Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hoburne Cotswold

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cirencester > Hoburne Cotswold Reviews

Hoburne Cotswold
Broadway Lane
South Cerney
Cirencester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL7 5UQ
Tel: 01285 860216  or  01425 282358
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Static Caravans Only
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 141 Reviews
                8/10 from 141 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pearson family 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed for the second week of Easter holidays to meet up with friends. First time we have visited the site but have used their Bashley site in the New Forest a number of times. Usual high standards that we are used to at Bashley were maintained here.

The pitches are very narrow but long enough to fit a 24ft motorhome on as well as a Fiesta. Toilets / Showers always clean. Nice clubhouse area and great that Hoburne have gone down the route of free wifi.

There is quite a busy road that runs around two sides of the touring field and can get quite busy from 5-5.30am. I confess that I am a very light / non existent sleeper though.

There are plenty of cycle tracks, many of which start from the site itself. However they can get flooded/very boggy at times.

Good location for touring the area and water activities. Lovely pubs in nearby villages. Tesco, McDonalds etc about 5-10 minutes drive away.

Small criticism would be that the taps in the touring field are not a screw type and so impossible to fill up a water tank in a motorhome. I also didn't see a drive over grey waste point, however that doesn't mean there isn't one somewhere, and so this could prove tricky as well.

Will definitely be coming back if we can ever manage to book far enough in advance to get a pitch. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Garageman 4 reviews from this member

 Nice easy site to find, well organised great for the kids with loads to do. Clubhouse is fantastic, clean and modern as are the toilet blocks.

Booked a 'superior' pitch which turned out to be what I would call a basic hard standing pitch with a small patch of gravel for the awning. They are not very big and by the time you park your car across the front you can't see a thing, might as well leave the blinds down. Having said that the pitch was fairly level but had to keep adjusting the corner steadies because they didn't fit on our hardstanding and sank in the ground.

Reception staff were very nice stating we should have been informed what the superior pitches contained at the time of booking but we weren't, my colleague did not brought his wastemaster because we were expecting the superior pitches to be serviced. I just think they need to put more information on the web site or down class the pitches to just hard standing.

Didn't like the early departure time it doesn't make sense, no noise between 11.00 pm and 9.00 am yet all departing caravans are up at 7.00 am clanging awning poles and packing up to meet the 10.00 am departure time. No wardens around then telling them to keep the noise down.

That's the gripe over, we had a great time in the clubhouse and ate in there, the food was nice and not too expensive. Tried a bit of fishing but I think they saw us coming and swam off to the no fishing side. Grounds are kept very well. Site wardens were very nice with us. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tomo50 27 reviews from this member

 Just revisited this jem of a site. Even in the autumn we enjoyed our stay as much as mid summer. Still plenty of people on site - all activities running apart from outdoor pool (although weather was so lovely it could have been lol.)
All the staff worked as hard to please as previous. I really can't think of a negative to add. We are embarking on a visit to their Bashley and Torbay sites early next year and hope to find the same welcome. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dawnmarie1967 4 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site twice now and it has been great on both occasions.

The pitches are flat with plenty of space. The toilet and showers were always clean with no queues.

Our 7 year old son loves it here, the play area is good and he always found somebody to play with. The pool is great for all ages. We haven't used the outdoor pool as it was closed for the season but it looks lovely.

We ate in the bar and the food was good and reasonably priced.

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area including a lake with a beach.

Can't really fault this site, just a shame more of their sites aren't available to tents. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Claydoncamper 28 reviews from this member

 We have just spent our first ever night in our new folding canmper here. The reception was friendly and helpful. The pitch was a hardstanding with spacious grass next to it. The grass was ropey and after a heav shower it became a bit muddy. The facilities are great however. Water and electricity all close to units and the toilets and showers were clean with plenty of hot water.

The swimming pool, soft play area and outside playground was a big hit with our 4 year old. The attendants seemed nice and friendly. It was busy with lots of teenage kids ruling the roosts but it was holiday time. The wardens were friendly and when we were running over our departure time the next morning, they weren't officious when I explained it was our first time out despite it being bank holiday. We will definitely go back there very soon and will stay for a long weekend next time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tomo50 27 reviews from this member

 Well I booked this site purely from the reviews on this website. I booked for 7 days (1st - 8th August) - we got home after 18 days! Do I really need to add more?? Yes I do. I have been caravanning since 1983 and have yet to find a better site. Our party was 2 adults, 2 teenagers and twins aged 6. Each and everyone of us were thoroughly entertained from morning til night and didn't see nearly enough of the surrounding countryside!
I have to mention the entertainments team George, Dave, Rusty, Kerri and Laura who worked their cotton socks off to make sure everyone enjoyed their stay. I read some reviews before going regarding the 'pitch police' - they were not evident to us - the wardens also were extremely helpful as we moved pitch 3 times to extend our stay!
The grounds were immaculate, the toilet facilities also - but nothing can account for the lack of respect from come campers! There was so much to do on site at little extra cost - Crazy Golf just 1.00!
The restaurant served fantastic food at good value 7.00 for Tuna Supreme or Gammon steak with all the trimmings and cooked to perfection.
I know this sounds a one sided review but I honestly cannot fault the site in any way. If it could be added to I think it would be nice to have excursions to local markets and villages, maybe also bike hire.
The final touch was when the reception staff called me by my name 1 morning - that was when I knew what a good place this was and not just out to make a profit! We will be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Petewxm 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 week break, I have to say the site was spotless and well run.

We stayed on hardstanding with pea shingle for the awning which was great, the pitches we`re all flat and with loads of room, The toilet and shower blocks were always clean, with plenty of loo roll and the showers were always hot.

The site has a number of lake`s which were all lovely.

The site has a small shop on 'cost cutter' which was ok.

The indoor and outdoor pool were both great and clean.

The bar/restaurant were good, not too expensive. I have to say though the entertainment was rubbish, it was mostly done by the resident entertainers. You get much better entertainment at haven sites but you pay more for a haven holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarets1 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Hoburne Cotswold for a weekend in May. Myself, husband, son 12, daughter 8, nephew 14 & niece 12. There is a minimum booking of 3 nights (during weekends) though we could only stay for two nights due to work & school on Monday morning. This didn't bother us too much as the cost includes up to 6 people, and it was very reasonable (we paid less than it would have cost at an alternative site for 2 nights) plus we had the option of staying all day and not booking out at the very early time of 10am!

We had a good size pitch, located very conveniently next to the toilet / shower block which were very clean at all times. Although there were only 3 showers we never had to queue. More often than not we were the only people in there. Around the site is a large play area, use of pedlows on a lake (for a charge), tennis court, hard football pitch, crazy golf, indoor swimming pool with flume, steam room, sauna, soft play area, amusement arcade and outdoor pool (which wasn't open due to the rain!)
There is evening entertainment, tv area, bar and restaurant. (we didn't eat there so cant comment on price or quality) There is also a Costco shop on site where you could pay by debit card and get cash back (also in the bar) or supermarkets just down the road.

We had a great time, so much so we re-booked and went again with a group of friends (16 of us) on the same pitches in June. The weather was great this time and we spent time in the outdoor pool and relaxing on the sun beds with a beer from the bar. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Macsgrafs 6 reviews from this member

 This campsite must be good .Why you ask? Well its our 5th time staying since 2002. We use this campsite as a base during the RIAT (Royal International Air Tattoo) which is held at RAF Fairford (4 miles along country lanes from the campsite) every year during the 2nd weekend in July.

We always stay a minimum of 5 nights as 3 days are spent taking photos of rare aircraft, so we consider this site as superb for the following reasons:-

1)Toilets & showers ALWAYS seem to be clean & showers are hot. There are 3 blocks in the camping field, which is much like a taxiway at a busy airport, in other words tarmac roads.

2)Every pitch has an electric hookup which is now included in the price.

3)On site amenities are very good, that includes a good sized shop with a wide range of food, sweets, wines & beers + kids toys.

4)An indoor & outdoor pool (Cant comment on outside one as we have never used it), the inside pool is nicely heated & has a slide + Nice gentle slope from a few inches to over 1 mtr in depth. Separate changing rooms, mixed sex & they have lockers for your clothes.

5)Bar/Restaurant & arcade with about 20 games machines for those rainy days when the kids need entertaining for an hour or so. Bar is nicely set out, but does tend to get VERY busy at nights.

Local area has many gravel pit lakes, some are used for watersports, others are for wildlife. The village of South Cerney is turn left out of the campsite, travel for 1 1/2 miles & into the village you drive. Nice food in the oldie worlde pubs & the fish & chip shop (thought tiny) is of a high standard.

Main shopping is 5 mins drive into Cirencester, as you enter the town you pass a Tesco extra on your left, so easy for shopping. Also near the tescos is a macdonalds for all those having a junk food withdrawal!

Cirencester is a beautiful Roman based place, a few nice shops & the yellow Cotswolds stone work can be seen everywhere, very oldie worlde & every village is worth a photo.

If you like water or aircraft. I can highly recommend this campsite, very easy access from both the M5 & M4 with Swindon only 10 miles away.

Before I forget, kids will love the geese wandering about + the nice playground & mini golf. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahh56 52 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a long weekend here. 2nd time we have stayed here. Still a nice clean site, but feel the touring field is a bit 'tired'. The pitches are worn and the one we were on was like scrubland. A few hanging baskets and pots of flowers would help! The showers and washing up facilities were very clean however.

Very helpful and friendly staff and wardens, great entertainment and swimming pools.

Only criticisms are :

- The food in the restaurant is very average and not that cheap.

- They expect you to depart the touring field by 10am, we asked if we could stay until 2pm ( bearing in mind the field was pretty deserted) and we were charged almost 10.

All in all a good site if you have young children and like the pools etc, if not then it's quite expensive for what you get.

We will return as it's only 20 minutes away! 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hoburne Cotswold child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Hoburne Cotswold have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hoburne Cotswold?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hoburne Cotswold dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cirencester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4424 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement