Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Cotswold

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > Hoburne Cotswold Reviews

Hoburne Cotswold
Broadway Lane
South Cerney
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 5UQ
Tel: 01285 860216  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Static Caravans Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 141 Reviews
                8/10 from 141 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Malcolmtrot 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely three night stay at Hoburne Cotswold. The pitch was large enough for our tent and large front canopy. The pitches all have electric hookups and a hardstanding area for the car.

The facilities are excellent. There are plenty of amenity blocks, which are spotless, with toilets, sinks and showers inside heated buildings and a covered washing up area outside.

The indoor swimming pool is very good and did not seem too busy. The water is colder than you would expect but the air temperature is nice and warm so it does not feel cold when you get out of the water.

There is a good playground, tennis court and crazy golf. Also included is free fishing but you will need to get a National Rivers fishing licence beforehand (which unfortunately we didn't).

We did not eat in the restaurant but did experience an evening of the kids entertainment, which was excellent and actually surprisingly funny.

The wardens were very helpful and there was no late night noise as there seems to be at other similar sites. However, the road that runs by is quite busy and I would advise earplugs for that.

We will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 4beginners 3 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely five day break here. Huge site with good facilities. I'll start with the positives: very clean, well spaced pitches, excellent water/waste services, shower blocks immaculate. Kids loved the indoor pool (could have been a bit warmer I thought) playground, disco, and entertainment. You can have a nice breakfast in the snack bar, but it doesn't open until 10am.

Cirencester about 5 miles lovely town, and Costwold Wildlife Park near Burford is a great day out.

Not so good-food very average in restaurant and pricey for what you got. No healthy options for kids- ours had pizza or hot dog and chips and that was all you got, no veg or salad with it. Crazy golf is very dated but only 1 a go and the kids enjoyed it. Barely no tv (freeview) signal, but this improved as the week went on and the site got busier(?). I was expecting the staff to be more helpful and friendly on such a renowned site, no-one excelled. You got the information you asked for, no 'have a nice day' or 'can we do anything else for you?'. Waitress and bar service very average. On one occasion I was waiting at the reception desk with 2 staff 'pottering about' behind for quite some time- in the end had to buzz the buzzer to get their attention! The touring pitch wardens were probably the friendliest we encountered there.

However, we made the holiday our own, kids loved it and it was nigh on full when we left so must be popular. Bit pricey compared to some sites but you are paying for the facilities; prob would go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wolf camper 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for first week of Easter holidays, 3rd visit here now, so can now give pros and cons. Positives: very clean shower/toilet facilities, pool, play areas, bar excellent, flat pitches, well stocked shop, in general one of the best sites for families. Cons: none to mention! Well if you include that it is a expensive place to stay, but I guess you get what you pay for these day. Just hope can return soon as possible because always full. Large 24h Tesco 3 miles away, and please try Butts farm shop, sausages are just to good! shh 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gingercol 7 reviews from this member

 I shall start by listing the pro's

Very clean and tidy site.Good spacious pitches.Steam room excellent. Toilets and showers very good.Good washing up facilities.

An ideal site for families in a caravan.

Cons

Expensive shop, food in the bar/restaurant very bland/poor quality. Site caters for caravans making site feel very claustrophobic, hemmed in.

The slide in the pool was shut due to a support breaking making it unsafe makes you wonder about maintenance?

If you are used to campsites with open spaces lots of grassed areas (not including pitch)this site will not be for you.

A lot of road noise as there are industrial estates nearby.

I have marked the site according to the fact we are used to sites away from busy roads, no club facilities and more open spaces sorry for all those who love this site but it is not for us. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nic104 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for a weekend break arriving on a Friday. You have to pay for 3 nights here as they do not do shorter breaks. You need to be off site by 10am but that didn't affect us as we left Sunday evening. Check is was easy, staff were polite, only downside is you can't have your pitch until 4pm, which is later than other sites we have visited. Pitches were clean, electric hook up available to all and included in price. Toilets and showers were clean and there were 3 blocks on our field so you never have to walk far. Facilities are excellent on this site, especially for families. There is a club with kids entertainment early evening then bingo and a cabaret of some sort every night. Indoor and outdoor pool, both of which were open when we stayed. Crazy golf (for kids really as small), Fishing and pedalos for hire. We didn't actually leave the site so I can't comment on surrounding areas but we have already booked another break for next year and will be taking bikes to go out and about during our stay. Would recommend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beardsmore UK 3 reviews from this member

 Finally managed to get a pitch on this site, was fully booked for almost all of August, obviously a very popular site. Checked weather forecast & knew we were going to be in for 3 glorious days so booked on internet 3 days before. Generally very impressed with the site but I'll do the negatives 1st.

The barrier on the site opens to anyone, no security checks at all, worries me a little that anyone could get into the site.

The one side of the site (where our pitch was)has a 50mph road running along it, safe for the kids because of the trees etc but so noisy, I did begin to dread 5.30am. The lady on reception did say we could move but it was the day before we went home so couldn't be bothered to move. We were given our pitch number when booking but when we got their lots more quieter pitches we could have been given, will know for next time. You can choose your own pitch number apparently but need to phone them to arrange it.

The temperature in the showers is far too hot for kids, no thermostat to turn them down either. Glad I checked them out myself before I stripped the kids off. However the blocks do have an area with sink, thermostat controlled shower & changing mat for babies which I found fine for washing the kids aged 6 & 2.

Ok that's all the bad stuff out the way, now for the positives & their are a lot of them. Fantastic loos, showers etc, all very clean & tidy, lots of soap & loo roll always. Pools great had the advantage of using the outside pool every day, was really warm too. Changing rooms for inside pool were good & 2 free hairdryers were a great bonus. Prices good for food which was nice in the pub, good range of items in the vending machines & reasonable pries too. Beer a little on the expensive side, 3.70 a pint. In the day we bought if from the shop in cans and took it round poolside, as long as you kept your receipt from the shop no one said anything. Playground & golf (1 per game)both great.

Overall this is a fab site and we will be going again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: JJ100 2 reviews from this member

 We had a few delays travelling and missed reception opening times by 30 minutes. However someone came promptly from the bar. We had made our booking directly with an owner and there seemed to be a problem, however the Manager promptly contacted the owner and confirmed we had booked. Despite all this we were made to feel very welcome and the staff were completely professional.

As mentioned in other reviews the site is kept clean and tidy however we noticed cigarette stumps all over the road, more the fault of lazy guest than the site itself. The small indoor pool did get a bit overcrowded when the weather was poor, however, we were lucky enough to have a good week. We did ask one member of staff for details of where to hire canoes and were sent to a place which only takes people booked onto courses and had to find the hire place ourselves. Overall we had an excellent holiday enjoying the cycle paths and the Cotswolds Water Park as well as a very good site. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Simonrh 3 reviews from this member

 Spent a long weekend at this site during August bank holiday with family including two children (12 and 4 yrs).

Pitch was a good size and drainage was excellent considering the amount of rain during the week before we arrived. Couldn't fault the toilet and washing facilities, very good.

Interestingly, both pitches were free either side of us and our friends called the site to try and get booked in but were informed the site was fully booked?? Not sure what their policy is for keeping free pitches on bank holiday weekends although I've now read other reviews that say that may keep them for online bookings - maybe the management should look at this as they're losing business.

Kids loved the indoor swimming pool and the outdoor play area, which was in excellent condition. No problems with the kids using their scooters around the site, along with lots of other kids cycling around - felt very safe. No fields though on this site for them to fly their kite as all available space is used for accommodation or facilities.

The clubhouse entertainment was excellent for children under 10yrs before 9pm (my daughter loved Sammy) - if you're adults with no kids forget it though. We also thought the constant walking around of the security guards within the clubhouse at night over the top - they must work in a nightclub normally as they patrolled around looking at families with young children as if trouble was going to break out any second - rather like having bouncers at Mothercare!

The 10am departure time as mentioned on this site by others is ridiculous. We were woken early on the Sat. With people making a noise at 7am as they had to get up early to leave the site, and we had to get up early ourselves on the Monday to rush to meet the departure deadline. 11am or even 11.30am would be more realistic these days.

Overall a very good site but for us 3 nights is enough as we prefer slightly less commercial sites. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tomo50 27 reviews from this member

 Nothing new to add - everything as always. One thing I would mention when booking - use the online system not by telephone as we have twice found the reception staff a little unhelpful and were told the park was full, when in fact booking on line was available? Not sure if they keep pitches available for online bookings only?

Other than this little gripe you will find this site a 100% fantastic family holiday site. Pricey pitches but when divided by 6 capacity = 6 per person per night high season with all entertainment and amenities then FREE (apart from Crazy Golf 1.00 & Snooker 1.50 & Bowling 1.50).

Update: Further to my review above - I need to rectify my complaint regarding the reception staff.

Hoburne Cotswold, in fact Hoburne in general gives FANTASTIC Customer Service.

I sent a polite e-mail to Head Office on arrival home outlining the problems experienced in trying to extend our stay. Outlining the fact that at least 12 pitches were still empty, and about the unhelpful reception staff. I swiftly received a call from the sites Bookings& Reception Manager apologising for mix-up - we were correct the site was not full and offering a discount on our next booking.

I logged on to book this morning and was told the site again was full for October Half-Term. After e-mailing the General Manager direct - I now have a reserved pitch + 20% discount - I can't ask for better Customer Service than that!

They do give loyalty to customers and this will be our sixth visit in 18 months! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glamper1971 2 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from here after a fantastic mini break (Tues-Fri) with friends who were caravanning. This site is lovely the wardens are very helpful showing you to your very ample pitch I have a 8 birth tent with porch and fitted on nicely.

Very convenient location to the regularly cleaned shower blocks, the site is clean and as soon as people vacate they come round to mow the pitch so the grass is nice and short, however it is stony (at least ours and our friends pitches were) so take some heavy duty pegs we had to borrow some as we weren't prepared for that.

The enclosed play area is a really good size and the indoor and outdoor pool were never full to capacity considering that its included in your pitch price.

In the village there was a lovely pub (on the right just after the chippy) serving rather nice cider 'Pheasant Pluckers' if you like it sweet (I only got a half as I was the nominated driver!) we used the Indian take away (they do deliver to the site but offer 10% discount if you collect) which was really nice as we didn't fancy cooking and the chippy for the kids was a hit.

There is a pharmacy there too which came in useful. Just up the duel carrageway there was a big tesco which saved using the site shop for adult refreshments which were 'local shop' prices understandably. Had no problem with the electric hook up which was fab wouldn't be without it.

We really didn't venture too far as we were there to relax and unwind and just let the kids roam free which felt safe to do so, they were given a wristband to put our mobile number on in case they couldn't find their way back to the pitch which was reassuring. The on site clubhouse had a couple of shows each night for the kids which they enjoyed. I really don't want to say how fab it is as I don't want it being fully booked next time we go.But it's fab! 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Cotswold child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Cotswold have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Cotswold?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Cotswold dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cirencester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4419 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement