Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Cotswold

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > Hoburne Cotswold Reviews

Hoburne Cotswold
Broadway Lane
South Cerney
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 5UQ
Tel: 01285 860216  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Static Caravans Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 141 Reviews
                8/10 from 141 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Uk_munchie 5 reviews from this member

 We booked in with some friends for a special Children's Weekend knowing the site was fully booked and likely to be very busy. We had been pre-allocated our pitches next to one another, but when we arrived our pitch appeared to be the only one on a perfectly flat field that was bumpy with large ridges and divets! I returned to reception who seemed to know exactly what I was talking about and moved me with no bother to a pitch opposite.

The facilities are amazing - extremely clean toilet and shower blocks with plenty of cubicles - there was never any queue. We made full use of the two pools - considering the site was fully booked, neither pool was overcrowded at any time and we secured sun beds for the whole party easily.

The evening entertainment was very good and bingo had high value cash prizes! There are two bowling lanes in the main bar that were very cheap to play. Prices throughout the site were very reasonable. We were hoping to return there again this month but they are fully booked. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Callie968 57 reviews from this member

 This is the most commercialised site we have ever visited we don't like camping with no facilities but usually a shop and a playground is enough however this site did fair quite well.

Very clean, toilet blocks (apart from the hand soap running out in the dispenser snot replaced for 3 days) otherwise great only 3 showers per block there are about 5 blocks all clean and well equipped and even in peak season never queued at all very surprised ! hot water constantly big mirrors baby change disabled etc etc.

Site was spotless loads of bins, wardens buzzing around all day, exceptionally helpful staff, reception staff lovely could not fault them at all.

Facilities spotless, warmest outdoor pool I have ever used if a bit shallow for a decent swim ! there were loads of chairs tables loungers and easy access to bar, snacks etc, indoor pool great and warm but no good for a decent swim more of a fun pool for kids and families lifeguards very nice.

Shop very well stocked if expensive 2.25 for a 2 litre bottle of coke but they do stock papers gifts and a great range of food.Dont forget there's a tesco superstore with cafe and MacDonalds a few miles away just outside Cirencester.

Entertainment went once great for kids, amusement arcade was clean but included a lot of broken machines which was a shame.

Pitches

Clean & tidy we were in A95 and like lots of others ok spaced side to side but you were back to back across the middle and this was the same on at least 4 of the sections so guide lines were touching if you had bigger than a 4 man tent the best pitch I thought without question was B10 its a superpitch but they are worth the extra more space and privacy and placed on the perimeter of the touring area.

Cirencester was lovely all the high street stores plus plenty of restaurants charity shops and quaint bespoke shops we went twice, lovely area great for cycling fishing and watersports, hubby was disappointed with the fishing on site as the lake was chock full of weed but it is free !

The big negative for us was that nearly everyone had gone in groups of 2/3 tents plus therefore there were hundreds of kids on bikes, and although no loud music or bad behaviour most groups were out talking laughing etc until 12 - 1 am I know everyone likes to have a good time but it does seem to be a meeting place for groups for long weekends so if you are in the middle of a few groups it can be noisy with a lot of traffic.

The only other negative is the 10.00am depart time. As countless others have said why not move the arrival time to 2.00pm and put the depart time to midday it was the major problem for all tent owners particularly because a big tent takes 2-3 hours to pack away which means getting up at 7.00am which also disturbs other campers its crazy and the depart time is strictly adhered to so don't even think about not setting hte alarm !

Would I go again - doubtful would I recommend it - yes to groups for a kids fun weekend for couples, rest or relaxation no, if you are a group great but if not its noisy cramped and busy in peak times anyway the godsend is the staff the cleanliness and the good facilities. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahh56 52 reviews from this member

 Our third visit to this site, excellent as always but a few little gripes this time.

Firstly our neighbours had a party on Saturday afternoon with lots of people around their van, along with music etc. We tried to sit and have a quiet bbq the other side of our van, but balls and frisbees continually knocked into us. We went down to the entertainment and got back about 10.30 to find it still in full swing, it was gone midnight before the noise stopped and then they were up banging about packing up at 7.30!

The only other gripe is on the day were were due to leave the weather was lovely, you have to vacate by 10am and we asked if we could stay until 4pm. We had to pay 18.80 to stay, and the field was deserted!

Apart from the above a great site, but maybe the wardens need to come round a bit more often. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samcrob 2 reviews from this member

 We were camping in touring field A and have to say the facilities were excellent.

Lovely modern toilet blocks, plenty of water taps dotted around and great sized pitches. Brilliant indoor and outdoor pool which were a huge hit with the kids.

We didn't actually leave the site as we only stayed for 4 nights, but very well stocked shop at what I thought to be very reasonable prices for an on-site costcutter!

The fishing lakes were amazing and even my 4 year old son had a go. Fishing in the park is free as long as you have a licence.

There was one negatives and am only pointing this out to give a balanced opinion. When we first arrived we were given pitch 10A, now considering that June is considered out of season and I'd say that only a quarter of the pitches were being used, when we got to pitch 10A we were greeted with a pitch with 2 large drains with man hole covers over and a concrete path running through the middle of the pitch.

We have 2 young children and our tent is a standard tent which meant that the drains and concrete path would be under the tent!

I then trudged back to reception to ask if we could possibly move, (considering the touring field was practically empty), which she did without any bother, in fact when I mentioned the pitch number she seemed to know what the problem was before I even opened my gob!

New pitch was lovely and after exploring the other pitches it is only 10A that seems to have the drains and concrete on them - ok if you have a trailer tent or folding camper but definitely not a touring tent.

So a tip if you are booking just leave a note to avoid pitch 10A!

Would certainly return again with the family as the facilities so excellent. Also a great park and crazy golf which the children enjoyed. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alwrench 1 review from this member

 Visited first time with the Grandson aged 7, fabulous site, great facilities, and very safe.

Loads of water parks in the area, and lots to choose from.

The pitches are large and level, and facilities very good in terms of toilets / showers etc.

Great clubhouse c/w indoor / outdoor pool, plus five a side football pitch / tennis courts, and crazy golf, and excellent fishing lake.

Loads of local pubs/restaurants if you want to go off site, and five minutes from local Tesco's, and Cirencester.

Our little one spent tons of time with other kids on the park swings, and riding round the site on their bikes, only returning to the van when hunger and thirst set in.

We experienced no late night noise, and wardens patrol the site every evening.

This is one of the best sites we have been on, and would recommend to all families, especially with youngster's, even the evening entertainment is fab,(for kid's & adults) if you fancy a change, from relaxing outside the caravan, and seeing to the barbecue ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tomo50 27 reviews from this member

 Just back from yet again another very successful trip to Hoburne Cotswolds - and already re-booked for 10 days in August 2010.

You will go far to better this site. We are a family of 2 adults, 2 x 15yr old teenagers and 6yr old twins and this site caters for everyone. Each part of the site suits somebody.

If you want peace and quiet you will get it - even though we were camped on the perimeter flanked by a busy A road. If you want entertainment you will get it during the day and evening - only until 11pm - strict finishing times to keep with the family feel of the park. If you want to explore the beautiful English countryside it is on your doorstep.

Hoburne Cotswolds is a fantastic park. The staff are by far the most friendly and helpful I have ever met - nothing is too much trouble.

There is very little commercial selling thrust upon you like at other parks I could mention - yes they do have children's momentos to take home but they are not constantly reminded at every turn, nor are there ever flyers on tables telling you of latest caravans for sale, although there are some advertised in the foyer should you wish to look.

The grounds are immaculate - we stayed 6 days and left without even a leaf or blade of grass in our caravan. The wash facilities are kept spotless. The catering outlets provide good, fresh and reasonably priced food. The swimming facilities are more than adequate for the size of the park and are open for long periods. The entertainment for children is second to none, for adults - hard to beat! Resident entertainment team plus local visiting cabaret artists. Not forgetting Bingo!

I really should be keeping this all to myself as pitches do get booked up quickly.

I don't think this is the cheapest of holiday parks for pitch prices or hire caravans or lodges, however once here you can holiday vey cheaply indeed as there are very few extras to pay for - the only 1 I can think of is 1.00 per person for Crazy Golf - a steal!

We bought a touring Caravan to see this beautiful country.And have so far returned to Hoburne Cotswolds 3 times! I am a bit reluctant to try elsewhere in case it does not live up to this truly tremendous holiday park.

Keep up the good work guys and see you in 8 weeks! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shaz69 1 review from this member

 This was our second time visiting this site in a group of 12 including 6 children ageing from 8 to 15, said we would like to try somewhere else next year only to be moaned at by the kids because all of them really like it here.

The site has loads to do, really clean and friendly. Only down side is that we where unable to book for next year just have to keep trying. There are also a couple of nice pubs close by. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moriartyw 15 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site and I have to say we will be back again next year. The area is nice, the site is nice and the people friendly even though they tried to charge for a pup tent we were erecting in our awning to use as an inner!

Facilities are very good, a nice pool indoors and out, plenty of facilities like 'footie' pitches etc. For teens to enjoy if they wish and if your into fishing plenty of lakes abound. Online booking was simple and efficient.

The only downsides for me are the pitches are uneven and badly surfaced tarmac and its pricey in the school holidays even though out of the 'hols' it is more than reasonably priced. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JOCAMP36 2 reviews from this member

 We booked a superior pitch which was nice, quite flat with gravel for awning and separated by hedges.

Shower block clean and well maintained by wardens.

The tap right by our van was just a dribble but tap further down was ok.

The overall site was well maintained and we really enjoyed the park, pool and pedalos.

The food in restaurant was reasonable and entertainment good.

The only problem with main building was the smell in the toilets (prob with plumbing) and the soft play sometimes overrun with older children with no supervision.

We are definitely returning in the summer. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aldersv 5 reviews from this member

 Visited here a couple times, great site we use for long weekend stays, have had great weather everything we visited and even managed to use the outdoor pool.

Find it relaxing sitting on the patio outside the bar with a long cool drink while the children can play on the wooden playground and sand pit.

Showers etc have been very clean and electricity plugs for hairdryers etc. 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Cotswold child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Cotswold have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Cotswold?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Cotswold dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cirencester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4321 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement