Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Cotswold

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > Hoburne Cotswold Reviews

Hoburne Cotswold
Broadway Lane
South Cerney
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 5UQ
Tel: 01285 860216  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Static Caravans Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 141 Reviews
                8/10 from 141 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grrrrrrrr 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from here. Had a great time - kids (aged 3 & 5) loved the pools and entertainment. Major downside is that we were pitched within a few yards of a very busy fast road. We bought ear-plugs for the second night and managed to get some sleep. A shame - as the facilities were great and the price good vale. If they could only move the site away from the road, we might consider returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Scully91 4 reviews from this member

 Not been here since 2004, went back in 2009 and it was every bit as good.

The touring fields were sell outs but I could still enjoy some peace and quiet at all times, also I couldn't believe that with it being so busy that it wasn't manic everywhere, a relief I might add. I'm so glad they kept this place so nice its just a beautiful place to be, lots to do too.

One or two things annoyed me, the disclaimer for the bingo took forever and my 7 month old was not allowed to sit on Sammy seahorses knee when photo time came, how pathetic, he can hardly stand up next to him, sign of the sad times we live in I suppose.

I would definitely still give this place 10 out of 10 and you know what, not a chav, a dog, a speeding car, or a general idiot in sight, absolute bliss. Well done Hobourne, please keep it that way. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sssnake 37 reviews from this member

 Popped to this site for a short weekend in order to try out the new MH because (a)its close to us and (b)the children's entertainment looked appealing.

To be honest it'd be amongst the last venues we'd have chosen before jnr came along but our needs have changed! Though to be fair we wouldn't visit again if we were on our own now either but will probably return with him because he enjoyed it so much. Hope you get my drift!

Butlins/Pontins etc does spring to mind a little but that's to do the place a disservice really. You don't have to stay around the club/activity area after all. The grounds are lovely and there's plenty of room around the pitches to allow a comfortable illusion of privacy. Road noise annoyed me but I am Victor Meldrew's child so no surprise there really.

No pitch is far from a toilet/shower block and these were exceptionally clean and very well maintained. Well appointed dish washing areas too although very exposed to the elements.

The swimming pool was fabulous for jnr and the water slide was a huge attraction for him. There are plenty of other things for kids too so they should be worn out in time to allow you to kick back and enjoy an ice cold pint of Stowford Press from the bar!

Staff were blooming marvellous too. Really cheerful and helpful.

Will we go back? Probably.But I hasten to add, only because of the kid's amenities. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravannersue 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, we wanted a busy site to keep our 13 and our friends 12 year old busy and this certainly fulfilled our expectations.

Good points- lovely hot outside pool overlooking the picturesque pedaloe lake, great inside pool with water slide.

Clean toilet block, although only two showers per block so you had to time your shower right.

Spacious pitches we had superior pitches which meant hardstanding and pea shingle awning area, with extra grass area.

Entertainment programme with the usual family footie match and evening bingo and cabaret. Pitch and put, tennis court, football pitch and lovely park.

Bad points- pea shingle encouraged ants and by the end of the three days we were finding the odd one in caravan.

Our friends went for a meal in the restaurant and felt it was pool value, but we had chips from the take away and they were lovely.

The camp was busy as it was a bank holiday weekend but we never felt it was manic, obviously not a site if you like peace and quiet but that's not what we went for. We have already rebooked for June and best of all we now qualify as regular customer and get a discount :) 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neil Wheadon 3 reviews from this member

 More like a Butlins than a campsite BUT it was very well run, and even though the cycling group I took only really used the swimming pool we enjoyed our stay.

Washrooms clean and tidy, sites were flat and roomy, you can cycle around the site and the indoor pool was really good. The receptionists were very good as were the staff.

Not quite my cup of tea as I love remote sites with views. However if you want an excellent site with flat pitches and loads to do you can't go wrong with this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kevsue1 19 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 4 nights. A good campsite if you have small children, our twins aged 15 got bored! Had problems with the 'superior pitch' which has a pea shingle for the awning. We have a VW campervan and our awning is a different shape to caravan awnings which meant we had to try to peg into the shingle.Not much fun! Would recommend the normal pitches as they pitched their awnings on grass.

No problems with the 'pitch police' in previous reviews, in fact the security guard was very helpful at 1am (and 3am) when we were trying to put the pegs back in the pea shingle on a very windy night!

The toilet blocks were very clean (with loo roll!) but our block only had 2 showers which might mean a queue when it's busier.

The Costcutter staff were very friendly and helpful - even gave me directions to the designer outlet at Swindon!( but Tesco extra is less than 10 minutes away if you have a lot to buy )

The reception staff were very jobsworth - full of rules and not very helpful.Maybe we caught them on an off day!

The pub/restaurant was good - had some vouchers which meant we got ten per cent off the food and free drinks :) The food was good and came very quickly. Unlike the reception staff the restaurant staff were very friendly

Overall we wont be going back - if our teenagers were into water sports or fishing then maybe we would but I'm guessing the site gets very crowded in the summer and we prefer a bit more peace.Plus there were no other 'dubs' on site :( 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Molly1972 4 reviews from this member

 This place is brilliant. Toilets, showers very clean.

The indoor swimming pool is the best one I have been to on a site. The indoor pool was very warm and the slide was a big hit with the kids (and adults)

The outdoor pool was closed when we went.

The pitches were spacious.

Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a clubhouse which puts on entertainment in the evening.

The only downside is the staff that hound you on the day of departure. They actually came to us before the 1000 hrs departure time and constantly walked around watching us. 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Awax10 3 reviews from this member

 Nice clean site with lots for the children to do. Immaculate toilets and nice staff to help you to your pitch. All in all we found this to be a real nice good value site for our family.

A big problem we had was power cuts, in one evening we had five power cuts of ten to twenty minutes, so we had to go off site for a meal.

The site has an electrical supply problem that would need sorting before we ever returned. Shame really. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Warwick Gates 6 reviews from this member

 I am going to have to agree or argue with everyone that Holburne Cotswold is probably one of the best camp sites you could ever stay on!

If 'Carlsberg did camp sites' then this would be it. (Except for the 10:00 pack up)

I do not want to rant on about which small part of the site is better than another ,as I was here for a full 5 days and thought all the pitches were great with some being greater than others. Sure there are always going to be niggling issues with individual pitches but on the whole all the pitches here are massive and on most occasions and almost always dead flat.

We were placed on pitch within easy walking of 3 toilet/shower blocks ( pitches are allocated unless pre booked) and try as we might cannot find fault with any of the blocks. Spotlessly clean 24/7, hot or very warm water 24/7 and the loo roll never seemed to run out (mens).

I can’t say enough about the facilities as they were great as well, 2 heated pools, one outdoor and the other indoor with a flume, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna all with free lockers (£1 deposit).

If you have kids then look no further they have everything beyond the pools including a huge play area (indoor) than kids could possibly imagine.

Went for an evening meal at 20:30 and had no problems despite 3/4million kids running around. The food was great and reasonably priced and the restaurant atmosphere was relaxed.

This site seems to lap it up however busy it gets they more than adequately cope with quality.

Summary

Pitch / Site

Excellent 10/10

Facilities

11/10

Toilets/Shower

08/10 Always clean and tidy but they have those stupid 4sec push button showers

Club/Food

Restaurant 09/10, 4 meals ordered and all were great but only Jamie Oliver could get 10/10 (Go for the tuna supreme though)

Don’t do clubs and entertainment but seemed really popular with all those who did!

Take Away

10/10 Pizza, Curry, Chips, Curly Chips in fact just ask! (All day breakfasts for you lazy types)

Down side

There really are pitch police and they all work here! Everything said before about getting off site by 10:00 is true. Whilst not aggressive they do stalk you (we were prepared and got a 5 berth caravan with full awning and two lazy teenagers ready for a 10:00 departure but did have 3 visits checking on our progress!) Not sure how this would work on an out of season weekend though (As they advertise a Sunday Carvery from 12:00). Went to reception and tried to extend till 12:00 anyone would have thought I was trying to buy class A drugs! But being fair it was August.

Reception

00/10 Pointless (They use to many retired staff from the statics homes of which personal service and computers have no real meaning) Only purpose is to tell you which pitch you are on or pass on pre printed crib sheets.

Must Do Activities

WMSKI.COM book online for 3 hrs of cableskiing on a lake nearby. We did, Dad 44, Son 13 and daughter 17 and have never had so much fun together. Book on line and get £5 per person off. (Quote TG2 as a voucher and get the £5 off per person, it really works we tried it)

Anyone want to trade our surfboard for a “wakeboard”? 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cathy6973 20 reviews from this member

 We visited this site in late July for our annual family 2 week holiday. We have 2 year old twin boys, and two girls aged 9 and 13, and picked this site as we felt it had enough to keep all the kids amused despite the range of ages.

We found the site easily, as it is well signposted from the M4, and despite other reviews, found the reception staff to be very helpful and friendly. We found our pitch easily and were delighted with both the size of the pitch and the little hedges between them. It is worth noting that the pitches seem to be larger in the B field than the A field, and they seem to be less regimental in their layout.

Hobourne Cotswold is a fantastic site! The toilet facilites were kept beautifully clean and the grass was mowed and the hedges were trimmed. It is just a shame that the hardstanding for the awnings are so close to the hedges on some of the pitches that you struggle to get out of the awning! Saying that however, there is ample room on the other side of the caravan for tables and chairs and the trusted cadac!

We were exceptionally lucky with the weather in the first week, and took full advantage of both the indoor and outdoor pools. Both pools were heated (the outdoor one is a little cold for very little ones, but fine for older children) and the twins loved the water slide on the indoor pool. Again, both pool areas were kept lovely and clean with plenty of changing rooms and lockers based in the indoor pool area.

Just a point to parents though - we were disappointed with the lifeguards on duty in the indoor pool. There was an occasion where we felt that older children were becoming overly boistrous in the indoor pool, and this was ignored by the lifeguard while she was busy chatting to friends, and we had an occasion where one of the twins was injured on the edge of the pool, but we could not find the lifeguard to ask for assistance!

Surrounding area - Cirencester is only about a 10 minute drive up the road, and is a lovely town in which to just park up and wander round. Tesco Extra is also only a 10 minute drive away and sells EVERYTHING!

Good points:

- Facilities are all spotlessly clean and the site is flat and nicely laid out

- the childrens play areas are thoughtfully laid out and were a huge success

- the evening entertainment was well thought out (if you like that sort of thing) and the childrens entertainers were very enthusiastic!

- No gangs of loud teenages hanging around. There is a 11pm silence kerfew and this does seem to be stuck to.

- Laundry facilites are good, with plenty of washers and dryers, and they supply two irons and ironing boards free of charge in the laundry room.

Not so good points:

- Hardstanding for awning to close to the hedge seperaters on some pitches

- The pitches at the entrance to the touring field could be noisy at night by people returing back from the clubhouse. Would recommend avoiding pitches 75-85 and 54-57 in B field if you like a quiet night. Would recommend trying to book pitches 1-15 or 34-37 as these were the quietest at night

Overall, this was one of the best sites we have stayed on in our numerous years of taking away our caravan, and would definitely return, something which we rarely do! Well done Hoburne, and keep up the good work! 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Cotswold child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Cotswold have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Cotswold?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Cotswold dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cirencester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4473 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement