them and when all of them are running the water just trickles out.

The bar/entertainment area was nice and clean but, as with a lot of these facilities, you need to get there early if you want a table. The entertainment team offered to take the children out for activities after the disco so that the adults can play bingo (if that's your thing). The entertainment team were really good and both my children loved them.

Food in the Brasserie was nice but the service was not quite what I was expecting - just little things like bringing the wine over but no cooler or not even opening the bottle.

As another reviewer has put on here, the no option of late check out is a bit of a let down. We paid for an extra night but found that others hadn't but were still allowed to check out well in to the afternoon which was very annoying!

As said at the beginning - overall a nice site and would have no hesitation visiting again. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

 Spent May day weekend here in our touring caravan we visited about 5 years ago and then 4 years ago got a dog and dogs have only been allowed on the Touring site since last season so were very pleased we could use this site again as its a very easy 1 hour drive from the Midlands.

Lovely drive in but automated barriers that open to any car so not sure why they are there ? Wardens on the touring are very friendly cheery and helpful as were the reception staff 10/10

Lots for children to do a very good fenced play park, swimming pools entertainment small arcade indoor play areas bar and restaurant they have lots of extra activities my daughter and her friend went on the pedalos which is chargeable, these extra activities are very expensive and I think with the cost of the stay they should of been included.

Lovely area loads to do if you are into watersports walking or cycling and Cirencester is a lovely town, there is also a large tesco extra nearby and a well stocked Nisa Shop on site.

The negatives however are Hoborne do not do late checkouts they are missing a massive money maker and customer satisfaction here as if they charged £10 for it like many sites do the restaurants bars and shops would get extra revenue too who wants to leave by 10. 30 on a Bank Holiday when you are away for a weekend ? and it is strictly enforced yet they only had 1 yes 1 arrival coming in on the Monday and loads of empty pitches I just think its a real shame as many left Sunday evening cutting their holiday short.

Dog poo bins needed asap

Premium pitches are massively overpriced very overgrown and shabby usually for this price you would expect to get tv waste and water connections but at this park you just get a slightly bigger pitch sometimes in a quieter location very disappointed.

Toilets dated and cold need a refurb and deep clean to be at the standard I would expect for the price.

I would use the site again but with a few changes this could be 5* staff however are lovely 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PercyVolvo 12 reviews from this member

 This is a site that we have visited often over the last 5 years. We choose to visit the site because it is relatively close to home and because we can never be sure of the weather in the autumn. We generally like much quieter sites than this at other times of the year when the weather is better. I have to say, on this occasion we have not been that impressed with the site.

However, let us begin with the positives. The site is set in a beautiful environs beside the lakes in the Cotswold water park. The site itself enjoys lovely surroundings and is fortunate to be in a part of a the country with easy access to beautiful Cotswold towns and villages, as well as being accessible from the motorway network (M5 and M4). The site is clean and boosts pleasant walks round the lakes on the site. I believe that you can go fishing as well, although this is not something we would do. The facilities are plenty on site and are safe for children. This is overwhelmingly a site orientated towards families with small children. The entertainment is very much directed at youngsters with only a cursory nod at adults.

So the negatives, and I am sorry Hoburne, there were a few. Firstly, the swimming pool and swimming facilities. We counted 4 showers for swimmers to use. This is not enough when the site is full, as it often is in high season. To make it worse, of the 4 showers, 3 of them dripped water rather than sprayed it. This made for a drip shower while a small queue formed. Not good enough, get it together Hobourne. Secondly, the pool was cold and one day was not working at all. The facilities at this site are on the whole tired and thus explains that maintenance issues alluded to above. While we were in the pool, the pool side staff were ineffective and seemed more interested in selecting tunes on the CD player than watching the safety of the customers using the pool. I do hope there is never the need for them to use their skills, especially while flicking through the CD player. Now the restaurant, why oh why did we need to wait 1. 5 hours an evening for our order? I can only surmise that kitchen staff were not coping with high season demands. This was in October as well mind, end of the season. Hoburne, this really is not good enough. You pride yourself on being a 4 star site. Let me be honest, there is very little 4 star about your site provided, except maybe the clean pitches and relatively clean toilets ion the touring fields. We will be giving this site a break for a couple of years. We will then try again and see if it has improved at all. There you have it Hoburne, you have your notice to improve. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Mickfishing 9 reviews from this member

 Site is very good for families accommodation was very good but could have been a bit cleaner (little things like cobwebs cupboards dirty and the knifes forks etc), staff in bar good staff serving food and taking orders a little slow and quite able to mix up the orders as happened to quite a few people facilities very good and the area is very nice. Dont let the few negatives I have put on here put you off it is still worth a visit. 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Cotswold child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Cotswold have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Cotswold?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Cotswold dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cirencester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3853 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement